On the pilgrimage.

Not the nicest of mornings.

Not the nicest of mornings.

I took the day off from work today to leave my car at the garage, no it hadn’t broken down but the heat takes for ever to warm up my car cold mornings and everyone I talked to said change the thermostat. So I thought what have I too loose by changing it more than a bit of money (not that I have that much of it but from now on I know I have a good thermostat🙂 ). After all I get a day off from work🙂 I knew it would take at least one hour before I could get my car again so what to do during that time?

 

There's a mansion that has two wing buildings at the end of the road in the first photo. There'äs a café, flee market and antique store in those.

There’s a mansion that has two wing buildings at the end of the road in the first photo. there’s a café, flea market and antique store in those.

DSC_0008

DSC_0007

I never walked in to the monastery ruins today since I had my dogs with me. It would be a bit embarrassing if any of them pooped on a grave.

I never walked in to the monastery ruins today since I had my dogs with me. It would be a bit embarrassing if any of them pooped on a grave.

 

There’s a pilgrimage route passing through Gudhem (Gods home, an old name from the Norse gods era) but don’t ask me from where it goes and where it leads because I can’t find any info about that. It would have been easier to just go alone but I thought it would be nice to have a dog with on the walk and at first I thought I only would bring Nova but then Sune would be very stressed so I brought him too. The old boys stayed at home to rest their old legs and when we came home I took a walk with them while the smaller ones had to stay at home.

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

 

It’s always bad weather when I walk that road, last time it was bitterly cold and snowy, this time chilly and rainy. It wouldn’t have been that bad if we could have stayed out of the wind all of the time but we only managed to do that when we left the pilgrimage for a short detour. It mostly drizzled but every now and again a heavy shower fell over us. I don’t understand why but my dogs never stop at the same place to check the smells, one walks one meter and the other one wants to continue, just to stop half a meter further down the road and then the other one wants to continue🙂🙂

 

Sometimes it rained so much that I couldn't see what I was photographing. water drops and foggy glasses makes it a bit hard sometimes :-)

Sometimes it rained so much that I couldn’t see what I was photographing. water drops and foggy glasses makes it a bit hard sometimes🙂

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

 

I had to give up after one hour and turn back because of the rain and as soon as we reached the garage the rain stopped falling and the sun started to shine again🙂 I stopped by the lake to take some photos of the birds there and there aren’t that many cranes left now, even the crane tourists have moved on further north, some follow special cranes from where they stay over winter to way up north in Norway where they nest. They do this every year and I think it is a bit crazy but if they like it why not🙂 The walk with the old boys were much nicer since the raining had stopped and we walked mostly in the forest away from the wind.

 

DSC_0021

Mosst stones on an old tomb.

Mossy stones on an old tomb.

Lots of ruins after old houses and barns. This part of Sweden is called "The Cradle of Sweden". This is where the power once resided. Long time ago though and now power lives elsewhere.

Lots of ruins after old houses and barns. This part of Sweden is called “The Cradle of Sweden”. This is where the power once resided. Long time ago though and now power lives elsewhere.

DSC_0025

 

The clouds are thinning out more and more but I’ll stay indoors most parts of the day anyway, my throat is sore and my nose is somewhat stuffed. So I have a fire burning in the stove and I’ll make lots of cocoa (yes finally I came around to buy it🙂 ) and watch either tv or dvd’s. I’ll also take a nap even though I really should vacuum the floors and scrub them too. But the dirt won’t go away if I wait until tomorrow to do that🙂

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

This is where we took a detour and I'll show You more photos from this morning already tomorrow.

This is where we took a detour and I’ll show You more photos from this morning already tomorrow.

 

Have a great day!

 

Photos from the lake on our way home. I forgot to take some of the caravans and motorhomes. Some of them are very impressive.

Photos from the lake on our way home. I forgot to take some of the caravans and motorhomes. Some of them are very impressive.

DSC_0061

DSC_0064

DSC_0065

14 thoughts on “On the pilgrimage.

  1. wow…that’s a lot of cranes! is that an apple orchard in the first photo? what is on that tree with the bright colors? is it decorated for easter? that sure is beautiful countryside.

    • Hi Joyce!

      Still, this is nothing compared when there were 24 000 of them by the lake🙂 They create a wall of sound and it’s deafening🙂

      No it is a tree avenue leading from the big road to the mansion. Most big homes had that back in the days here. Now they are considered to be a danger for drivers so once the trees starts to dies they’re history.

      Yes that is what we call Påskris. We decorate branches with brightly colored feathers and other thinbgs too. I’ll most likely make one myself this year and I’ll show it here.

      I do like how it looks here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Amazing pictures! I didn’t see a single road that had room for more than one car on it…? What do you do if someone comes the other way?
    What IS with the tree with the bright ribbons on it? It looks to be in the woods, not in someone’s yard…
    Sooo many cranes! The area must be very well fertilized! Ugh! If they did that here, someone would be dispersing them with dogs so they don’t pollute the water! 🙂 Are there swans in there? What kind are they?
    Very brooding looking countryside in the rainy weather. Hope you enjoyed your day off!

    • Hi Wendy!

      I’m glad You like tem🙂

      None of these roads were any wider and the ones in my village is almost as thin🙂 They have usually made meeting places, where the road is slightly wider so the one closest to a meetuing place simply backs his car or tractor or lorry to that place. Hopefully those places aren’t too fat away from each other🙂🙂

      That tree is decvorated as a Påskris, a traditional easter decoration here in Sweden. Most of us have it indoors too and it is usually birch branches (but apple and cherry branches are common too and we take them indoors early enough so the flowers open up untuil easter if possible). We decorate tem with brightly colored feathers and many other things like eggs and easter witches. I’m thinking of making it myself this year and if so I’ll show it here. But the road made a turn there so it is standing in someones yard🙂

      That lake is one of the best when it comes to fishing🙂 There’s loads of fish and they are usually huge too🙂 Amazingkly enough that water is just fine, perhaps not right now but during summer and the rest of the year🙂

      Yes swans too and we call them Song swans and they are relatives to Your Trumpet swans. But there’s also lots of Mute swans.

      I have enjoyed it so far even though it seems I’ve caught a cold.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Nice door! It needs to go on Your Shot with the window.🙂

    Those tree roads are called an allée of whatever kind of tree they use. Usually they are much wider and grander and straight. I always wanted a beech allée but since my house is right on the street it would be a pretty poor allée. Maybe half a tree.🙂 I could make one from the street down through the big side yard and into the swamp. It would be sort of pointless as an allée since it would lead nowhere.🙂

    That’s a lot of cranes in one spot. The field must be pretty messy when they leave. I know how our town common looks when the geese have finished with it. It’s a putting green with major poop deposits.

    It’s grey and sort of warm here today. I guess rain is expected.

    Enjoy the cocoa.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like it and I guess Kat will like it even more, she has a thing for doors and windows🙂

      I wasn’t sure if You called them that too (we write allé) and asked Google what word to use and allée didn’t come up at all. I’ve now put it in Google translation so it will be there in the future anyway🙂 This one is truly straight and almost a mile long🙂

      A half a tree allée is a bit too short🙂 I could have one from my gate to my front door if I planted the trees very tight, I think it’s about four yards og length🙂

      Still, very few to how it was when the lake was crowded with 24 000 of them, plus geese and swans and duck and lots of other water birds🙂🙂 But the grass grows so fast that it never really looks especially messy, not even when they all are there.

      The day has become rather warm and sunny so I did enjoy another walk and the afternppn was quite pleasant until the factory owner called and asked if I could work tomorrow. I’ll bring my dogs so we can take a walk afterwards.

      I do enjoy my cocoa🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I wonder why no one had filled in allée before in Google. I didn’t like the word avenue since I only see that as a sort of boulevard, a more important street in a city.

        People are not allowed to walk where the birds are until late in summer, there is a walkway just beside and a visitors center at the end of that walk way. To walk down to the birds is to break every law of animal protection there is I think:-)🙂

  4. what a beautiful place to visit, the history of the area must be amazing, I love the stone work, I hope you feel better soon, I would much rather walk wit the dogs than alone as well,

    • Hi Laurie!

      It’s even more beautiful when the ferns starts growing along the stobe fences all over the place. It’s almost too much history around but it bring tourists that bring money so I guess it’s a good thing.

      Much better now but and it is nicer to bring the dogs but I thought two was enough this time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. OK, I DID miss this post.
    Love the photos.
    some many for different reasons but REALLY loved that red building with the two-tone green door.
    and the pilgrimage
    and seeing the cranes.😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      I really should go there when summer arrives, just imagine all those stone fences and ferns growing along them all the way!

      I do like that house too!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

