Thunder and lightning.

DSC_0019

I’m just popping in to say I won’t write anything because of thunder and lightning in the neighborhood, well over big parts of southern Sweden actually. So far It’s up on the mountain and behind us and some distance away but it is closing in. 

 

DSC_0020

 

It can be dangerous even for us with wireless broadband since it works like a mobile phone and mobile phones attracts lightning rather well🙂

 

My hand fan shaped apple tree flowers and I hope I'll get plenty of apples because they are delicious. So it's a myth that all seed sown apples get sour and tart.

My hand fan-shaped apple in bloom and I hope I’ll get plenty of apples because they are delicious. So it’s a myth that all seed sown apples get sour and tart.

Female Shrike.

Female Shrike.

Male Shrike.

Male Shrike.

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Thunder and lightning.

  1. Beautiful photos as always. I think the shrike is the bird referred to as the “thorn bird” in the novel of the same name.

  2. hi christer! we have rain on the way tomorrow but i am not complaining because i just planted the entire lower garden. i wasn’t even going to put anything in there this year. even my garden at the green house is panted. if all of this food comes in, i don’t know what i will do with it! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      In between thgunderstorms here right now, I can hear it both south and north of us at the moment🙂

      The plants love this weather so I’m not complaining either but it is too bad that this will help all horse fly larvae survive.

      I guess lots of it can be used for the shelter but even then it looks like You’ll need a bigger freezer🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • HI Cindi!

      I was. I do like a good thunderstorm but I’m always indoors since I moved here, in the big city there are so many other things that attract lightning so much better than humans and animals so I used to be out walking in thunderstorms🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m always indoors when thunderstorms arrive, I used to take walks in them when I lived in the big city though🙂

      I love any kind of day as long as it’s warm🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Your shrikes have very lovely colors. There are two species here and both are grey and black with some bits of white. They almost look like each other.
    If all seed-sown apples get sour and tart, we would not ever find any that are sweet and delicious.
    Random thought: this reminds me of the story we tell here about Johnny Appleseed (John Chapman). The children’s version of the story is that he went traveling around the frontier of the early Republic randomly sowing appleseeds all over the place because he loved apple trees. The real story is more interesting. He was a nurseryman. He sowed apple orchards which he fenced and left in the care of a local farmer who worked the orchard for shares. He would return regularly and check on his investments. The apples were not eating apples. They were used to make hard cider which was the drink of choice at the time, I guess. Johnny Appleseed was also an early conservationist and an itinerant preacher for the Swedenborgian Church. I keep meaning to read a real biography on him because it’s an interesting story.

    It’s was a lovely day here. Sun, cool breezes, puffy clouds. There was a light shower later on in the day but no big deal.
    Enjoy your thunderstorm.

    • Hi Caryn!

      They do. We have another species more south and it’s as You say more grey, white and black.

      Most people just don’t understand that one needs to sow a seed to get a new apple variety🙂🙂🙂 Most of those are quite tasty but some are perhaps too small to sell, some gets diseases to easily and some just taste tart🙂 But every now and again that one, the delicious one comes along, they say one in ten thousands🙂

      The first time I heard about Johnny Appleseed was in a Simpson Episode and I checked him up and not long after that they sent a sort of documenr´tary about him. Rather smart that man and I got surprised that he was a Swedenborgian. We rarely know any Swedish ones and still it’s a Swedish church🙂 Those people are asn odd bunch of people🙂🙂🙂

      Today has been so nice and I’ve been outside a few times since my dogs went with me to work🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

