It tastes like asparagus they say.

At least I got to see an almost full moon last night.

At least I got to see an almost full moon last night.

I don’t know what happened yesterday but suddenly I had 75 visits in one hour and a new record for this blog of 187 visits on one day🙂 The visits were spread in many posts and not just the latest one so I have no idea what made yesterday so different from other days🙂 Most visits came via Joyce blog Octoberfarm, almost two thirds of them.

 

Can You see the Mallard? There's a cxouple in the swampo behind my garage.

Can You see the Mallard? There’s a cxouple in the swampo behind my garage.

DSC_0009

This is how the female flower looks like on a hazelnut bush.

This is how the female flower looks like on a hazelnut bush.

 

I finally came around to buy extra soil to put in my vegetable garden, I have mostly sand and gravel in the ground here and this year I thought I actually would succeed in growing some vegetables🙂 I have red onions to plant, spinach seeds and I was thinking I was going to try pumpkins this year again. Last year my cats peed them to death so this year I’ll spread some coffee beans around them, my cats don’t like coffee bean smell and will most likely avoid the pumpkin plants. I also have seeds for a kind og thistle where one is supposed to eat the roots and like always it says they remind of asparagus. It’s like when it comes to meat, it all reminds of chicken🙂 It never does really but no one can think of any better comparison🙂

 

Wagtail.

Wagtail.

DSC_0015

DSC_0018

 

We could never see the blood moon here, the moon was just above the horizon when the eclipse happened and it was cloudy as well. But I read there will be more times this year when we’ll have a lunar eclipse. It’s worse whan it comes to solar eclipses, they are so rare and when we finally had one here almost no one could see it because clouds covered almost the entire country🙂

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

The Yekllow Star of Bethlehem grows in the wild here.

The Yellow Star of Bethlehem grows in the wild here

 

It’s time for that pot of tea and something to eat, I’m thinking toast with cheese or perhaps warm sandwiches instead. Or I might make some cocoa instead,. Oh these hard decisions I must take🙂

 

DSC_0070

DSC_0073

DSC_0076

 

Have a great day!

27 thoughts on “It tastes like asparagus they say.

  1. maybe people liked your comment on October Farm so they checked you out lol, I no sight of blood moon here, just clouds, one deer on the road and the rest over the fence, how did that happen,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I don’t think I wrote anythging special there to be honest🙂 It was fun as long as it lasted anyway🙂

      I didn’t see those other deers when I took that photo🙂 So I was a bit surprised to see them in the photo🙂 But they jump that fence easiky even if those dhinds must weigh a lot more now, soon we’ll have more deers around here again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Om du nu har sandig jord varför odlar du inte sparris!? Eller är det för dålig trädgårdszon för det? Jag var inne på det ett tag, men som med allt annat jag “varit inne på” när det gäller matnyttigt så rinner det ut i sanden! *fniss*🙂

    Jag har haft otroliga problem ett par dagar med min dator, eller rättare sagt med min anslutning till Internet. Så fort jag går in där så ser jag en massa reklam, som jag absolut inte vill ha men som “jag” har anslutit mig till enligt firman som ombesörjer annonserna.😦 Dessutom kom jag tidigare inte in på vår bank, men det löste sig äntligen i morse när jag tog bort en massa onödiga nerladdningar av program jag gjort. Men innan dess var jag tvungen att gå in på banken och kolla så det inte var nått skumt på gång. När jag äntligen fick tillbaka bankingången försvann annonserna för ett par timmar, men dom kom naturligtvis tillbaka – väldigt irriterande!😦😦
    Nu har jag mailat företaget för 4:e gången med en massa kopierad data (jag har alltså gjort precis som dom skrivit för att få bort skiten, utan att lyckas) så nu hoppas jag att man inte blir invaderad av nått annat. Usch för såna här hemska problem!! 😦😦😦

    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Vilka problem du fått!
      Det är ett elände när ett företag påstår att man gått med på något och som man sedan skall bevisa att man inte gjort!!! Ibland räcker det med att klicka på en bild så händer sådan skit. Hoppas verkligen du blir av med det snart!

      Visst blir man stressad när man plötsligt inte kommer in på sin bank! Men det var ju skönt att det räckte med att ta bort några onödiga program trots allt. Jag hoppas verkligen att dina problem snart är över!

      Ha det så gott det går!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    I noticed buds on my forsythia bush this morning. I could see the tiny spots of color. That means spring is really here despite the cold.

    My wild rose bush has a few small leaves. It will blossom only once with small white flowers. My landscaper wants to cut the two down, but they are such well-known cape wild plants I want to keep a couple in my garden.

    I noticed one daffodil in my backyard. I didn’t plant it so I have no idea how it got there. It looks great.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      I’ve seen flowering forsythias but mine still shows no signs ofeven thinking of flowering🙂

      I almost only have wild roses, they are much easier to please and rarely get any diseases. It’s a bit rough climate wise here too and wild roses seems to manage that much better than the others.

      Moles sometimes move around bulbs in the garden so if that had happened here it would most likely have been a mole working hard to do it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. We won’t be able to see the blood moon here either, Christer, which really disappointed Grenville. But he read online that due to cloudiness, most of the east coast would not be able to view the eclipse. This means he won’t have to set the alarm clock to wake. I liked your first shot of the full moon. Curious as to why sometimes so many visits show up. We have one specific post that always gets spam left in the comments and we just delete them.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      But it will soon be a new blood moon, I think there will be four this year.

      The fun thing was that I didnä’t get any spam at all🙂 But I have noidea what it was that brought all those people here🙂 It was fun as long as it lasted anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    The eclipse hasn’t happened yet. It’s tonight. Well, technically it starts at 1:58AM EDT April 15, 2014 so that would be around 8AM tomorrow morning your time.
    I doubt that I will be able to see it anyway because the cloud cover is heavy right now and doesn’t look as though it’s going to leave any time soon. Oh, well. I will have my camera ready to go just in case because if I don’t, it will be a clear cloudless night.
    I’ve seen a blood moon before. That was the time I told my not quite 5 year old nephew that dragons were drinking the moon. He said he couldn’t see any dragons. I said they were very high up and they must have been very thirsty because they were working pretty fast. My nephew was skeptical.

    It’s a mystery to me how internet hits work. The other day I got 67 hits on my Flickr account. Up from 2. Huh? And the photos they view make no sense either.
    Probably enough people read something on Octoberfarm’s blog that mentioned you and decided to check you out.

    It was very warm here today. It got up into the mid 70’s F even with the clouds. The wind is really blowing hard now. It’s probably like your wind except that, at the moment, it’s warm.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • HI Caryn!

      I realised that after writing here🙂 But I couldn’t see it anyway because I was at work by then.

      I would have believed You🙂 At that age I loved dragons so I would most likely have seen some no matter if they excist or not🙂🙂

      Yes it is🙂 But I doubt that I wrote anyting interesting over at Joyce’s. Well it was fun as long as it lasted, one day🙂🙂🙂

      Warm here today as well but the wind does tend to destroy the most splendid day when it wants to. They say it will get warmer here too but they change the days when the heat is supposed to arrive. Sometimes they say easter sometimes after🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I agree, you must have written a comment that made people come investigate you.
    I wonder what you said?
    Intriguing. Curious minds want to know!😀
    Tastes like asparagus? Hmmm. I will never know.😀😀😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      I don’t think I wrote anything special to be honest🙂
      It lasted for one day and that wasn’r bad🙂

      I’ll tell You if they do🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer! I am fully prepared for the Blood Moon tonight! I have drank extra cups of tea to make sure I have to get up in the middle of the night😉, I have also put my phone into the ensuite bathroom – this faces south and the moon always shines bright into the bathroom. It wakes me sometimes with how bright She can get. I hope I get up for this! The last one we saw was spectacular – quite a few years ago. We had clouds earlier in the day but it has cleared and I see the Moon right now peeking in our kitchen window. I hope that you get to see even a little bit of it in the morning. I will keep my fingers crossed. Have a good day!!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I hope You did see the Blood Moon!

      I get just as tired no matter how much tea or coffee I drink in the evening but all that liquid must out some time soI would most likely wake up fast when the alarm clock rang🙂🙂

      I was at work when it happened here but it will happen three more times this year they say so I hope I’ll get a chance to see at least one of the others.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. As you know, I often hop over here from Joyce’s blog.. it has become a habit of sorts. I am off to find out if they got the snow they were expecting. I hate missing either of your posts! It’s either from her to her’s or from her’s to yours! 🙂 Two of my favorites people and two of my favorite blogs! Thanks for the pic of Bertil!🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      So did You find what I wrote as especially interesting the other day🙂

      I always try to get a photo of Bertil for You!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. hi christer! hmmm…i wonder why so many people came from my blog? so few people leave comments on my posts that it surprises me that many people visit. it is snowing here right now. i wonder if this will be the last of it. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I have absolutely no idea🙂 I don’t think I wrote anything special tp attrackt any more readres here🙂 But I always get lots of readers from You. The statistics shows that almost half of those coming here comes via Your blog.

      Snow?! Wasn’t it very warm just yesterday🙂 Lets hope this was the last for this time!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. I am one of the readers that came via October Farm. I was more intrigued by the name of your blog and wondered if you lived near Hornborgasjön in Sweden, or some other Crane Lake. I’m a little further north east from you, but I notice that our spring progress is much the same. Bring on summer! 🙂

    • Hi Marie and welcome to my blog🙂

      Yes I do, just south of it.

      Spring is always later in my garden than the ones just up the tiny slope, a week or two🙂 So spring has come much further just a few yards away from here🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂

      Om du vill kommentera igen går det bra med svenska om du hellre vill det.
      Christer.

      • Isn’t it funny how spring comes at a dfferent pace to neighbouring properties, depending on which side of the hill you are on? We are right on the coast and it can be windy here, so it’s often a little cooler than places even a couple of kilometres inland. But I like the fresh sea air.🙂

        We have a somewhat shaded garden, with an oak forest as a neighbour to the east, so it takes a while for the sun to reach us. Then it’s shaded later by the birch forest to the west. I see some gardens which get all day sunshine in full bloom already.

        I’m happy to comment in either English (my native language) or my “work-in-progress” Swedish. I’ve started to write in Swedish to help me learn the written language better, but it’s far from perfect.

      • It is and in this case it’s the cold running down to my garden, the different in hight isn’t much but still it’s at least one perhaps two climate zones worse here. On the other side, it’s much warmer here during summer. It can be three degrees warmer down here than at my neighbors🙂

        I love the ocean and it’s the only thing I miss from before I moved from Gothenburg to this area. But we have the biggest colony in Scandinavia of laughing gulls so I can at least hear them all summer🙂

        My neighbor has removed almost everything in his garden that gave shadow to my garden, he doesn’t seem to like any trees but birches and thujas🙂 But I have a few trees myself of course that gives some protectuion from the sun. The forest is mostly planted pines and spruces.

        Just comment in any language You feel like🙂 I’ve heard that Swedish is a difficult language to learn, is it true?

        Christer.

      • Swedish is not that difficult for a native English speaker to learn. But to be completely fluent takes a long time. Perhaps it was because I was already in my 40s when I came to Sweden that it has taken time to write more fluently. Plus the fear of making a mistake. Nobody here speaks English. It’s all Swedish or Finnish (at least half the town’s population are Finnish, many of whom still can’t speak Swedish after 40 years in the country).

      • I guess Swedish and English is rather close, English is very easy fior a Swede to learn. But no one can demand anyone to speak or write fluently if one isn’t born in the country.

        Finns have big problems learning both Swedish and English. Their language isn’t remotely close to ours and it is impossible to learn finnish🙂🙂🙂 I’ve had work friends that never learned Swedish either but they lived in areas with lots of finns and worked with lots of finns and all information from the authorities are written in finnish too so they never really need to learn any other language here. I think I would try my best to learn the language in a country if I moved there.
        Christer.

Leave a Reply

