Soon they’ll be able to move out.

DSC_0001

It is raining and has done so all day and it will continue to do so for at least a week they say in the predictions.  It will be a bit warmer than today though but I can already now see in the predictions that the American weather institute that predicted that the month of Mat would become much warmer than usual is very wrong. Unless we’ll have tropical climate the two last weeks in the month and we rarely have that here🙂🙂

 

DSC_0003

The white wood anemone close their flowers and bend them downwards when rain is falling.

The white wood anemone close their flowers and bend them downwards when rain is falling.

DSC_0005

 

I know the ground is very dry and I know this is good for nature but I also know this is the best that can happen to the mosquitoes and horse flies. Now their larvae will survive since the ground will be wet enough for them and the risk of having a summer spring indoors no matter what weather we’re having seems most likely. Ok that will make all the birds happy because they’ll have plenty of insects to feed their young ones and who am I to complain if we’ll get even more birds around here.

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

 

I picked out my two big water barrels from the garage when we came home from our walk after work. It won’t take long before they are full so I can move out the gold-fish and the koi carp from the aquarium again. I need to buy a new water-lily because I forgot the other one outside all winter. I think it could have taken the cold without problems but it couldn’t take total dryness🙂 I think I’ll look for a white one this time or perhaps one of each, I have after all two barrels and each can take up to  liter (almost 53 gallons US).

 

DSC_0017

DSC_0019

DSC_0021

 

Tonight is the first semifinal in the Eurovision Song Contest and tomorrow I’ll know if our song is in the final on Saturday. I go up way to early in the morning to be able to see the show today because every semifinal is just as long as the final is, several hours that is. Our song is one of this years favorite so I’m pretty sure we’ll be in the final on Saturday.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat agin. My stomach is better but not really good yet. Well it could be worse after all🙂

 

A bit too far away to get good photos.

A bit too far away to get good photos.

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Soon they’ll be able to move out.

  1. Hi Christer,
    After all the rain we had last weekend the water levels around here are pretty high. Even my little brook is very full and almost to babbling. It never manages to reach that level of flow. At least not in my memory anyway. My swamp is also very wet. The skunk cabbage took off like gangbusters as soon as the snow melted and it now covers everything so I can’t see if there is a pond down there. My neighbor told me the helicopter had been putting down mosquito poison so probably there is a pond. He said they were dropping things like the floating mosquito donuts. They must be expecting a big mosquito year because they haven’t sprayed this early ever.

    Mama Ewe looks like she has two heads.🙂 The lambs are cute. It was always nice to see the lambs at the barn where I kept my horse. She also had cows and goats and chickens. There were always baby animals around.

    It’s dramatically cloudy here today and a bit windy as well. Not cold, though. I could take this weather for awhile.

    Enjoy the Eurovision Song Contest. It’s a big topic of conversation on another website that has a big European contingent. They are all chatting about what kind of food to have during the show.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      My water barrels are full now but the water levels out by the bog is still very low and I would like it to stay that way but the rain insists on falling all the time🙂 It’s impossible to get any permit to spread mosquito poison here. They can however give permission to spread a mosquito bacteria that onlyu attacks the worst one but that only happens in the absolute worst places, where it’s so bad that they can’t go outside at all. The rest of us just have to smile and hope for a dry spring🙂

      They will most likely move the sheep over the the pasture outside my garden but I guess the lambs will be much bigger by then. I think only one person has chickens now days and they walk too far away from the road so I never see them until they aren’t cute any longer🙂

      The rain is pouring down from an evenly gray colored sky. But it is fairly warm so it’s kind of nice anyway.

      She managed to go to the finale and she’s now the biggest favorite in all the betting businesses. I did see some of it and the Belgian song was sort of creepy even though it isn’t meant to be. It’s a man singing about his mother and after a while one starts to wonder about if their relationship is healthy🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Hah! I think I’m glad I can’t watch the song contest. I will get my news from you.🙂

        I meant mosquito bacteria. They don’t spray poison around here anymore. When I was a kid they fogged with DDT on a regular basis. It killed everything but the mosquitoes as far as I can remember.🙂

  2. hi christer! i wish we were getting your rain! we had a bit but mostly it missed us. we are so dry for spring and now we are in for 85 degree weather. ugh!!! this is too early for hot weather and i will be watering like crazy! i wish we could just have a normal spring! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I wish the same🙂 It has been raining for almost 48 hours now and it just keeps on falling. Both my water barrels are full now🙂

      It will stay on the chilly side here but at least the nigyt frost is over for this time.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! We were supposed to get rain all day today and we got absolutely nothing! So much for predictions. Apparently now we are to get it tonight. I will believe it when I see it! Enjoy the contest – hopefully your song will get on for Saturday. Love the forest pictures!! Have a good Wednesday, glad to hear your stomch is getting better.

    • Hi Dianna!

      They seems to have an unfortunately habit of predicting rain and never be wrong about it here🙂 It still rains and it will continue to do so for a week or so.

      Our song is in the finale and now she’s the number one favorite in all betting businesses all over Europe. Well, we’ll know better on Saturday🙂

      Yes my stomach is much better and today I even felt really hungry before lunch at work🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. It just doesn’t seem like your Winter was anything like it has been in the few years I have known you…not as much snow or as cold. We had rain predictions..but so far..no sign of it. Not a drop. Of course it will probably rain tonight because I put my cushions back on the outside chairs. 😦 Figures, doesn’t it? I am pleased you are feeling better, Christer! Me too. Still limping pretty badly..but other wise I am fine. No more tummy problems here, thank heavens. I hope my luck holds out ..and hope you continue to feel better. Fish? you have Koi? The birds steal them here. Expensive ..and then they are gone!

    • Hi Mona!

      We had some years with really bad winters when You came here the first times, but this has been an unusual warm winter with only a few weeks with really cold weather and snow. We are all very happy about that here🙂

      WE too hade predictions of rain and so far it has poured down every day🙂 It stops for a few minutes then it starts again.

      I’m glad You are better too and I hope that foot of Yours will be ok soon! I think having stomach problems are the worst things one can have when it comes to every day diseases. One is totally helpless.

      I have the fish in my big water barrels so they are pretty safe from birds. The Heron can ampty a pond in a day so I always had my eyes towards the sky when I had them in the pond. But the pond is broken and it was a vole that ate through it🙂 I’ll repare it later on but first I must build that green house I’ve been talking about for years now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

