There should be a law aginst working on wonderful days.

DSC_0009

There should be some kind of law that forbade people to work when the weather was as good as it is right now Slightly warmer than yesterday but with a nice breeze and very few clouds in the sky. I’ll spend the evening in the garden and plant more of my seedlings. I guess I really should wait another week until we know the last frost nights are gone but I guess I can manage to cover everything I’ve planted so far🙂

 

DSC_0015

Do You remember the little kitten that was so cocky last summer? It's still here and just the same :-)

Do You remember the little kitten that was so cocky last summer? It’s still here and just the same🙂

DSC_0018

 

I spent most of yesterday outside too and today I pay the price, I have some of the most itching mosquito bites and I’m afraid it will take some more before I get immune to them. A work friend told me he had seen the first horse flies for the season and that’s one month early. I guess they’ll take their chances this year since last year was a failure for them. I only got bitten twice last summer.

 

The first flower to open up on my tree peony.

The first flower to open up on my tree peony.

DSC_0001

DSC_0003

 

I was so happy when I saw the flower buds on my Laburnum the other day but then yesterday I saw that it looks like the entire tree is dying!! I can’t see any pests on it and the bark look healthy but still all leafs are dying and so are the buds! I don’t think it’s Orvar that’s peeing it to death though otherwise he would be the prime suspect. 

 

A few of the columbines in my garden.

A few of the columbines in my garden.

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

This shows pretty good why they are called columbines- dove like. Can You see the two doves?

This shows pretty good why they are called columbines- dove like. Can You see the two doves?

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. I bought white bread today, something I rarely do but it works so much better with meatballs, beetroot salad, tomatoes and cheese🙂 There is poppy seeds on the bread too so I’ll have some nice evening sandwiches in a while🙂

 

The Portal.

The Portal.

DSC_0006

The stone I call the Altar because I think it reminds me of an ancient altar. It's guarded by two Rowans, one on each side of it.

The stone I call the Altar because I think it reminds me of an ancient altar. It’s guarded by two Rowans, one on each side of it.

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “There should be a law aginst working on wonderful days.

  1. Hi Christer,
    It’s a holiday here but the weather is murky. No sun, some rain, a little warm and humid.

    I spent the day with an online course which is interesting except for one thing. We are assigned a free book and the site gave a link to it. Fine. Except I can’t save it anywhere for love nor money. Everything I’ve tried ends up with a message that says the file ended unexpectedly or a PDF file shows up but when I open it, it’s empty. I can’t even put a notation where I left off. I’ll have to put a sticky note on the inside of my laptop. Grrr.🙂

    That kitten is cute.

    I never thought about the name columbine being descriptive of the flower. Cool. Mine are red and purple so not very much like a dove. I think of them as shooting stars. Or giant nightshade.🙂

    Enjoy the white poppy seed bread. The sandwich sounds delicious.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      We have a holiday on Thursday and the weather will be much like today, on the cool side and rather windy. It’s actually quite nice for a change.

      How annoying!I guess they don’t care since it’s a free book so the problem will never be solved.

      He is and sort of stupid brave🙂 He came running towards us and then my dogs reacted and that scared him so much🙂

      I had to check that because here it has a name that includes dove and I thought there must be an English name that means much the same🙂 It’s only this kind that looks like a dove, the ones from Your side of the ocean just have too long spurs. A shooting star isn’t bad at all, I can think of that when my yellow ones flower🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Columba is latin for dove so you are not wrong. I didn’t know your columbines were that different from ours.

      • The ones on this side of the ocean usually have shorter spurs or non at all in some species.

        Internet can be good for some things, I knew therer must be an english name that had somethimng to do with doves🙂
        Christer.

  2. I have never saw a white Columbine, I have had , the blue, the purple, he pink and I had a rusty reddish one but no white, is Betril neutered because that kitten has a Bertril “like’ swagger to its walk, lol!!! Your meal sounds very tasty!

    • Hi Laurie!

      The white ones are common in my garden but I saw very few when I grew up.

      Yes Bertil has been neautered since he was quite young so it isn’t his kitten🙂

      It was and I think I’ll have much the same today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Gorgeous flowers, Christer, but of course for me, Bertil took center stage.🙂 I agree about not working on warm wonderful days..but I remember when I thought that day would never come..and here it is. The problem? Just remember when you reach the age when you do not have to work on lovely days…the end is closer than you think. I know..that’s a dark thought..and since it is, I spent much of today in the sunshine, picking out flowers at the garden shop..and ended up with little pots of ivy. I can never get enough ivy.

    Those little bell shaped flowers in dark lavender blue…how I would love to have some of those growing in my yard.

    • Hi Mona!

      I do like my columbines and the tree peony.

      Usually we have so few wonderful days that it feels like we miss too much of those wonderful, it always seems to rain on weekends🙂

      Well is it such a dark thought? We’ll all go there one day and that’s just the first step on a new voyage really🙂 and who knows, I might hit a moose on my way to work and that could be the end of me🙂

      I wonder if it might be too hot for those columbines in California. Otherwise there will be plenty of seeds from all my dark blue ones. Ivy dies here, I’ve tried so many times and as soon as we get a few weeks of real winter they die🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! Those flowers are beautiful!! The dove one is great! I agree that on nice days we should not work. I rode my bike to work today – it was a beautiful morning. I am looking forward to the ride home, its so lovely. We are going to have a pleasant day – not too hot which is just fine by me!!Tonight I will get into my veg garden and plant some zucchini, kale, pumpkins, cucumbers, bloody dock and leeks. I am so looking forward to that! Have a great evening!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I wish I could ride my bike to work but it’s just too far. There’s no shortcut through the bog and that’s too bad because I really don’t live that far from work but I must drive around the bog and it’s quite big🙂

      I’ve never had Bloody dock or any relatives in my garden, most of them can be found just outside my cottage anyway🙂 But I see I must try to eat some small leafs of them, I’ve never done that either🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Beautiful flowers, Christer, and yes I could clearly see the 2 doves which was really nice! The kitty does look cute and apparently he is brave to venture out when you and the dogs are out for a walk too. This year the gardenia bush seems to have not survivied the wintr, which really is a shame as the flowers were lovely and so sweet smelling. I rarely brought any indoors because small bugs were also attracted to them. Hope you have a nice day on your holiday this Thursday. Ours was yesterday for Memorial Day and we went bike riding.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I do like them even if they do behave much like weeds🙂 but these I rarely remove or move, they are favorites of mine🙂

      I do like that cat and I like his attitude. Bertil attacks dogs but this one just plays🙂

      You did have an unusually cold winter as I remember it and Gardenias don’t like that. Perhaps it will start over if the roots have survived? I love gardenias and usually have one here at home even if just one flower smells way too much🙂

      Long time since I went bike riding, I think it’s time to repare that bike of mine🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

