She looked as if I had left her in prison.

DSC_0014

Nova isn’t too happy to see me at the moment, bringing her to the vet is not something she likes and she knows it means someone will be checking her ears and she knows that I will drop something down in to it for quite some time after the vet visit. If there’s something she really doesn’t like it’s when someone drop things in her ears. I never force her but I won’t stop calling for her until she comes to me. She looks like she’s on the way to meet her creator and runs away as soon as I say it’s ok to do so.

 

DSC_0017

DSC_0020

DSC_0025

 

But I would say that she had a rather pleasant day until we went to the vet. She mostly slept on my boss desk or sat there looking out the window. It’s cool and nice there in an otherwise very hot painting department. We went outside during my break and it was so warm outside that she hurried back to the office🙂 It reached 28C (82,4F) and it’s still around there. It didn’t take long before the vet told me it’s a bad ear infection and I got a recipe for strong ear drops. What Nova hadn’t counted on was that I would leave her there while I went to the pharmacy and she looked like I left her in prison when I walked away🙂 Leaving her in the car was no alternative, she would have boiled after just a few minutes and the vet station is air-conditioned🙂

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

Nova at work :-)

Nova at work🙂

 

We did take a short walk when we came home but it’s tough on the old boys walking around in this heat, they have the same kind of undercoat a New Foundland has. As soon as we came home they just fell down on the floor in the living room and haven’t moved since then. Even Nova and Sune stays calm right now. I’m not complaining though, I love this kind of weather if I don’t have to work, it’s warm enough as it is at work anyway :-) 

 

Larkspur.

Larkspur.

More and more flowers open up on the Mock orange.

More and more flowers open up on the Mock orange.

The Chinese Globeflower.

The Chinese Globeflower.

 

It was rather nice here in the morning though and we spent most of the time before work in the garden. Lots of flowers have opened up now when the heat started again, some I didn’t even know had buds yet🙂 No flies flying around then either and that makes any morning nice🙂

 

Columbines can look very different now days.

Columbines can look very different now days.

DSC_0007

Foxglove.

Foxglove.

 

It’s time for us all to have something to eat and I’ll have my pot of tea too of course. As soon as it cools down some I’ll water the pots, the small newly planted seedlings in the flower beds and the peach tree, the rest will have to manage with what they have in the ground. Most of the plants out there are old so their roots goes way down. Tomorrow I’ll be working in the neighbor factory, the work isn’t fun but the paintbox is always cool🙂

 

A white Foxglove.

A white Foxglove.

My walnut tree got damaged when the last heavy frostnight came but now it has new leafs.

My walnut tree got damaged when the last heavy frost night came but now it has new leafs.

Dogrose.

Dog rose.

 

Have a great day!

 

My favorite rose, Rosa glauca. It's called Dew rose here.

My favorite rose, Rosa glauca. It’s called Dew rose here.

10 thoughts on “She looked as if I had left her in prison.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Nova looks quite comfortable sitting on the boss’ desk. She looks like a boss keeping an eye on everything.

    Rocky had his vet appointment today, too. He was all excited because he was going somewhere and there would be people. As soon as we got in the door he put the brakes on. This was not the place he thought it was. He was happier when the yorkie puppy came in. Then a older chihuahua came out from the exam area and that made him even happier. The chihuahua was not on a leash and proceeded to mark all over the office while his owner stood there and did nothing except smile fondly. I hauled Rocky in because I didn’t want him getting the idea that he was allowed to reply to those pee-mails.

    It’s murky and humid here today. It’s supposed to rain but it is just threatening to do so at the moment.
    Time for some lunch.
    Enjoy your evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      think she was because hse prefered to stay there even whensomeone walked in, not me of course, then she behaved as if she actually was raised with a good behaviour🙂

      We rarely meet other dogs around here so she thought it was so fun to meet other dogs, as long as they were male. There was this young girl Basset Hound that wanted to say hi and Nova growled very deep🙂 But the male one was greeted in a very different way🙂🙂

      I can’t understand how dog owners just let their dogs pee like they want to, the owner should have been forced to wipe it up! I would feel ashamed if any of my dogs did like that.
      There was a Rotweiller mix leaving when we came, she had had a caesarean and was so groggy🙂 All pups looked fine and shouted loudly because they wanted to go to their mum. I remember when Erna had hers and she wasn’t allowed to stay alone with her puppies unti the next day, they can be so confused that they kill the puppies.

      Tomorrow will cool down considerable and rain and thunder will follow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      I hope so too but we can take out one more bottle and continue for twop weeks more if necessary.

      I usually have a couple completely white, without the red spots, too in the garden every year. I’ll take a photo if I find any.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Your animals are SO faithful to you. Life just isn’t right without our animal family. I’ve never been but a VERY short time without dogs…and usually have a cat but not now. We have a lot of ferrel cats around and it’s sad. They have babies and try to raise them out under bushes and many get hit or killed by other wild animals. The tiny ones are just as wild as their parents.
    Poor Nova! She could not believe you were walking away and leaving her…to ..heaven knows what?? 🙂 Poor baby!
    I bet she was delighted to get home and out of the car to join her friends. 🙂 I would like one more dog at least but PH won’t stand for it. He has slowly accepted Mele…and yet I still have never seen him pet her..it sort of saddens me. It’s like some men treat a “step child”…they ignore them as though they were not there.but Mele never gives up. She waits by the door for him..dozes by his chair at the computer IF I am busy and not sitting still. That sort of thing. I don’t think he is really a dog person…unless it’s his own. This is a long slow process..and not even sure why I am talking about it. 🙂 Oh well…

    • Hi Mona!

      I think Your husban is more of a cat person that like more indipendent animals. I have troble seeing me living without a dog or two or four🙂 But it would be nice to be able to travel some and that’s so much easier if one doesn’t have pets.

      Lots of feral cats here too and the ones living in the towns and cities usually freeze to death during winter unless there’s someone feeding them and there usually is. I remember when I went to Paris to visit my brother when he lived there and there are lots of feral cats there. Especially around cemetaries and lots of older people, usually women, go there and feed all the cats every day. It was amazing to see how cats that normally hissed as soon as a human came close behaved like tame hous cats when these women came to the cemetary.

      Nova totally ignored me for several hours🙂 but she was happy to meet the others again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      Her ear is built to get infections the vet once said and she do get them all the time. But I hope that this will help her to stay infection free for the rest of the summer.
      She’s not too happy about me dropping things in her ear🙂🙂

      She’s very popular at work, they come from all over just to see her stand there by the window🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! Poor Nova! Its hard for dogs with folded ears. Our dog Willow has folded ears and she is always scratching them. Luckily she doesn’t get bad infections, just itchy. I love the picture of Nova at work. She’s very intent on what is going on on the other side of the glass! Your temperatures are like what we had last week. This week we are cold. Well, cool. I have socks on this evening and when you step outside it feels like late September. Interesting!! I love the plant and foliage pictures. Those foxgloves are beautiful! I have some in my gardens, but just planted last year so we won’t see any nice flowers for awhile. Have a good Thursday!!

    • Hi Dianna!

      The strange thing is that the other dogs that really have hanging ears never have any bigger problems. But it’s the inside that’s bad according to the vet, it’s built to get infections.

      She did keep her eyes on us🙂

      Today starts a coioler period and I’m not complaining, I don’t mind hot weather here at home but it makes it even worse at work🙂 I’m drinking 4 liters of water every day now🙂

      Foxgloves (the common ones) only lives two years, the first year the leafs at the bottom comes and it flowers the second year. But if You are lucky it grows a new plant, a shoot, that flowers the years when the plant should have died so many believes it’s a perennial. But it usuaklly self sows a lot so if You got it once You’ll usually have it forever🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

