Tonight they fly the poor witches.

Yes Easter is here and this is probably our most important Easter symbol.

Yes Easter is here and this is probably our most important Easter symbol.

No walk after work today, it’s raining sideways and there are funnier things that walk in weather like this🙂 It’s actually so bad that even the big guys had spent most of the day in the dog house, they were just a bit wet and I think that’s because they came out when I stopped the car by the garage. Nova and Sune had, like always, spent the day in the garage and I can tel You It will take days to clean up the mess they’ve made in there🙂

 

I didn't see the Blood Moon but I fixed one myself by having the shutter on my camera open for a too short time :-)

I didn’t see the Blood Moon but I fixed one myself by having the shutter on my camera open for a too short time🙂

This is how the moon really looked yesterday morning.

This is how the moon really looked yesterday morning.

DSC_0005

 

I feel so sorry for the witches today, it can’t be fun to ride a broom to Blåkulla ( a desert island on the east coast) for the big party with the devil this easter. Well it doesn’t have to be a broom, they can also ride on a upside-down cow too or what ever they might find. They fly to Blåkulla every years on this Maundy Thursday and will fly back home on Easter eve night. To prevent them from coming home again huge bonfires are lit (if the weather and authorities permit) and fire works are used to scare them away or to fall of the brooms. It’s almost only here in this region this is a tradition though. 

 

Nasty cold here yesterday morning.

Nasty cold here yesterday morning.

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

 

Today is also the day kids dress up as witches (and since Harry Potter as wizards and warlocks). The most common tradition is that they have drawn easter cards that they give to those they visit and then get candy in return, a bit like Halloween but the Swedish style🙂 But there are a few places where the tradition is that the children goes from house to house giving away candy instead. I’m not sure I would have managed to do that when I was a kid🙂 So yesterday we got a visit from two very young wizards at work and they walked around with two big baskets filled with candy giving it to us that was working :-) 

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

The smoke from a chimney caught between different layers in the air.

It takes a lot to freeze a Turkish rhubarb but yesterday it happened.

It takes a lot to freeze a Turkish rhubarb but yesterday it happened.

 

We have no children in the right age here in the village so I doubt any kid will come knocking on my door and to be honest, four dogs can be a bit scary to meet when You’re very small🙂 But I bought a couple of bags with candy just in case. If any comes it will most likely be on Easter eve since the weather today is anything but inviting to be outside in, not even for the chance of getting candy🙂

 

DSC_0026

In my garden, This is some kind of Primula, not Cowslip though.

In my garden, This is some kind of Primula, not Cowslip though.

Yellow wood anemone. It turns toward the sun all the time.

Yellow wood anemone. It turns toward the sun all the time.

 

So now I’ll have a four day weekend because Easter Monday is a holiday here as well. A few days ago they predicted summer heat and sunshine all Easter, now they say that Easter eve and easter day will be sunny and somewhat warmer than it has been so far. So I won’t be the least surprised if this stormy and rainy weather will continue for the entire holiday🙂

 

DSC_0001

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

 

It’s time for that pot of tea and to put more fire logs in the stove. I’ll see what I can find about what other Easter traditions we have here in Sweden and perhaps something about what we eat as well. I have bought things for the Påskris but I simply refuse to go outside now to pick branches for it🙂 I’ll do that tomorrow morning instead.

 

Starlings taking waiting for the storm to pass.

Starlings waiting for the storm to pass.

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Tonight they fly the poor witches.

  1. gee christer, what will you do with all that candy if no kids show up? hahaha! i am sure you will find some use for it. your traditions are so different from ours. i don’t have much planned except to make brunch. it is sort of silly to cook a big easter dinner for just 4 of us. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’ll find out something with all that candy if no kids turn up🙂🙂

      I won’t do anything special either, I’ll just relax most of the time and make some nice sandwiches I think🙂

      I think the easter witch tradition is typical Swedish and I don’t think it exists anywhere else. The påskris can be found elswhere but then it’s only a few feathers in it, we have all sorts of things in ours🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. There is not a sign of a witch anywhere in the Easter traditions in Australia, so I was rather bemused myself when I first arrived. There were no stacks of chocolate eggs, or chocolate bunnies, or hot cross buns etc, but there were a lot of birch twigs with dyed feathers attached and witches everywhere. Very strange… But over time I just fell in love with this tradition of cute little Easter witches and I look forward to it.

    One of the advantages of living in the country rather than the big city is that these traditions still live on here in their simple form and while several of my Stockholm friends report that they have never seen an Easter witch at their door, I can look forward to a few small groups of costumed children coming around with their copper pots, smiling faces ready to sing a song for some Easter goodies.🙂

    We had a really sunny, but windy day. Although I see that you are kindly sharing your rain with us later tonight. It’s good for the garden, so I won’t complain. Your garden looks so lush and pretty – I’m quite envious. And that yellow flower just might be an Oxlip (I think it’s called “Lundviva” in Swedish). I’ve never seen the yellow anemone at all. We have a lot of white ones and a few scattered clumps of blue, but not yellow. There’s only svalört and of course 1,000,000 dandelions🙂

    • Hi Marie!

      I think the tradition of Easter witchews is strictly Swedish and doesn’t excists elsewhere, the Easter bunny naver really made it here even though we do have him as chocolate bunnies here. We have the semla instead of the hot cross bunns.

      The tradition with Easter witches (a more correct translation of the name on them is actually Easter hags🙂 ) is growing again, it almost died out not too many years ago but is growing again. I’ve heard that it’s very popular in Gothenburg now days. Perhaps an answer to the Halloween tradition that slowly gets bigger now. I doubt any kid will come here, the village is small and we only have one boy at the right age and he’s so shy I doubt he would like to walk around here🙂

      Yes I’m always very generous with rain🙂 The primula could be an oxlip but it might be a hybrid as well, I had several different before and they do cross brred rather well🙂 This kind pops up here and there in my garden now.

      The yellow anemone is more common in southern Sweden and these I brought with me when I moved here. I have a few blue and “blue and white” white wood anemones too. I hope I can show them later on. We have svalört here too and since I live beside a field where they just grow grass and herbs to make silage and the entire field is covered with dandelions I have them too🙂 My dogs loves to dig them up and eat the roots but there are just as many anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    Your Easter does sound so much like Halloween. Kids go from house to house to get candy and witches are one of the symbols of Halloween. I do love the way yours is dressed in that first picture and the twig broom is great. It is so interesting to learn of the different traditions.

    Gracie is the first dog I’be had who doesn’t mind a little rain. The only time I have to make her go out is when it’s pouring so hard, but then I end up letting her right back inside.

    It will be 40’s during the day and 30’s at night for the next couple of days.

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      They do sound much the same and I think both traditions are just as old so none is influensed by the other. I wish that was my witch but it’s my neighbors. Easter witches are always brightly colored and always wear too much makeup🙂

      The weather yesterday was so bad that all dogs just wanted to go inside🙂

      It looks as if the worst of the bad weather that we’re supposed to have now has passed and I actually think we’re getting sunshine as soon as the sun goes up, it’s only 5:12 am yet but the sun is on its way up now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I’m enjoying to hear of he Traditions, especially the witches,😉,,,,,, the children coming door to door is nice but as you say a bit scary!!!Its snowing here,

    • Hi Laurie!

      No it isn’t scary with our witches🙂 I remember being slightly terrified when I walked around as a kid. Back then no parents followed the kids around, today they always do. Times chnage to the worse many times I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    The Easter witch is an interesting tradition that I’d not heard of either. I like the idea of the Easter tree though. It’s so spring looking with feathers and other things hanging off it. For some time now Easter trees have been popular over here as well. Probably the last 30 years or so. There was one house I used to pass on my way to work that had every tree in the yard decorated with plastic eggs, bunnies, flowers and lights.

    I love that swirly thing your lens is doing. It’s like a moiré effect. The all blue one would make a lovely abstract for NatGeo posting. The blue and gold is lovely too but I like the all blue one best.

    It’s cold here but sunny. There are still pockets of unmelted snow and ice here and there even though the sun has been shining all day. It’s supposed to drop below freezing tonight. My peonies have popped up above ground. I hope they don’t freeze.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Back in the days anything could hang in our påskris but now days so many people think of design and the feathers are allthe same colors and all decorations must fit together. We always had all kinds of easter things on ours, too bad my mother never been the sentimental kind and saved the stuff we made, it woukld have been fun to hang those home made things in my påskris now.

      I don’t know why the photos come out like that, with the swirly thing but it does look cool🙂 I used both tele-photo lenses and it turns up anyway. Could it be that both the shutter time is fairly long and the aperture as low as possible? Even I like the blue one best🙂

      The weather seems to be much better and I can see some fog outside but I guess that will go away as soon as the sun goes up in a few minutes, too bad I love foggy mornings as long as I don’t have to drive around in it🙂 We had a warm night here so it was a bit warm in the cottage after having the fire burning for quite some time🙂 Peonies can take really low temperatures without getting damaged, at least the ones we have up here in the north.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer! I love the traditions that you put up on your blog. Love the witch!!! Wish I could fly on a broom, or upside down cow! We are due rain tomorrow and Saturday – but Easter Sunday and Easter Monday are to be warm. Finally!!! We were -10 celcius here this morning. Still cold!! We have Monday off and I love the 4 day weekends! Happy weekend to you!

    • Hi Dianna!

      But don’t You think it would be rather uncomfortable sitting on a broom🙂🙂🙂 I would prefer the upside-down cow, especially since she’s so warm and soft🙂

      It fell down to -7C here the other night but today look fine already, it seems the storm passed faster than they predicted. Now they say we most likely will get three sunny easter days here, I’ll believe it when I see it🙂

      I’m glad it finally turns toward warmer over at Yours too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Idag är jag lite bakis! Vi firade att vi varit tillsammans 53 år igår. Det blev skumpa och Chatka krabba och att ovanpå det ge sig av på en flygtur till Blåkulla blev nog lite mycket!! så idag får man ta det lugnt…..🙂

    Här har det varit kanonväder i flera dagar nu, även om det har varit lite kyligt på nätterna med frost. Men idag så var det hela +9 grader när Santos och jag var ute. Så att ligga och vila sig när nog inte att tänka på. Det är mycket som ska fixas innan träd inköpen nästa helg…..🙂🙂

    TREVLIG PÅSK
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag tycker nog att är man lite bakis efter att ha firat 53 år tillsammans så är det helt okej🙂 Grattis! Riktigt imponerande!

      Morgonen började dimmigt med sol här, men sedan kom molnen och även om det blev varmare så känns det råare ute. Ingen vind efter gårdagens och nattens storm dock och det är ett stort plus🙂

      Ha det gott och ta det lugnt idag! Det har du förtjänat!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

