It’ll be cocoa tonight.

DSC_0001

Another warm and sunny day but the night was a bit chilly, the roof of my car was covered in a thin layer of ice. I think the temperature fell below freezing for ten minutes or so. Nights can be freezing cold here way in to early summer and the last night with frost usually arrives around June sixth. The first night with frost in autumn usually comes some time in the first week of September.

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0005

 

They have altered the painting machine at work, of course not in the way I wanted it to be altered but this is perhaps the next best I guess. For once the technicians that did the job actually listened to what I was saying and to an even bigger surprise they actually showed me how things can and should work in the machine. They come from another firm that knows these machines and they taught me more in ten minutes than the other business have done in over one and a half year🙂 There is actually a possibility that I can start to like working with this machine after all🙂

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

The gooseberry bushes in the wild flowers now.

The gooseberry bushes in the wild flowers now.

DSC_0016

 

Tomorrow we’ll have the wage negotiations again, it got moved to a Friday one hour before I stop working for the day and this annoys me extremely much. I don’t care if we aren’t done at the time >I stop working at twelve, I’ll go home anyway. If they decide a time without asking me if it works it’s up to them to find a new time so we can finish the job. I must sign the papers anyway so they can’t do anything without me🙂

 

The Snake's head Fritillary flowers in my garden right now. The normal red, a slightly lighter one and the white (slightly deformed) below.

The Snake’s head Fritillary flowers in my garden right now. The normal red, a slightly lighter one and the white (slightly deformed) below.

DSC_0018

The Sloe bushes flower too.

The Sloe bushes flower too.

DSC_0020

 

I think it is time for a big pot of cocoa now, even though it is warm outdoors ( and here indoors too of course) I still feel a bit cold inside. So I think I’ll have cocoa with some vanilla sugar in it🙂 I guess a sandwich or two won’t feel bad either🙂

 

Bertil followed us to the bog today. He was uneasy all the way until we reached the bog where he calmed down. We heard the wild hogs on our way home and it sounded as we came a bit too close :-)

Bertil followed us to the bog today. He was uneasy all the way until we reached the bog where he calmed down. We heard the wild hogs on our way home and it sounded as we came a bit too close🙂

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

 

Have a great day!

 

A green eyed variety of White Wood Anemone.

A green-eyed variety of White Wood Anemone.

16 thoughts on “It’ll be cocoa tonight.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Bertil looks quite pleased with himself sitting up there on that stump.

    Is that deer one of yours?

    Your spring is much farther ahead of mine. Maple flowers are just starting to show up around here. You have all kinds of late spring flowers. The vicious roses are doing just fine, of course.🙂

    It got cold last night. My heat came on and has been coming on every now and then all day even though the sun is shining. The wind is very strong and cold otherwise it would be nice outside.
    Rocky and I have been out a few times but it’s not pleasant. We almost got hit by a loose downspout pipe that blew off my neighbor’s porch roof and rolled towards us.

    Cocoa sounds like a good idea. Perhaps I will join you.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think he was, for once he didn’t look angry🙂

      I don’t think so, I tried to focus the lens and didn’t really look at her🙂

      The maples are just starting to flower here now but I’ve seen flowering cherry trees in the village where I work. So I think they’ll start here in a week or so. My viscious roses are just fine too🙂

      I’ve turmned of the heat in the kitchen but keep the radiators on in my bedroom and bathroom. I can’t stand cold bathrooms🙂

      Good thing You didn’t get hit by that pipe! The wind is bad enough by itself and when pipes and other things starts to fly around it’s best to stay indoors, with a cup of cocoa🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Beautiful pictures of flowers! My mini daffodils and Scilla are blooming. My fan-tail and giant pussywillows are gone by😦

    We are having crazy winds here, makes the 50 degrees (F.) feel mighty cold.

    How is Bertil’s abcess coming along?

    • Hi Wendy!

      More and more opens up here now and it goes so fast I actually can see when it happens🙂

      I’ve never seen a fan-tail willow so I had to check it on the net. Beautiful! By gone by You mean for ever I guess and that’s too bad!

      Almost summer warmth here and a weak wind today, can’t be much better🙂

      Bertil’s abcess is fine🙂 It did come back one time but I managed to get it all out and the wound healed fine. So now he’s back to his nasty self again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I know what you mean, we wait all winter for these spring flowers, and they are done before you can blink! My pussywillows are fine, I use gone by to mean done flowering! LOL! I got my fan tail pussywillows at the grocery store a number of years ago, they were selling them as dry sticks for decorating! I could see they were very fresh, so bought them and put them in water in my garage where it was cool and dark and they rooted very quickly, as willows do. Something about pussywillows takes me back to my childhood, and I have quite a nice collection, including pink and black pussywillows! (not on the same plant!)

        Glad old Grumpy is back to his usual self. My pets would have gotten so sick and required multiple trips to the veterinarian, costing great amounts of money! Just my luck!

        Loved your pictures, you must be some kind of photographer, you have quite a good eye!

        My dahlias in pots are getting quite large. I put them out during the day, but have to bring them in at night, as we are still having below freezing nights. Our last frost date is the end of May… I think I will need a truck to move them by that time😉

        Enjoy that great weather!

      • Yes it all happens too fast but then again, woukld we love spring this much if it didn’t?🙂

        I’ve never seen any willows like that before and I’m pretty sure it won’t survive up here. Japanese willows rarely do.

        Bertril is born in a barn close to pigs and cows so he’ll survive anything and I think he’s just too evil to die from something as boring as an infection🙂🙂🙂

        No, I’m no photographer (i’m glad You like my photos🙂 ). I’ve worked 20 years at Volvo, then I had my own garden center/ nursery and now I work as a painter in a small company in a small village.

        I placed my dahlias in the cool cellar so they don’t show much yet, just as well because I don’t have any space for big plants any longer🙂

        Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! We can get frost the same as you – June and as early as September. It seems as though your weather is better at warming up through the day. I still haven’t started any seeds. Our time for seeds to go into the ground is our May long weekend which is close to the end of May. I still have time! It has been raining here since last night. I really like it! Bertil is a very wise cat to make his unhappy intentions known. Hope the cocoa was delicious!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I thought You might have it much like here. This is a very unusual spring here, normally it’s still rather cold this time of year. But since I live down a slope, almost hole🙂 it does heat up fast around my cottage. In winter it’s just the opposite🙂

      I’ve just sown spinach and those thistle seeds so far, onions don’t get damaged by some frost. All other seeds are sown indoors and will need to stay here until May sometimes. I have to cover them if they warn for nights with frost until the risk is over. No rain here so I had to water my garden when I came hgome from work today🙂 just the newly planted plants that I’ve moved around in the garden and the vegetable garden. The rest will have to do what it can find in the ground🙂

      Bertil is a smart little cat, nasty but smart🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    All the buds and flowers are beautiful. You have far more spring than I do. Few of the trees are budded, only the forsythia and the wild rose bush.

    We don’t get frost but we do have very cold nights this time of year. Today they warned about covering flowers to protect them.

    My house was cold this morning.

    • Hi Kat!

      This is a very unusual spring and I love it🙂 I don’t think my forsythia will flower this year, I planted it just this spring and it spent its first winter in a pot outside my kitchen door🙂

      Most people only have pansies or daffodills outside yet so no need to cover yet. But after this weekend people will believe summer is here and plant anything and then get sad when it freeze to death one cold night🙂’

      A warm night here so my cottage was likewise.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. How on earth were you fast enough to catch that picture of the deer leaping over the creek!!? GREAT shot, Christer!
    Bertil…the GREATEST cat ever!! So say I!! :):)

    • HI Mona!

      It actually stood completely still while I tried to focus my camera, just as I was pushing the button the der turned around and jumped away🙂

      I thought You would like those photos of Bertil🙂 I wasn’t planning on having them all but then I thought You would like it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. No frost here now, but what we do have is yellow pollen from pine and other trees. It covers the cars and so we limit leaving windows open even when parking them in the yard. Most of the trees are budding, but a few chilly nights have slowed them down. The birds are busy looking for places to nest and in the absence of any trees with leaves have been looking around the house. We have already discouraged several because they are not tidy once they set up a home. Good to read that you may get to like working with the new equipment.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      So far “only” Birch pollen but too extreme amounts. Soon everything will be covered in yellow here too when the pines starts🙂

      Birds are very busy here too, so busy I almost never get a chance to photograph them. But most have nests by now I think and I have actually seen many flying home with worms in their beaks. The swallows are the worst but I have to admit that I do get happy when they decide to nest outside my window on the upper floor🙂

      Working life would be so much funnier if I actually at least started to not hate that machine🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

