Do they ever predict the weather right?

DSC_0077

They promised or perhaps threatened us with heavy rain showers all day today but so far we’ve only gotten some drizzling. But the day is still young so it may just be delayed. I don’t mind the rain because I can see how nature loves it but I wouldn’t mind if they are wrong in their predictions, they usually are when it comes to beautiful weather so why not now🙂 It’s around 10C (50F ) outside but I have the kitchen door open at the same time as I have a fire burning in the stove🙂

 

DSC_0078

DSC_0079

DSC_0081

 

I’ve done the laundry and would have moved the lawn now but the grass is too wet so that’ll have to wait. I’m a bit tired today because I watched the Eurovision Song Contest Final yesterday. We came on third place and that’s not bad at all. The winner came from Austria and she’s a bit special because she’s a drag queen and have one of the best groomed beards I’ve seen in a long time. She calls herself Conchita Wurst and sang a very Shirley Bassey inspired song. If one like Shirley Bassey one most likely likes this one too. I’m however no Shirley Bassey fan so I think the wrong song won even though I do have to admit she could carry a tune and her voice is strong enough for a song like that. I’ll post a video at the bottom of this post so You can see and hear the song and Conchita herself.

 

I didn't take especially many photographs this morning so the rest are from yesterday or before.

I didn’t take especially many photographs this morning so the rest are from yesterday or before.

DSC_0062

DSC_0063

 

The sun is actually peeking through the clouds now and that made the temperature rise rather dramatically. Nights are still rather cold though when the sky is clear so I don’t feel I can plant any of the seedlings I have in any flower beds yet. I do however pick up more and more pots from the cool cellar and place them either on the patio close to the wall or on the north side of the cottage and put fiber cloth around them during nights just in case. Orvar has peed yet another tree to its death, my favorite paradise apple tree. This time it was so bad that the bark on the small tree finally fell off🙂

 

DSC_0065

DSC_0067

DSC_0071

 

It’s time to take a walk with my dogs again and after that I better start making the dinner I’ll have at work next week. It will be much the same as last week but with Red deer this time. I better check if I got rich yesterday in the Lottery, I doubt it but I won’t know until I check. Last week I won, or should I say lost less🙂 around 3 US dollars🙂

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

DSC_0013

 

Have a great day!

 

They survived the winter indoors and now I've placed them outside so they can get used to both variations in temperature and sunlight. Seven Persimmons, three walnuts, one Lime tree and one Kalamondin (another citrus tree) two Fuchsias, two Nanking cherries and a few other things like my dahlias.

They survived the winter indoors and now I’ve placed them outside so they can get used to both variations in temperature and sunlight. Seven Persimmons, three walnuts, one Lime tree and one Kalamondin (another citrus tree) two Fuchsias, two Nanking cherries and a few other things like my dahlias and two Poncirus trifoliata (.

A small violet growing in my garden.

A small violet growing in my garden.

Also in my garden, a pink Spanish Bluebelle

Also in my garden, a pink Spanish Bluebell.

 

Conchita Wurst

22 thoughts on “Do they ever predict the weather right?

  1. Hi Christer!! We are in the same boat as you – they predicted torrents of rain for today but they have changed it and now it will come overnight and tomorrow. That’s good because I have more yardwork to do!! Love the pictures of all your potted plants. One of my dogs kept on getting into the fenced area of our baby juniper tree and kept peeing on it too – we had to do some fancy wirework to keep him from getting in between the fence. Tricky! Have a good rest of the day.

    • Hi Dianna!

      Still just a few drops of rain but I hear the thunder up on the mountain right now. We usually don’t get it here if it goes above the mountains. The sun comes and goes so the grass never get a chance to dry up since it isn’t especially warm but the grass won’t run away so I’ll do it as soon as it’s fairly dry🙂

      They are still small but I am especially glad that so many persimmon seeds germinated, they are tricky since they almost always rot if one sow them in soil. It might actually be hardy enough to survive here but I doubt that I’ll ever get any fruit. If I still have lived where I did before I moved here, just on the othger side of the bog, they would survive and most likely give fruit too. Life’s unfaire sometimes🙂🙂

      Orvar has his favorite trees and every time I plant a cypress he kills it within a week🙂 So I do as You di, lots of wires or plastic strings to keep him away from the trees I really want to have alive🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! they have been pretty accurate predicting the weather here. hot hotter and hottest! i wish they were wrong. i got up when it was dark and started planting as the sun came up. i can’t stand to be out there when the sun is beating on my back. sorry about your favorite tree! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      It seems they can be great in predicting weather one doesn’t want🙂 I do hope it will cool down where You live, it’s way to early to have that kind of heat already!

      I never work in the garden when the sun is doing its best, mornings and evenings are the best times to do that.

      I thought that tree was big enough for hiss pee attacks but I was clearly wrong🙂 But now I have space to plants another tree there instead and this time I’ll protect it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. well I’m sorry about your tree as well but I can’t get past the winner of the Eurovision, thats a man, right? With a beard pretending to be a woman, is that right, wow, thats amazing, I was trying to see if the beard was real, I have never saw anything like this before, wow!

    • Hi Laurie!

      Trees comes and trees goes and Orvar does his best to help them go I’m afraid🙂

      Yes that’s a man but I have to say he’s very beautiful as a woman, even with the beard🙂 and it is a very real beard and very well groomed too.

      We have a drag queen here in Sweden that has been chosen as Swedens most beutiful woman, twice i think🙂 But he does shave🙂
      This is not the first time we’ve had drag queens in the Eurovision. Some of the most popular artists we have here in Sweden are drag queens so no one reacts when seeing one now days.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. OMGosh! I love that, Orvar peed another tree to death! Too funny! I am wondering if maybe you left it in his way, subconsciously… ?

    My dahlias are HUGE, in pots, I hope it gives them a big time advantage. Why did you pot yours up? Don’t most people just plants the tubers in the ground?

    That… uh… person, in the video, had a very strong voice, but like you, it is not the style of singing that impresses me. I am mildly surprised at the beard below so much eye make-up. He/she seems to be somewhat conflicted? I think you people (Europeans) are more tolerant than people here in the states. I seriously wonder how he would do here in the states. Hmmmmm.

    Hope you had a happy Mother’s day!

    • Hi Weendy!

      That dog has his ideas🙂 He never pees on some trees and the ones he does pee on he does it every time he’s outside🙂 He started to concentrate on this tree last summer but I’m not sure why since he never cared about that tree before. So I don’t think I’ve done anything subconsciously🙂🙂

      I put my dahlias in pots since I didn’t want them to dry up. I have a tendency to forget them if they stays in the bags🙂 I live much further north than You do so (the most southern part of Sweden is around the same as the most southern parts of Alaska) if I want them to start flower early in summer I must start them early in spring and since we can have frost the first week in June pots are easier to cover during nights when there’s a risk for frost.

      Conchita is a woman even if there still are man parts🙂 I think the beard is her thing if You understand how I mean. Mos drag queens do shave or remove the hair with laser. It also challanges our view of what a woman or man should look like.

      People belonging to the GLBT group still have problems here even though it’s so much better now days. But even here in the countryside things are getting better. Some of our most popular artists here in Sweden are drag queens and no one cares that many are homosexuals. But I’m pretty sure there are states in the US that are much like how it is here in Europe.

      No mother’s day here yet, we have it the last Sunday this month.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer, Orvar and trees are not the best of friends it seems, and if you really had something you wanted to not survive you could send him there to pee. Enjoyed all the pet photos too. We had a rainy drive from our home to NJ to visit my mom and take her to dinner on Mother’s Day. But today is beautiful and the ride home should be the same on Monday. That was an amazing video and performance, I agree. Not a Shirley Basey fan either and can onky recall the song she did for a Bond film.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Or it might be that his love for trees aren’t answered🙂🙂 But I doubt he would listen to me if I actually wanted to kill something🙂

      Still just drizzling but I did hear the thunder up on the mountain earlier today.

      I have to admit she knows how to sing that song but I don’t like the song🙂 I only know the Bond music too to be honest🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Orvar: Death of Trees. I guess that’s his super power.🙂

    I was not impressed by the winner. I’m not usually impressed by the Eurovision song winner. Most of the time I think the stage effects behind the winner are what actually wins. They are so distracting it’s hard to pay attention to the performer. But I’m from the pre-electric Bob Dylan folk singer era so it’s not surprising.

    Today I spent a bit of time digging up the other side of the front walkway and planting some periwinkle and three other things that I don’t remember the names of except that one smells and attracts butterflies. All the cabbage moths will be coming to my house.🙂
    I see no action in the patch of grass I planted a week ago. I’m doubtful there will be but I’ll give it another week.

    Rocky and I went for a walk on the abandoned country club golf course. The grass there looked pretty darn good considering that it has been abandoned and abused with trucks and junk for many, many years. I thought about stealing some plugs for my yard but I had nothing to dig with. Maybe I’ll go back in the dead of night.🙂
    It was an interesting walk. Rocky didn’t want to cross the bridge because there were 1/4 inch spaces between the boards and he could see the water underneath. He stayed on the pile of leaves that had blown up agains the rails. We had to do some remedial. He was not happy.

    I found some signs of beavers chewing down trees. I don’t know where they are because everything around there is built up. There are drainage ponds and eventually they lead out to Reedy Meadows which is the watershed for the Saugus River but it’s all surrounded with office buildings, a hotel, a mall and apartments. I’ll put some pictures up on Facebook when I get a moment.

    It’s sunny and very warm here today. 78ºF.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Darth Orvar, the evil sith lord that concentrates on killing trees🙂

      Back in the days they only had jury groups that weren’t allowed to see the artists while singing, just listening to the song. Now days they have jury groups that are allowed to see it all and televoting from all the people in Europe. So I agree with You! The rules only allows a song to be three minutes plus minus ten seconds I think so most of them sound like something we all heard before🙂🙂🙂

      I think You’ll see some grass pretty soon, sometimes it takes forever until anything happens and there’s always the risk of birds feasting on the seeds🙂

      It’s always a problem when the space between the board are that big, I have the same problem with my dogs but they don’t care if it is water or anytghing else beneath🙂

      We still see signs of beaver activities here too. They have been out to shoot them but the beavers know when to stay away🙂

      We never got anything more than drizzle here even though thunder passed up on the mountain. The annuals I sowed in the flower beds love this weather and grows rather good now. I do hope we won’t have any heavier frost during nights from now on.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer,
    I just got home from my weekend away. It is warm, even hot, here today, but my sister in Colorado is getting a foot of snow today. Lat week she planted her flowers, but I told her it was too early. She took the chance. Now they’re out covering and protecting their flowers.

    It is really a lovely day today, the warmest day this spring.

    We could use some rain. It has been so very dry lately.

    Have a great Sunday!

    • Hi Kat!

      One foot of snow!!! Por people🙂 I do hope the plants make it through that nasty snow. I have only started to bring out my plants so they can get used to the daylight and shifting temperatures.

      Yesterday was quite nice but today is raining away. Well all the seeds for annuals that I spread early this year germinates now so I guess I shouldn’t complain🙂

      I hope Your weekend was good!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer, guess who?? Yep, things are going well here at our house, and I wanted to start making the rounds of all my blog friends. I am going to read some of your past posts to see what I have missed. I love seeing your little corner of the world again, feels like I have been gone for eons! Take care, and enjoy the spring!! Hugs to you and your sweet family! Robin.

    • Hi Robin!

      Nicve to see Yiou here again🙂

      Finally! I’m so glad that Your husband is feeling better after all this time🙂

      I think that if You look at it in Internet time You have been away for at least a few eons🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  9. Igår var jag på en trädgårdsvandring och det var hyfsat väder, det duggade bara lite(!), tills vi var allra längst bort i trädgården 15 minuter innan vi skulle avsluta och alla skulle åka iväg och äta gemensam lunch. Då började det regna. Vräka ner! :- Så jag lovar att vi såg kul ut när vi kom in på restaurangen!!😦😦
    Dessutom hade jag av misstag när jag skulle tvätta av stövlarna innan vi åkte, spolat i massor av vatten i en av dom *fniss*. Med hjälp av papper och hårtork så fick jag till den hyfsat, men när jag kom hem efter ett antal timmar var jag genomblöt – och kall – om foten. Inte kul – annars var vandringen och lunchen mycket trevlig.🙂🙂🙂
    Susie

    • Tjänare Susie!

      Igår var det riktigt skönt ute men idag har det regnat något väldigt. Skönt att ni klarade er från det värsta regnet på trädgårdsvandrinen. Ja utom då i slutet🙂
      🙂 Jag tror vi alla gjort den missen i våra liv🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      Yes it seems they have big problems all over the world. Here they bragged about getting one of the best computers there is so they could predict better🙂🙂🙂 But I guess the climate change is the thing that makes it so hard for them now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. ALL of your photo’s were wonderful and especially great shots of the dogs. Of course the best was of Bertil! I always look for those. The dogs are gorgeous and so healthy and happy looking.

Leave a Reply

