Walpurgis night.

The photos today were taken earlier in the week. I haven't been able to go outside for any longer period :-) Today is a bit cooler but not even close to as cold as they said it would be. This shows Cherry leafs.

The photos today were taken earlier in the week. I haven’t been able to go outside for any longer period🙂 Today is a bit cooler but not even close to as cold as they said it would be. This shows Cherry leafs.

I know I almost never write anything on Wednesdays but since I promised You something about our celebration of Walpurgis night or Valborgsmässoafton as we call it. To be honest, I doubt anyone knows anything about Saint Walpurga unless they’ve done like I’ve done, looked it up🙂 Especially since we cal her Valborg here🙂 But apparently she is a catholic saint that was very good in spreading Christianity amongst the pagan Germans. I wonder if it was the usual way, by force and bloodshed?

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

 

We adopted the celebrations of this lady from Germany long ago but even before christianity came to Sweden this was a day for celebrating the arrival of spring. Normally we don’t have summer here like we’ve had this year🙂  Especially young people were out having bonfires and having fun all night breaking as many rules they could🙂 This was also a way to scare away eventual predators from the farmers livestock and of course all other beings that could be out there, like trolls and goblins. Later on they had these fires to still scare away goblins and trolls but also witches. This mainly happened on the east coast since we here on the west coast had our bonfires at Easter instead.

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

 

The habit of having bonfires have now days spread all over the country and this is also the day many hedgehogs burn to death since people just lite the piles of branches and what ever they have in there. If they just moved the pile a few meters they would have seen if there was any hedgehog in there with its Young ones because that is a perfect place for them to have their younglings. Anyway, There isn’t only a lit bonfire, if the bonfire will have any kind of status there will also be a male choirs singing spring songs while it’s burning down. For a reason I don’t understand this day often is nasty cold and it isn’t unusual that the snow falls and the wind is strong🙂 I’ve been singing beside those fires many times and all one wants is for it to be over so one can go home and get warm again🙂

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

 

Unfortunately this is also one of the worst holidays when it comes to young people drinking alcohol, many parents will have to go to the police station to bring home their way to drunk children and some men tend to think it is especially fun to beat up their wives and children. Swedes belong to those people who really can’t handle alcohol and I always wonder why they keep on drinking when they know the result, they do things they are too ashamed to talk about when sober and it happens all the time. I guess it’s easy to be blind for ones own faults. 

 

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

DSC_0055

 

Today is however no holiday here but we have a holiday tomorrow on May first. It’s the workers day in most parts of the world and people go out to demonstrate for better work conditions and other work related things. At work we’ve decided to work tomorrow and have Friday of instead, none of us is the protesting type and just want a day of from work and it feels better to stay home three days in a row🙂 I still have fever and my stomach is still rather wobbly so I don’t think I’ll go to work tomorrow, there’s no use in giving my work friends what I have🙂

 

DSC_0058

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

 

I think I’ll make som soup today, to see if the stomach will accept that🙂 I still have one bag left from the ones I got from Joyce, the west indian pumpkin soup.

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Walpurgis night.

  1. Hi Christer,
    It’s probably cold on that day because Ste. Valborg is trying to tell you all to go home and stop burning hedgehogs or anything else.🙂

    Over here we celebrate Labor Day in September. It’s always a Monday holiday so it’s always a three day week end. Many of us here have to work on Labor Day anyway because all the shops are open.

    You might want to hold off on the West Indian soup if your stomach is still wonky. It’s very spicy and there’s a bit of heat from those Scotch Bonnet peppers as well. You don’t want to further irritate an already tender area.

    The first picture today is my favorite but I also like the one of the birches along the creek. Actually, there are quite a few lovely shots today. The light is wonderful.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think You probably is right🙂

      It’s much the same here on May first, lots of poeple are working in stores tomorrow. It was totally different when I grew up, if You even had a thought of working that day that did what they could to punish You🙂

      I did feel it was a bit spicy🙂 But then I came tio think of someone that said she ate a hot pepper every time she felt a stomacg flu was on the way and it stopped after that. So I thought this might help even if it might be too little too late🙂 So far I feel just fine but my fever did rise after eating it🙂🙂🙂 Delicious though🙂

      I do like that photo and the secoind one too. It’s something special with new leafs.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I really enjoy reading about your traditions, its so fascinating!!I have read of course of some of them but hearing them from you is much better, speaking of better, hope you are soon!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      It is fun to read about traditions in other countries or just within the one one lives in.

      Well, I’m not worse anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! no one does anything here for beltane. no one i know anyway. i hope you feel better soon! i always wondered if you ate those soups and liked them? they are nice to have on hand for a quick pot of soup for one person. it is raining here with big storms coming tonight! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I kjnow it’s big here and that they celebrate it in Finland, the baltic countries and in Germany and Czech republic and some place more. But I wonder how many actually knows why🙂🙂🙂

      I’ve liked all soups I’ve gotten from You! They have been perfect when I haven’t had any will to do something bigger but still wanted something to eat. This one was delicious and my stomach hasn’t complained despite the spicyness🙂

      They say it should rain here right now but so far nothing. I think I heard thunder a few minutes ago so it might still fall some. I’m glad You finally get some rain too, I just hope it doesn’t come too much at the same time!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Precis som vanligt så är det isande kallt ikväll! Vi har dock hunnit med en massa planterande idag eftersom det var bra arbetsväder, så nu har jag bara 6 träd kvar att plantera av dom 22 jag kom hem med från Öland i söndags kväll.
    Trevlig Valborg
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Du skall väl få regn också så då är det perfekt planteringsväder. Här verkar det bli uppehåll trots allt och det har varit riktigt varmt här. Blir kallare imorgon dock. Det är något speciellt med Valborg, alltid kallt och otrevligt🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer. Sorry to hear you are still under the weather. I hope it goes as quick as it came!!! Beltaine eve is here and there is a fairly big Pagan/Wiccan community in my city. They gather at a local park either the weekend before or after for the celebration. Dancing around the Maypole and lots of things to eat usually happen. Its a good time. No rain here yet but some is supposed to come this afternoon. Then it gets cold again. We just can’t win this year. Feel better!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I had hoped this would have become better already, normally I have high fever the first day, high but lower than the day before the second day nd good to go on the third day. I’m still hoping it will be much better tomorrow though🙂

      We don’t have May poles here, we have them at Midsummers eve instead. Our Midsummer celebrations are totally pagan here, no matter if one is Christian or have any other religion🙂 I’ll tell You more about it when that day comes🙂

      I’m waiting for the rain but I think it missed us. I think I heard thunder for a while but it must have passed upon the mountain instead. Tomorrow temperatures will drop conciderable here so I might have to start a fire in the stove again. I thought I had done that for the last time until next autumn🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I think this is a post that was earlier than the one I answered..so..know you at least went out for a very short walk..and that’s an improvement.
    Your pictures are fantastic here…every one of them is beautiful. Always love your photography. Hope you are well by now, Christer! Awful being ill.

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m far from well but I am better. We managed to take a walk this morning and the cold air helped to keep the stomach calm. It is turning towards better times but it will take some time I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

