It’s summer hot!

DSC_0004

No walk after work today because it’s just too hot for the old boys and almost too hot for the younger ones. Yesterday when it was cooler than it is today, but still hot for this time of year, they just fell to the floor and stayed there all evening after the walk🙂 Today it’s 28C (82,4F) and I can’t remember when it was this hot in the end of May ( a strong wind makes it feel a bit cooler but then again it also works like a giant hair dryer🙂 ). This will last for a few days but then it will go down to more normal summer temperatures again.I was worried during the day that Orvar and Hector in their stubbornness would stay out in the sun all day but thankfully the didn’t. Nova and Sune were in the garage where it is a bit cooler.

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

 

Yesterday I drove to work three hours later than usual because I wanted to stay at home for as long as they were digging outside the dog yard. Diggers do make a lot more noise than a common tractor and I was worried it might scare the dogs too much. So we had a wonderful morning walk down to the creek before the temperature rose too high.  So all photos today are from yesterday morning. I also put out the goldfish and the koi carp in my big water barrels since it was so warm and nice. I noticed one goldfish was missing so I’ll stop by the pet shop tomorrow and buy a new fish. I think I’ll get another koi even though they are expensive and more sensitive to diseases.

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

 

We’ll soon have the elections for the European parliament and I feel a bit torn if I should vote or not. The EU parliament and the commissioners are amongst the most corrupted people we have, they have paychecks that would support a small country but pay little or no tax. Lots of the money handed out to different project goes directly to organized crime and lost get lost on the way too. Another fact that do that I don’t want to vote is that I don’t like the Eu as it is. For instance rules for the farming industry are made for how it is down on the continent and they don’t care that we have different problems up here in the north due to the climate. They decided that a strawberry had to have a specific size or it wouldn’t be allowed to sell or that cucumbers weren’t as valuable if they were bent instead of straight. These are the things they care about and get paid to decide about.

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

 

So it feels like I support all these things if I do vote but the problem is that the right-wing nutters will gain power in the parliament if we don’t go and vote. Many of them are just as bad as the Nazis once were and still are. Ok the parliament has very little power but one should never give them even the slightest chance to get any influence what so ever. So I feel damned if I do and damned if I don’t. Besides it looks like Great Britain might get out of the EU later on and if they do I guess the entire union will fall apart in one way or the other.

 

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

 

A hot day like this is wonderful when You don’t work but working beside a big hot oven and a big ho washing machine that pours out hot steam is almost torture! Luckily we’ll clean out that washing machine tomorrow so neither that nor the oven will be on at all🙂 Ok, it isn’t that fun to clean that washing machine either but it will at least not be that awfully hot🙂 It’s a short working day tomorrow as well so it will at least pass quickly🙂 Next week we have a holiday on Thursday and if we want to be home from work on Friday too we need to work two hours more on Monday and Tuesday and one and a half hour more on Wednesday. So I said I’m not insane, I’ll work on Friday. Not all thought the same at my department but later in the afternoon I could hear some regretting their choice to work twelve hours a day🙂

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

In my garden: Small fruits on my citrus trre Clamodine.

In my garden: Small fruits on my citrus tree Clamodine.

 

It’s time for something cold to drink but nothing to eat, it’s just too hot. I think I’ll just sit down and melt away instead🙂

 

Some on my Lime tree too.

Some on my Lime tree too.

Welsh poppy and Spanish Bluebelle.

Welsh poppy and Spanish Bluebell.

Hosta's showing up beside the broken pond.

Hosta’s showing up beside the broken pond.

Tree peony bud.

Tree peony bud.

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “It’s summer hot!

  1. hi christer! i saw that you are supposed to have a very hot summer. i sure hope we don’t! it is hot and humid here today. i worked in my gardens early but the heat made me come in before i got everything done. the rain missed us and now we are dry dry dry! i will have to water at least once a day now unless we get some rain soon. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      They have however been very wrong this far in May, they said the month of May should be much warmer than usual but until yesterday it has actually been just the opposite🙂 I still hope they’ll be right about the rest though🙂

      So the rain missed You again, we’ll most likely get really heavy thunderstprms on Saturday, almost two inches in a few hours but I guess it will be showers with sun in between and then it might be no rain at all.

      It’s the only way to work on hot days, early in the morning and You are like me an early morning person. I do hope You’ll get rain soon! You just have too much to water by hand🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer! We are summer hot here today too!! This is the first nice day. We are sitting at 21 celcius right now and tomorrow is supposed to get up to 24. That’s typical here. You wear winter clothes forever and then one day you have to wear shorts. I have to check the gardens when I get home tonight. I may have to water! Have a good evening.

    • Hi Dianna!

      29 here today but thankfully it will fall down to 21 already tomorrow. This was just too much too early but I still refuse to complain🙂

      It can be just the same here, one day summer just arrives and one wonders where spring went🙂🙂

      Very dry here but it will rain like crazy or it will miss us so I won’t water and hope what ever comes from the sky will be enough🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      Even hotter today but thankfully it will get cooler tomorrow. I love hoit summer weather but this was too much too early.

      I wonder what made most spiders start to make these webs, they are truly amazng!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    It’s been rather cool here for a while even though the sun has been out most of the time. It’s only been in the low 60’sF and the wind has been brisk. People are still out in their short sleeve shirts, though. Once New Englanders change to summer duds we stayed changed practically until the snow falls. Even then you see us in Polarfleece jackets and Bermuda shorts and we’re usually drinking iced coffee or eating an ice cream cone.🙂
    Today turned cloudy and it rained. I’ve decided that if I need it to rain, all I have to do is put more grass seed in the back yard. Works every time.🙂
    I hope we will have a coolish summer. The last few have been hellish and I could use a break. I hate the heat.
    Enjoy your evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It has been even hotter today but it will cool down to more normal temperatures already tomorrow and weäll most likely get big thunderstorms too.
      We have those people here too but usually in our capital or in the cool towns along the west coast🙂

      Usually it works the other way, bring out those grass seeds and a drought will start🙂

      I wouldn’t min a hot summer like last year and they say we most likely will but with more rain, the rain part I don’t want though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Well..if it’s like you say..please be careful what you say on here. You are my friend and I don’t want anything to happen to you. I don’t know if you have freedom of speech in Sweden..but we do here in
    America but if you have heard news from here you will know that you can get into a world of trouble if you say something and it goes public. Blogging and facebook, and Twitter are some of the most public things there are. Just be careful. I am supposing you know what you can and cannot say that will not get you in any sort of trouble.
    I worry about things like that and I never used to give it a thought. Our freedom of speech has pretty much gone out the window, even if it is in your own home and a private conversation. Someone can tape you..for whatever reason and make it public…it’s rather frightening.

    Your pictures are wonderful. Cranes stole nearly all of my daughter’s Koi. She would look out her kitchen window at their big pond and see a Crane fishing for their Koi right in front of her eyes..then it would grab one and fly off with this huge fish in it’s mouth. Their Koi were tame and would come when called and eat right out of their hands. It was sad. They had names…

    As for the heat…be careful you don’t melt into a little pool of “human!” :):)
    Take good care Christer.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I’ve always been very clear about what I think about those right wing nutters🙂 but I have also always shown respect to the person but never to their ideas so I never worry about being attacked.
      We have much the same lawsd about freedom of speach as You have but also a bigger protection towards the individual person. So I can write about something stupid a person has done or said as long as I don’t write their name or describes the person so well tat he/ she is too easily identified. But if a person is famous one can write more or less what ever and still never be charged with anything. I’ve never understood why famous people can be more or less be harassed just because they are famous?!

      Thankfully these water barrels are too high and too difficult to sit on for any bird so my fish are safe🙂 But I have had Herons here eating fish when I had my pond working🙂 My koi is anything but tame so it dives as soon as I come close🙂

      Even hotter today but it will change to more normal temperatures tomorrow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer, your comments about politicians seems the same all over. There are always those corrupt ones who seem to be paid way too much and yet don’t help many people. Sometimes, it is difficult to know if one should vote, but then if everyone felt the same, things would stay as they are… Difficult decision for sure. We also had a spell of very early not weather here on the VA eastern shore, but temperatures have been more seasonal now for awhile, but heat and humidity will return. Good decision on not wanting to work a 12 hour day. The mini oranges and limes look great and I wondered if you would get fruit you can eat.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      The corruption is proven by the EU parliament themselves but I can’t dsay they do much to stop it and they do help lots of people, the organized crime people🙂🙂🙂

      Even hotter today but things will change by tomorrow, Temperatures will drop and we’ll get huge thunderstorms, they are already warning for them. But it’s showers so the rain can hit here or not. I would like a liottle but not up to two inches in a few hours🙂🙂

      We will be two person working next Friday🙂 It’s just stupid to work that many hours and most of them will likely sleep away the entire Thursday so what’s the use?

      Yes both the calamodine and lime is edible. The caLamodine is rather sour and a bit tart and I like it a lot and the lime is a normal sized lime.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

