Only the laundry left to do today.

Teodor rarely follows us on our walks and that's just as good since he complains the entire time by shouting loudly until we come home again.

Teodor rarely follows us on our walks and that’s just as good since he complains the entire time by shouting loudly until we come home again.

We’ve had a sunny, warm and nice morning here but the clouds come much earlier than they predicted yesterday evening, they should arrive sometime around 5pm according to yesterdays predictions but they are already here. It will not rain until tonight but that could change too, I really don’t trust those people at all any longer🙂

 

DSC_0012

We met Bertil when we reached the forest and he followed us like always.

We met Bertil when we reached the forest and he followed us like always.

DSC_0015

Wild strawberry flowers. The ones with black in the middle are destroyed by frost and will carry no berries. We have different names on the small strawberries and the big ones we grow in our gardens. The small ones are called Smultron and the big ones Jordgubbar (that would be earth men in English :-) )

Wild strawberry flowers. The ones with black in the middle are destroyed by frost and will carry no berries. We have different names on the small strawberries and the big ones we grow in our gardens. The small ones are called Smultron and the big ones Jordgubbar (that would be earth men in English🙂 )

 

We were out walking at 6 this morning and we bumped in to the same fox we saw yesterday, it was only a few meters (the same in yards) away from us so there was no time in even put up the camera to my eyes before it was gone. I think we disturbed it just when it was about to catch a mouse. We saw lots of tracks from deers and moose but nothing from hogs. They say they have shot over a dozen lately so I guess we have very few left at the moment but they’ll be back soon enough.

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

 

I’ve replanted several seedlings this morning too. Mostly two different perennial hibiscus but also morning glories which I had decided not to sow🙂 But the most important replanting was my tomato plants, they can be slow in the beginning but they grow so fast when they finally decides to do so🙂 This year I’ll have four different varieties: Green grape, Vilma, Goose creek and Zloty Ozorowsky. All are new to me so I know very little about them. 

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

DSC_0032

 

All the animals are asleep in the cottage except for Nova, she always find the warmest spot in the sunlight days like this and she prefers a place where the wind won’t reach her. I’d thought she would boil inside that black fur of hers but she just loves lying there being baked🙂 I must do the laundry but besides that this will be a do very little day. I think one day in the week should be a relaxing day, doesn’t matter which one just as long as it’s a no working with anything day. Too many stress through life and never really stop to enjoy the day, they always have things to do and they usually love to tell people around them how stressful their lives are but never tries to do anything about it.

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

I guess that by the same time tomorrow morning there will be at least two more hares in this area. Just look how big she is.

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

We call it Forest star but an English name for it is Arctic starflower.

We call it Forest star but an English name for it is Arctic starflower.

A white Wood anemone with one petal too many.

A white Wood anemone with one petal too many.

14 thoughts on “Only the laundry left to do today.

  1. Har ni fint väder idag? Vi har riktigt grått och regnet hänger i luften. Ja, det har t.o.m. kommit ner lite – precis när jag var ute för klippa och ansa lite. Fick avbryta och gå in. Då slutade det att regna naturligtvis!😦 Det vore faktiskt bra om det kom ner lite vatten så vi slipper vattna det nysatta i “parken”!!
    TREVLIG ARBETSFRI SÖNDAG
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Än så länge är det riktigt skönt, mycket moln men däremellan solsken och nästan vindstilla🙂 Men regnet kommer hit ikväll säger de.

      Vi har ju fått en hel del regn här men jagkan see i bäckar och diken att det är rätt så torrt där ute. Gör inte mig något om det betyder att mygg och hästfluge och bromslarver dör bort🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Garden strawberries are Earthmen? Forest strawberries are from Mars?🙂🙂

    It’s looks very sunny and nice in your photos. I can understand why Nova sleeps in the sun. It’s very warming and relaxing. Rocky likes to sleep on the hot asphalt sidewalk in front of my house. Even in summer. He has a thick undercoat, too, but I suspect it insulates him from the heat.🙂

    Today is a no-chores day for me as well. It looks like it’s going to be a lovely day. Sunny and cool. Sounds like a good reason to take a road trip to the beaver pond and ice cream.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Well the name can also be tranlsted to soil man or dirt man but I thought earth man sounded better🙂🙂 and no earthman tastes even close to as delicious as smultron does and eartmen are still delicious in them selves🙂

      Yes their fur must insulate them from the heat, old Erna was just the same. Orvar and Hector would probably boil though🙂

      I’ll stay at home even though ice cream do sound rather nice🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. that sure is one bug bunny! why do you think teodor screams through the whole walk? i have wild strawberries in my garden but they have no flavor. my regular strawberries are doing better than ever. i just bought bird netting to cover them and the currants and other berries so maybe for once i will finally get some before the birds get to them!

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think it is out of his comfort zone and that he’s afraid we might walk too fast for him because god forbid that he should walk faster🙂🙂🙂

      The wild ones here are delicious and they say that’s because we have so many hours with day and sunlight up here in the north. The more sunshine the more sugar the berry produce. I don’t have the regular, or jordgubbar, any longer. It’s hard to find hardy enough varieties but I do have the wild ones all over the garden. I also have something we call troll strawberries ( a close relative to the strawberries) , they look just like wild strawberries but taste absolutely nothing.

      You do have much more problems with birds eating Your berries than I have. They leave almost everythging but they do eat each and every cherry out in the forest. I’m lucky because they can be very different elswhere and eat everything.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer!! You are absolutely right – one should have at least one day a week where you relax. That is what I am doing today. Just doing bits here and there, baked some oatmeal muffins, did a bit of laundry but now I am watching Mr. Selfirdge that I PVR’d earlier this week. The weather is not great today, cloudy and cool. But tomorrow we have a holiday and its supposed to rain. Not great but that’s ok – I still don’t have to go to work!! Have a great rest of the day!

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes, I think it is important to have a day when only relaxing is on the schedule, it doesn’t matter which day though.

      I just watched some tv and went to bed early and reading some.

      Thunder here today and I’m in between thunderstorms at the moment🙂

      I hope You’ve had a great holiday even if the weather isn’t the best!

      Christer.

  5. Christer, was the hare dead? I couldn’t tell and I can’t enlarge your photo’s anymore. Sometimes I get out my magnifiying glass and that helps.
    Who’s complaining? It was probably me. 😦 I know I do that sometimes. I’ll try to cool it. See? I have a guilty concious!! LOL🙂
    Both cats are wonderful ..but it’s Bertil’s eyes…SO much expression in them.
    I always see things in the brambles and I used to enlarge them and try to figure out what I was looking at.
    Aren’t wild hogs dangerous? I heard that somewhere…not sure where. Probably National Geographic. 🙂
    Take care, Christer!
    Mona

    • You didn’t read theb text beneathn the photo properly, did You🙂 No she is anything but dead, she’s very pregnant🙂

      It was more an observation in general, I don’t think You have complainerd🙂 People are so stressed today, they must do everything all the time and never take the time to relax any longer. I read that You took a nap on the patio the other day so I know You rest🙂

      Wild hogs can be dangerous but they usually go away long before anyone comes close if they make some noise when walking around. They can attack but usually they just bite to injure, not kill🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, glad to read that this was a do nothing day for you after reading about all the things you did do before doing nothing. Of course, your lets do demand a fair amount of your time when you are home. Nova seems to have the right idea.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Well I don’t see replanting as hard work🙂 I like to do it, I stand still at one place and drink lots of tea while doing it so it is relaxing for me🙂 Even mowing the lawn is nice now when I have my light weight electric mower.

      Yes Nova knows how to relax🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer,
    You see so many animals on your walks I am a bit jealous but in another way I am glad I don’t. Gracie would be gone in a heartbeat chasing whatever. When she sees the neighbor’s cat across the street, she wants out to chase it even though she lives with two of her own. The animals I see are mostly when I’m in my car.

    The days have been in the 60’s and the nights in the 50’s. I’d like it a bit warmer during the day, but I love the cool evenings.

    Enjoy you day of leisure!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I think it is because my dogs always see animals everywhere that they take it easy and the fact that they have very little hunting instinct. Only Nova gets crazy and only when she see a hare or squirrel🙂 They love all cats though but they get very little back from the neighbor cats🙂

      Warm and nice here today, lots of clouds but also lots of sunshine🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

