Hector loved it.

This is how it looked yesterday when I came home from work. It's the cow pasture just outside my kitchen.

This is how it looked yesterday when I came home from work. It’s the cow pasture just outside my kitchen.

I could hear the thunder the entire evening and I could see the lightning up on the mountain but it never really did much noise down here. Two flashes of light over my cottage and I think that was it.  I was sitting and reading upstairs when I noticed something hanging from my roof just outside the window. It looked like two strings but I have nothing out there that can hang from my roof. It turns out it was my telephone wires🙂 I have two going in to my cottage because a person that used to rent this cottage years ago wanted two lines, one for private use and one for his business.

 

They placed the water and sewer pipes and the fiberoptic broad band above the pipes on my sewer system :-)

They placed the water and sewer pipes and the fiber-optic broad band above the pipes on my sewer system🙂

This is how our road look today :-) I expect that they'll make it better when it has settled after a while because it sure looks bad now :-)

This is how our road look today🙂 I expect that they’ll make it better when it has settled after a while because it sure looks bad now🙂

DSC_0002

 

They have started digging for the water and sewer now and they tore down the telephone wires yesterday. I’m not sure how because they hang over six meters up (much the same in yards). I did wonder why the lightning never went out my telephone jacket during the thunderstorms last night🙂 Anyway, today they called to me while I was working, it turns out they also had cut off the electricity cable to my garage🙂 I could hear that the man expected me to become angry because he sounded so surprised when I wasn’t. I mean these things happen and they did repair the electric cable before I came home. I told him that I don’t use any electricity out there this time of year and wouldn’t mind if it would take some time to fix it.

 

One of the forgotten gardens at work. I used my telephone to take these photos.

One of the forgotten gardens at work. I used my telephone to take these photos.

DSC_0084

I found a pile of big stones, probably some stairs long forgotten. They were warm after the sun had sined on them.

I found a pile of big stones, probably some stairs long forgotten. They were warm after the sun had sined on them.

 

He also told me about the telephone wires and I said they shouldn’t bother repairing it since I’m going to stop have the old phone anyway. But he insisted, I guess they can get in trouble with the telephone company if they don’t. It was so nice to not have to worry about the lightning going out through my telephone jacket. But by the look on those wires I doubt they can be repaired at all🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0085

Hector was sleeping in the shadow of a big tree.

Hector was sleeping in the shadow of a big tree.

The old orchard.

The old orchard.

 

I brought my dogs with me to work today since I didn’t want them to be scared when they were working with diggers and all sort of machines so close to the dog yard. The spent most of the day in an air-conditioned office and I know Hector loved that🙂 Nova jumped up on the desk and looked out a window heading towards where I worked most parts of the day. She sat there while my boss worked on the computer just beside her🙂 But we went outside during my breaks and we went to one of the forgotten gardens, the one with the hazel bushes. The day has been rather wonderful so I really didn’t have any wish of going inside when the break was over.

 

The ground is filled with this tiny pink flower here by the bog.

The ground is filled with this tiny pink flower here by the bog.

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. I’ll go to work a bit later tomorrow because they only have a few meters left until they continue further down the road. Even though the dogs had a nice day at work I still feel it’s better for them to stay in the dog yard and dog house. 

 

In my garden, Haberlea.

In my garden, Haberlea.

Arctic raspberry.

Arctic raspberry.

Aronia.

Aronia.

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Hector loved it.

  1. The forgotten garden is SO green!
    That’s so great that they let you bring your dogs with you to work when you need to!🙂
    I haven’t been bringing mine lately. At first it was too wet and muddy in play area so there was no point. Now we’ve had a security meeting about what to do if someone comes in with a gun or knife looking to harm us. I made a joke about I’d take off with “the big white dog” and the boss got mad and said if someone tries to come in we are to forget the animals and group together….yeah, whatever. So, I’ve been leaving him home for the time being.

    • Hi Cindi!

      It’s a nice place to have a break at🙂

      Yes I am🙂 Luckily the owner has had animals around him all his life so he understands that it sometimes can be difficult

      Do You expect people coming in to harm You with a knife or gun? Thankfully that’s nothing anyone would ever think of having a meeting about here🙂 I actually have problems seeing a vet station as the place to do somthing like that at. And we all know how easy it would be to forget the animals,m don’t we🙂🙂 Well, lets hope none of us ever will learn.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I suppose they must make a mess to complete the work, it will be good when its finished! Your dogs have such a hard life, lol, air conditioned office, bringing them to work so they don’t become upset, lol, poor dogs, such a hard life, ha ha ha!!!! We would have done the same thing, I’m just kidding, you take such good care of your pals,
    we have that pink flower here as well,

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes things will look better after a while.

      Yes my poor dogs, how they suffer🙂 Especially Nova that was allowed to sit on the desk tolook out the window while my boss worked beside her🙂

      I guess that tiny pink flower grows all over the northern hemisfere.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! you are so lucky you can take the dogs to work. i have those arctic raspberries spreading all through my garden. more this year than ever! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes I am, not many working in a factory can.

      I don’t get many berries from my arctic raspberries though but the few I get are delicious🙂 They spread like crazy but they do look nice in the lawn🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      Personally I think she should have and they all did guard that office. They might have let anyone in or out of it but I know at least one person that is afraid of dogs and he would never go near that office with them all inside🙂🙂🙂

      I must admit that the factory owners are ver relaxed about things like this!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Are the cows getting water and sewer and fiber optic internet service? How advanced.🙂

    We have those pink flowers, too, and I used to know what they were once upon a time. I have it written down in my wildflower book but I’m too lazy to go find it. There’s a tiny blue-ish purple thing growing in the lawn that I keep meaning to identify. I call them lawn strawberries because they look like shrunken strawberry flowers. It’s a good enough name but no one else will know what I’m talking about.🙂

    It’s nice that you could bring your dogs to work. Most places here will only allow service dogs inside. I did bring my old dog Tegan to work a couple of times when she was a puppy. I made a fake badge for her so she would look legal. Nobody minded but that was a long time ago when people were a bit more relaxed.

    It was a lovely day here again. Sun, cool breezes, puffy clouds.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes they are but they are most looking forward tothe broad band. They are already looking much like the BOrg and that’s a bit scary🙂🙂🙂

      The pink flowers are so tiny! I must see if I can find them in my book Scandinavian Flora. I guess it’s a kind that grows all over the northern hemisphere.I don’t think I’ve even heard about those shrunken blue-ish purple ones though🙂

      It’s much the same here but the factory owners do understand that it’s better to let us bring our dogs than to let us stay at home every time there’s a problem. As long as the dogs doesn’t run around in the factory of course🙂

      It sounds like summer’s arriving for all of us now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer! We too had thunder and lightning last night but it didn’t last very long. We have no mountains here, just flat, flat prairie land but when you are away from the city and there is a storm coming you can watch it come for a very long time. I love thunderstorms! So nice you could bring your dogs to work. I feel North America is somewhat anti-bring your dog anywhere. Not like Europe where you can bring your dogs into shops, restaurants, etc. Not here. They have to stay outside. I bet yours loved the day!! Love the raspberry picture. I have never heard of an artic raspberry but you certainly can tell what it is by the leaves. Very distinct! I suspect you are just rising for the day as we are watching night fall here. Have a good Wednesday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      It was much like that at the place I lived before moving here not too far away actually. I lived in what is called the Westrogothic Plailand, a huga area that is absolutely flat. I could see and hear the thunder coming for a very long time.

      It’s actually much the same here as it is where You live, only a few places allows dogs. But it is another thing down on the continent where they can bring their dogs everywhere. I would get thrown out if I brought a dog with me to the grocery store🙂 I think they didn’t mind coming to work with me🙂

      The wild Arctic raspberries are the best berries there is, sooooo delicious🙂 Like most berries the garden varieties always taste a bit less good but still they are pretty amazing🙂

      I went up an hour after You wrote Your comment here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Mona!

      Especially here in the south west tyat get the most rain. Some places in the east coast can often dry out badly. That never happens here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    What fun! Take your dog to work day and Nova, of course, found the best vantage point. Gracie would have been barking all day and trying to get out of the dog yard if she were there. Even now she tries to jump the fence but she is too muscular for that any more.

    Here all the wires are underground but I still lose electricity when connecting spots go down as the older streets have above ground wires.

    Chilly today so I have no inclination to go out. It’s stay comfy at home day.

    Have a great evening.

    • Hi Kat!

      She sure found the best place and what surprised me most was that my boss didn’t tell her to go down. Well it is easier to scratch her behind the ears if she sits on the desk, isn’t it🙂 None of my dogs bark especially much since old Erna died, she started to bark and saw to that the others continued all day🙂 and I guess it helps if they are several dogs and have met all these people before.

      All wires go underground here topo, except for the telephone wier and It’s only 50 yards long up in the air. Enough to get the lightning hit it though. We rarely have any power problems though, a minute or two as most but it’s annoying enough when oine has to reset all electric clocks everywhere🙂

      Hot, hot hot! here today!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, we all agree that your pets have a very caring owner in you, which is as it should be and hopefully all the digging and road work will be over soon. We also have a lot of wild strawberries growing on the lawn areas. The flowers are yellow and sometimes they have small red berries, but I have never eaten any as we have cultivated strawberries in our small garden patch.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It does help a lot since I live by my own and very few people wants or can take care of four dogs when I need that help🙂

      Those strawberries with yellow flowers aren’t real strawberries, they are a close relative called Potentilla indica, they ahve the swedish name Troll strawberries. They are harmless but also tasteless so there’s no risk when eating them. I have them too and they look nice but not even my dogs eat them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

