Smells bring back memories.

Luckily I took some photos on our walk yesterday afternoon. The birds use the filter to my pond as a place to take a bath.

Luckily I took some photos on our walk yesterday afternoon. The birds use the filter to my pond as a place to take a bath.

No walk after work with my dogs and cat today, it rains most of the time and suddenly comes showers that are so bad that I fear drowning if we would be out there walking🙂 So we’ll go outside in the garden between showers instead. The good thing is that they at least today won’t get any more ticks, this is a bad tick year and I pick several from them every day. Hector and Orvar can’t have any of those tick repellant’s so there’s no use in putting it on the two others either. As long as I get them early there’s no problem.

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

 

I’ve taken three that were walking around on me too but none has so far bitten me. I just hate those animals and the only “use” they do in nature is to spread death and disease because almost no animal likes to eat them, not even our birds. I’ve put up the first sticky flypaper too, not that I have especially many flies in the cottage yet but the ones that are here annoys me enough as it is. 

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

 

I’ve been thinking a lot of cottages that I’ve had as summer houses. It’s different smells that brought back memories from way back in my head. One place was called The Red Cottage which is a bit strange since all cottages in that area and in most parts of southern Sweden are red🙂 It had an outhouse and the door opened up towards a gravel road very few cars ever passed. So I could sit there with the door slightly opened and watch what ever passed outside🙂 It never bothered me to go there except for one time when I sat down and wasps had built a nest just beside the opening. It took over a week for that swelling to go down again🙂

 

DSC_0017

DSC_0021

DSC_0020

 

I rented another place together with two friends not far from the Red Cottage and it too had an outhouse. Back then I only had one dog, a girl called Sickan. My friend, with the same name as I have🙂 went out in the middle of the night to go to the outhouse and when he was walking back he heard my dog walking beside him. He opened the door and called for her and to his big surprise she came to him from within the cottage. He brought a flash light and realised that he had been talking and walking with a big badger🙂

 

In my garden now.

In my garden now.

DSC_0030

DSC_0032

 

It’s time for a pot of tea again and something to eat and I guess we’ll go outside into the garden again before we go to bed. We have daylight for a long time now in the evenings.

 

DSC_0035 DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

16 thoughts on “Smells bring back memories.

  1. Loving all the flower pictures! Euphorbias smell like warm sunshine and honey. The yellow hanging flowers we have in our woods. I call them merrybells. It is so weird to see the same plants there as we have here. The big droopy buds with finely cut leaves look like peonys? and apple blossoms? You are so far ahead of us here in NY.

    Seriously, you can find ticks on BLACK dogs? Some with tight Labrador type coats? :\ Why is it that two of your dogs can not have flea/tick repellant on them? I would still use it on the other two, that much less tick-picking. :}

    Wasps in the outhouse??? Owwy! :O

    • Hi Wendy!

      I have actually never smelled the euphorbias🙂 I’ve had them for ages and never even understood that thay smell🙂🙂🙂 Must check that tomorrow. Those yellow hanging flowers You call merrybells we call Sorrow clock🙂 They are my absolute favorites in my garden Too bad they don’t grow in the wild here but then again, they do give seeds🙂🙂🙂

      Yes those are peonys, P. veitchii. The last to start growing in spring and the first to flower here.

      I feel them because they are totally impossible to see🙂 Both Orvar and Hector get bad skin problems and Hector also become crazy when getting it on his skin. Almost all of those repellants are actually neurotoxins and can play tricks with the brain. I don’t know how either Sune or Nova would react so I rather pick those ticks.

      Guess if I got sdurprised when thosw wasps stung me🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Let me know what you think when you smell the euphorbias! I smell every flower, and can even identify some plants by the smell of the crushed foliage! I am like a hunting dog! 😉 Here is a link to the merrybells: https://uswildflowers.com/detail.php?SName=Uvularia%20grandiflora . I guess you’ll need to copy and paste it to your browser to see.

        About the neurotoxins and them playing tricks with the brain, I would not be able to tell with my dog, she is such a big goofball any way!! 😉 There are different types, some cause more problems than others. I HATE ticks and would rather not have my big hairy dog bringing them in with her if possible. She has not had any reactions, yet. I never saw a single tick since we moved here 15 years ago, until about three years ago. And now this year they are the worst ever! I have tick nightmares!

      • I forgot to do it now when we came back from our walk but I’ll go outside again later today sinbce the weather is rather nice, warm and sunny🙂 but my nose is a bit stuffed so I hope I can feel anything🙂

        Yes there they are, Uvularia grandiflora. They like it in my garden and there are more and more flowers every year🙂

        Believe me You would notice! Very few reacts but those that do can get aggressive or scared for nothing and everything. Hector got stressed and nervous and it took some years until he came back to normal, some never do.

        Yes there are some different kinds but I was thinking of actually spray some garlic water on my dogs because ticks hate that and I guess I’ll have to stand the smell🙂

        I think we have five different species of ticks here and all of themn can give us all kinds of problems. They have recently found out that they can give several kinds of lime diseases, one is so bad that if You get it You die because it happens so fast that they can’t give any antibiotics in time. Thankfully that one is very rare, yet. Last year was a good tick year, I think I picked ten in total the entire year.

        Christer.

  2. your photos are amazing today, beautiful blossoms!! I HATE outhouses, I HATE HATE them, we had only an outhouse to use when we were first married because the cottage we bought as our home was only a summer cottage, it was one year of using that out house, then we used it only when absolutely necessary after we had an indoor toilet put in, spiders, skunks, porcupines raccoons, squirrel and a ground hog, all loved our out house much more than I, that out house still stands, just in case, lol, sorry to hear you had a bad experience with that out house!!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You🙂

      We don’t have any of those animals except for the squirrels and spiders and so far I’ve never seen a squirrel in any outhouse I’ve had🙂🙂🙂 But wasps and spiders love those places. I don’t mind the spiders since we have no dangerous ones here🙂 Some snakes like them too since they can lay their eggs there but not the only poisonous we have, that one give birth to live ones.

      So I like them but I do check after wasps every time I need to use one🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I wonder what the badger was thinking as they walked back to the house together.🙂

    Outhouses used to bother me because I was positive there would be snakes in there. Everybody told me that wasps and hornets would be the most likely source of trouble as any snake in it’s right mind would not go in there. So I got over the snake in the outhouse thing. Good thing, too, because at dog and horse shows, a portable biffy is all you get. Then I read a news article that park rangers had pulled a 6 foot rattler out of an outhouse in one of the White Mountains parks. It had been curled up under the rim of the seat. Guess it wasn’t in its right mind.😀

    No ticks so far here. Winter was very cold but snowy so there should be some but the spring has been rather dry and cold so far. I haven’t seen any mosquitoes, either. Houseflies are everywhere and bumblebees. Lots of bumblebees.

    What is that white flower with the interesting green and yellow stuff growing from the center?

    It’s very warm today. Tomorrow we will be back down in the coolth again. Okay by me. 80+F is too hot.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Perhaps it wanted a treat🙂 They are creatures of habit so it might just be that this was the time he walked that way every night and no human would change that🙂
      🙂 A rattler of all things🙂 We have one that can lay their eggs in there because it’s always warm enough but it isn’t poisonous so that doesn’t bother me. Wasps howere is something I always check for if I need to use one🙂

      Our winter was so warm and with all the rain they really thrive now! I’ve gotten one mosquito bite and I think that’s the only mosquito I’ve seen so far but plenty of bumblebees, flies and some wasps.

      That is a Wood anemone. The wood anemone is a fairly young species so it hasn’tr stabilized yet and can take many strange forms and colors.

      Sunny and warm now but most of the days has been cloudy and rainy.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer!! We have had the same thing today weather-wise! Except it has been a slow, steady rain but wet nonetheless! It makes for muddy paws and muddy floors but the gardens like it. I laughed out loud with the badger story but I guess you guys weren’t laughing then. Badgers can be so mean! I love the first picture of the yellow flowers. What kind are they? So pretty. Tonight I will just sit and watch some TV – the latest episode of Game of Thrones. Makes for a good TV night! Have a good Tuesday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      Our badgers are rather nice animals and never attacks unless being attacked. Not even when Sune as a puppy jumped up on the back on one it got especially angry, it just wanted to run away. There are lots of myths going around about badgers and most of them are made up by hunters. I guess I too would be rather nasty if someone put an angry dog in my house so it could attack me🙂🙂🙂 Normally they just don’t care about humans or dogs even if they are just beside. The American one however is a nasty piece of work I’ve heard🙂🙂

      That flower is a Cushion Spurge and it’s a nice one to have in the garden. Don’t spread too much but it do pop up here and there after a few years🙂

      They show Game of Thrones way to late here so I haven’t seen more than one episode but I did like that one.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Those tiny pink blossoms are wonderful. How pretty they would be in a bouquet…are they cherry blossoms? Sweet little things.
    Ticks horrify me, Christer! A long time ago in an upstairs bedroom of our home..I saw several huge ones climbing up my daughter’s bedroom wall. I later found out they were pregnant ticks..and even all these years later it makes me sick to think of it. As a child I had a girlfriend that found one embedded in her side..and I have take them off my dogs. I used a bottle rubbing alchohol which I would tip up onto the tick and it would quickly back out which I would then tip and put the lid back on the bottle and throw the bottle out. Worked for me..and no danger of leaving the head in the animal thus possibly causing a health problem.
    NO rain in Southern California. None at all..hot and very dry and windy. 🙂 Take care.

    • Hi Mona!

      No those flowers are Spotted deadnettles, a very nice ground cover plant.

      Ticks are anything but nice and I pick them with a special kind of thing looking like a pen. Works perfect every time and so much easier than to try with the fingers🙂 They say that if one pick them before they’ve been sitting for more than twelve hours the risk of getting any of it diseases are minimal, so far so good🙂

      Sunny and warm now in the evening and now they say it will turn towards more summerlike weather again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    Those are great stories. Nothing like a view while you’re using the outhouse. The badger story reminds me of a commercial for glasses. The woman is staining by the door encouraging her ct to come in. It does and she shuts the door. It was not her cat but a raccoon.

    It is fly season in New Hampshire, and it was awful. They fly around your had and dive bomb you. They drove us inside.

    No rain for quite a while here.

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      I love that commercial🙂🙂🙂 I laughed so much the first time I saw it🙂🙂

      So far we only have rather nice but irritating flies here, the biting ones comes later on and this year I fear they will be plenty.

      It’s turning towards more summer like weather again so I’m hoping all puddles and deep holes in the bog will dry out so all kosquito larvae and horse fly larvae dies🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

