Pee protection fence.

The last Marsh marigold.

The last Marsh marigold.

We’re having the most wonderful day here, the sun is shining, a breeze is blowing and it’s around 20C (68F). This is presummer when it is as best. We call this period presummer because it isn’t really spring any more but it isn’t summer either. Well we’ve had summer for some days to be honest but I don’t count that since it was way too early. We had it both in April and these few days before the thunderstorm. Summer starts sometime in June to me.

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0026

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

 

The morning felt a bit chilly though and the wind was quite strong, at least until we reached the forest. Then the wind died and it got much warmer, especially since I wore a fleece jacket. No wind invites mosquitoes and there were lots of them now after all this heat and rain. Thankfully their bites only itch now in the beginning, soon I’ll be so bitten that I’ll get immune to the itching🙂 This was probably the last time we went up the creek for a while since the forest flies soon will drive me insane🙂 The tics love it there too so that’s another reason to avoid it. 

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

 

I’ve done lots today since I could do nothing yesterday. I vacuumed the floors and then I scrubbed them too. After that I mowed the lawn and met my neighbor while he was walking his lamb🙂 They have a lamb that wasn’t accepted by its mother so they have hand fed it since it was born. It’s amazing how cute little lambs are.especially when they behave like puppies and have no fear of meeting new people🙂 Too bad I didn’t have any camera with me. He tried to eat my fingers because they smelled like freshly cut grass, the grass was  so wet this morning that it clogged the mower and I had to remove it by hand.

 

This is the most odd fungus I've seen around here!

This is the most odd fungus I’ve seen around here!

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

 

I’ve planted some morning glories too, two by the tree Orvar peed to death, one by the fence around the vegetable garden and one that I can’t remember where I planted it🙂 Morning glories aren’t hardy enough to survive a winter here so there’s no risk that they’ll be a weed. Too bad because I do like them🙂 The peach tree had stood its time in quarantine so I planted it yesterday and today I made a pee protection fence around it🙂 Orvar will most likely aim at that instead of my peach tree. I have also done my laundry so now it’s hanging in my patio to dry in the wind.

 

DSC_0047

Nova accepts the cats but she isn't that fond of them too be honest. The cats however loves here :-)

Nova accepts the cats but she isn’t that fond of them to be honest. The cats however loves here🙂

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

 

I still have some plants that I need to find the right place for but that can wait until tomorrow. My tomato plants are growing fine by my kitchen window and it’s too early to bring them outside yet, we still have what we call the iron night ahead of us. Those days are the last ones we can expect heavy frost and they usually come the first week in June. They might not come though, they didn’t last year. 

 

This is one of my deers, she wasn't bothered at all that we came close to her. Couldn't see who she was though.

This is one of my deers, she wasn’t bothered at all that we came close to her. Couldn’t see who she was though.

DSC_0002

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and then some rest. Perhaps I’ll go outside to watch when the hornets chew off tree from old logs I have to use when they build their nest. They are very peaceful and usually don’t mind me coming very close to take some photos of them🙂

 

The peach tree with its pee protection fence.

The peach tree with its pee protection fence.

The thistle with edible roots grows fine in this warm weather.

The thistle with edible roots grows fine in this warm weather.

The tree peony will open up any day now.

The tree peony will open up any day now.

This little oxalis started out as a pot plant here and now it grows everywhere in the country :-)

This little oxalis started out as a pot plant and now it grows everywhere in the country🙂

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Pee protection fence.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Does that oxalis stay red-leafed or does it turn green? The one I have growing all over the place is just bright green. Sometimes the leaf has some white border like clover leaves.

    That fungus looks like Bazooka bubble gum bubbles.🙂

    I checked out back yesterday and there are lots of grasslings popping up in the place where I sowed the super special grows in the darkest shade grass. It’s only been about 10 days so at first I thought the moss was taking it over. Nope. Grass! Yay! I think the cool damp spring is a lot of help. Grass hates heat.

    I love morning glories. The wild ones here are white but when they first bloom they have a lovely pale pink blush. They don’t survive the winter either but they spew enough seeds everywhere that there are always new ones the next spring.
    A friend who lives much farther north of me has a wall of deep purple morning glories. They self-seed every year and are always purple. No reversions to what Thalassa Crusoe always called Garden of Eden Magenta. She called it that because flowers always seem to revert to that color so the Garden of Eden must have been very monotonous.🙂

    It’s another murky, cool day here so far. There may be pockets of sunshine. None so far.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      This one stays red but there seems to be loads of different oxalis and many of them started out as pot plants, here usually called “lucky clover”.

      I’ve never had the pleasure to chew that brand of chewing gum but we have one called Hubba Bubba that look much the same🙂 This fungus looks as if it could be an alien life form🙂

      Congratulations to the germination of the super special grows in the darkest shade grass, That is a great name🙂

      We have two close relatives to the morning glory and they are seen as the worst kind of weeds. Their roots goes down over yards and they are impossible to get rid of unless one doesn’t pour concrete all over the garden🙂🙂 I like them though but it’s just too sandy for them here. We call them The flower for one day. Has to say it sounds much better and shorter in Swedish🙂🙂🙂 I think our winter is too long for those seeds to survive here, they seems to handle cold well though but never self sow here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I usually dry our clothes in a dryer but I keep a clothes line hand for things that do not do so good in a dryer. I forgot how many insects there are in deep forest and wooded area’s..swamps and bog and water are breeding grounds for mosquito’s. I have to spray around our fountains both front and back because of the mosquito’s.
    I planted Morning Glories in two different locations at my last home and ended up have to hire someone to climb up and take them off the neighbors Cyprus tree’s because they were choking them to death. I learned not to plant them anywhere that you cannot reach to control them. Very invasive plants. Beautiful to look at when in bloom though. Not so pretty in winter when it all dies back and is ugly but then they come back.
    Everything is so beautful and green where you are and here too..at least until the REAL heat hits us!~
    I am concerned about a water shortage due to lack of rain here. I know we use a lot of water. Not sure what to do if they ration us. And that could very well come this Summer.
    The picture of Teodor being so loving to all the animals, including Bertil, who seems to be enjoying the attention.🙂
    Wish I could have a few chickens… but that is pie in the sky where I live.
    Take care of yourself and happy planting, Christer.🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I don’t have a dryer so normally my laundry dries on a line in the bathroom but as soon as it’s warm enough I’ll dry them outside on the patio🙂

      There are just too many biting insects in the woods🙂 and the forest flies that drives one insane by trying to get in the ears and nostrils. They don’t bite though, just annoy🙂 The rest I don’t mind🙂 We can actually get hare plague via mosquitoes and that disease usually kill us, thankfully its a rare one🙂

      That will never happen here with morning glories, not even the seeds survive the winter, if it’s a normal one. The two last would probably been warm and short enough for them. We have realtives tothem though that are condsidered to be some of the worst weeds we have, beautiful though🙂

      They say we’ll get a really warm summer again so some here fear that they won’t have water enough in their wells. The one I share with a neighbor is good enough to keep the entire village with water no matter how dry it gets🙂

      Teodor loves any living thing🙂 and especially Nova and she just isn’ät that fond of him🙂

      Lots of planting left to do, I’m starting to regret sowing all these annuals🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. ahh, Baby lambs! you saw the baby goat I video’d and put on Facebook right? So cute!
    Love your pee fence.
    Thanks for reminding me to get my Morning Glories planted.
    I cut the grass today! with my new electric mower! I was so happy.
    I love how cats love to annoy those who just want them to leave them be.😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes I did🙂

      I hope that fence is what he’ll be aiming at from now on🙂

      I hope we don’t get anty late frost nights now when I’ve planted most of them in the garden🙂

      I think the electric mowers are so much better than the others! Do You have one with cord or a battery? I have with cord and as long as one knows where it is there’s no risk of cutting it with the mower🙂

      They sure know how to annoy anyone who dpesn’t want them around🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • My lawnmower needs a cord so I do have to careful not to back over it but I gotta say, I love it!!!

      • Just remember to mow away from where the cord comes from and You’ll have no problems with cutting the cord🙂
        They are so light and easy to move around!

        Christer.

  4. Christer,
    Cats are like that. They seem to gravitate to animals and people who aren’t fond of them. I think it’s funny.

    My garden is filled with blooming flowers. Turning on the irrigation system is what made the difference. I still need veggies and herbs and will get those later this week.

    Today is warm but there isn’t any sun. It was supposed to be hot so I’m in a wait and see pattern. We aren’t at summer either. That’s a few weeks away still.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes they are and the best way to get a cat to stay away is to trry and lift it and cuddle with it. They’ll do anything to get away because they know they are wanted🙂🙂🙂

      It was the rain that made the difference here and unfortunately the grass loved it even more🙂

      Just as wonderful here today as it was yesterday, too bad I had to go to work🙂 I guess if this weather continues like this I must admit summer has arrived🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

