Only the laundry left to do.

DSC_0023

A bit colder this morning than yesterday but no frost to be seen anywhere. I guess the temperature dropped fast to just rise as fast again. It’s always as coldest before the sun rise but today it stayed chilly for quite some time so I haven’t had the kitchen door open until right now. We walked down to the creek and walked upstream, lots of birds were singing and geese, swans and cranes flew above our heads. I couldn’t hear any other animal but on our way back home I saw a print of what might have been a tiny moose or a very big hog, I’m afraid it must have been a hog because I don’t think any new moose are born yet.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

After breakfast I decided it was time to vacuum the cottage and scrub the floors. So the dogs went to the dog yard and I started vacuuming on the upper floor. My life would be so much easier if Orvar and Hector didn’t shed their fur every day of the year🙂 I had placed my teacup on the kitchen table and the first thing I do when I come down is to push it hard while turning around. It swayed for a while spilling out lots of tea that just missed my laptop and then it fell down on the floor. My favorite teacup is no more. I’m thinking of trying to glue it, it’s hard to find a cup one really likes again.

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0040

DSC_0043

DSC_0046

 

The floors are scrubbed and my dogs are back from the dog yard again. I planted one of my apricot trees and if we’ll get a summer like the last one it actually might survive next winter otherwise I don’t give it much of a chance. I’ve also planted my mulberry tree, that one is hardy enough and it has grown in the garden. But one day a tiny dog called Sune dug it up and chewed big parts of is🙂 so it has spent some time in a pot and indoors during winters. It is in bloom already but I doubt I’ll get any berries this year. The bigger the tree gets the bigger the berries get so even if it will give berries this year they’ll be rather small. Delicious though!

 

DSC_0050

DSC_0052

DSC_0061

DSC_0064

 

Now I only have the laundry to do and after that I can enjoy the day and relax on my patio. I still have some plants to bring up from my cool cellar but I don’t have enough bubble wrap to cover them when nights get cold so they’ll have to stay where they are. I brought up most of it yesterday and I don’t think I have killed that many plants during one winter before🙂 I think it just was a too warm winter so it was much warmer down there and I just didn’t water enough. It’s a tricky job watering plants that hibernates because if they get too wet they die and it’s the same result if it is too dry and how much water is enough for plants without leafs?

 

The Apricot.

The Apricot.

This is the mulberry tree, much smaller than it once was and a bit hard to see here :-)

This is the mulberry tree, much smaller than it once was and a bit hard to see here🙂

The bright yello butterfly is the male one and the slightly greenish the female one. Lemon butterflies are the only where I can see the difference.

The bright yellow butterfly is the male one and the slightly greenish the female one. Lemon butterflies are the only where I can see the difference.

DSC_0015

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and to find a new cup that will do until I can buy a new one or glue the broken one without it leaking🙂

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Only the laundry left to do.

  1. Hi Christer! Sorry to hear about your favorite tea cup. My son had that happen to his last week except he had a very small crack at the top of the mug and when he went to put in the hot water, the crack got bigger and went all the way down the mug. Water went everywhere. He is on the look for a new one too. I like the fact that you can put things in the ground now. We are expecting flurries of snow later in the week so nothing in our gardens yet. My sister in law bought a small fig tree yesterday. I am not sure if she will plant it in the ground or keep it in a pot. Our winters are so harsh that I don’t think a delicate tree like that would survive. The joys of having shedding dogs! Two out of our 3 shed terribly. I vaccum every day. Spring is the worst time I find. Have a good day!

    • Hi Dianna!

      It’s so annoying when it happens. The supåer glue I had had dried totally so I’ll need to buy some and try to repair it. But I have to say it has managed to go through lots of drops on the floor without breaking and it was a very cheap mug. The expensive ones breaks just by looking at them🙂

      We will most likely get some snow on May first here but the temperature will stay high enough to melt it away even before it hits the ground.

      They can have fig trees outside all year long along the coast line here and in the most suthern parts of this country but not here where I live. I do like figs but those pots will be just to heavy to carry outside after just a few years🙂

      Yes the joys🙂 I tend to use mny vacuum a lot too so I need to buy a new one now since the one I have sound more than it vacuums🙂 but here it’s autumn that is the worst period.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I’ve only seen one butterfly so far and it was not the mourning cloak which is generally the earliest one each year. It was some rufous colored thing that flew by so fast I couldn’t get any details. That was over a week ago and I’ve not seen any others. Lots of flies, though. They seem to come out like dandelions.🙂

    The 6th picture from the bottom, the one of the tree trunk and evergreens is my favorite. I love the way the light is different colors in the background. Lovely.

    Bertil still looks pleased with himself. Perhaps you should start worrying?🙂

    The turkeys were out in the back swamp again yesterday. I only saw two. There may have been others hiding in the skunk cabbage and undergrowth. It is mating season and the toms usually manage to have a group of females.

    It’s starting out cold, cloudy and drippy today. Supposedly, it will clear up much later in the day. We’ll see.

    Sorry about your favorite tea mug. I hope you can glue it back to usable shape. I have many favorite tea mugs so I don’t have a problem when one of my favorites takes a leap off the table. I have a moment of sad and then I get another one out of the cabinet.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It’s only a few weeks ago that I realised You also have the Mourning cloak. We have it here too but it’s usually late and rather rare here where I live. The first ones to show here are the Nettle butterflies (and some years the Peacock eye if some of them hibernated here during winter), then comes the Lemon butterflies and shortly after that the Cabbage butterfly.

      That’s my favorite too! I had to take it over ten times before I got it as I wanted it🙂 It’s an old Birch we can see. Bertil was actually very nice towards me now when we were out walking and that’s scary🙂 He’s never nice so he must be up to something and something really bad🙂

      I do think turkeys are cool but I’m sort of glad we don’t have them here. They tend to be on the nasty side most of the time🙂

      It’s so typical clumsy of me! I need to buy more super glue because the one I had had dried totally🙂 I used to have a few mugs I liked but they have all passed on to the place where teamugs never break🙂 I better buy several this time, of the same kind so I just can switch when I break one🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    I have dropped and broken three favorite coffee cups. After they hit the tile floor, there is no hope. The one I’m using now is only okay.

    It is a chilly day again and rather ugly: all grey. I have noticed a few of my plants are started to appear, and I’m going through catalogues looking for some more flowers for the front. Doing that makes me think we might, someday, have a spring and some warm weather.

    I didn’t go out yesterday, but I have no choice today. I need those bird seeds-I hate to disappoint them.

    Share some of that sun!

    Have a great day!

    • Hi Kat!

      I only have an ok cup too now. The one I liked the most was a British one, very big and it had big apples painted on it. It costed a fortune but like all cups it was fragile. I mended it several times but the last fall on stone stairs simply was too much🙂

      It’s almost an explotion here now, only a few cherries, the oaks and my walnut tree still are without leafs. Perennials pop up everywhere and I’ve picked up most of the plants from my cool cellar. It will be conciderable colder on May first and second though, even some snow will fall but after that it willturn again.

      I have some bird seeds left over here, You can have those if You pop over🙂🙂🙂 The birds are so busy now that they don’t bother to come to the feeders any more. I guess they will when the nests are built and they need some extra food for themselves, there’s enough with insects for the younglings.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! sorry about your cup. it’s funny how we have our favorite cups isn’t it? your trees look so healthy. i bought a columnar apple and a dwarf cherry to grow in pots in my driveway. they are both blossoming and looking very healthy right now. it is a bright sunny warm day here today. though we had rain yesterday, the earth is still very dry. i just planted tons of trilliums and columbines and by digging in the dirt, you would never have known it rained. we are supposed too have a week of rain starting on tuesday and for once i hope they are right because we sure need it. things that have no trouble with winter here died after last winter. i lost roses and holly and ivy. i am still waiting to see if other stuff comes back. the ramp milkshake tasted wonderful when you took the first sip. after you swallowed it, it was a bit weird! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Shit happens but I do miss that cup🙂 It is strange that we get favorite cups, some may look the same but perhaps they weigh slightly different and then one of them feels better in the hand🙂

      How will You do with those trees during winter? I’ve never seen a dwarf cherry but we can buy dwarf peaches and nectarines here and they must be placed cool but not cold during winter. It would be nice to have a dwarf cherry tree, I love cherries but they don’t seem to be popular here for some rason I don’t understand.

      It’s the same here, we had loads of rain just a week ago but the ground is soo dry!? Most of my trilliums died this winter, perhaps it was too wet? They are very expensive over here but my plants have self sown and I think I found a few new ones yesterday🙂 My hellebores ar totally gone after this winter.

      I can’t help it but ram milkshake sounds anything but tasty🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

