The heat makes everything flower.

Ferns by the old dry pond. It's just starting to look as I wanted it too. Damned those voles :-)

Ferns by the old dry pond. It’s just starting to look as I wanted it too. Damned those voles🙂

It got even a bit warmer today than it was yesterday, 29C (84,2F) but thankfully it will cool down considerable until tomorrow and we’ll get more normal but still warm temperatures. We will also most likely get huge thunderstorms with lots and lots of rain. I read on Facebook that it already has started in some places by the west coast. They haven’t repaired my telephone wires so I won’t get any lightning inside the cottage so that will make me like thunderstorms even more🙂

 

Flowers in my garden. Look much better in the real, in the photo it's just a colorful blurr :-)

Flowers in my garden. Look much better in the real, in the photo it’s just a colorful blur🙂

Geranium pyrenaicum, spreads like crazy.

Geranium pyrenaicum, spreads like crazy.

Paeonia vetchii. The flowers are just opening up.

Paeonia vetchii. The flowers are just opening up.

 

It’s hotter than hell outside with a strong wind and my neighbor is mowing the lawn! I do hope he drinks lots of water otherwise he’ll get an enormous headache later on, if he’s lucky. It can be much worse if he dehydrate too much. I never have that problem that I feel the lawn absolutely must be moved, any time🙂 I can always sow meadow flower seeds and enjoy that during summer🙂

 

DSC_0008

Violets everywhere now.

Violets everywhere now.

The Rowans are just starting too.

The Rowans are just starting too.

 

I never stopped by the pet store on my way home today, I had bought more things for the coming green house and renewed my lottery tickets and the heat was just so awful that I thought it could wait another week or so. Just thinking of getting out of the cool car when I really didn’t need to made me feel too hot🙂 But we did take a walk when I came home, it was so warm that even Sune just stopped to lay down in the shadows every now and again.

 

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

 

Tomorrow morning, before the thunderstorms arrive I’ll plant my dahlias in the flower bed. They are potted at the moment and still rather small so I don’t think heavy showers will damage them. Well I could do it already this evening to be honest, the sun just has to go down a bit further so I won’t start boiling while doing it🙂 I just can’t understand how You that lives in really hot places with temperatures above F survives🙂 Don’t get me wrong, I love hot summer weather but this was just too much too early.

 

Sorbus domestica (service tree). It's only two years old and grows in my garden now, We call it Apple rowan and it gives a hint on how the fruits look and taste.

Sorbus domestica (service tree). It’s only two years old and grows in my garden now, We call it Apple rowan and it gives a hint on how the fruits look and taste.

The aprocot has new leafs now, they all froze during the first heavy frost night we had here. Still no new ones on my mulberry tree though.

The apricot has new leafs now, they all froze during the first heavy frost night we had here. Still no new ones on my mulberry tree though.

The Wolff willow flowers now. The flowers are tiny but smell just soo delicious! Fills the entire garden in the evening.

The Wolff willow flowers now. The flowers are tiny but smell just soo delicious! Fills the entire garden in the evening.

 

It’s time to get something cool to drink and then find a really windy spot in the shadows and just sit there for a while, I don’t have to worry about mosquitoes because the wind blows them away🙂

 

The Aronia flowers too now. The berries has a better reputation than they deserv, they are very, very tart and bitter. I've read they sweeten up some after a night or two with frost. Very healthy though and the jam made from the berries isn't that bad to be honest.

The Aronia flowers too now. The berries have a better reputation than they deserve, they are very, very tart and bitter. I’ve read they sweeten up some after a night or two with frost. Very healthy though and the jam made from the berries isn’t that bad to be honest.

DSC_0027

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “The heat makes everything flower.

  1. i don’t remember you being this hot so early. are most people liking the warm weather you are having? we are about to get very hot here again and no rain in sight. everywhere i look i see things that need to be watered. this could be a looong summer if it stays this way!

    • Hi Joyce!

      Me neither. I canb’t remember it ever being this hot in May. But I grew up by the ocean and it never get that hot there.
      Yes most people like this, I think it’s natural after usually long, dark and cold winters🙂

      We might get up to two inches of rain in just a few hours tomorrow but even if I could see nature is drying out I do hope we won’t get that much rain in such a short time. I do wonder how Your summer will be after that long and cold winter, it was much worse on Your side of the ocean this year!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. It’s cracking me up reading how boiling hot it is at 84 degrees! I live in California and 84 degrees is a great, temperature here. A few weeks ago we were already over 100. Now THAT is too hot. hahahaha

    • Hi kerrymac22!

      I know🙂 How on earth do You survive in that heat🙂🙂 Airconditioners are rare here since we rarely would need them. So we are kind of helpless when it get this warm🙂 A normal summer usually never get warmer than 77F 🙂 I would have to move down in to the cool celklar if we ever reached 100🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes and the heat does that the flowers only last a few days and then they die. Cooler now though at 4 am🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    It’s cool and damp here but it’ll be up in the 80’s by Monday, they say. I’m not looking forward to that. As I said, I hate the heat.
    Though I am tempted to turn on the heat right now. It’s 58F and the damp makes it feel colder. There’s a wind, too.

    Did Sune also rest in the creek as well as the shade? I might have if it was that hot.🙂

    My peonies are still tiny buds covered with ants industriously working to free them from their waxy coatings. I have them staked so maybe they won’t flop into the mud with the next downpour. The weather has been so cool this year that everything is about a month late. It’ll catch up.

    Enjoy your evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m not too fond of the heat right now either, we’ve almost had what we call a tropical night here. That’s when the temperature never goes below 68F, it’s 64,4F now at 4am. indoors it’s so warm that it is impossible to sleep though. Well the morning is quite nice, the sun is just about to go up so even if it is a bit cloudy it’s still very bright and almost cool outside🙂

      No he only walked around in the water🙂

      We were a month late last year but plants never cought up. There were many flowers that never got the chance to flower, like the autumn asters. Unless frost comes early this year I doubt they’ll have any problems this year though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! I missed this post yesterday! I must have surfed right by it in my e-mails!🙂 Sorry! I just posted on your today’s post and commented on the heat. I hate it. It could be perpetual October for me and I would be a happy person. But the heat does bring on the garden so I am happy for that but everything is very late this year. I see some little buds on my Saskatoon bush (Saskatoon berries are similar to blueberries) and are very common here in Manitoba. I hope the birds don’t get them before I do!🙂

    • Hi Dianna!

      I got all comments lined up here on the dashbord ediut page🙂

      I don’t mind the heat if it comes slowly se one can get used to it but it never does🙂

      I have blueberries in my garden but so far no birds have touched them. They actually leave all berries alone, except for cherries so now when my small cherries flowers I need to protect them because I love cherries. But my dogs are actually bad berry eaters, especially gooseberries and raspberries are their favorites🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

