Long weekend.

Todays photos will be from both today and yesterday morning.

Todays photos will be from both today and yesterday morning.

Yes, the weekend starts today for me and most Swedes because tomorrow is our national day. Most people don’t know why we celebrate it and to be honest most of us don’t celebrate it at all. Not that we don’t love our country but we aren’t especially used to do it, we haven’t celebrated it for especially long. But more about that tomorrow. 

 

DSC_0003

Lots of cranes.

Lots of cranes.

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

 

I was planning on going to Falköping after work but then I remembered that today is the day the high schools start their summer vacation in this county and those that graduate this is a day of celebration and that usually means the roads are jammed and drunk kids can be found everywhere. Lots of people will also be in the stores buying food for the entire weekend so I stopped by the grocery store close to work instead. I was just going to buy lots of rice and fish because all dogs are now a bit wobbly in their stomachs. It’s summer and lost of awful things that can but perhaps not should be eaten is out there🙂

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

Lupins flower everywhere now but not in my garden. I have one plant and it's late. I've tried for so long to get lupines to like it in my garden but so far no luck. We haven't had lupines that long but they spread happily all over the country and extremely fast too. We do like them a lot.

Lupins flower everywhere now but not in my garden. I have one plant and it’s late. I’ve tried for so long to get lupines to like it in my garden but so far no luck. We haven’t had lupines that long but they spread happily all over the country and extremely fast too. We do like them a lot.

DSC_0013

In my garden now. Trollius chinensis, Chinese globeflower. It’s just opening up and it usually flowers for a long time.

 

The fish was frozen so I thought that this would be a good day to also buy ice cream. I packed one rice bag at the bottom of the paper bag, then I placed the fish on top of it, I placed the ice cream (four packages) on the frozen fish and the second rice bag over the ice cream. Then I placed a t-shirt and a newspaper above it all. It takes 30 minutes to drive home but for once the ice cream hadn’t melted when I arrived here at home🙂

 

This is a wildflower I've sown and have in my garden and I just can't remember what the name is :-) One of my favorites.

This is a wildflower I’ve sown and have in my garden and I just can’t remember what the name is🙂 One of my favorites.

DSC_0016

The Mock orange is just opening up.

The Mock orange is just opening up.

DSC_0019

It turns out that some of the flowers survived on my Laburnum :-)

It turns out that some of the flowers survived on my Laburnum🙂

 

It looks like that tick repellant spray works very well! So far I’ve picked one tick in four days, before I picked at least four from each dog every single day. The spray is expensive but it’s really worth it! It seems to stay on good too because even if Sune takes a bath in any creek as often as he can he still have no ticks. They should have called me from the pet store today to say that the light ramp had arrived and that I could get it on Saturday but so far no telephone call. I’ll drive down there on Saturday anyway because I’ll most likely need anything anyway🙂

 

DSC_0001

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

 

My dogs woke me up at 4 am yesterday morning and there was no use in trying to go to bed again, I wouldn’t have fallen sleep anyway. So we went out for an early morning walk. I had hoped to see a fox or a badger but no luck unfortunately. But we did a roe deer buck, I thought he would be a nice thing to show here and just when I took that photo a doe came running from the right so he started to run too🙂 I put that photo in my National Geographic album instead🙂 I’ll try to place a working link here: Deers and here’s to my entire albumthere are a few photos I don’t think You’ve seen. I hope both links will work.

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0011

DSC_0017

DSC_0021

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. I’m not really hungry but I know I will be later on🙂

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0037

10 thoughts on “Long weekend.

  1. hi christer! the lupines are beautiful. i am trying to get them to grow here too. my perennials never look to good the first year when i plant them. my mock oranges are in full bloom. i cut them back but they still grow back like crazy. i just came in from my gardens. i’ve been battling carpenter bees and it looks like i finally got rid of them. they chewed holes all over my potting shed though. we had a big rain last night and the gardens loved it. everything is looking very good right now. that tick stuff sounds great. to bad you can’t use it on yourself to keep the flies away! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like them a lot and just can’t understand why they don’t like my garden🙂
      It takes at least two years until perennials look close to good🙂 The first year always look a bit sad if a flowerbed is new.

      I had to check what a carpenter bee is, we don’t have them here and they only live at the warmest places in southern Europe. It’s enough to worry about carpenter ants, thankfully those seems to be rare in this area.

      Yes the gardens shows how much it loves the rain we’ve gotten, too bad the grass does too🙂

      The pet store owner said I can use it on my trousers and sweaters I don’t care much about to keep away both flies and ticks. So I’ll try that as soon as we know the raining will stopp.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I love that orange flower, we have that here in yellow and orange. It grows wild. We call it hawkweed, and I found this online: “Orange hawkweed is a native of Europe and invades northern moist pastures, forest openings, abandoned fields, clearcuts and roadsides.” So glad your laburnum is about to bloom, would love to see a picture of it when it does. I had a trollius, but sadly, it was not happy here! Will definitely go check out your NatGeo albums when I get time.

    That’s great that the spray is working on the dogs! Do you know the ingredients that are in it?

    Hope you enjoy your long weekend, so glad for you that you got your ice cream home unmelted! You’ve got your priorities in order!!

    • Hi Wendy!

      Thank You for the name🙂 Yes it is the orange hawkweed and it isn’t too common here so I had to buy seeds to get it to my garden.

      I thought all hope had gone from my laburnum so I was happily surprised to see that I’ll get a few flowers anyway, of course there will be photos🙂

      Yes I know the ingredients, I wrote them down in an answer to Cindi. I can give them to You tromorrow if You want to know. I remember lemon grass🙂

      Yes I know my priorities🙂 Now I’ll have ice cream for at least two weekends🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    The links work fine. i saw the photos over on Facebook the other day.

    I was going to say the unidentified wildflower looks like hawkweed. I have the yellow ones all over the lawn. They come after the ajuga and before the star of bethlehem. Sometimes I have more of them than dandelions.

    When I go to my favorite ice cream store which is a 25 minute drive, I take a small insulated lunch bag with a couple of freezer packs or some plastic bags of ice cubes in it. The ice cream stays frozen for the drive home.

    Today is raining. First it was a gentle steady rain and now it is a heavier harder rain.
    I have done nothing all day. Well, I’ve been online. There’s a flame war that’s been going on for a week in the discussion forum of an online class I’m taking about the prehistory of the Bible. Someone started a thread titled Is Religion Man-made? Nothing could go wrong with one, right? Wait…let me get the popcorn and a cold drink.😀

    Enjoy your holiday.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it is the orange hawkweed🙂 The yellow ones grow everywhere here but the orange is rather rare so I had to buy seeds so I could get it in my garden🙂

      I do much the same when I’m planning to buy ice cream but today I had no plans of buying any. They didn’t have my favorite brand though but I’m just happy that I have ice cream in the freezer🙂

      Oh that thread is one that I would love to read🙂🙂🙂 What do You mean by pre history? If one is very conservative there is no pre hsitory since the bible starts at day zero so to speak🙂 I love subjects like that and especuially I love those nutters that always come with the most crazy ideas🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • The course is supposed to be a non-religious one about how the archaeology of Near East relates to stories that are found in the Old Testament. What part of those stories, if any, can or should be used to help explain what is being found in the archaeological record. How does the Biblical version of political events in Canaan match up to the historical version.
        There seem to be many religious of people of all types in the class. There are also lots of international students so there is the additional problem of people trying to express complex ideas in another language that they don’t speak with any proficiency.
        And then you have people like me with a sense of humor who are not appreciated by people who don’t have one and disapprove of it anyway on the principle that Jesus never laughed so neither should we.
        I’m glad Jesus drank wine and ate food otherwise I would be a sad panda indeed.😀😀😀

        The course itself is very interesting but participation in the discussion forum is part of the grade so I have to be there and write things in it. So far I have been flamed once by a spiritual woman who thought I was rude and unfriendly for pointing out that dirt doesn’t have DNA and she shouldn’t muddy the conversational waters by using that term to mean something other than what it does. But when she was finished slamming me, she wished me peace in my soul and safety on my journey of enlightenment.
        Thanks. I think.:/

      • Shame on You telling that woman there’s no dirt DNA🙂🙂🙂
        A course like that always bring out those people, especially those that by participating in it are sure they can proof that everything in the Bible has happened. They also normally knows when the end of the world will come🙂

        I also love people that think that only because something isn’t mentioned in the bible it must be wrong to do it or a sin🙂 Life gets so much easier then, doesn’t it🙂

        But to be honest, there isn’t much in archeology that proofs what happened in the old testament actually happened. David is only mentioned once or twice I think and Salomo never if I remember right. But I think there was something in Egypt that talked about lots of people leaving long ago and that could have been the 40 year long walk led by Moses.

  4. Hi Christer! Happy long weekend to you! I wish I was having one here but our next holiday is July 1 – which falls on a Tuesday. That is called Canada Day. Lots of fireworks that day so we keep the dogs inside. Have you ever tried hamburger and rice for wobbly tummies? That’s what I give mine when they have a bad stomach and it works. I just know that fish here is more expensive than hamburger. They love it too which makes it easier to feed. Well, mine love fish too so either one would work I guess. I love the flower pictures! I love all your pictures – you have a great talent for that! Well, its almost time for our supper and I was lucky enough that my son made supper. What a nice surprise! Have a great day!

    • Hi Dianna!

      We have one more holiday and then nothing until Christmas (or Yule as we call it but speel it Jul🙂 ). It’s midsummer and actually on a Saturday but no one works on midsummers even (well, some of course but very few). Midsummer is as big as Yule here and it’s all pagan even if the church has tried to make it about John the Baptist🙂

      Hamburgers or boiled beef is the next step here if it’s a bad case of stomach problems but I usually start mixing in their usual food instead, little more each day until the rice and fish are gone. I think fish cost around the same price as meat do here, it all depends on what kind one buys of course. My dogs love fish of any kind🙂

      It’s 3:30 am here right now, I woke up and I could of course go to bed again but I think I rather take a nap later on🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

