I’m pretty sure it wasn’t the Easter bunny.

I should perhaps have used more straight lilac branches, these looks almost sad :-)  Or perhaps I should have used only apple tree branches. But this is more or less a traditional påskris.

I should perhaps have used more straight lilac branches, these looks almost sad🙂 Or perhaps I should have used only apple tree branches. But this is more or less a traditional påskris, I should have bought more feathers though. Couldn’t find any Easter witches to hang in it though, next year I’ll try and fine a good hobby store instead.

We call Good Friday Long Friday here in Sweden but I have to say that today feels anything but long. Even though we all were up by 5 am it still feels like we just got up now at 3 Pm🙂 I did have a small nap around ten though  and I guess that helped ton speed up the day some. 

 

Foggy and chilly morning.

Foggy and chilly morning.

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

 

The storm had calmed down considerable when we went out on our morning walk and the clouds were breaking up. Fog covered the ground and it was a bit chilly to be honest but I didn’t mind since we had almost no wind. I knew that as soon as the sun started to shine the fog would vanish in to thin air so we hurried away so I could get some nice photos. The sun went up, the fog rose and then the clouds came and covered the sky again. It could just as well have stayed cloudy so the fog would have stayed a bit longer instead.

 

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

 

Lots of animals were around and we saw several deers, a couple of moose, a fox running across a field and a hare that insisted on running in front of us for half the walk🙂 I was wondering if it might be the easter bunny (or easter hare as it is called here) but I didn’t see any basket with colored eggs anywhere🙂

 

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

DSC_0019

 

I’ve spent most of the day indoors even if it isn’t that bad outside, I did however go outside to pick some branches to make a påskris. Normally people use either birch or willow branches but I took some hungarian lilac branches and added a few from one of my apple trees. The apple branches will most likely flower within a week because they have big buds now. 

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

 

It’s time for a pot of tea again and perhaps some sandwiches with meatballs and beetroot salad :-)Tomorrow I’ll tell You more about our easter celebrations.

 

Too bad most of the fog had gone by the time we reached the old tombs. Fog and tombs is a great combination :-)

Too bad most of the fog had gone by the time we reached the old tombs. Fog and tombs is a great combination🙂

DSC_0031

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0043

I hoped it would be hogs I saw by the fields but instead I saw two moose. Werll, the back of them anyway.

I hoped it would be hogs I saw by the fields but instead I saw two moose. Weill, the back of them anyway.

DSC_0048

I'll never understand hares, why didn't it just leave the road instead of continue to run in front of us?

I’ll never understand hares, why didn’t it just leave the road instead of continue to run in front of us?

14 thoughts on “I’m pretty sure it wasn’t the Easter bunny.

  1. hi christer! did your dogs not try to chase the hare? teddy would have gone crazy. i like your paskris. we have something like that here. i don’t even decorate for easter any longer. will you be making an easter ham this year? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Nova is the only one that is totally obsessed with hares and she is always leashed because of that. As long as she’s leashed she doesn’t care about them but if hse’s unleashed she starts to chase them. The other ones don’t care at all.

      This is all decoration I’ll do and it’s just so that You all can see it.
      Nop easter ham, this year. It’s a fairly late new tradition to have ham at easter here but I do have it some years. I think I’ll have pancakes instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Lots of leaping things in your photos today.🙂
    The light makes the shaggy ponies look very lovely, too.

    I love the påskris. Putting it under the boomerang was a nice touch. Maybe you could draw an Easter Hag and hang her up on the tree.
    It makes me want to trim some branches off the the quince and the maple and have my own påskris. I have no eggs or feathers to put in it, though. I’d have to use pieces of yarn. Lots of that around my house.

    We had frost this morning. I think the growing things are okay but I haven’t been outside to check yet. It was too cold and Rocky and I are very warm and comfy on the couch right now.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes they tended to run away as soon as they noticed us🙂

      You can start a new tradition and have yarn instead of feathers. But didn’t the turkeys leave any when they were around? The feathers I havce are turkey feathers🙂 It turns out that most of those feathers comes fromn china and are removed from the poor birds while they still are alive. I read that after I bought these. They say there are synthetic ones one can buy but I guess I need to go to s hobby store to find those or just use feathers I find on our walks from birds mostly killed by foxes. At least those birds were dead when the feathers were removed🙂

      I was thinking, for a very short while, that I should make some easter hags myself, like we always did in school. Made from some cloth, balls made from paper (we call them flirtkulor but I just couldn’t find any name for them in English) and a stick. I think I rather find some to buy🙂

      The sun comes and goes as they predicted and fortunately no rain falling🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Google translate says wink bullets. I misspelled flirtkulor the first time and it came out wink cows. Cute😀
        Balls of paper covered with cloth and tied so that it looks like a head with a long skirt?
        You could glue googly eyes on them and dried grass for hair. The possibilities are endless.

        The turkeys left no feathers for me to find and the crows aren’t molting yet. There is a dead yellow shafted flicker up the road but it’s been there for a few weeks so I think I’ll pass on that.😛
        I have glitter and stickers and colored pencils and lots of yarn.

      • 🙂🙂🙂 I found lots of photos on the net showing wink cows🙂

        I forgot that we also used pipe cleaners but they did look much like You write. Remind me before next Easter and I’ll make some🙂

        I would avoid that flicker🙂 but I think You’ll come a long way with the things You already have🙂

  3. I had to smile at the boomerang🙂

    I’ve been rather naughty and had my påskris for nearly two weeks. I keep asking when they go up and nobody can tell me. Is it only to be put up on Good Friday?

    The misty photos are lovely – so atmospheric. We also have a lot of wildlife here and I have to keep my dog leashed as she has a really, really strong hunting instinct. She only weighs 3½kg, but she’s happy to chase anything – mice, voles, birds (blackbirds are her favourite), hares, squirrels, foxes, badgers and even deer. Quite whhat she plans on doing with a 20kg deer if she catches it is anyone’s guess.🙂

    And yes, why do hares run in front of us? Now you know where the expression “hare brained” comes from.

    • Hi Marie!

      The boomerang is a traditional easter decoration here🙂🙂🙂
      I won that one in a competition at school long ago and it works perfect. It’s actually made down in Australia🙂

      I don’t think there’s any rule on when to put up the påskris. I feel I was a bit late, normally people do like You do I think. One or two weeks before easter and on >Tuesday after Easter mort people throw them out🙂

      Do You have a terrier? I don’t think there’s any other kind of breeds that loves hunting more than they do, doesn’t matter if it is a moose two hundred times bigger than the dog🙂🙂🙂 Nova only cares about hares, if she see one and isn’t leashed she goes nuts🙂 Well voles and squirrels too but they don’t run away very fast so she stys close if it isn’t a hare.

      I hadn’t heard hare brained before but I understood the measning very well🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • My dog is a Chinese Crested Powderpuff. This is Miss Sophie. She looks like a fluffy lap dog that might be carried around in a handbag by some celebrity, but don’t be fooled. Inside that furry skull is the mind of a pure predator. She’s lightning fast, has an incredible nose for wild animals and loves a good chase. My last dog was a docile, sweet natured toy poodle who never chased anything. Miss Sophie came as quite a surprise. Apparently this breed of dog was used on old sailing ships to hunt rats and to keep the bed warm at night🙂 So you could say she’s very true to breed.

      • What a cuty!
        Yes I’ve heard they are quite the hunters and that they have been used much like small terriers when it comes to hunting rats🙂 So she’s very true to her breed🙂
        Christer.

  4. HI Christer! I like your paskris – nice feathers!! We are having a long Friday here – sorry to hear yours is going faster. We are patiently waiting for the rains that are now to come for today and all day tomorrow. But the remainder of the extra long weekend are to be sunny and warm. I really enjoyed your foggy photos today! We don’t get much fog here since we only are a river city, and that doesn’t usually draw fog. Your beetroot salad sounds interesting – do you have a recipe you follow? I would love to hear how you make it. Have a good evening!!

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is a nice thing and I love the strong colors.

      Living by a bog and marsh land one get used to fog🙂 But we haven’t had much fog for some years now, I guess it has been too dry and warm. Normally we have cool and rainy summers here and cold but sunny autumns and it is when autumn arrives the fog comes too.

      I actually bought ready made beetroot salad and have for some time now but I can find a recipe if You want?

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Hi Christer!! I would love a recipe if you have the time. Don’t rush, whenever you get around to it. I am not planning any grocery shopping until at least next weekend. Very thoughtful of you, thank you!!

Leave a Reply

