It’s even better today.

My woodland.

My woodland.

I have to admit that I didn’t think we were going to get such a nice and warm day as we did when we were out walking this morning. The wind was a bit strong and even though it was much warmer this morning than the previous ones it still felt rather cold. The wind is still here but it turned towards warmer and at the moment we’re having 19,1 C (66,4 F) There will be noo need to start a fire in the stove this evening even if it should be cold tonight. My cottage keeps the warmth all night long.

 

We walked in to Salmiak on our walk in the forest, he was anything but pleased to meet us :-)

We walked in to Salmiak on our walk in the forest, he was anything but pleased to meet us🙂

DSC_0013

Bertil was with us but he just ignored Salmiak and looked the other way.

DSC_0016

 

I walked around in the garden early this morning after our walk and realised that there are some places where nothing I’ve planted seems to survive. Grass and weeds do ok but besides those very few other things do. But most of what I have planted there has been things I’ve sown, so I started moving plants, mostly columbines and geraniums, from some flower beds to these ones, after I had removed most of the grass and weeds of course🙂 If these plants die I’ll let the grass and weeds take over the places and just mow it with the mower🙂

 

White wood anemone in the forest.

White wood anemone in the forest.

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

 

The seeds for a perennial hollyhock that I’ve soaked in water for two days now had started to germinate so I sowed them in a plastic  box and I’ll have them indoors until I think nights are safe from frost. Well I’ll most likely place them in front of the wall on my patio long before that happens but I’ll cover them if there’s a risk for frost again. 

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

 

We had pancakes for dinner today, yes my dogs get half a pancake every time I make some but without anything on them. I myself had rowan jam and maple syrup on the ones I got🙂 Now I would like to take a nap but since it’s work day tomorrow I need to be sur I’ll fall asleep rather early tonight since I go up before 5 am. 

 

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0044

 

It’s time for that pot of tea again and I’ll enjoy it outdoors, who knows when we’ll get this kind of weather again🙂 I will listen to my neighbors mowing their lawns and throw stick to my dogs.

 

DSC_0035

I think this is a female Chaffinch.

I think this is a female Chaffinch.

DSC_0009

 

Have a great day!

 

In my garden, Tulipa tarda. This tulip is very weedy and spreads happily all over the garden :-)

In my garden, Tulipa tarda. This tulip is very weedy and spreads happily all over the garden🙂

DSC_0006

18 thoughts on “It’s even better today.

  1. hi christer! your woodland is beautiful! i wonder if bertil and salmiak have decided to just ignore each other? i bet your dogs love it when they smell pancakes cooking. i bet teddy would eat one. i’ve never thought of giving her one. i am about to go outside and tackle more planting. i had to take allergy pills. the pollen is really getting to me! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Lots have died in it these two last winters though, I guess it just was too warm compared to how it normally is here.

      I hope that they have decided that, Salmiak did keep his eyes on Bertil though even if he was a bit occupied keeping his eyes on the dogs too🙂

      They just love pancakes🙂 I used to give them the failed ones but I’ve become better in frying them so now they get from the good ones🙂
      I’m a bit stuffed in my nose so this is a bad year when it comes to birch pollen, I only react when there’s lost of pollen in the air.

      Now I’ll have to wait for the seeds to germinate until I do any more planting here, I guess tyat will take a few weeks until anything is big enough to plant somewhere else.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer! Columbines are one of my favorite plants – I have a few around my gardens as well. Lovely pictures today! We are under cloud right now and just heard some really bad news – snow this coming Friday for us. I fear winter just never wants to leave. Very strange weather. I hope they are wrong. I really need to get into my gardens and start feeling the warmth of the sun. Have a great evening!!

    • Hi Dianna!

      They self sow everywhere here so if they don’t survive there nothing will🙂

      More snow! You do have a typical Swedish winter/ spring! A normal April here means some days snow, some days rain and if lucky some days warm. Those years we’re really unlucky this can continue way in to May. I do hope that doesn’t happen to You!

      These warm days have charged my batteries so now I can go to work not wishing I could have stayed at home🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    It’s very flowery where you are. Things are just starting to bud out around here although I do have a few daffodils on the side of the house and some tiny white thing that I don’t know the name of. Not Star of Bethlehem. It was in the bag of assorted bulbs I planted last fall.

    It’s beautiful here today. The wind is cool but the sun is shining brightly and that makes it much warmer. The porch door is open and the warmth and sunshine are coming in. I’m watching the Boston Marathon and checking the website to see how my friend is doing.
    It’s a perfect day to be lazy.🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was the perfect day to be löazy here too even though I was a bit active inb the morning🙂

      The trees are getting green here now too, the birches has tiny leafs, big as mouse ears and that’s when people cut down their roses. I don’t have that kind of rose thankfully but I do like to see those first leafs.

      Have a great last day of Easter!
      Christer.

      • We plant our corn when the leaves on the oak are as big as a mouse’s ear. The oaks are pretty much the last trees to leaf out.

  4. Oh I love columbines! I had quite forgotten about them as lovely cottage garden plants, but they would be ideal in my rather shady garden. I’ve just ammended my order to Impecta to get some seeds, so thankyou for the tip🙂

    I really like your early flowering tulip, so I’ve bookmarked that one as well with bulbs.se for ordering close to autumn. I’d be overjoyed if it took over the garden – it’s really lovely. I have a pretty red tulip flowering at the moment (called Show Time) and it’s so nice to have a splash of colour in an otherwise grey landscape.

    We also had a beautiful sunny day, which we enjoyed outside. It feels so wonderful to be out so early in the season, watching all of the flowers grow and the birds returning to the woods. I heard the year’s first cuckoo today, so all I need are the swallows to return and I shall declare it officially spring.

    • Hi Marie!
      I wouldn’t want a garden without columbines🙂 They are rather promiscuous ao if You have a couple of different kinds they soon will mix and in a few years You’ll have all kinds of columbines🙂

      Yes if that tulip like Your garden it will spread by itself, it’s a nice kind of weed🙂 I’ll divide and spread mine after they have flowered this year because now they grow so tightly that they need new places to grow on.It’s one of the few tulips I like.

      Yes this is unusually early and I hope it will stay all summer like this🙂 Cuckoo already? I tried to hear if we had any here today but None so far. I hope they’ll arrive here too this week. I hope the swallows build a nest on my cottage this year too, they are messy but I like to have them outside my window upstairs🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. such beautiful photos, the cats have a calmer friendship it appears, lol, my Holly Hocks are bi-annuals , flowering every second year, they are on of my favorite flowers second only to Foxglove, its those two flowers I miss most, well my Bleeding Hearts also, and , lol, I could go on, I won’t, have the best evening,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m not so sure if they are calmer or if it was four dogs and a human that was the calming factor🙂

      There are all kinds of holly hocks, annual, biennal and perennial. The annuals are actually best since they rarely get that fungus infection that looks like rust but I’m hoping these I sowed yesterday will manage to not get it, at least not for a few years. Foxgloves are weedy here, I tear up a few hindred from my flower beds every year🙂 Still I have plenty left because I do like them a lot.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    I love today’s pictures. Everything looks so green and new. This is the most exciting time of year when I see the flowers coming up in the garden. I forgot how many bulbs I had planted last year and was thrilled to see all the spring flowers in so many colors.

    I have a few columbine in my garden. They are such delicate, lovely flowers.

    I have some seed catalogues and have been looking through trying to decide which new plants I’ll order from them this year. Such fun!!

    Hope yours was a wonderful evening.

    • Hi Kat!

      Spring is my favorite season, when all is new after the awful winter. I don’t have that many bulbs because I can’t stand planting them🙂 I don’t know why but I always get bored after just a few🙂 I do like them in spring though🙂

      I have columbines all over the garden, they tend to spread rather well🙂 I would have columbines, foxgloves and geraniums all over the place here if I didn’t tear up lots of them every year. Still I have plenty to share if anyone wants some🙂

      I won’t be needing to buy any operennials if I’m successful with my sowing this spring🙂 Some things have already germinated of what I sowed the other day so now I have problems keeping them somewhere until I can plant them outside🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I’ve missed a couple of your posts but it’s been a busy, busy time here. Easter has come and gone and it was wonderful! Everything is beginning to look Spring like where you are..still looks cold though.
    Bertil was cool when he came across his adversary. I think a man and some dogs may have kept things calm.🙂
    Bertil had quite a back up team…for sure!

    • Hi Mona!

      It’s actually rather warm, especially for this time of year🙂 62F yesterday and even warmer today, that’s summer temperatures for us🙂 Almost no leafs showed yesterday but today they show everywhere!

      It might have been my dogs and I that calmed things down🙂 Bertil didn’t even look towards Salmiak the whole time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      It sure does and I’m enjoying it to the fullest🙂 Very early though so we all fear a backlash with snowfall and icy weather even if it most likely won’t happen. We are used to have winter until late April so spring arrived very early this year and I can’t complain🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

