Drizzling.

DSC_0002

The rain started to fall as soon as I stepped out of my car when I came home after work but it’s a nice summer rain so I didn’t mind. Unfortunately this rain most likely means the grass will start to grow again and that I do mind even if my electric mower is so light and easy to move around. It will stay cloudy and rain more during the night so that means I won’t have to go outside to cover any plants, the frost won’t come as long as the clouds are here.

 

DSC_0003
DSC_0004

DSC_0006

 

Even less has happened today but the day passed quickly so I can’t really complain. We walked out to the bog and to my surprise most forest flies stayed away and there were very few mosquitoes out there as well, they did however not stay away. But it looks like I’ve been bitten so many times now that I’m immune towards the itching thing. Still, I really don’t want more of them anyway🙂

 

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

 

I really don’t have anything more to say to be honest, so instead I’ll grill those sausages in my electric grill, yesterday I was just too tired so I made rather delicious sandwiches instead. It isn’t chilly but damp indoors so I think I’ll make cocoa tonight. 

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0012

16 thoughts on “Drizzling.

  1. Beautiful flowers! Love the pictures of them in the rain. Questions: what are the purple flowers, fifth picture down? And the second to last picture, with the digitalis in it, just at the left side of the picture is a plant that appears to be about to bloom. What is that plant? LOVE the last picture of the iris, may have to use that on my computer for a background for a while! 😉

    • Hi Wendy!

      The purple flower is a Thalictrum aquilegifolium, Columbine meadow-rue. Nice flower but aphids tend to love them too. The second flower is a Clematis, Clematis integrifolia, Solitary clematis in English I think. That one is a beauty and won’t open up for some time yet. It doesn’t climb like other clematis but it need other plants around it to lean towards and only become around 3 foot high. The flowers are deep blue and sort of look like very big bluebelles. It self sows gently and suddenly one can find it here and there in the garden. It’s the best clematis and most beautiful there is if You ask me🙂

      My favorite Iris has no buds yet but if You like these You’ll most likely like that one even more🙂 It has the same color as the sky.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I have never heard of that clematis, only the climbing type. Veddy interesting! I have heard of the thalictrum, but didn’t realize it was so beautiful. I think your picture makes it look even better! Please keep posting pictures of your gardens, they are so diverse, loving all the columbines. I especially love the wild red and yellow columbine that grows here in NY state, do you have that one there?

      • Hi Wendy!

        There are a few not climbing ones and this is the most beautiful of them and very hardy too.
        There are some thalictrums that I think is evcen more beautiful though but this one likes it here🙂 I’ll post photos when something new turns up🙂

        I’ve had two different red and yellow ones from the American continent but unfortunately columbines are both short lived and rather promiscuous so I have none of right now. A columbine mix with almost any other columbine and quite often the most interesting ones turn up🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Your photos yesterday and today remind me that I want some poppies somewhere in my yard. I think that every year and every year I forget to get around to it. Maybe I will start sticking odd plants in the bare spots of the useless piece of grass that is in front of my porch. Anything that likes tons of sun will be very happy there and probably do much better than grass.

    Today was lovely and warm and sunny. I slept through the middle bit of it. I woke up at 2AM and couldn’t get back to sleep so I gave up and went online for several hours. Rocky and I went for an early walk while it was still cool. I did some housework and then stretched out on the couch to rest my back. That’s was all for me for several hours. Out like a light.🙂

    I’m still craving hot dogs. I added them to my grocery order so they will be here tomorrow at which point I will probably not crave them anymore. Life is like that.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      The Welsh poppy is a perennial that spreads gently here and like weed in other gardens🙂 The other ones are just tiny seedlings in the flowerbeds yet. Poppies do love sun🙂

      We were out for an early walk today, my dogs woke me up at 4am🙂 but it was unusual warm so there really was no use for the fleece jacket I brought with me🙂

      I had plenty hotdogs yesterday so I’m fine for a week or two🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    They said rain here too but it hasn’t appeared yet. It is supposed to go through the night into tomorrow. I’m happy as it will get rid of some of that pollen covering everything.

    My deck is almost ready for summer. Now all I need is warmer days, lots of sunlight and a gentle breeze.

    Have a great evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      It rained here all night but it can’t bee seen in any of the creeks and ditches we’ve passed on our walks. Lots of pine pollen was rinsed away and finally my car looks rather clean🙂

      How I long for days like that, we’ve had plenty but mostly when I’ve been at work🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! Love the pictures! The second last one is magazine worthy! We are due rain tonight but who knows. It just doesn’t feel hot enough but it is 28 celcius out right now. Our mosquitoes are the size of cars right now! And they like to bite. Nasty buggers!

    • Hi Dianna!

      Thank You🙂

      We didn’t reach 20 today but it’s kind of nice anyway. I’ve become immune so now I only notice the mosquitoes when they fly close to my ears🙂 They love to bite though 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. My favorite photo, of course, is the first one, but I do love those pictures of the flowers. It’s just so dry here that it is a challenge to keep things alive. It is hard to raising hanging gardens in California. In one day they can dry out completely and even in the winter..same thing. DRY! How nice to have light rain…ANYTHING is better than this hot dryness we have. Great pictures.
    I have taken to wrapping lunch meats, tomatoes etc…anything you put in a sandwich, in lettuce and eating it without bread. Delicious! Not sure why I never tried it before. Cuts down on bread, which I dearly LOVE and I get veggies. Sandwiches…they are my favorites! With a cup of tea of course!🙂 Bertil…lookin’ great as always!

    • Hi Mona!

      It’s dry here too despite the rain but I know it’s nothing compared to how dry it is where You live. I rarely have hanging pots because I tend to forget to water them🙂 but this year I have🙂 So far the plants are tiny though and I’ve watered them once in a week🙂

      Isn’t it amazing that it’s just as good without the bread! Still we always want those slices of bread and I think it’s more a habit than that we actually love bread that much. I have periods when I do like that but then suddenly I forget myself and buy a bread and then that period is over🙂 Tea is always right🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, even when you tell us you have nothing to say, your nature photos speak for themselves and we all admire them. I appreciate the details you provide in giving the names of the flowers you show. We did have hitdogs rwice yesterday, lunch and dinner, so that will hold us for awhile too.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I’m glad I have those photos lots of times🙂🙂🙂

      I usually write the names on the flowers if I remember it but I’ve been abit sloppy lately and to be honest, sometimes I just can’t remember the names🙂

      Yes, hotdogs are great one or two times but after that I’ll take a long pause before I have it again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

