Have You ever seen a Cuckoo bird?

DSC_0001

Sune seems to have more than enough when it comes to energy today. All the other dogs are asleep somewhere in the cottage but he is outside playing with his favorite toy, a knot. Once in a while he comes in and wants me to throw it so he can fetch it and keep on playing with it🙂 He doesn’t care if the others don’t want to play and is just as happy playing by himself. He’s always happy no matter what🙂

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

 

We have at least four Cuckoo birds here now and today finally I managed to capture one with my camera but I had to edit them a lot otherwise they would just show a black spot against the very bright sky🙂 They are very shy and sometimes when one see them in the sky they look like falcons. They say Cuckoo birds are becoming rare but it’s hard to believe here since they can be heard everywhere🙂

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

 

I got a text message today telling me that the plants I’ve ordered had arrived at the post office in Gudhem. I had ordered two hardy Kiwi since the ones I planted last years seems to have died and I also ordered a fig tree, I just don’t know why because I know how it will end. It will grow fine and become big and then I get tired of carrying it to and from the cool cellar and then I plant it in the garden and then it’ll die🙂 It might perhaps survive in the greenhouse when that is built. I’ll buy more stuff for that greenhouse tomorrow. I’m never quick when I do my projects but I do finish them🙂

 

DSC_0015

One eyed Rune.

One eyed Rune.

I had to edit these two photos a lot to be able to show the Cuckoo bird.

I had to edit these two photos a lot to be able to show the Cuckoo bird.

DSC_0023

 

The kitchen door is open and it has been almost summer warm here, the morning was cold and foggy though and I am gad I did cover the plants I’ve placed outside because the temperature dropped to almost 0C (32F). The sky is clear today as well so I better cover them tonight too just in case. I rarely sow Morning glories but I’ve made an exception this year, It’s the hardiest species so it will most likely survive above ground the first frost night in the autumn and if I cover the ground with lots of soil and leafs in autumn it might even survive the winter here, most likely not but perhaps.

 

DSC_0026

The wild Goose berries are very small and quite hairy but oh so delicious!

The wild Goose berries are very small and quite hairy but oh so delicious!

The Shrike is back.

The Shrike is back.

DSC_0031

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. After that it’s time to go through the soil in the pots with my new plants so they don’t bring unwanted guests like the Spanish forest slug. I’m not sure if it’s worth it any longer since I doubt my newest neighbour bothered to check the plants he brought home a few weeks ago. The Spanish forest slug is something one really, really don’t want around since it eats everything and it doesn’t have any natural predators in this country.

 

Not much left of the old crab apple tree now. Too bad we all liked it but they had to remove it so the water and sewer pipes can go there.

Not much left of the old crab apple tree now. Too bad we all liked it but they had to remove it so the water and sewer pipes can go there.

DSC_0001

The Forest star.

The Forest star.

Lots of raindrops in the grass, photo taken yesterday.

Lots of raindrops in the grass, photo taken yesterday.

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Have You ever seen a Cuckoo bird?

  1. hi christer! that is the first cuckoo i have ever seen! my figs all died too. i need to buy some new ones. it is pouring here as a cold front moves in and finally we will have some cool weather. my zucchini is growing so fast i think i could stand there and watch it grow! i never get zucchini and am hoping this year the container bush ones grow. when are you going to start building your greenhouse? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Figs in pots grow like crazy, so they need tiny pots and figs in the garden dies🙂
      I’m glad You are getting some rain and that it is cooling doiwn, Summer started way to early over at Yours. I wouldn’t mind if it started earlier here though because we almost never get it as hot as You do🙂

      They do grow fast those zucchinis! I’ve been unlucky some years now with my zucchinis, either I’ve only gotten male flowers or the cast has peed the plants to death🙂 This year I’ll pour out lots of coffee around them because my cats hate that🙂

      Well, as soon as I have all things I need I’ll start buiklding that green house but You know me by now, nothing happens fast here🙂 I will tell You all when I start though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I remember the big fuss when waters and sewers came to the small rural village we lived in, very small but the Province decided we needed it, some were angry, because of the trees that were sacrifice, increased taxes some too😦 but some were glad to have water on demand, Garry and I had just spent 10,000 dollars on a well, drilled through rock, two years later they said we had to hook up to theirs, oh my,,,,,,,,,thankfully we recouped our costs when we sold our home, waterfront homes have become valuable😉 maybe the one smart thing we did, we kept some land when we sold and they wanted to force us to put the water and sewers to it but we won, we have our own well, and as of this far just an out house, we only visit there to get out of the city, the government likes to control too much!!!!
    you photos are beautiful, the spider web one is my favorite!!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      This water and sewer thing has nothing to do with the authorities, this is some villagers that wanted it and they need to put down those pipes somewhere. Too bad about that tree but it was slowly dying anyway I’m afraid. Now it’s taken down in a more controlled way.

      I’m glad You won against the authorities but we usually have another point of view when it comes to how much they should be allowed to interfere with our lives, normally we don’t mind much at all🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    The shrike doesn’t seem to be very shy at all. There are a couple of species of cuckoo here but I’ve not seen one in many years.
    I was pleased to see a female ruby-throated hummingbird feeding in my quince bush the other day. It’s another species that I haven’t seen in my yard for many decades.

    Love the photo of the rain in the grass.

    Fig trees are very popular with many of the Italians in my area. They plant them outside but then bury the tree in a ditch every fall so that it won’t freeze over the winter. Sounds like too much trouble for me.

    It was sunny with clouds and pleasantly warm earlier but now the clouds have thickened up. Tomorrow is supposed to be sunny with rain. No mention of clouds so where the rain will come from is a mystery.🙂
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      We only have this one species here but I know they have a few more further south in Europe. But I would love to have hummingbirds here🙂 Too bad they only exist on Your side of the ocean.

      I wouldn’t mind digging down the fig tree but it tends to become way too big after a few years. I would need a big digger to make sure it would come down deep enough🙂

      It is tricky to get rain without clouds but it does happen sometimes, I don’t know how but it does🙂🙂 Warm and sunny here today even if the morning was both cloudy and chilly.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • The hummingbird was so cool to watch. And so tiny. Hardly bigger than a tiny shrew. We have moths bigger than that.

      • Many people over here believes they have seen hummingbirds in their gardens here on warm summer evenings, they never unbderstand that what they see are big moths🙂

  4. Hi Christer! I have never seen a cuckoo bird! We don’t get those here on the Canadian prairies. Not shrikes. I just came back inside from filling up the bird feeders. Its entertainment for our cats – we call it Cat TV!! I love your pictures – nice and foggy! We had frost last night and again tonight. But then we are supposed to get back to reasonable temps. I sure hope so. No fun still wearing a heavy coat. Good luck with the fig tree!

    • Hi Dianna!

      We usually stop feeding the birds when spring arrives, they really don’t have time going there anyway in the beginning. But I gave them seeds last summer when things started to calm down again and that they liked🙂

      No frost but close and I do hope weä’ve seen the last of frost nights now even if I know it still might happen. Sunny and warm here today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Never heard or seen a cuckoo bird, unless you count the ones that come out of a clock, Christer!
    You have captured beautiful and intricate webs and the water droplets on the grasses are my favorite photo today…yiu saved the best for last. Maybe this will be the year you get a start on the greenhouse, as you would not want to rush😏

    • Hi Beatrice!

      We seems to have quite many here but they are getting rare all over the country. I’m not sure why because I don’t think it is us humans that makes life harder for them.

      I will start with the greenhouse this year, I’m buying stuff now but I always take it slow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer! For some reason I cannot enlarge your photo’s anymore like I used to. They get SO large that one branch can fill the screen and everything is distorted. Did you change something in your settings??
    Cuckoo birds…aren’t they the ones that lay their eggs in other bird’s nests and when the chicks hatch, they kick the real babies that belong in the nest out to die? I’ve watched nature films about them. They do not raise their own chicks, they let other birds do it for me. Reminds me of some people I know. 🙂

    Really nice photo’s today. I see Bertil is tolerating the day. :):) He has a “no nonsense” look on his little face. 🙂 Isn’t he great?!!

    • Hi Mona!

      No it isn’t I that have done anything and I think it’s really annoying! But I managed to get it less big by rightclicking on the photo and chose “show in new window” Then it became reasonable big to see again.

      Yes they are the ones that do like that (like many humans too🙂 ) But lots of birds learns how to see a difference in the eggs and push out those eggs. Perhaps that’s why we have fewer cockoo birds?

      I’m not sure if I think he’s great but I do like that little monster🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

