I’ll do nothing for the rest of the day.

One eyed Rune.

One eyed Rune.

No sunshine here today but it is almost as warm and wind free so it is a quite enjoyable day. We saw a few deers and cranes on our morning walk and something was running away in the forest but I couldn’t hear what it might have been (well I did see an awful lot of ducks and geese as well to be honest). Now the forest is filled with bird songs and some of them sound quite exotic. We once had a Starling here that sounded like a cuckoo clock🙂 It came for several years but Starlings don’t get that old so now it’s gone.

 

DSC_0001

DSC_0002

DSC_0005

 

I’ve been rather active this morning, I’ve done the laundry and I’ve planted the Dahlia roots in pots until it is time to plant them in the flower bed. We usually get our last night with frost the first week in June but I’ll plant them before that and cover them if necessary. I’ve also ordered more seeds🙂 This time it’s mostly annuals that I can sow directly outside but also some other seeds that doesn’t require a cold period to germinate.

 

Bertil went out with us this morning, he's turning the other cheek towards the camera so You can't see the bald spot.

Bertil went out with us this morning, he’s turning the other cheek towards the camera so You can’t see the bald spot.

DSC_0009

DSC_0011

 

I also helped one of my aunts with a quiz they had in the morning paper, it was all about flowers and that is my area of expertise so to speak🙂 The cows were making an awful lot of noise while I was hanging my laundry to dry on my patio under the roof, it drizzles so a roof was necessary if I wanted it to dry outside which I of course wants since the dry clothes smell so much nicer if they do. They separated the cows from their calves it seems but they aren’t that far away from each other, it’s just a thin gravel road between the two pastures and it looks like the cows took it worse than the calves to be honest.

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

 

From now on I won’t do a thing today, I’ll just relax and enjoy life. I was thinking of taking a nap but there’s always the risk of not falling asleep at night instead. I didn’t win the lottery this time either so I really need to go to work tomorrow and not being too tired while driving🙂

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and perhaps some lunch. After that perhaps a walk but I heard the forest owner being out there with his tractor so I might wait a while before we head out on an adventure🙂

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

DSC_0032

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

10 thoughts on “I’ll do nothing for the rest of the day.

    • Hi Laurie!

      It seems I misunderstood the farmer, they have all moved to the pasture beside my cottage🙂 So I guess it was sound of joy when they was able to go to that pasture🙂
      Normally separation of cows and calves means slaughter, but I haven’t seen that lorry here for ages🙂 I do however see it every year down at the castle.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

  1. Ha! I am going to plant my dahlias in pots today as well! I was afraid they would over grow or rot in the plastic bags they come in, so I figured they could probably grow a pretty decent root ball between now and the end of May. I considered asking you what you thought about that idea. Now I know!

    Bertil doesn’t look any worse for the wear, I guess Dr. Christer did a good job fixing him.

    LOVED the picture you posted yesterday of the single crane, amazing!

    Have a restful rest of the day!

    • Hi Wendy!

      Just place them coo, and as light as possible and they’ll do fine in the pot until it is time to take them outside. Just remember! They are very sensitive to sunlight after growing indoors so place them in the shadow the first week they are outside. Just like us they get burned if they are placed directly in the sunlight.

      He’s back to his nasty self so I guess he’s ok🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Well I guess Bertil is just fine.🙂

    Good to see Rune looking reasonably well.

    I love the pussy willow photo. They are one of my favorite spring flowers along with maple tree flowers.

    Yesterday was my day for doing chores. I’m aching all over this morning so I think today will be a slappardag.🙂

    It was wicked windy and cold out last night. The heat kept coming on but it was still cool in the house. It’s cold out right now but is supposed to be sunny and much warmer later on.

    My neighbor was all excited about a giant squirrel-eating red breasted “hawk” that he saw the other day. He was even more surprised when I told him it was a turkey vulture and they’ve been here for decades. He thought they would kill all the squirrels. Unfortunately, no. The squirrel has to be already mostly dead before they’ll eat it. Nice to know they’re cleaning up the place, though.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Well since he’s back to his nasty old self I assume he is in good health again🙂 But I will keep an eye on hi, for some time yet. He will most likely be in another fight soon enough anyway🙂

      I love photographing them, they are so beautiful even though they aren’t flashy in any way. I do like the maple tree flwowers too but the love for them has damped a lot since I had my car space placed beneath a maple🙂🙂 It’s amazing how aticky they are🙂

      It’s never wrong to have a slappardag🙂 I’ve more or less had one since I wrote todays post🙂 I did howqever find an columbine that had started growing in a pot a year ago or so. I can’t remember what grew there in the beginning though. So I planted it in my latest flower bed🙂

      Almost no wind today either, I guess this could mean the end of the world🙂🙂

      Even I can see the difference between those two and we have neither here🙂🙂🙂 The poor man had built up the hope of a squirrel free world and You took it away from him🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. i hit a ground hog yesterday with my car and killed it. i cried the whole way home. oh well, survival of the fittest! it must be spring…i am making a huge batch of strawberry jam for the shelter and i only do that in spring! have a restful day christer!

    • Hi Joyce!

      I know how You felt! I’ve once hit deer and I almost threw up, I called a hunter so he could end its misery and I didn’t sleep at all that night.

      A sure sign of spring here is all road killed badgers, I don’t like it but it is the most safe spring sign there is.

      Strawberry jam🙂 Haven’t made that in years. I’ve neither picked any nor have I grown any for several years, perhaps it’s time to do so again?

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. so, I’ve come back to read your reply to my comment and I find I didn’t leave one!
    I remember reading this post on my new phone and thinking I would comment when I got home…
    and I didn’t.
    Why do they separate the cows from the calves?

    • Hi Cindi!

      It turns out I misunderstood, they moved all the cows and calves to the pasture beside my garden🙂
      The time they do separate the calves from the cows it means slaughter time is here. That hasn’t happened onthat farm for many, many years now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

