No one would notice today.

The bulls are now in the field next to the one I have outside my garden.

The bulls are now in the field next to the one I have outside my garden.

It was a pretty nice morning walk today despite that it was a bit on the chilly side. The sun shone, the birds sand and the frost slowly melted away from the plants around us. Not even the weakest breath of wind made it even better. We walked, like always, down to the creek and this time we walked upstream. The ground is so dry now that every twig one walks on snaps like it was a fire cracker and by the sound of it many were out walking in the forest this morning. One time it sounded like a big branch broke and I guess it was a moose walking around somewhere but the morning was magical so I assumed it was a troll🙂🙂

 

I wonder if she just have given birth? She behaved very odd and was at the exact same spot wheh we returned from the creek.

I wonder if she just have given birth? She behaved very odd and was at the exact same spot wheh we returned from the creek.

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

Roads like these do inspire the mind to think about trolls and gnomes and all the other beings we've heard about.

Roads like these do inspire the mind to think about trolls and gnomes and all the other beings we’ve heard about.

 

We have a slightly, well rather big different view on Trolls here in Scandinavia than in many other countries. Oh yes, they can be big and nasty, they can kidnap humans to use as slaves and it happens that some of them grow up with humans because their mothers have swapped them for a human child. They do this because it’s said that they are a dying breed that needs new blood  (read genetic material) to keep on surviving. But if one suspect that one has a changeling it’s easy to get the real baby back, just threaten the changeling with spanking and the troll mother will turn up with the real baby because she loves her own child so much that she never would allow it to get spanked.

 

The road towards the Forbidden Forest and the one we walk upstream the creek (the photo below) look much thge same in the beginning and follow each other for a while too.

The road towards the Forbidden Forest and the one we walk upstream the creek (the photo below) look much thge same in the beginning and follow each other for a while too.

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

DSC_0017

 

But most of them are just like us, get married, start families, have homes and cattle and so on. Many of them are good neighbors that help others when needed and get helped when needed too. They are perhaps a bit more ugly than humans but as Young they can be extremely beautiful and they also have a tails and become much older than we do. Their tails are a sensitive issue though, they do tend to hide it amongst humans and if one would see a young troll lady at a dance and notice her tail somewhere, just politely tell her that she is dropping something, like a sock or something similar and she will be forever grateful. But if You bluntly say You can see her tail she will be embarrassed and try to avenge until she is successful.

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

 

Some, however are anything but nice to have as neighbors, stealing is the most common thing they do. But by making the sign of the cross above anything one made, like bread keeps them away. Also steel is a powerful anti troll thing. Place a steel knife under the threshold of the entrance door and they won’t be able to walk indoors. Some trolls have hats of invisibility so those who has often goes in to parties and eat as much food as they can so the real visitors never get the chance to eat enough for themselves.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

DSC_0030

DSC_0027

 

There are of course the big mountain trolls up in the Scandinavian mountains that are more nasty but they are very rare and are most likely more related to the giants that lives there. The forest trolls around here are more related to humans though. Today it would most likely be impossible to recognise a troll amongst us, it could just as well be someone who likes piercing a lot🙂 Now days they surgically makes it possible to put antlers on our heads ao who would react if they saw someone with a tail?

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

 

Have a great day!

 

12 thoughts on “No one would notice today.

  1. wow…who knew there were so many troll rules or even so many trolls. you can keep them in sweden! i don’t think i want them here. but maybe we are loaded with them and i just can’t spot them!

    • Hi Joyce!

      They are probably all around us and with todays fascion with all that extreme piercing, like antlers I mean, we most likely wouldn’t be able to see them🙂 But it does seem as if most of then are like any of us, except for the tail thing then🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I had a couple of weird thoughts while reading your story of Forest trolls. What if they are a human folk reference back to the time when we and the Neanderthals lived together in the same area? That would be cool.
    Anyway, one should always be circumspect when telling any female when something that should remain unseen is poking out.🙂
    Who would want antlers permanently attached to his head? It’s bad enough that earrings (and other piercings) get snagged on things. Imagine how inconvenient antlers would be. Ducking to get through doors. Making sure you don’t get snagged up in the bedding. Trying to sit in a car. No antlers are not a good idea.

    Today is sunny and windy and a bit cool right now but no frost. Oops. The sun just disappeared behind a big grey, juicy-looking cloud. It’ll be back in a minute, I hope.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It would be cool🙂 But we still hade lots of ice up here long after the Neanderthals stopped to excist. But some myths hang on for very long so it might not be that far fetched to be honest. and Yes I think You’re right about being circumspect🙂

      The antlers I’ve seen has been rather small though and most of what they surgically places on their heads are more like pointy lumps. But one can get these attachments in all sizes I’ve heard🙂 They are removable though, it’s just the attachment that is screwed on to the skull🙂🙂🙂 some even have them along the spine and that must be truly uncomfortable!

      Sunny and windy here but the wind comes and goes and when it’s gone it’s really nice outside.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      One never knows what lives in and around big bogs like the one I live beside🙂

      I got surprised when I understood we looked at trolls so different from the Englöish speaking world. Ours are rather nice to be honest🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! Love the troll story! I don’t think i’d like them for neighbors unless they didn’t steal from me! I bet they are in your forests – those forests looks like trolls would like them! We are cloudy and cool here today. But I am going to hop on my bike anyway. Time to not let the weather stop me! Have a good rest of Sunday! I am also making honey buns. My Latvian grandmother used to make these all the time. I am channelling her today!😉

    • Hi Dianna!

      Most of them seems to be ok though but then we have the mountain trolls and they can be truly tricky🙂 They always try to kidnap people, love gold and aren’t afraid of doing what ever they need to get it either.

      One never knows what lives in and around a big bog like the one I live beside🙂

      I alöways biked to work and everywhere else to be honest before thr rheumatism got a bit too much. I wouldn’t mind doing it now either if it wasn’t so far to work. I started to bike in spring when it wasn’t colder than -1C in the morning and kept on going until the first snow fell🙂

      Honey buns🙂 I love those sticky sweet bunns🙂 They rarely sell them here but they have a similar just as sticky but that’s only normal sugar those are meade from.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    I really loved the troll lore. I remember my mother reading me the story of Three Billy Goats Gruff, and how they had to make it across a troll’s bridge and how they tricked him. That was the first time I had ever heard of a troll.

    I’m glad it is warming up for you, but I wouldn’t be happy with frost still in the morning. I think and hope we are passed that!

    Hope your day is a great one!

    • Hi Kat!

      We learned about trolls as soon as we were born🙂 There’s a lullaby about trolls and many of us have read the books called Amongst Gnomes and Trolls (Bland tomtar och troll in Swedish). So for us they are very present in our lives from day one🙂

      I don’t mind one or two degrees below freezing point but it has been just too cold many nights in a row now. I doubt there will be many cherries this year around here, most flowers froze badly. Even the lilacs did and that’s unusual!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Is Bertil alright?
    I grew up with lots of tales of things that go “bump” in the night..and I think I told you I slept most of my life with the blankets over my head. I won’t sleep in a dark room. I need to see light if I open my eyes..and as much as I love forests..and always wanted to live in one..or near one..I probably would be scared to death. Too much imagination!🙂
    I love hearing all about the folk lore in Sweden thought. Irish folks have a lot of it too..and that is what I am. My people were big on stories..not realizing they were frightening a little girl and that it would last all her life. My home never is and never has been completely without light at night.
    I take it you are feeling much better? I’m still limping about and have re injured my foot three times now. I am so tired of limping.

    • Hi Mona!

      I never looked at trolls as dangerous or scary when I was a kid. We do have a differnt view on them here and we even have at least one lullaby with trolls in it🙂 I also learned that as long as one showed respect for all those beings there was nothing to be afraid of. So I never needed and light shining in the night because of them. People coulöd scare me though🙂🙂🙂

      Lots of stories and tales here too but mostly I’ve read them, none in my family was ever a great story teller🙂

      Take care of that foot of Yours! It’s exhausting to limp all the time.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

