Suddenly the lightbulbs exploded!

Before the storm.

Before the storm.

My dogs and I woke up at 4 am this morning, it was just too hot to sleep any longer. The sun was supposed to go up at 4:23 so it was light outside since long. The sky was slightly cloudy and I thought it was best to take the morning walk as soon as possible since rain and thunder was supposed to show up today. I don’t think it took more than five minutes until the sky was grey and the ground started trembling. A few minutes later I could hear the thunder too.

 

It all happened very fast. From this

It all happened very fast. From this

to this in just a few minutes.

to this in just a few minutes.

DSC_0017

We had a few minutes with sunshine after the storm.

DSC_0021

I couldn’t localise where it came from and where it was heading but I had hopes it would go over the mountain, still I thought it best to wait with our walk until I knew better. Suddenly the sky was nearly as dark as if it was night again and the thunder rolled in above us. Sometimes there were so many flashes that it was hard to count the seconds between the light and the sound but I thought it was around a kilometer away or so.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0026

DSC_0028

DSC_0033

 

I was sitting in my sofa looking out the window when suddenly the lightning hit just outside in the cow pasture. There was no time what so ever to count any seconds and suddenly the lightbulbs in the aquariums light ramp exploded🙂 I have to admit I nearly peed my pants🙂🙂🙂 The bang itself wasn’t that bad though, I mean the one on the outside🙂 but suddenly I had this weird smell, metallic like in the entire room and it was the light ramp that started to smell and became rather hot. So I pulled the power plug out of the socket and kept a close eye on the light ramp for almost an hour. I need to buy a new one, I still have two fish in the aquarium after moving out the goldfish and the koi carp.

 

The walk was anything but nice but I guess all those mosquitoes will be good food for bird younglings.

The walk was anything but nice but I guess all those mosquitoes will be good food for bird younglings.

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

 

After that hit I had two shivering  pound dogs sitting behind and beside me in the sofa. Nova and Sune stayed close to my feet instead. The thunderstorm kept on for another half hour and sitting behind me just got too warm for Hector so he moved to his second favorite place during thunderstorms, the shower and there he stayed until it was calm enough for us to take a short walk.

 

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

From now on it's photos from yesterday. My sand cherries are fklowering for the first time, I think it was four years ago that I sowed those kernesl.

From now on its photos from yesterday. My sand cherries are flowering for the first time, I think it was four years ago that I sowed those kernels.

Plenty more buds just waiting to open up. Prunus pumila var. something I can't remember :-)

Plenty more buds just waiting to open up. Prunus pumila var. something I can’t remember🙂

 

Even though the temperature has dropped considerable it doesn’t feel that way at all. The humidity is so high and the ground still so warm that it feels like walking around in a steam bath. But that wasn’t the worst, the mosquitoes had just been waiting for this and where everywhere attacking us the entire walk, so we had to turn back rather quickly. I now have the kitchen door open with mosquito nets hanging in the opening, so with some luck the cottage soon will cool down some. Perhaps enough to even be able to take a little nap🙂

 

DSC_0004

I sowed this Laburnum for almost ten years ago and this year it will flower :-) We call them Golden rain here.

I sowed this Laburnum for almost ten years ago and this year it will flower🙂 We call them Golden rain here.

The Baneberry flowers too. We call them Troll grapes.

The Baneberry flowers too. We call them Troll grapes.

The old waste bin is nowdays a compost.

The old waste bin is now days a compost.

The first surface leaf on my new white water lily.

The first surface leaf on my new white water-lily.

 

But firstly I’ll make a pot of tea and I might even dare to plug in the tv to see if there’s anything worth watching🙂 This thunderstorm wasn’t predicted at all but even bigger ones are predicted for later today. I have to say that even if we had that lightbulb explosion I did enjoy this one since I knew we wouldn’t get any lightning into the cottage by the telephone wires🙂

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Suddenly the lightbulbs exploded!

  1. Hi Christer,
    That storm came on fast. Good thing you weren’t out walking in it.
    I’m kind of like Hector with thunderstorms. When I was a kid I loved thunderstorms and would sit out on the porch to watch. In my late teens I spent several days in a tent in the mountains during multiple bad thunderstorms. I don’t love them anymore. Once in a while we get some here that park over my house. Every window has lightening flashes. The thunder isn’t that nice rolling rumble. It’s a deafening crack. For those storms, I go sit on the third step from the top of the cellar stairs where I can’t see any windows and the noise is a bit less deafening.

    You are having all the heat and we are having cold and wet. My heat came on a couple of times last night and I didn’t mind at all. It was chilly. It’s not too bad now but it’s murky out there. I suppose I have to water my grass seeds anyway since no rain is happening.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It must be awful to be afraid of thunder, a friends mother is so scared that she hides down in their cellar. She has been chased by ball lightning three times in her life!

      Yes the thunder does have a very different sound when it hits close, cracking as You say. But I wasn’t hit the worst after all, a neighbors entire electrical cabinet exploded and his telephone wires melted.

      Not so much heat today, more like a warm humid mess🙂 It would have been really nice if it wasn’t for the humidity though. New thunderstorms are closing in and will arrive in an hour or so they say.
      I usually start a fire in the stove to get it a bit warmer but this time of year is tricky because if it burns for a too short time it doesn’t help and if it burns for just a few minutes too long it gets awfully hot🙂
      I guess the rain comes when You have watered those grass seeds🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I’m not paralyzed with fear of thunder storms. Most of them don’t bother me much. I avoid going outside if there is lightening in the area.
        When I was working at the horse barn, I would have to bring horses in from the paddocks if a storm came up. Lightening in the sky and I’m walking around out there with horses that have metal shoes on their feet and are standing in water. Wonderful.
        My car got struck by lightening one night while I was driving home from the horse barn. Blew a hole in the front windshield and scared the bejeezus out of me.

      • Paralyzed or not it must be tough when lightning hits close. But I have to say that I would have left those horses hoping they would be lucky🙂 Not for fear of thunder but for horses🙂🙂🙂

        My car got struck once too but I was more lucky than You, everythinbg died in the car while I drove pretty fast but thankfully the car started again since the gear was in and the car was rolling. The battery didn’t feel especially well afterwards though🙂 Very odd feeling while it happened and I can’t for my life remember if I heard any noise🙂

  2. Sounds like Armeggedon over there! What a whopper of a storm! I love a good storm! Especially if my house doesn’t get hit! Amazing about Your friend’s mother, being chased by ball lightning. Teach her not to be afraid, LOL!

    I used to have a laburnum of that variety, we called it golden chain tree. My mom gave it to me, but I had to move away from it and it was too big to move. 😦

    Beautiful pictures of that peony! Such a pretty color, and nodding with the raindrops, I’m going to have to change the picture on my computer again.

    Hope you get through the rest of the storms okay, of course a lightning bolt would have to get through all the dogs to get to you! LOL!

    • Hi Wendy!

      Fot a while it was close🙂 But it was a pretty good storm🙂

      I wonder if she actually ever could be free from her fear, I’m not the one to try it though🙂 I think I heard some thunder a while ago but it looks as if it missed us this time or it might arrive later instead, but one never knows when it turns up. I am however pretty sure my dogs would push me out into the thunder if it meant they could get away from it🙂

      It is a nice peony, the last to start grow in spring but the first to flower.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      Still it could have been worse, my neighbor needs to get the electric company here before he dares to use the electricity again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. HI Christer! WOW that was some storm! It must have made an electric surge or do you think the lightning hit really close. I love storms like that! But not when it almost makes you pee your pants! We are due storms here tonight and rain tomorrow. It has gotten so hot so quick – yesterday reached 30 celcius and right now the thermometer says its 34 celcius. From cold to blistering hot in a couple of days. That’s the Canadian prairies for you! I hope things settle down weather wise so you can get some good walks in. Have you ever thought about building a bat house? They eat something like 10 times their weight in mosquitoes!!! We have bad mosquitoes here too. And dangerous West Nile VIrus from them.nasty buggers! Have a great Saturday evening!

    • Hi Dianna!

      It hit perhaps ten meters from my cottage and I guess another one must have hit the neighbors cables since his electrical cabinet exploded and he lives hundred meters away from where the flash went down. There were so many that it was hard to see them all🙂 I too love these storms but this I wasn’t prepared for🙂

      That was what happened here too, from rather chilly up to 29C and now it’s down to 20 again. The second thunderstorm naver came close to us though instead the clouyds broke up and now the sun shines🙂

      I have actually been thinking of that lately, we have very few here so I think it might help a lot. Thankfully we don’t have that kind of mosquito here, yet but it is moving up north a bikt every year. It will come soon if we cotinue to have warm winters like the ones we’ve had for two years now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      Yes they are and bats are great insect hunters. I don’t know why but I rarely see bats here unlike the place I lived before I moved here where the air was filled with them every evening.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! i don’t understand something? is your cottage not grounded for lightening? your storms always sound scary and i love storms! do you not have air conditioning there? i remember my first visit to ireland. it was hot and there was no air conditioning in our hotel or any hotel for that matter. i was miserable! i hate being hot! teddy is not afraid of storms at all. when we get really loud thunder, she barks at it and is ready to fight it! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      No it isn’t and very few houses are. I have been thinking of buing protections against lightning for both the telephone wires and the electric cables but it turns out they don’t work especially well if the lightning hits too close to the home. It was some years since I looked at it so new things might have come out on the market that are better.

      Airconditioning is rare in homes here but most big hotels have it. It’s no use in buying something like that when we only might need it one week every year as most🙂

      Nova and Sune didn’t care about the thunder at all but the old boys once was in the dog yard when I was at work and the lightning hit just outside the dog house so they really don’t like it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. When we lived in Florida..northern Florida not far from Georgia…we had terrible storms that left the area looking like a war zone. I am NOT fond of those terrible lighting and thunder storms and neither were my little ones..or our two dogs. We seldom have those to contend with in California..but we live in dread of earth quakes..but I prefer those to the Tornado’s in the east and hurricanes along the southern coast. Nope. I ‘ll take California. The trick is to stay out of the big cities with tall buildings, and out of the country where you can burn.
    There really isn’t any place safe on the planet. If we don’t fear nature, we have to fear our own kind. 🙂
    Loved your post today, Christer. 🙂 Who’s house is in the one pictures..such cute little red cottages. Why are so many painted red. 🙂 I LOVE that.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m so glad we don’t have thunderstorms like they have in Florida🙂 Well any kind of storm is so much worse than anything we get over here to be honest. It’s one thing to live in a big apartement building, then even big storms can be fun to see, it’s a totally different thing when one live in a house and knows how much damage they can do and how much it might cost to repair everything again. I guess earth quakes isn’t that much better. And You have those nasty fires, is one still going on in California? I heard something about one last week.

      I haven’t posted any photo of a cottage but one of a stable🙂 It’s a long story why almost all buildings here are red but it started down in Europe when they were building red castle (red marble I think it was) We don’t have red marble and most buildings back then were made out of wood. So suddenly they started to paint all bigger houses and castles in red color. They then found a way to make the red paint cheap so suddenly everyone painted their homes in red and the castkles then changed color to white, of course they didn’t want the same color on their homes as the common people🙂 We love our red homes here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

