Fog never stay for long mornings like this.

The forest flies are back, still not so many yet though.

The forest flies are back, still not so many yet though.

The dogs woke me up at 4:30 this morning, well that isn’t totally true because I did wake up by myself but had all intentions to go back to sleep again when one of them, I guess it was Nova, jumped up in the bed and hit me in the fave with a paw🙂 That sort of gave me a hint that they really wanted to go outside into the cold and foggy morning. The temperature never fell down to 0C (32F) or below during the night but it was close. I will keep on covering the plants until next Friday that should be the last night with risk of frost.

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

 

I know the fog won’t stay for long this time of year so we went out for our walk just after 5, I love those early morning walks because no sounds from what we call civilization can be heard. No cars, no tractors or any other man-made sound is around to annoy me. I could hear the rooster from the farm with the two horses, cuckoo birds and all other kind of birds of course. But thew cranes were the loudest of them all🙂 They were at the same field as the other day, eating all seeds they just have sown on that field. They do get help from all other birds too, like the laughing gulls, geese, doves and jackdaws. 

 

DSC_0008

A little red cottage by the outskirts of the world.

A little red cottage by the outskirts of the world.

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

 

I didn’t see any fox or badger which was what I was hoping for but I did see lots of cranes. >A Roe deer buck too and this is a new one. I know Longhorn mostly stays in the forest at the moment, close to the bog and Rune mostly in the woods beside the field where the cranes are or close to my cottage. This one however must have  taken over the field close to the last cottage on this road. He looks healthy but perhaps sort of middle-aged. We also have a one eared hare youngling in the village. I guess ravens have torn of the missing one. I know I put in a human perspective on this but I think Ravens do hunt in an awful way. In this area they attack small calves and sheep (and of course any smaller animal) by chopping out the eyes from the poor victim and then eat their way in while the animal still is alive.

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

DSC_0020

DSC_0022

 

There’s actually a parrot in New Zealand that do much the same, the Kea (Nestor notabilis). It attacks sheep at night when they can’t see them an eat their way in to the kidneys, it’s the fat around the kidneys they want. Nature is cruel, never forget that. It’s only for us at the top of the food chain that nature is nice and beautiful.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

Bertil was already outside somewhere when we walked away but we met him on our way home.

Bertil was already outside somewhere when we walked away but we met him on our way home.

DSC_0029

 

Yesterday was rather nice but a thunderstorm did pass but we were at the edge of it so no lightning even close to here. I could see one up at the mountain though. It was much calmer than the one we had last week but it was close enough for Hector so he walked in to the shower and stayed there for the entire time. I think we might have gotten two drops of rain but not a drop more🙂 I don’t mind because that means the mosquito farms in the bog will dry out and most likely many horse fly larvae will die because of that. I can’t say I love mosquitoes but at least it doesn’t hurt when being bitten. Well I guess if one is allergic it might hurt though. The Hornets seems to love my Cotoneaster bush, they are there all the time and it seems as if they love the berries later on too, so I need to get some more Cotoneaster. 

 

The new buck is a bit skittish and ran away as soon as he saw us.

The new buck is a bit skittish and ran away as soon as he saw us.

DSC_0034

But he relised non of us followe him so he stopped so he could scratch himslf. Both ticks and mosquitoes must be a pain in the a.. for them now.

But he realised non of us followed him so he stopped so he could scratch himself. Both ticks and mosquitoes must be a pain in the a.. for them now.

DSC_0040

 

It’s time to make another pot of tea and then perhaps do the laundry. After that I’ll have nothing special to do but just relax and enjoy the day. I might replant lots of seedlings though but that’s not really any kind of work, that’s just fun🙂

 

Teodor enjoying life after the thunder storm.

Teodor enjoying life after the thunderstorm.

DSC_0104

DSC_0105

DSC_0106

DSC_0107

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Fog never stay for long mornings like this.

  1. teodor looked so happy until he saw you with the camera! i love those early mornings when no one is up but me. it is teddy’s and my favorite time of day. we were out this morning before the sun came up cutting the grass with my push mower. as soon as i cut it, teddy rolled in it.

    • Hi Joyce!

      He does look a bit annoyed🙂 But he soon stopped bother about me and kept on enjoying the sun.

      There’s nothing like an early morning but I have to admit that I’ve never mowed the lawn before the sun have rissen🙂 All dogs here love to eat the mowed grass, they do however love to roll on dry grass instead.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      It’s only the Kea that does this though. It’s actually a very funny and very intelligent bird and it destroys lots of cars every year because they love to tear off wipåers, moldings and door mirrors on cars when their owners are up in the mountains skiing🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Well, I still like ravens and crows, too. Things have to eat and who are we to criticize how they have to do it. Many of us don’t do much better.

    That new buck is really quite handsome. Very healthy looking. Maybe he’ll become one of yours during the winter.

    The farmers are very generous to be feeding the cranes like that. And the Laughing Gulls, too. Are Laughing Gulls your version of our Parking Lot Gulls? Those are the ones that frequent the parking lots of shops and ravage the trash dumpsters for food. Ours are Ring Bill Gulls. They’re cute. They sit on top of the big light poles and crap all over the cars.🙂

    It’s sunny and nice again today. I thought the temperature was higher than it is. Must be because there is little wind today. I did have to turn the heat on last night, though. It looks like the whole week will be like that.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I agree, humans aren’t better but it is nasty to see when they are killing small hares and sheep. Still, crows and ravens are still birds I like a lot.

      He is and I hope so, at least as long as he behaves well and don’t eat all my plants🙂 The regular ones do behave very well when it comes to that🙂

      Thankfully this feld’sjust to grow mostly grass, peas and oat to make silage, besides even thinking of scaring cranes this time of year would give them too much problems🙂 Later when autumn comes it’s a totally different thing.

      No these gulls are more shy now days, they were everywhere when I grew up but now they’ve become rather rare. We have the biggest colony in Scandinavia here by the lake. The ones we have as parking lot gulls are herring gulls. Too lazy to fish for themselves and loves to go through every garbage bin they can open up🙂 and ours do just the same, they tend to poop on most cars at work when they can🙂

      It felt much warmer than it was here too and the rest of the week looks like it will be much the same as today. Those predictions will of course change several times during the week and still be wrong🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! Sounds like you had a lovely walk in the fog. I wish we would get more fog here, but only having rivers in the city means we don’t get much if any. What a letdown for me!🙂 I found a dead baby rabbit in my bird bath the other day. The ravens kill them, soak them then take them back to mama crow in the nest. It was half eaten and rather disgusting. But that’s nature! Its hot here today – 28 celcius and the wind is hot too. I don’t like that. We are supposed to get rain tomorrow. You know what I say to that – I will see it when I believe it. We need rain its rather dry. The pictures you took and posted today are wonderful!! Have a happy Monday – if there is such a thing!🙂

    • Hi Dianna!

      I barely had the chance to walk in any fog because as soon as the sun started to heat up the air it was gone🙂 We used to have fog all the time here but these last few years have been rather dry and I guess that affects the fog making too.

      Yes that’s nature but no less disgusting🙂 They need to eat too I just wish they could killtheir prey faster.

      We’ve had around 21-23C here for a while now and it’s quite nice and a nice breeze to make it even better🙂 We rarely reach 28C here but last year i felt like the entire suimmer was just that hot🙂

      Very mixed predictions for tomorrow so it’s hard to expect anything🙂

      I’ve never minded Mondays, Tuesdays are the worst days in the week for me🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I know it’s Nature but I can’t stand to think about it. So I won’t.
    You are still having such cool weather! It’s 91 degrees right now and all my pets are laying about the house hoping to catch a breeze. I refuse to put the air-conditioners in yet. It’s supposed to be cooler tomorrow and then all week in the low 80’s so I guess I will wait a bit longer because I hate closing up the house and also the big electric bill that it brings.
    I love the photos of your cats. Bertil not waiting to take his walk but then meeting up with you and then Teodor, just enjoying life.😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes it’s nature and it’s nasty but it’s the way it is. Especially since we have lots of ravens here.

      We rarely get it any warmer than 78F here during summer, on rare occasions we might reach 82F, last summer however wasn’t normal here and it was even hotter some weeks. So this is rather normal summer temperatures to be honest🙂 I don’t know a single person that owns an airconditioner🙂 we really never have any use for it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

