Do they expect me to jump?

DSC_0001

The rain has been pouring down heavily all day but politely stopped as soon as I came home. The sun even peaked through the clouds for a few minutes but now heavy dark grey clouds cover the sky again. They look like thunderclouds but I doubt we’ll get that.

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

 

The predictions that only an hour ago showed well have down to 1C (33,8F) and snowfall now shows considerable warmer temperatures and rain instead for tomorrow. I must admit that I like the change from snow to rain since I now have summer tires on my car. I had hoped for dry weather so the insect larvae would die this year too but nature seems to love this rain, the grass grows and leafs are starting to show on the trees.

 

DSC_0006

The wild gooseberries are green now.

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

 

I came home to two dry dogs and two very wet and muddy ones. Nova and Sune had dug their way in to the garage and most probably been there for most part of the day so I can’t understand why the two big ones didn’t go inside the dog house, after all they hate showers and don’t exactly shout of joy when we must take a walk in a rain fall. Perhaps they just are very curious and wants to see what happens in our art of the village. Today for example they came and painted green lines on the road, I guess that’s where they will put down the water and sewer pipes.

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

DSC_0016

 

It’s a bit odd because the lines stops half way by my gate, turns to the other side of the road and goes through the place where I park my car and continues down the road. Do they expect me to jump to get out of my garden and where do they think I’ll park my car? I hope they just put down the pipes and then fill the ditch they’re digging otherwise I’ll get big problems🙂 If not I’ll just place my car in the middle of the road and take the day off from work so they can’t do anything until they fix it🙂

 

The clouds are flying low so I guess it is fog up on the mountain.

The clouds are flying low so I guess it is fog up on the mountain.

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

 

The fire is burning in the stove and the pot of tea is ready so now I’ll only have to make something to eat. I think there’s a science program on tv tonight so I’ll watch that. By the way a sow gave birth to  35 piglets in this community some days ago, poor pig🙂  11 of them died though but still there’s plenty left🙂

 

In my garden right now. I never remember the name on this Corydalis but it spreads very fast.

In my garden right now. I never remember the name on this Corydalis but it spreads very fast.

The Yellow Wood Anemone will open up in a few days.

The Yellow Wood Anemone will open up in a few days.

Have a great day! 

14 thoughts on “Do they expect me to jump?

  1. oh no! did all the piglets die? we are about to have a freezing evening here so i will have to cover plants. then we are going up into the 70’s so i might have to climb under a rock. that is too hot for me so early. there was a huge landslide here this morning. i huge chunk of the mountain fell off. it was down the road from me but it sure makes me nervous because this mountain was mined of all the coal a long time ago and it is not very stable.

    • Hi Joyce!

      No eleven died and survived, quite a lot for the poor sow to take care of🙂🙂

      Now You have a typical Swedish spring🙂 Impossible to know when to plant and when one does one must be quick to cover the plants when they warm for frost. Already up to the 70’s! I guess You won’t get any longer period of spring this year, summer will arrive directly instead.

      Nasty thing land slides! We have tat problem along our west coast because must cities and towns are builkt on clay ground. Much rain and big parts of the ground slides away, usually down into a river. I hope You won’t have any more land slides, they can both create chaos and take lives!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Eleven piglets died and eleven piglets lived? The sow had 22 piglets?!? Wow!

    I had a lovely Pale corydalis growing in my yard that I had saved from a spot that was about to be turned into a house foundation hole. Unfortunately, it didn’t spread and the remaining plant disappeared. It was very pretty. The blossom was the same pink as yours but the lips were a pale greenish yellow. The photos show them as very yellow but this one was not.

    The water/sewer people expect that you will park you car out of their way and levitate over the ditches until they are finished doing whatever they do. At least that’s how they operate around here. They do let us know ahead of time that we won’t be able to access our road for a number of hours. Or days.

    You are having the same day as I am. It started out pouring rain but now the sun is breaking through. The wind is picking up, though, and it’s a little chilly. Tomorrow will be sunny but not much warmer.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I started to wonder what whas wrong until I saw that the numbers hadn’t been published🙂🙂 It was so odd that none of You understood what I had written🙂 She got birth to 35 piglets but eleven died. It’s a world record🙂

      I think the one corydalis You had is a biennal, it only lives for two years but since they tend to self sow if they like the place it looks like they are perennial. I think that’s the one I’ve had in my gardenb too but it never self sowed I’m afraid.

      I wouldn’t have been surprised if it was forced upon us, then they do as they please but since this is something that will be donme by a private company ordered by some villagers I think they should talk with me first. I have no intention what so ever to jump around to be able to get out of my property :-)I wouldn’t be thge least surprised if they dig off the electric cable between my garage and my home🙂

      It snowed on the mountain today my neighbor said but down here it just rained. Tomorro will be better again and then it looks like weä’re getting warmer weather again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    We had heavy rain most of the day as well. Gracie went outside but wasn’t happy. My kitchen is now a mess of paw prints.

    I’m still waiting for a warm day, for a feeling of spring. My yard looks beautiful all cleaned, raked and cleared so I’m going to start looking for flowers to plant.

    Cloudy again tomorrow-I’m getting tired of that!!

    Have a great evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I need to wash my floors now, it’s all covered by a thin layer of sands and mud🙂 I can’t understand why the old boys refuse to go inside rainy days.

      Cold here today and it snowed up on the mountain but it will turn towards warmer again already tomorrow.

      It’s time to use the lawn mower here but it’ll have to wait until the raining stops. Few spring buylbs flower so I guess the voles have eaten lots of them this winter.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. It’s now mud season here judging from our backyard, especially where we park our cars. We have had several days of rain eachnof the past 2 weeks. It’s not that I mind the rain, just trying to find a good place tompark my car without walking in mud. Yiur spring flower sare lovely, Christer.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      If the rain stops we won’t get a mud season here and they say it will tonight. But the dog yard is muddy since they keep digging up soild and the gravel gets covered by it.
      We’ve had very little rain here to be honest and it would have been nice if it had continued that way, at least until all biting insect larvae had died🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. It was nearly 95 degree’s here for the second day in a row. Disgusting. I couldn’t even lay out on the lawn swing for an evening nap..had to give up and go inside. NO Winter and now an early summer! Totally unfair.
    From what you said about the poor sow…she must have some of her brood left. They usually have large litters. What caused the piglets to die…do they know?
    Enjoy your tea!🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      Already!! We rarely reach that here even during the hottest summers🙂

      I didn’t know the numbers had vanished🙂 So the sow got 35 piglets and 11 died but still 24 is rather many to take care of anyway🙂 I read it’s a world record🙂 I guess the piglets just were too weak because it took more than one day to get them all out.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      True but since it is the big ones that are muddy I’m not sure if it would be that much worse if the small ones were it too🙂🙂

      Yes spring is here and I like it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes poor sow🙂

      It turns out iut was the electricity company that had been here marking the ground to show where the electric cables were dug down🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

