The second time I used the car.

DSC_0001

It was almost as cold last night as it was the night before and now even some lilacs have frozen but surprisingly many plants has managed to stay relatively unharmed. The sun was shining so we went out early on our walk. Yesterday I used my printer to copy last years notice to the road association meeting, just covering the date and write the new one. So out into the cold we went and I placed one notice in every mailbox. Just before we had walked to all mailboxes we met a neighbor that told me that one of the villagers had died, strange that no one has talked about that but I said that if he still wanted to come he would be welcome🙂

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

These twins weren't old, I guess just a few hours old.

These twins weren’t old, I guess just a few hours old.

 

Just when I placed the last notice in the last mailbox I realised something was very wrong with it. The text said they are welcome on Monday May ninth!!! May ninth is on a Friday!!! So the first thing I did when coming home was to do the same as yesterday but this time also cover Monday and change to Friday. After that I wrote an explanation on each notice on why they got two notices and then it was the matter of going out again, into the cold. So I took my car and drove around the village instead🙂 Most people had not picked up the first notice but I can’t pick up something and replace it even if it would have been easy, how would You like it if You saw someone pick up something from Your mailbox without knowing why? It’s illegal too by the way🙂

 

Mother cow got very protective when she realised we were going to pass them on the road.

Mother cow got very protective when she realised we were going to pass them on the road.

Very protective! and for a short second it looked as if she was willing to attack us.

Very protective! and for a short second it looked as if she was willing to attack us.

DSC_0011

 

I did feel a bit hungry this morning, that was a nice surprise. I had two small sandwiches with cream cheese. I then suddenly came to think of an old lady I know that if she was going to have a party and lots of people would come bought one blue cheese and lots of mild tasting cream cheese. She put it all in a mixer and then she placed the mix in the fridge for a while. It looked like something out of a horror movie when it was ready but it tasted just like the blue cheese and were perfect to spread on crackers. She always mixed it some again before serving because most people would think she had gone a bit crazy otherwise. It did look much nicer after that second mixing🙂

 

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

 

That same lady ones made me call poison information center after serving me a delicious mushroom stew🙂🙂 After we had eaten she told me that the mushrooms had grown in her garden and she had used them before but this time they tasted a bit different! Well, mushrooms never change their taste! She also said she had controlled them by using a silver knife, she was totally convinced that it would react if there was any poison in the mushrooms🙂 I have to say she is very knowledgeable in most areas when it came to food and she have after all survived for over 80 years by doing things like this🙂 But as soon as I came home I called the poison center🙂 By the description I gave they could say that it wasn’t a deadly one and most likely edible but they didn’t trust a silver knife as much as my friend do🙂

 

I can see showers in the distance but it only drizzles here.

I can see showers in the distance but it only drizzles here.

No idea what kind of bird this is.

No idea what kind of bird this is.

This however is a male Chaffinch.

This however is a male Chaffinch.

 

The thermometer says it’s much warmer outside today but I just can’t feel that. The sun is behind clouds and the wind is strong and somewhat nasty cold. There’s so much Birch pollen out there that even I react so I feel like I’m having a cold as soon as I’ve been outside for a few minutes and as soon as I go inside it feels better again. Thankfully this is very rare but it makes me understand better how very allergic people feel this time of year. 

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

 

It’s time for a pot of something, can be tea but perhaps I’ll chose cocoa instead. I think I’ll stay indoors as much as possible today and only go outside when my dogs demand it.

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “The second time I used the car.

  1. hi christer! those calves are so cute! are their ears tagged already? i couldn’t really tell. bertil is cute too though i am sure he doesn’t want to be. glad you are feeling better! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      They are🙂 and yes they are tagged already. They have this guy that used to be a cowboy both in Canada and the USA that comes and do it for them. He’s the only one fast enough with cows that are more wild than tame. So I guess these calves must be at least one day old when I took that photo. They must do it within five or six days I think it was according to EU rules.

      I think that if Bertil could decide on how to look it would most likely be anything but cute🙂

      Yes finally It’s moving a bit faster, I’ve eaten a few sandwiches during the day🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. When one carries something around for the length of time that cow did..and the size they were when she gave birth..well..it’s no wonder after going though all that …she would feel like attacking anyone or anything that even came close. Called…motherhood! :):)
    Bertil looks calm in these pictures. Not as though he is planning any deviltry like he usually does. :):) Yep..he is THE CAT!!

    • Hi Mona!

      I so understand that cow🙂 but I sure was happy she feared that electric fence more than us🙂

      It was something bothering him though, he kept checking out the area all the time but he didn’t warn for anything. Even the dogs kept looking out over the bog so I guess there must have been something. But I’m sure that cat is planning something eveil, otherwise it wouldn’t be Bertil🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Glad to read that you are moving towards feeling normal.

    It’s nice that you invited the dead guy to the meeting. They like to be included in these things. Makes them feel less invisible. Time means nothing to them so it wouldn’t have mattered what day it was on.

    It was relatively warm here all last night. My heat didn’t go on once until right around 5:30AM. After that it went a couple of times because the morning was cool.

    I spent the last two hours digging up a 6 foot by 3 foot patch of dead grass. I used one of those non-motorized hand tillers that you stab into the dirt and twist. My knees and back don’t work and one ankle is wonky. They weren’t happy about this but I needed to do it.
    Now I have blisters on my thumbs and I still don’t know what I’m going to do with this patch. I’d like to put some flowers there but it’s Rocky’s running and scratching spot. They wouldn’t last long. Guess I’ll just throw down some grass seed and hope it takes.

    The calves are cute. It’s great to see baby animals in spring. I used to go by the local race horse farm to watch the new foals out in the pasture with their mothers. The farm is long gone to houses and a golf course. I like the foals better.

    Enjoy the sandwiches and the rest of the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      He was always one of those one knew never would go on arguing for ever about something unimportant so he’s always welcome🙂

      I can’t remember when I saw one of those none motorized hand tillers! I’ve seen the ones with engines and even a horse powered one rather reacently but not that one. Suddenly I feel the urge to own one🙂 But You’re right, no use in planting flowers there. I have paths in my garden now where the dogs run around all the time and I’ve even given up the thought of grass there now🙂 But even with that tiller the job must have been rather tough!

      I’m lucky enough to pass several stud farms on my way to work so it has happened that I even gotten the chance to see a birth🙂 But any baby animal is cute to be honest. I think the Roe deers just started giving birth now, we met a doe that acted a bit suspicious on our morning walk.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! Glad to hear you are feeling a bit better. Nothing worse than stomach troubles. It was cold here today too – we even had snow. Those little calves are cute but mama doesn’t look impressed with the visitors! We are no where near planting in the ground but I did order some roots adn tubers online for me and my sister in law. We like to garden and are always on the lookout for flowers and lots of stuff we can plant. Hope your evening was pleasant – I am sure its the middle of the night there now!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’ll be ok enough to go to work tomorrow so I’m almost ok even if I can’t say I long for food yet🙂

      It’s the same temperature as yesterday but no wind right now so even if it is on the chilly side it’s still rather pleasant outside.

      No she wasn’t impressed🙂 and I’m so glad she feared those electric fences more than us because otherwise she would have attacked🙂

      I’m picking pots with seedlings in and out every day now and I do hope most of it will survive. So far so good anyway🙂 I rarely buy any plants any longer because of a slug we have around now days. We call it Murder slug, because it eats its dead ones of its own species but it’s really a Spanish Forest slug. It’s extremely sticky so none of our animals eats it and therefore it multiplies extremely well. It eats anything and everything and some people kill over 1000 a day and still can’t notice any change! We don’t have it here in the village yet and since they oten followsperennials and trees in thge soil I avoid buying anything. If I do I always place the pots in quarantine for two weeks and I also go through the soil before anything is planted in the garden. But I’ve always loved to sow things so I’m ok with that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Av “princip” *fniss* äter jag inte svamp! Ja, jo kanske lite kantareller eller champinjoner kan gå ner ibland, men det tillhör inte mina favoriter precis. 😦
    Det där med silver och gift verkar totalt livsfarligt – och ålder verkar inte ha någon som helst påverkan heller.😦😦 Min älskade mycket duktiga och kunniga moster, Anna-Vilda som vi kallade henne, plockade svamp på ålderns höst och serverade sin gubbe. Det slutade med att båda fick åka till sjukhus och magpumpas…..Det var nått om att man inte kunde ta en snaps ihop med viss svamp!?😦😦😦
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Älskar svamp så det har jag ofta! Fast Anna-Vilda plockade ingen giftig svamp direkt, hon plockade Bläcksvampar🙂🙂🙂 De är riktigt goda men fungerar som antabus när det kommer till alkohol🙂🙂🙂 Så tänker man bara på det så är bläcksvamp riktigt got🙂 Men de stackarna måste ju trott att deras sista stund kommit🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

