I’m moving so I must be alive.

DSC_0001

I knew it was going to be cold last night but I have to admit that I didn’t think it would fall to -8C (17,6F). I’m pretty sure the cats didn’t expect that either because they came running in as soon as I opened the door this morning🙂 Bertil didn’t stay inside for long though, he had to follow us on our walk like he always does. I had planned a short walk by the fields but it turns out they have cut of the road so the cattle can walk between pastures as they wish. I know we can walk through there anyway but it is a bit too much with four panicking dogs trying to pass loads of curious cows🙂 Well that is as long as they don’t have calves because then they can be rather aggressive towards dogs.

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0006

 

So we walked down to thew creek instead. Not much longer and the cold air did make me feel better. I could hear cranes and geese on the field by the creek so we turned back in the forest, no use in scaring those birds for no reason at all. I had some breakfast when we were back home, Orvar, I think, had eaten half the bread I had left but I can’t say I felt upset about that this morning🙂 I also knew I had to go to town later on because I needed to buy a new printer, the old one died long ago. I’ve become the secretary for our road association and we’ll have our annual meeting next week so I need to print out notices for the meeting.

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

 

It turned out to be my lucky day, they had one printer on sale today and there was only one left and I got the chance to buy it. It also turned out that it was easy to start and that it worked as it should without any problems at all?? So now I’m wondering about what will go wrong instead🙂 After that I went to the super market and bought some new onions, a squash, forest champignons and a few other vegetables. I’m not especially hungry now but I will be eventually and I do have some reindeer and red deer meat in the freezer. I think I can make something nice if I toss those ingredients together🙂 I also bought something I haven’t had in ages, cream cheese. Some with shrimps in it (they usually toss in one shrimp so they don’t lie🙂 ) and one with bacon.

 

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0022

 

After all that I haven’t done much, the sun is shining but even so it is rather chilly outside. Lots of plants froze badly during the night and the grass won’t grow if it will continue like this for a while. The man who owns the land where my garage/ woodshed/ doghouse-dogyard stand cut down a part of the old crab apple tree the other day, he had to so they can dig down the water, sewer and internet cables. Unfortunately apple trees are tough and the big branch naturally fell on the fence to the dogyard. It still stands but needs to be repaired but there’s no use in doing that until they’ve dug down those pipes. With my luck they’ll just tear it down totally if I repair it right now🙂

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

This is how my Turkish Rhubarbs look like now. Only the tiny one managed to go through the night without freezing.

This is how my Turkish Rhubarbs look like now. Only the tiny one managed to go through the night without freezing.

DSC_0031

The Mulberry tree doesn’t look better.

 

I’ve been wondering about if I should put up some kind of a simple roof over half the dog yard. The apple tree is very old and I wouldn’t be surprised if it slowly falls down soon. It gives a shadow for the dogs and if that’s gone nothing will. Nothing fancy, just some corrugated plastic and dark-colored preferably. I’m just thinking about if the wind would tear it off🙂 Just a thought but sooner or later I must do something anyway. Yes the dogs can go inside the dog house which is cool and nice during summer but the old boys refuse to go inside unless it’s a thunderstorm🙂

 

The Arctic Raspberry likes this thgough.

The Arctic Raspberry likes this thgough.

Some cherry flowers haven't opened up yet.

Some cherry flowers haven’t opened up yet.

DSC_0034

DSC_0037

 

I think it’s time to give all the animals their food and to start a fire in the stove, I had hoped that season had ended by now when we’ve had such a warm and nice spring so far.

 

Teodor asleep beside the clay head I made long ago.

Teodor asleep beside the clay head I made long ago.

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “I’m moving so I must be alive.

  1. Yikes! That is some cold! How disheartening to have all those happy plants look so bad! I guess I am glad that it has been so cool here. But my two magnolia trees have buds and if it freezes again, we will lose them for this year. A year is a long time to wait for a flower, but TWO years?

    I’m not too fond of mushrooms… do you get your reindeer and red deer meat in the grocery store? Cream cheese with shrimp… and bacon? Never heard of that.

    Is that yellow flower a marsh marigold? Love the picture of Bertil walking down the road talking to himself!

    Keep on getting better, back to work on Monday!!

    • Hi Wendy!

      I shouldn’t be surprised since this happens almost every year but normally those last times in June. A few degrees less cold and everything would have coped. Nothing has died though, all will return but very late. I have one magnolia and it hadn’t shown any leafs yet so that one is still ok, I think🙂 Patience is a must when having a garden🙂🙂🙂

      I love mushrooms and usually pick a lot, last year I was a bit too lazy and it was a bad year for mushrooms anyway. We can find reindeer and red deer in the freeezer in all bigger stores and in many smaller too. They aren’t a big thing but big enough so the stores always have it.

      Cream cheese with shrimps is big here and both lobster and crab is popular too. I think bacon also is big but I can’t find it in all stores. The biggest one is a mild one with almost no taste at all🙂🙂🙂 Blue cheese is another one I always can find now days.

      Yes it is and this one was a bit sad after the cold night.

      I do feel better, it’s going slowly but it is better🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Yes, Bertil still looks like a cat on a mission. Teodor, on the other paw, looks very sweet and innocent sleeping beside the head. Nice shot.

    That was a cold night. Most of the plants look healthy enough, though. The rhubarb and the mulberry look very sad.

    It’s sunny and pleasant here at the moment. It’s a nice change from the dreary wet weather of the past few days. Rocky and I were outside for awhile earlier in the day. I had to come inside to pay bills. Bleh. Now I have to go outside and spend some money on food and dog food. The cycle continues.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes he does🙂 and teodor is just as sweet as he look. Sometimes he’s a bit too sweet andbecomes a bit of a pest🙂🙂🙂

      The rhubarb and mullberry will come back but it will take some time. But I’m not sure sad is a strong enough word🙂

      I paid my bills last week so now I don’t have to think about that for a month🙂 We were outside every now and again but the wind just was too cold.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! yikes! bummer about your plants. this is when we need to be careful! i too have to watch the temps and wrap things when they drop. my columnar apple and dwarf cherry are blossoming so i have to be careful with them. i love the pics of bertil and teodor! i plants rows of beets, parsnips and carrots today! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I didn’t expect the temperature to drop that much, that usually only happens in June and we call those cold nights for Iron Nights. I had covered most other plants so most is unharmed🙂 I guess there won’t be many cherries this late summer, only the few trees that didn’t flower might get some now.

      I’m still looking for something of what I sowed but so far nothing. Just as good as it might be cold many nights ahead.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. thats a shame the frost damaged your plants, its so sad to see them crumpled and black, Bertril looks quite determined in his walk! Teodor is a beautiful pose, your sculpture is lovely and a good napping place! Sounds like you are slowly getting your appetite back!

    • Hi Laurie!

      I was surprised that the temperature fell that much! Normally it doesn’t until that first week in june when we’ve forgfotten about frost and everything freeze. We call those nights Iron nights here. All of the plants will come back unless it gets even colder at night one more time.

      Bertil’s back to normal and I guess he was complaining about us walking a bit too fast at the moment🙂

      I actually was a little bit hungry this morning🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer –
    I loved the photo of the ice crystals on the leaf, but your poor Turkish Rhubarb didn’t like the freezing temps. at all. The photo of it all gone to mush reminded me of what the freezing temps. did to my geranium this winter, It did look like you might be getting some new plants just coming up at the base of the dead plant. Poor Bertil & Theodor out in the freezing temps. all night, I can’t blame them for rushing in the minute you opened the door. Good thing they both have thick fur coats and both are well padded cats. The photo of Theodor lying with his head nose to nose with your pottery seal is a wonderful photo. at the large eyes and the head. It would be great to see a photo of the entire piece in a photo sometime. I used to throw pottery when I was in college. I took classes for a couple of years & really enjoyed it. I mostly threw pots and vases, I think I gave almost every piece away as gifts, but I found a few when my Mom died and I kept those. I had no talent for sculpting like you have,

    How nice it must feel to luck out on getting the last printer on sale & then being able to set it up & have it working without all the usual problems & cursing. I do think most electronics have simplified the set up for most things like printers, computers & TVs. Maybe they finally learned that most people have no aptitude for comprehending poorly written instructions.

    It sound like you could make a lot of good meals from the meat you have & all the nice veggies you bought today. I love mushrooms especially. Mushroom hunting is big in Oregon and right now is the season to go into the forest. A person can pick a gallon a day for personal use without a permit, but if you get caught selling them there is a big fine. Every Spring at least one mushroom hunter will be in the news for getting lost in the woods for a couple of days and then be found looking very embarrassed, in addition to cold & wet. There are quite a few clubs for people who want to learn how to find & pick non-poisonous mushrooms. My favorite are morels sauteed in a bit of olive oil, garlic with a spritz of lemon juice just before eating – heavenly. Do you know if there are edible types of ‘shrooms along the route of your walks? Your cream cheese spreads will make a nice snack on some crackers or toasted bread. Maybe if you can eat a bit, it would help your stomach recover. I am going to try & make that delicious coffee cake Joyce posted today and live on that & coffee this weekend. I wish I had her energy and talent for cooking as many tasty dishes as she does. I think when you have a passion for something, it rarely feels like work.

    It was a shame that the man cutting the apple tree damaged your fence. Once the work has been finished with the sewer & water, it sounds like a great idea to make a shaded area for the dogs on that side of the cottage. Maybe if you were able to buy a 3 meter length of pre-made fencing and 2 1 meter lengths to join at 90 degree angles to the ends of the long piece. The dig a trench in the same shape that is deep enough to stabilize the fence once quick settting concrete is poured into the trench. Then a roof made out of that corrugated plastic roofing could be used for the roof, but it would need to be at an angle to allow rain & snow to run off. That would give the dogs a good amount of shady area for Summer & a good year round shelter they might use more than the doghouse. It might be something they would be less likely to destroy since they could easily come & go if the the sides of the shelter ended a couple of feet from the cottage wall. The outside of the fencing could have planter boxes along the edge or would be a nice place to grow flowers that need to be staked like hollyhocks & foxgloves.

    I was surprised to see your night time temps. drop so low, but the temps. seem to go up & down as we settle into Spring, The last few weeks here in the day time have been in the high 60s and suddenly this past week decided to crank up to 90 degrees with no warning. Without any time for people to acclimate themselves, it felt Hellishly hot the past several days. The minute temps go above 65 degrees, I loss what little energy I have and I just melt into a puddle. I suspect being in any heat is going to be difficult between my heart failure, lung disease & being on oxygen all the time. I am losing my patience for feeling like crap all the time & the heat of Summer is not likely to improve my disposition. I thought I could counter the heat by bringing out my portable AC unit, but just as I was about to plug it in and get a bit of relief, it occurred to me that it was not going to be possible to run the AC on the same circuit as the oxygen concentrator which runs on a huge amount of electrical wattage on its’ own. The building I live in was built in 1985 and the electrical was never updated to the demands of all the electronics we use today. The main circuit 3/4ths of all the electrical things I use when awake. The O2 concentrator alone pretty much maxes out what can be used on the circuit and since the AC requires an equally large amount of draw, if I plug both in the breaker will just flip everything off in about a minute when it senses an overload. Maybe I can find some type of safe extension cord to run down the hallway and into the bedroom which is on a different circuit for the AC. Watch me do that and I will trip over the cord one day and meet my end doing a stupid thing like that rather than going from the heart disease:) Now that might not be a bad way to go. I am going to add electrical devices to my list of pet peeves right after junk mail.
    Have a good weekend. I hope you will be mostly recovered when you have to go back to work on Monday.

    • Hi Ellen!

      It’s actually not one Turkish rhubarb but three and the two big ones froze while the tiny one managed to not be frozen. The ither plants will come back but it’ll take some time. Yes both cats still have their winter fur on so they didn’t suffer but it’s always nice to go inside after being outside on a cold night.

      I have a friend that have pottery weekends and I went there one weekend. That heat was supposed to be a very small cat head but it grew and grew and grew🙂 I couldn’t figure out what kind of head it was supposed to be whan I saw the result but Mona (who comments here) and I decided it was the head of a mountain lion🙂 I did lots of fun things that weekend and would love to do this again but she lives a bit too far away I’m afraid.

      I think I can toss something together with those ingredients. Over here it’s the chanterelle that is the most popular mushroom and the one everyone dares to pick since there are no toxic mushrooms that looks like it. There is one called False Chanterelle but it doesn’t taste anything at all. They have plenty of courses every summer/ autumn here about safe mushroom picking. I had the luck to know a person that could very much about edible mushrooms so I often pick them when we’re out walking. No chantrelles here though but lots of other goodies.

      It’s hard to cut down old crab apple trees and almost impossible to figure out how they will fall so shit happens so to speak. No bigger damage than I can fix. I won’t need to do anything about the fence unless those digging for the water and sewer are completely incompetent but one never knows. But the roof sounds like how I want it. I have a picture in my head on how I want it to look when finished. I still have the old crab apple tree there though and who knows what way that will fall when it finally does. We all like it to stay as long as possible because it pollinates all other apple trees in the area and loads of pollinating insects comes to it and after that to all our berry bushes and fruit trees. We have no honey bees in this area.

      The night temperatures rarely drop that much this early in May, that usually happens those last frost nights we have in June, we call thgose nights the Iron Nights. We’ve had summer temperatures here for a long time (summer temperatures for us up ehere in the north that is, around 70F)and now it’s slightly colder than normal instead. Typical April weather but a bit late. We rarely have the need for AC in our homes here, if it gets as hot as 90F it’s just for a day or two. I understand Your problem because that is how it was in my previous home but during winter instead. All electric radiators were on the bottom floor were connected to the same fuse and it always broke every winter. So I had to buy a new electric radiator and with the help of a rediculusly long extra cord to the upper floor connect it to another jacket there. That cord was always in the way where ever I walked. But You do need both of Your machies so it is worth it after all! You can always keep the extension cord close to a wall with small pieces of tape. I know it might look a bit odd but that’s a small price to pay especially since summer is on the way and You need that AC!

      I’m still surorised that it worked so fine with the new printer. I couldn’t follow the instructions that came with it though, that one was totally impossible to follow. Lots of numbers printed but no explanations to what those numbers meant🙂 But the machine itself explained averything very well as soon as I got the right language🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. The weather seems to be playing havoc with everyone everywhere! HOT here today. And I know more is coming! No naps on the porch in this heat.
    Thanks for the snap of Bertil. 🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      This would be normal the first week in June when we have our last frost nights, those can be terribly cold. But I wasn’t prepared for it now in early May🙂

      It’s warmer here today but it feels colder because of the wind, it has changed direction slightly and hits even my garden.

      I know You like him🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

