Finally it’s cooling down.

Only flowers from my garden today. I'm not sure how I did but I do like this photo of laburnum flowers.

Only flowers from my garden today. I’m not sure how I did but I do like this photo of laburnum flowers.

They had predicted heavy showers and possibly thunder all day yesterday and I was hoping for some rain because it is very dry here now. Well, I think the prediction was right in one place just outside a bigger town here, the rest of the county is still just as dry as it was before🙂 It didn’t get much cooler either to be honest so it was quite nasty at work. I should be used to it by now because it’s the same every summer.

 

DSC_0018

Bladder senna (colutea arborescens)

Bladder senna (colutea arborescens)

DSC_0021

 

Today however is much cooler and the clouds started to cover the sky as soon as I walked out of my car when I came home. Normally that would have annoyed me but not today. The wind blows pretty hard and brings cool air. I think I’ll sleep well tonight for the first time in a week🙂 I don’t mind hot weather when I’m at home but it’s awful at work. The big oven is close to the painting box and the big washing machine spews out hot steam that makes the humidity awfully high. We all get head aches if we don’t drink lots of water, I drink around 4 liters (1,05 gallons US) every day and most of it wants to get out at night it seems🙂

 

Geranium "Splish splash". No this is not the kind of geraniums we have in pots, they are actually called pelargoniums.

Geranium “Splish splash”. No this is not the kind of geraniums we have in pots, they are actually called pelargoniums.

DSC_0003

Welsh poppy, a nice perennial that spread nicely here.

Welsh poppy, a nice perennial that spread nicely here.

 

I’ve planted four tomato plants and two pumpkin plants in the big wooden box now and the other tomato plants in the big pots I also filled up with compost. I’m a bit worried that the magpies will do something with the plants, once again they have decided that my garden is the best place to have their young ones. I’m not sure how they think, four dogs and two cats live here🙂 I do like magpies but they have a tendency to be too curious and tear up name tags beside plants or the entire plant if they feel that’s a fun thing to do🙂

 

A Larkspur but I can't remember its name.

A Larkspur but I can’t remember its name.

Geranium again but a blue one. Spreads like crazy here.

Geranium again but a blue one. Spreads like crazy here.

Rosa glauca.

Rosa glauca.

 

Sune is the only one with energy left, he’s outside running around like crazy having fun all by himself🙂 I’ve never met a dog who is so happy all the time🙂 I wonder what’s going on inside his head, right now he’s running around and suddenly he stops to look at something no one else can see and then he starts running agin. He just tried to get Teodor to play with him and I can tell You that he had no luck at all🙂 I’ll go outside and play with him after this.

 

The purple flowers are Geranium pyrenaicum and the white ones are most likely White campions, Silene latifolia.

The purple flowers are Geranium pyrenaicum and the white ones are most likely White campions, Silene latifolia.

Jacobs ladder, Polemonium caeruleum. It's usually blue but all my blue ones died and only the white is left.

Jacobs ladder, Polemonium caeruleum. It’s usually blue but all my blue ones died and only the white is left.

Wood betony, Stachys officinalis. Don't mind shadow and dry areas. Can become a terrible weed but it behaves here.

Wood betony, Stachys officinalis. Don’t mind shadow and dry areas. Can become a terrible weed but it behaves here.

 

After that I’ll make some sandwiches and today I bought some sliced roast beef and potato salad. I’ll have tomatoes and some cheese on too of course and perhaps I’ll make one sandwich with ham too🙂 After that I think it might be time for bed🙂

 

Rosa dumalis, dog rose.

Rosa dumalis, dog rose.

Bleeding heart.

Bleeding heart.

Rosa majalis. This one is filled and most often the flowers have two or three colors.

Rosa majalis. This one is filled and most often the flowers have two or three colors.

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Finally it’s cooling down.

  1. hi christer! i sure wish we would get some cool weather. it is hot and so humid it feels like a sauna outside. you sure have some pretty flowers growing in your garden. we have had rain on and off the last couple days and everything is drooping. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’ so nice for a change and still compared To You we have had it rather cool🙂

      I actually don’t have that many flowers any longer, I’m slowly changing to small trees and bushes now. I know my joints won’t get any better so I’m trying to make it easier for the future. But I’ll always have some perennials because what’s life without them🙂

      No rain yet but we’ll most likely get some these coming days.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. It’s been hot here..but nothing like it is likely to get so I will NOT complain. What pretty little delicate flowers you have growing around you.
    Isn’t Sune still pretty you..puppyhood last a long time with dogs doesn’t it? Two years I think. I forget how old Sune is..but it seems still pretty young.
    Worn out here from clipping and trimming all morning, plus some spray painting.
    Question. Should the “oven” where you work be near where painting is being done? Isn’t paint flamable? Lots of ventilation where you paint? Just curious. Sounds sort of miserable to me.
    Weekend is coming..and some leasurely days off for you? I hope so! Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      The fun thing is that our hot weather is Your cool weather🙂🙂🙂

      I don’t have that many flowers, prernnials, any longer. My joints will steady but slowly get worse so I’ll plants more small trees and bushes instead. But I’ll always have some perennials of course.

      Sune is two years and a few months old now. But small dogs tend to grow up much faster than old ones. Orvar for instance behaved like a puppy until he was four years old🙂

      This paint isn’t flammable when getting hot, it is a powder. BUT! if there’s a fire and the right amount of powder is mixed with the right ammount of air it can explode. That is very, very rare but it’s best to stay far away if there’s a fire🙂 So no danger in having the oven tyat close. I love it in winter because my work place is the only one that is so warm I only have to wear a t-shirt no matter how cold it is outside🙂🙂
      The ventilation is so so, could be much better to be honest! They tend to be sloppy with that since there aren’t any toxic fumes from powder paint. It’s a totally different thing when it comes to my other work place, in the neighbor factory. That paint is very toxic and very flammable. But the ventilation is perfect and I would have been surprised if it wasn’t because that business makes ventilation units and huge one as well🙂 Unfortunately there’s no limit in Swedish law on how warm it’s allowed to be at a work place, but there is on how cold it is allowed to be. I never have to worry about the getting cold part though🙂🙂

      Yes, I won’t do much this weekend🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Hi Christer…I had to laugh at your comment on my post about ironing. My husband of 43 years loved to iron too…and he was GREAT at it. We didn’t have such a nice iron and ironing board back then. Of course he wore military uniforms that had to be perfect for inspections…and I left those military creases up to him!
        You don’t need cute? LOL I understand that! Function is what guys need..not cute!🙂

      • Hi Mona!
        🙂 I hate all the rest of the household work but ironing is actually something I like a lot🙂
        I’ve become rather good at it too but now days I rarely have any clothes that needs to be ironed.

        Preferable we men want machines that sounds a lot🙂 and we don’t mind if they are slightly dangerous either🙂 An iron doesn’t sound but one can get burned on it so it’s ok🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! Glad to hear today was a cooler day! We too are having quite the cool spell. I am not complaining but my garden could use a bit more heat! Love the pictures of the flowers today. Those little johnny jump ups (not sure if you call them that too) are the sweetest little flowers! I have a white bleeding heart in one of my gardens. I like it because its a part shade garden and the white makes it look cooler in there. Does that make sense?🙂 The wood betony is very pretty. I am going to see if any of our garden centres have that. Might not be compatible with our zone though. I will have to do some research before hand! Don’t you just love dogs that are happy all the time? Our Tucker the cockapoo is like that. Always happy, never grumpy. Sweet disposition! Its almost Friday here – I am happy for that! Have a good Friday! Hope you get some rain!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I think even the plants apreciate the cooler weather. Today is almost chilly and it is soo nice🙂

      No we don’t call them that but I know what flowers You mean🙂 We just call them violettes.

      It does make sence and white flowers sort of glows when the sun has set and darkness arrives.

      I’m pretty sure the wood betony will make it in Your garden, it grows all over this country.

      I always wonder what’s wrong with him🙂🙂 Never grumpy or mad so he must be a bit insane🙂🙂🙂

      I think it fell artound four drops, give or take a few🙂 but they say it will come soon and like always I believe it when it happens🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Lovely flower photos today. I still haven’t gotten any poppies.🙂 Too busy to go looking for them in the garden centers.

    It’s been cool and damp or warm and damp. Now it’s cold and windy and damp. Tomorrow will be warm and damp again. Damp seems to be the unifying factor.

    A second dog is coming to live with me and Rocky. Maybe. We have a trial period this weekend to see how things work out. He’s a cute, friendly little guy and I hope it will be okay.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Oh! A new family member! I always want the new dog to meet the others on a neautral filed with someone else. Then that person and the dog follows me home and have a cup of coffee and the person leaves but the dog stays. Usually works fine. But these last times that never happened, I just brought them home and that worked too🙂🙂

      No poppies! They sell all kinds of poppies in all garden centers here, they are very popular, at least until people understand that some of them are terrible weeds🙂🙂🙂

      Almost chilly here today and it feels wonderful🙂 As long as it doiesn’t stay like this for too long I’m happy🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

