I hope my hedge dies when they dig here.

I always take a test photo before walking away and it's usually up the road or down towards the neighbor living closest to the forest.

I always take a test photo before walking away and it’s usually up the road or down towards the neighbor living closest to the forest.

The weather isn’t remotely as sunny as they said it should be but it is warm and it doesn’t rain so I guess I shouldn’t complain. It was however very sunny when we went out for our morning walk so before we went away I took out all the annuals and placed them in shade to get used to real daylight and not the kind they get from behind a window. It was going to be warm so I didn’t care that it was a bit chilly. Suddenly clouds covered the sky and an icy wind started to blow, I hope they didn’t get any damages because of that. They are still alive so I think they are ok.

 

DSC_0007

Can You see those marks on the bottom stone? I’ve never seen them before. I think this is an old tomb so I wonder if those marks has any meaning?

This is my absolute favorite photo all week long. I like how the daylight was captured.

This is my absolute favorite photo all week long. I like how the daylight was captured.

They don't need much space when they put down those pipes.

They don’t need much space when they put down those pipes.

 

I have an old dead sea buckthorn in my garden and it’s so thorny that I have let it stand there for quite some time. The tree is much rot resistant than I thought and it stands just as good as it did alive, so today I planted a climbing honeysuckle (woodbine) beside it, I mean if it won’t fall down it can still at least look beautiful when the honeysuckle climbs up in it🙂 My neighbor started talking to me while I was cleaning up after the dogs about the water and sewer. I don’t know why all people ask me about it since I won’t get it myself but they do🙂 I had very little new to add more than that they have started digging in the village now. Some places they’ll dig is just too swampy still so now they work from the end of the line towards those places instead.

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

DSC_0017

 

Not long after that the ones digging this and the chairman of the water and sewer association came by, finally they had realised the same thing that my neighbor and I had long ago that they might just as well dig just outside our properties instead of digging in a cow pasture that is rather swampy. I told them that I wouldn’t mind if I had to jump a ditch for a day or two because it will pass just outside my gate. I also said that they could dig up my entire lilac hedge if they wanted to because I don’t like it🙂🙂🙂 So they might actually do that with a bit of luck🙂 I need to sign a firm that they are allowed to though so I’ll do that as soon as possible. They will of course repair anything they might destroy while digging, like electric cables and so on. I’m so hoping my hedge will be removed!

 

DSC_0019

Suddenly the entire mountain was covered in fog.

Suddenly the entire mountain was covered in fog.

I wonder if it is an apple tree or cherry tree in bloom by those old tombs?

I wonder if it is an apple tree or cherry tree in bloom by those old tombs?

 

They will also tell me in advance when they’ll turn up because I don’t want my dogs to be in the dog yard while they are digging, that would scare all of them, except for Sune, to death. Sune however would love it, the noisier a machine is the better. I always say that if he had been a human boy he would run to them and ask if he could sit in the digger or what ever machine it is and he would start talking horse power and cylinders with them🙂🙂 :-) 

 

I think these are Iron age tombs but they could be from the Bronze age too.

I think these are Iron age tombs but they could be from the Bronze age too.

DSC_0026

The Portal is getting greener too.

The Portal is getting greener too.

 

One of the dogs has figured out how to open the kitchen door, the handle on that door works opposite a normal handle so it has to be pushed upwards to open up. Not a good thing because I normally never lock that door if I’ll leave the dogs for s short while, now I have to🙂 I have also mowed my lawn today and it was much easier than I thought it would be considering it was very long and also rather wet. The forest flies have just started flying around now, I noticed that while mowing. They don’t bit, just annoy but so far only a few were around. I’m pretty sure I’ll need my mosquito hat next week or they’ll drive me insane.

 

I saw something further down the road that caught my interest. I told Orvar to come to me so I could focus on it and then I saw something at the end of the road that was even more interesting. Orvar did of course refuse to come and most of the time he stood in the way so finally I lost my temper and screamed at him :-) Both animals ran like crazy :-)

I saw something further down the road that caught my interest. I told Orvar to come to me so I could focus on it and then I saw something at the end of the road that was even more interesting. Orvar did of course refuse to come and most of the time he stood in the way so finally I lost my temper and screamed at him🙂 Both animals ran like crazy🙂

Every time I tried to focus on the fox Orvar showed up instead. This is the best shot I gott and too bad it got so blurry.

Every time I tried to focus on the fox Orvar showed up instead. This is the best shot I got and too bad it got so blurry.

This is where we had to walk through the pasture full of bulls. around half of them were behind that hill and half of them in that part of the pasture we had to walk. Four panicking dogs can't be controlled so I had to let go of the leashes I had put on them so it would be easier to pass :-) I can tell You we didn't like each other after passing here. Thankfully we all forget easy :-)

This is where we had to walk through the pasture full of bulls. around half of them were behind that hill and half of them in that part of the pasture we had to walk. Four panicking dogs can’t be controlled so I had to let go of the leashes I had put on them so it would be easier to pass🙂 I can tell You we didn’t like each other after passing here. Thankfully we all forget easy🙂

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and after that I think we’ll have a walk to the bog. It’s hard to walk by the fields since the castle owner has cut of many roads with wire gates, the wires are easy enough to hook off but the hard part is to walk four panicking dogs passed lots of curious cows or as it was this morning bulls.

 

Those bulls aren't especially interested in anything to be honest :-)

Those bulls aren’t especially interested in anything to be honest🙂

A rather useless photo because it's hard to see the honeysuckle in all that green :-)

A rather useless photo because it’s hard to see the honeysuckle in all that green🙂

I've never seen so many flower buds in my quince before as this year.

I’ve never seen so many flower buds in my quince before as this year.

The Turkish rhubarb is coming back.

The Turkish rhubarb is coming back.

 

Have a great day!

 

 

8 thoughts on “I hope my hedge dies when they dig here.

  1. Hi Christer! Great pictures today! Love the one with Orvar, the hare and fox! Wouldn’t that we nice if they dug up stuff you didn’t need? That would save you tons of time and heavy labour! Can you actually get near to those tombs? I can’t believe they could be from the Bronze Age!!!! Wow. I am still sitting here, getting caught up with my e-mails – but slowly getting more awake to head into the gardens. I am lazy today! Have a good day!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I can’t stand the smell of all those lilac flowers and especially when they start to decay, that’s a truly nasty smell. But they are so many and big that it would take forever to remove them. So yes it would be nice🙂

      Yes i can unless there are cows in the pasture, they are a bit too curious and they can be dangerous if I would bring my dogs. They do protect their calves. The big ones with the apple or cherry tree are from the stone age. We have so many of old tombs here that I rarely react when I see them now days🙂

      I’ve been so active today that it’s time to relax a bit🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Lovely photo bomb of Orvar.🙂
    Rocky often manages to get his butt in my photos. There’s nothing like a photo of beautiful scenery with the anus of a little dog peeking back at you from the edges. Sometimes it’s smack in the middle, too.

    We had torrential rains early this morning. I went back to check on the two patches of grass I planted yesterday figuring that the seeds had probably been washed away by the water. There’s something there that looks like it might be seeds but I can’t tell. These seeds weren’t covered in blue stuff. They are now dirt colored and I can’t see them anymore. Time will tell. At least I won’t have to water them today.

    My quince bush is just starting to go past flowering. The leaves are taking over. I keep looking for the hummingbird but I haven’t seen her again. Maybe I’ll have to put up a nectar feeder.

    The day has turned sunny and pleasant. It’s drying out.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      How do they do that? It’s like they are genetically modified to get in the way at the exact right second🙂 The anus is what helps making the rest look marvellous🙂

      I hope those grass seeds still are where they are supposed to be. The rain must have been good for them anyway even if it perhaps was a bit too much🙂

      The leafs comes before the flowers on my quince so it’s always hard to see the flowers🙂 But it must have liked last summer and winter because I’ve never seen so many buds before.

      The evening is quite pleasant and sunny. Tomorrow will start the same but it will rain in the afternoon. It’ll still be warm though. I wouldn’t be surprised if we get thunder.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer..do you have Jack Rabbits in Sweden? We have them in So. California, but I haven’t seen one in many years. At first the far distant object looked like a big hog…but I guess it was a fox.
    What interesting walks. Always something …🙂 One never knows what will happen. Here is the same way..only with people.

    • Hi Mona!

      I think Your Jack Rabbits are like our hares. Very big rabbits more or less🙂 Some years we have plenty but this year only a few. I really don’t like them (or rabbits) and they can give us humans a deadly disease called hare plague.

      I couldn’t see what it was at first, I had to take a photo to see it was a fox🙂 It’s our brown colored red fox and he’s quite big.

      Yes there’s always something🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • They spread like crazy and when one have around 50 yards of it the smell from them just is too much and when they decay the stench is just awful! I could have just one lilac tree but they always become a small forest in the end🙂

Leave a Reply

