They’ll be living in the dark for a week.

DSC_0010The village is just on the edge of a low pressure that goes north on the east coast, so on one side we have lots of clouds but sunshine on the other🙂 It’s nice to know that the rain falls on the east coast for once, normally it’s here on the western side of the country. But I have to admit that it is very dry here now, despite all that rain we got when the thunder passed last week. So it’s a rather nice day here but the forest flies have woken up now so I’ll be bringing my mosquito hat with me on our walks from now on. They don’t bite, just annoy by trying to get inside the nostrils and ears.

 

DSC_0004

I think thgis is a lady bug we don't want here because it's larvae also eat other lady bug larvae and wee need all lady bugs we gan get to fight the aphids.

I think this is a lady bug we don’t want here because it’s larvae also eat other lady bug larvae and we need all lady bugs we gan get to fight the aphids.

DSC_0007

 

This is not only a tick year, I pick ticks from my dogs many times every day now, It’s also a wasp year (or yellow jacket year). They are everywhere now and unfortunately they’ve decided to build a nest in a space between the roof and the ceiling, so I’ll need to get rid of them already now. Normally I do leave them alone but they tend to get aggressive when autumn comes and their queen have left them. I guess I’ll have several nests beneath the tiles too this year. I do like my wasps because they eat so many flies but I don’t like it when they get inside the cottage and they always find a way to do so, even if I have mosquito nets covering every open door and window.

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0011

DSC_0017

 

I went to the pet store on my way home from work to buy a new light ramp since the last one exploded when the lightning went through it. Naturally they didn’t have that size at home but he’ll call me late next week when it arrives to the store. So I bought two new koi carps, small ones because they are rather expensive. I also bought some red Platy fish and Black Molly to have in the aquarium now when all the goldfish and koi carps are in the big water barrels. So they’ll swim around in a fairly dark aquarium until the light ramp arrives. I also bought a tick repellant spray made from different plant oils, the pest shop owner said it’s very effective, I’ll know in a few days I guess🙂

 

DSC_0029

There’s something odd withe these photos, the laughing gulls look fuzzy in a strange way but I like it🙂

DSC_0028

DSC_0032

 

I mowed the lawn when I came home, after our walk. We might possibly get some rain tomorrow so I thought I might as well do it. It had grown very little since last week, thank You rain for staying away🙂 , so it didn’t take long to do it. The more trees and bushes I plant the less grass there is to mow🙂

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0039

DSC_0042

 

It’s time to give my dogs their food and to make a pot of tea for me. I might even make something to eat or perhaps I should do a pie? It’s never wrong to make a pie🙂

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “They’ll be living in the dark for a week.

  1. hi christer! just keep planting things and then you will never need to mow again! my lawn is finally so bad that i think this fall i will have to pull it all up and put down sod. there is hardly any grass left and it is just mostly weeds. i don’t use chemicals so i guess i will just have to replace it every so many years when it gets really bad. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      That’s my goal🙂 In the end I’ll only have thin paths all around the garden🙂
      I think my dogs keep the grass I have in shape, they are running around tearing up both grass, roots and soil🙂 Weeds are green as well and if I removed my weeds I mostoy would have just soil showing🙂 I don’t use chemicals either and since the dogs pee and poop all over the grass grows well🙂 I know Teddy won’t help You with that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    What are those tiny purple flowers in the next to last photo? I think I have them all over my lawn and I haven’t found what they are yet. There are white ones and yellow ones, too, but those might be something else.

    The laughing gulls look fuzzy to me anyway. I need new glasses.🙂

    It’s sunny and pleasant here. Might be thunderstorms later on so I suppose, if I am going to mow the grass around the newly seeded grass, I better do it soon. There’s probably still a lot of time before I have to, though. I can wait.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I have no idea but I guess they are growing all over the northern hemisphere. We have tiny white ones too but no yellow ones.

      I must admit that I don’t like my new glasses at all, the progressive thing isn’t working as I thought it would. I refuse to wear them when I drive.

      We might have thunder tomorrow but to9day has been just fine.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! Since heating up here the grass is growing like crazy! My son is highly allergic to grass so most of our property is mulch. We have left the prerequisite 13 feet that the city owns but the rest is mulch with a small area of grass in the backyard for the dogs. It is hot, hot, hot here. Yesterday it was 35 celcius. Stupid hot. We went from freezing last week to this. Welcome to the Canadian prairies! I pray for rain every summer. We hardly get thunderstorms anymore. That makes me sad. We have bad mosquitoes now too. No fun. And they are huge! I was out in the garden tonight and they just about carried me away!🙂 Ladybugs are good for gardens. We can order from one of our local garden centres. I think they start at about 1000 bugs per order. That’s alot of ladybugs!! Your koi will love their new home I am sure! I wonder if you made a pie with your tea? I can not make good pie crust but can make a wicked good loaf or three of bread! Have a happy Saturday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I can’t say I envy You, 35! that’s just awful! Our grass usually stop growing when it get that hot and the gropund starts to dry up. Can’t be easy to live on the prairie and being allergic to grass!

      The mosquitoes up north is as big as a small horse🙂 but we down in the south have gotten a new species of mosquito here Aedes sticticus, we call it the flood mosquito and it’s very aggressive and really nasty! Our common mosquitoes hover around for a long time before they fly down to bite but this one just attacks directly and the itching after is rather nasty. We’ll get used to this one too but it will take some time.

      Yes Lady bugs are always welcome🙂 They do eat a lot of pests but I’ve never heard that we can buy them over here. 1000 would really clean up my plants from aphids🙂

      I made a cobbler and it was very nice🙂 I do have problems with the crust on pies too so I usually make a cobbler instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Don’t you have to worry about Lyme disease there with your dogs and deer ticks?
    Blue is on Trifexis
    and Jimmy and Nora have Seresto collars
    and the little ones are treated with Frontline and so are the cats.
    hmmm.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Strangely enough there are no reports of lyme disease from this area, I guess it’s just a matter of time though and of course the meningitis but so far we’ve been lucky with that too. I have now sprayed something on my dogs that only have naturaloils in it, well that doesn’t mean it isn’t dangerous to be honest. But no dog has reacted to it and it did smell rather nice🙂 I’ll know within a few days if it works or not.

      Most tick repellants are neurotoxins and many dogs get very sick from them. Some go tally insane or get aggressive, others like Hector get nervous and reacts for any tiny sound they can hear and if unlucky it gets permanent. So I don’t want to risk any of that and rather pick those ticks and try sprays with natural oils🙂 I know garlic is very effective if the dogs get it in their food but the problem is that garlic contains something dogs can’t break down anmd it is stored in the liver I think. It can after some years become deadly for dogs. Otherwise I would have given them garlic every day🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

