We’re usually alone out there.

DSC_0001

It could have been so nice outside today, it’s fairly warm, the sun shows itself every now and again and so far the rain showers have missed us. But the wind! It’s back and as strong as ever and it feels a bit chilly too. The only place we could escape from it today was down by the creek where the forest is filled with trees of all sizes. The wind can easily blow throw the forest where there only are big trees. 

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

 

My dogs and I are usually alone when we’re taking our morning walk, normally as soon as the sun goes up. Today we were a bit later though and didn’t get out until around 7 am. To my big surprise I saw a man standing by the edge of the forest and we started talking when we had reached him. It turns out he once lived a short distance away until he moved to town a few years ago. Every now and again he drives to his ol home and take walks in the forest and on the bog. He must have started around 5 am to reach this place when I met him🙂 Even though he had lived in the area almost his entire life he still had a map, one never knows what can happen on that bog.

 

I had to stand on a slippery, half rotten wooden bridge to get this photo. In the end You can see those concrete pipes where the road used to pass. The place where I fell down that sink hole :-) :-)

I had to stand on a slippery, half rotten wooden bridge to get this photo. In the end You can see those concrete pipes where the road used to pass. The place where I fell down that sink hole🙂🙂

DSC_0017

The water level is rising now and all kinds of debris are filling up the hole so the water level gets higher again.

DSC_0016

 

I had hoped to be able to be outside some today but since the weather is less inviting than what the predictions said I think I’ll just stay indoors doing very little. Well I have the laundry and there are other things I could do but I just don’t feel like doing them🙂

 

Canadian geese are anything but cowards, here they walk only 20 meters (much the same in yards) away from me and four dogs.

Canadian geese are anything but cowards, here they walk only 20 meters (much the same in yards) away from me and four dogs.

DSC_0026

It's hard to see this concrete pipe now days and it looks like it's rather freequently visited by some animals.

It’s hard to see this concrete pipe now days and it looks like it’s rather frequently visited by some animals.

 

Yesterday I saw that the seeds of the Wild Prairie Rose (Rosa arkansana) had germinated but it’s a bit early to do anything with them yet, I also saw one Rosa moyesii (we call if Mandarin rose), I sowed those seeds three years ago and finally at least one of them shows🙂. A few other plants starts to show as well but more about those whan I know they’ll survive these first weeks. 

 

Teodor that cat watching when my neighbor tries to remove the part tent that got destroyed by last nights winds.

Teodor that cat watching when my neighbor tries to remove the part tent that got destroyed by last nights winds.

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

 

It’s time for that pot of tea and after that I better do that laundry, it’s so windy today that it’ll dry fast🙂

 

DSC_0032

 

Have a great day!

 

 

12 thoughts on “We’re usually alone out there.

  1. hi christer! the bog sure sounds like a scary place. have you heard of the blood moon? i hear we are supposed to be able to see one. i have never seen one before. it is on the 80’s here. it’s way to hot for this time of year. i hope we don’t have a hot summer. teodor sure looks interested in your neighbor! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      The bog can be scary but if You know what You’re doing its quite safe out there.

      I didn’t know a blood moon was around the corner. I wonder if we’ll be able to see it here too? Must check that!

      Like I guessed, You’ll get summer directly and no real spring this year. I do hope it doesn’t get too hot and dry this time!

      He sure was, I missed when he looked really surprised though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I was going to say the very same thing Joyce did, the bog hold fascination doesn’ it, it must be all the stories f long ago about bogs, the dark mysterious place, the fellow must enjoy the area to return to walk the bog, Teodor is in face shape, happy laundry day to you, Joyce has turned my interest to the blood moon, I have heard of this, conditions must be right,

    • Hi Laurie!

      It sure can be a scary place and one should never wander around out there without knowiung what one does.

      The laundry is done so now I can sit down and just relax for the rest of the day🙂

      I’ll check if we can see it on this side of the ocean too, I’ve seen it before but that was a long time ago.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    What is the shocking pink plant in the first photo?

    The goose on the right isn’t a Canadian goose. It’s a Greylag maybe but I don’t know for sure. If they are a mated pair, you will have interesting-looking mixed goslings running around. How cool.

    Rocky would sit in the road and watch the neighbor just like Teodor.

    Yesterday was beautiful, balmy, sunny. Today is cloudy, rainy and cool. The heat keeps coming on because I’m too lazy to get up and turn the thermostat down. I don’t want to anyway because it takes the damp out.

    There will be a total lunar eclipse beginning around 1:58AM April 15 which should be visible to just about everyone in the Western Hemisphere. It will be daylight where you are so you will miss it.
    NASA will be live-streaming it starting around 2AM EDT which is about 8AM your time, I think. You can watch it on your smart phone. Somehow that doesn’t seem quite the same, though.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is a Bougainvillea growing by my kitchen window. It is a tad schocking in its coklor🙂🙂

      I didn’t even concider them to be two different species🙂 But they were a couple so I wish I could see how their young ones will look like. They will most likely leave this field and åperhaps nest by one of the lakes here. I do think You are right though, it does look like a Greylag, we call it Grey Goose.

      I would have loved to watch my neighbor taking down what was left of that party tent in that strong wind🙂🙂🙂

      I really didn’t need to have a fire in the stove today either but as You say, it takes the damp out.

      Yes most missed the lunar eclipse here, the moon was just above the horizon when it happened and it was cloudy in most parts of the country. They said that it should appear as orangey here and no, it isn’t the same🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Here’s some pictures of crossed goslings. You have to scroll down the page and some of the photos are not good.
        They mostly look like Canada geese but have the orangey bills and a grey cheek patch.
        http://birds.cornell.edu/crows/domgeese.htm

        On a side note; read the photo information. I didn’t know that Swarovsky made spotting scopes. I thought they just did blingy bling for expensive costume jewelry.
        Now I want to shoot something through my Swarovsky crystal beads except none of them are big enough.🙂

      • It was interesting to see those crossed goslings! I guess the change in apearence will be bigger when these crossbreed with any other goose.

        I must admit I didn’t know anything about Swarovsky, not even that it excisted🙂

  4. Teodor😀
    After 3 years?!?! I wouldn’t have them still. I mean I thought 1 year and if nothing grew,they were dead.
    and then I’d throw them out
    Hmm. I found some seeds from 2012, can I still plant them then?

    • Hi Cindi!

      To sow perennials and trees is to have patient🙂🙂 I’ve read about a man that waited 32 years until the seed finally decided to start growing🙂

      If those seeds have been dry all the time they will most likely germinate but it can take longer time for them to start. Pour them in to a glass with water, if they sink within a week they’ll most likely still have life in them.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

