A bit chilly in the morning.

DSC_0009

It’s still early morning for many people but not for me and my dogs. We’ve been up since 5 am, perhaps not my choice today but the dogs wanted to go outside and after that  I made breakfast for us all. I watched Sponge Bob Squarepants while I ate mine🙂 I just love that character🙂

 

DSC_0010

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

 

After that I paid all my bills, never a funny thing to do but still it needs to be done. Companies tend to be so cranky if one doesn’t🙂 I checked the thermometer and decided a jacket was a must on our morning walk, just below 0C (32F) but I couldn’t see any ice on my car. It was a good decision because even if it doesn’t blow at all outside it still was a bit chilly even in the sunlight. 

 

This road leads to a cottage even more remote from the world than mine is.

This road leads to a cottage even more remote from the world than mine is. I’ve never been there though.

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

 

The kitchen door is open from now on (just after 8 am) and all the animals can go in and out as they please. Nova and Sune are outside chasing each other. Round and round the cottage and no grass can grow there any more🙂 They have lots of garden to run around in but they prefer to run around their home. Every now and again they come in, look at me and then run out again. I do wonder what they are thinking when they look at me that way🙂

 

They have moved lots of cows to the pasture where the bulls walked earlier. Now there are lost of calves too.

They have moved lots of cows to the pasture where the bulls walked earlier. Now there are lost of calves too.

DSC_0027

I fell in love with this one as soon as I saw it :-)

I fell in love with this one as soon as I saw it🙂

DSC_0030

 

I need to vacuum and scrub the floors and I also need to mow the lawn this weekend. Can’t even pretend I want to do either to be honest🙂 I could mow today and save the vacuuming and scrubbing for tomorrow when I’ll do the laundry anyway. Or the opposite way round of course. I’ll also pick up a few more plants from my cool cellar and place them on the patio for a while. I have already picked up my mulberry tree and two small apricot trees. One of the apricots was so badly infested with aphids that all new branches and leafs died. No worry, new ones will come but that’s the reason I want to pick up more from the cellar. Aphids love it just too much down there.

 

This is another species of Scilla that I never have had in my garden but suddenly it just turned up. It is said it spreads even more than the blue on I already have and that I like.

This is another species of Scilla that I never have had in my garden but suddenly it just turned up. It is said it spreads even more than the blue on I already have and that I like.

The first Forgetmenot. I have pink, blue and white ones in my garden.

The first forget-me-not. I have pink, blue and white ones in my garden.

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

 

But first of all I’ll make a pot of tea and then I’ll go outside to sit in the sunshine to enjoy life for a while. Well I do enjoy life otherwise too but there’s something special to sit on the kitchen stairs an early spring morning, with a cup of tea by my side.

 

The dible Honeysuckle. Doesn't look much for the world but the blue berries that comes are rather tasteful.

The edible Honeysuckle. Doesn’t look much for the world but the blue berries that comes are rather tasteful.

My Osage orange. I have to say it is rather tough for not being hardy enough to grow here :-)

My Osage orange. I have to say it is rather tough for not being hardy enough to grow here🙂

DSC_0038

The first flowering dandelion in my garden. As You can see there's also foxgloves and a clematis integrifolia growing where there really is no space for them.

The first flowering dandelion in my garden. As You can see there’s also foxgloves and a clematis integrifolia growing where there really is no space for them.

 

Have a great day!

 

Hector guarding his stick :-)

Hector guarding his stick🙂

14 thoughts on “A bit chilly in the morning.

  1. As always, great pictures. So many strange plants I’ve never seen before. Can you believe that Southern California is actually getting a bunch of rain tonight! I want to stay up and just listen to it hit the roof instead of sleeping!🙂 They look at you like that because they are inviting you to join them!!! :):) Go race around the house with them…they will be overjoyed..*giggle*

    • Hi Mona!

      I guess it’s just too hot where You live so those plants can’t survive there. It’s actually easier to make a plant used to colder climate than the opposite🙂

      I hope they are right about the rain🙂 I won’t congratulate You for the rain so I don’t jinx it🙂🙂

      I did chase my dogs back in the days🙂 now I rather stay in one place and then they can bring me sticks to throw away for them to fetch🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i think the dogs expect you to run around the cottage too! we are off to a ramp festival this morning. i’m not sure how good it will be but we are going to check it out anyway! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      In their dreams🙂🙂

      Are You going to the one in Mason-Dixon Park. Mount Morris/ Greene County?
      I had to check what a ramp festival was and thiat one turned up🙂
      Lots of food is promised there so it sounds as if You won’t need to feel hungry anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! We are sitting at 0 this morning too. A bit of frost on the roofs and car windows and I heard the furnace just turn on. My son loves Sponge Bob too – he’s just turned 18 and has been watching it since he was very little! Funny isn’t it! I am starting to think about planting some seeds this weekend and hoping for the best. I won’t go crazy just in case we can’t plant when its expected. Isn’t it the best feeling in the world to sit in the spring sunshine and feel the world waking up? Have a splendid day!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I only have the radiators on in the bathroom and my bedroom but they would most likely have started this morning too, it wasn’t especially warm here on the ground floor🙂

      I’m soon 50 and I still love that carachter🙂🙂 I don’t know what it is, perhaps his almost unbreakable optimism combined with not beeing too smart🙂🙂

      I brought up lots of plants from my cool cellar and I think that I this winter killed more plants than I’ve ever done before🙂 Almost two thirds are gone and I guess it’s because it was so much warmer down there this year and I didn’t water enough. The things I sowed the other week are doing fine though, too fine🙂 I’ve started to bring them out during the day now so they get used to cooler mornings and warmer days already from young age. I don’t know if that will help them or not but I hope so🙂

      I love early mornings and almost always wake up around 5 am even though it would be nice to sleep a bit longer sometimes🙂 Not even the farmers are up at that time so it feels like I’m alone in the world. That feeling can stay for quite some time since my neighbors tend to sleep rather late🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    They are staring at you because they cannot believe that you would be inside instead of outdoors running around the house. How silly of you.🙂

    The photo of the dandelion made me realize that there aren’t any in the lawn yet. This is very strange as dandelions will usually pop up as soon as there are two sunny days above freezing. They are like skunk cabbages. Of course the skunk cabbage was very late this year, too. Oddly enough, the peony stalks are up about 6 inches now. Go figure.

    It’s early here but Rocky and I have already been out for a walk. It was in the low 40’s F and very cloudy and damp. I didn’t wear a sweater and I had flip-flops on my feet. It wasn’t too bad. Then I sat on the front steps and cut up cardboard shipping boxes to be put out for recycling. They have to be a certain size. Just as I was finishing up, it started to rain a cold nasty rain. So much for outside today. Rocky and I are back on the couch all warm and cozy.

    The calf has interesting facial markings. It’s a cute one.

    I’m becoming more and more fond of that garden with the tacky statuary. It has a certain weird charm to it.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Don’t they know me better after these years🙂

      The peonies started early here but dandelions didn’t. I’ve seen dandelions in the village where I work for some time now but not here. It might be because the dogs have been digging them up as soon as the leafs showed so they might not have had a chance🙂

      I’m not sure how we are supposed to do with cardboard boxes here. I usually just fold them and toss them in the container🙂 They have info about anything else but not anything about cardboard boxes🙂

      It is a very cute calf and I’ll follow it all summer if theyt are allowed to stay for that long.

      I love disliking those statues🙂 No one lives in that house any longer so it’ll be interesting to see how they deteriorate as time goes by.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    I chuckled as Gracie does the same thing. She’ll be in the yard, come in and give me a look then go right outside again. I always figure she’s just making sure I didn’t go anywhere.

    It is chilly here and cloudy so no sun to help. I need bird seed so I may have to venture out later, but I don’t want to.

    I have laundry sitting in the dryer, and I could get that, but I haven’t a whole lot of industry today. Even Gracie hasn’t been out too much. Cloudy days just don’t get me going the way the sun does.

    Enjoy your day and have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      They do have a certain look when they come in looking at me🙂

      We’ve had a wonderful day here and the weak wind has made it even better, otherwise it would most likely have been too warm. It takes a while to get used to warm weather now days🙂

      I did mow the lawn today so I’ll do the rest tomorrow. This beautiful weather is too inviting to do too much indoors🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I think the dogs come in to telepathically report to you how very happy they are, the snow is gone and the warmer weather is with you so they are happy, being free to come in out, even better!!!! You are so far ahead of us weather wise, we are slowly turning to spring, slowly though, this has been such a long winter, everyone is ready for spring, even a dandelion would make me smile at this point!

    • Hi Laurie!

      Too bad my telepathic abilities are a bit low at the moment🙂🙂

      This spring do make us all feel so much happier but now we wonder how summer might be instead, a warm and sunny spring usually means a crappy cold and rainy summer🙂🙂

      You do really have a Swedish winter/ spring this time. That’s how we usually have it like here. I have to say I prefer the kind of winter/ spring we’re haviung this year🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Funny about sune and Nova just running in a certain path alongside your cottage, and since we have no pets now, I have no ideas as to why they enjoy doing that. Probably, the cats just laugh to themselves at the silliness. Sitting outside on a warm day is better than doing chores. Looking forward to seeing the calf grow and hopefully that will happen.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I do wonder what’s so fun running around the cottage when they ahve the entire garden to use as theirs🙂 I guess they’ll run more in the garden when I have planted more trees and bushes, so they can try to trick each other🙂

      Nothing beats sitting outside a warm and sunny day🙂 But I did all my chores and still had most of the day left to do just nothing🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

