Filling up pots.

DSC_0006

The morning isn’t at all as nice as yesterdays was even though it did start much the same. Sunshine, some fog and rather warm. Now it’s cloudy and not especially warm at all. It must have rained a big part of the night but no big amounts though. Just enough to make those seedlings I planted yesterday get a good start and from later today warmer and sunnier weather will arrive and give those plants an even better continuing of their lives.

 

This is not the best of photos but those doves (it looks like The Common Wood Pidgeon) are soo fast and so I didn't get any chanse to adjust the camera.

This is not the best of photos but those doves (it looks like The Common Wood Pidgeon) are soo fast and so I didn’t get any chanse to adjust the camera.

And yes, we stumbled upon a few cranes too.

And yes, we stumbled upon a few cranes too.

DSC_0009

DSC_0014

 

Yesterday I finally opened up one of my composts I have by the entrance gate, I should have done that long ago but I’ve been neglecting it for too long and it dried out too much. So lately I’ve had the lid open when it has been raining but it was still a bit too dry. Ants loved it though because there was a big ants nest in it🙂 It’s a warm compost which means it works by getting warm instead of using worms to make compost. It should anyway but it’s actually quite worthless🙂 It never get warm enough so I usually put in worms every now and again to make it work at all.

 

A bit hazy this morning, I would have liked fog better.

A bit hazy this morning, I would have liked fog better.

DSC_0017

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

 

I filled up the wooden box I had in my wood shed and I also filled up several big pots and spread some in the flower bed beside it. Compost isn’t that nutritional bomb like most people believe, lots of the nutrients are actually used when the plant parts decades. But it has great structure and can be seen as a great soil for Your plants. Pumpkins love to grow in it and so do tomatoes, so I’m not sure which of it I’ll have in the big box but since I’ve placed it in front of an espalier I’ll most likely have tomatoes in it. I can have the pumpkins in the big pots.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

 

I moved the compost to a new spot where the sun hits it better so it perhaps actually could work at least some🙂 I then got a big bare spot where the compost had stood before, so I planted a magnolia there instead. It’s a Cucumber tree (Magnolia acuminata) and it’s the hardiest magnolia there is (besides M. kobus) so if any magnolia ever will survive here it’s this one. I did of course put up a simple pee protection fence so Orvar don’t kill it already this summer🙂

 

DSC_0002

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0007

 

Squirrels are shy here so I was lucky to see one yesterday.

Squirrels are shy here so I was lucky to see one yesterday.

 

The sun is finally peeking out between the clouds and my kitchen is finally feeling a bit warm again. It has been warm all night but I had the door open so the dogs could go in and out as they pleased. They pleased that once and during that time my kitchen got freezing cold and there’s no use in starting a fire in the stove since I know it will be warm later today and I simply refuse to start a radiator during summer. Well I have one running in the bathroom because that’s a place I never want it to be even cool🙂

 

DSC_0001

The box isn't beautiful, I have another big and rather nice one but that one was filled with lots of stuff :-) The plastic won't be seen later.

The box isn’t beautiful, I have another big and rather nice one but that one was filled with lots of stuff🙂 The plastic won’t be seen later.

Lots of big pots filled with compost, the white bucket however is filled with ash after a chimney sweep. Ash is perfect to spread around berry bushes but just a little because it contains much more lime than the lime one buys.

Lots of big pots filled with compost, the white bucket however is filled with ash after a chimney sweep. Ash is perfect to spread around berry bushes but just a little because it contains much more lime than the lime one buys.

My tiny magnolia.

My tiny magnolia.

 

I think it’s time to make another pot of tea and after that perhaps taking a short nap, we didn’t get up at am today, we slept an entire hour more today🙂

 

DSC_0038

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Filling up pots.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Your squirrels are so cute with their big ears.
    I just found out that there are fisher cats living quite close to me. They are like martens or big weasels. They are generalist predators so I’m hoping they will be feeding on the squirrels. Maybe our squirrels will learn to be shy. Probably not, though. More likely people will shoot or trap the fisher cats in the mistaken belief that they eat domestic cats.
    You’ve gotten quite a bit accomplished for your day. My day has just started and I don’t have any tasks except take the laundry from the dryer and maybe go to the post office. Neither one is very exciting.

    • Hi Caryn!

      They are cute and very hostile towards me and the dogs🙂 We wouldn’t have noticed them at all if it wasn’t for their angry chatter🙂

      Interesting! But they are bigger than martens, aren’t they? We used to have lots of martens around and no squirrels at all, So I guess that means we have no martens around now. It would be too bad and sad if they shot or trapped them!

      Well, I did most of it yesterday🙂 Today I’ve been mostly lazy but I have planted some annuals and replanted some broad leafed mock oranges. I also noticed that my Pawpaws (Asimina triloba) have survived the winter but it was a close call🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. My computer just did a weird thing and decided I had said enough and it transmitted my Reply. It’s that problem with resting my fingers on the keyboard while I type. Random windows open and sometimes things get done accidentally.🙂
    Enjoy the day.

    • It’s the same with this one and together with Windows 8 it can be a nightmare!!! It can also just switch places when I’m writing so that the continuing of the comment comes at first, before the thing I actually wrote at first!

  3. Hi Christer,
    The red spawn resembles the one which sits on my bird feeder filling himself up with seed and keeps the birds away. I hope to keep hosing it when I’m on the deck more.

    Gracie spends so much time in the yard now. She loves lying on the deck in the sun and roaming the back yard. In winter it was quickly out and quickly in.

    Lots to do today including a few plants to finish off the deck pots.

    Have fun today!

    • Hi Kat!

      I guess it’s the same species but the ones here are shy unlike Yours🙂 I know they are more daring in the cities though.

      My dogs goes in and out all day and Nova loves to sleep in the sun on sunny days, I’m suroprised that she doesn’t boil🙂

      I didn’t do much today to be honest, I’ll do more tomorrow though, like lawn mowing.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. such amazing photos, there is one photo here today that takes my breath away,

    I use wood ash as well, I also sprinkled it around the base of some of my flowers to deter slugs, with crushed egg shells, we used wood ash from our stove for many purposes, waste not want not , lol your Fox glove is beautiful too!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      Which one is that? I’m glad You like them🙂

      Yes wood ash is good for many things, the slugs and snails we have here (so far) are harmless but if we’ll get the spanish one here I’ll spread ash everywhere🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. oh my, there are squirrels everywhere here!
    Each day i have to dodge them with my car so i don’t run anybody over.
    They seem to be very car-savvy.
    Maybe I should start composting….
    Good luck with your garden and your pots!

    • Hi Cindi!

      The squirrels are much braver in the cities but out here they are so shy and we usually love it when they come to the bird feeders🙂

      It’s always right to start a compost and just imagine how much dog poop You can put in there and then get good soil back🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

