I’ll start throwing rocks at them.

DSC_0012

It’s cool, almost chilly today with a rather strong wind and mostly sunshine and I do enjoy it to the fullest. As long as it doesn’t last for too long I welcome it with a smile🙂 I think we’ve gotten four drops of rain, give or take a few, today so I need to water my garden either tonight or tomorrow morning. Sunshine and strong winds do dry out plants better than anything else even if it is chilly.

 

Grumpy as ever.

Grumpy as ever.

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

 

I worked in the neighbor factory today and it’s much cooler there than at my ordinary work place. After work I drove to the pet shop to see if that light ramp had arrived. He said he should call me as soon as he got it but that phone call never came. It turns out they don’t make them any longer and I think that he actually could have called to tell me that too. So I bought one that is a bit too small but it’s better than nothing. At least now I actually can see the fish in the aquarium again🙂

 

He never miss a chance to take a bath :-)

He never miss a chance to take a bath🙂

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

 

I also went to the tea and coffee shop to buy some more tea and there I found a new tea-cup🙂 As soon as I saw this one I started to think of my mormor (my mothers mother). I don’t know why really because she never drank tea but I think the pattern on the cup is similar to what she used to have on kitchen towels. This one is blue but they also had red ones that also made me think of her. So I regretted not buying four different cups since I had the chance but I’ll go back and buy the three others soon. I forgot to take a photo of my new cup so I’ll try to remember to take one and show it tomorrow.

 

DSC_0001

DSC_0002

DSC_0007

 

I’m already tired of the magpies and their younglings. They have started to pull up my morning glories! When they get something started in their heads they won’t stop until they pulled up everything they can find worth pulling up.  I’ll throw stones at them the next time they come here. Don’t worry I aim like if I was drunk so I’ll never hit them but I might scare them away anyway🙂

 

Some kind of scuttellaria I think. It just grew there one day years ago and still shows up every year.

Some kind of scuttellaria I think. It just grew there one day years ago and still shows up every year.

Bigroot geranium, Geranium macrorrhizum. Grows anywhere, seems to prefer sg´haodw theough and it doesn't mind if it's dry. The leafs smell a bit strong when touched though but otherwise not.

Bigroot geranium, Geranium macrorrhizum. Grows anywhere, seems to prefer sg´haodw theough and it doesn’t mind if it’s dry. The leafs smell a bit strong when touched though but otherwise not.

DSC_0020

 

It’s time to give my dogs their food and to make another pot of tea for me. one cup of tea now means half the pot of tea I’ll make🙂 After that I think I’ll take a small nap, I slept like a baby last night in the cool air but I feel I still need some more sleep until I’m back again🙂

 

All these slightly different roses grow on the same bush. It's the Rosa majalis.

All these slightly different roses grow on the same bush. It’s the Rosa majalis.

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “I’ll start throwing rocks at them.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I knew immediately that it was the magpies.🙂 They are your spawns of Satan, apparently.

    The new dog is definitely mine. I heard today. Rocky is at day care and they are bonding on neutral ground. They played together yesterday, too. I’ll go get them later this afternoon. I might have to get a bigger bed to sleep in as there won’t be room for the three of us.🙂
    In the mean time I have to organize the house to accommodate the new family member. There’s lots of stuff on the floor that Rocky doesn’t touch but a new puppy might.

    No poppies. No forget me nots, either. I’ve been looking for those as well. Seeds don’t work.
    My peonies are just on the point of opening up and it’s pouring a deluge outside. Figures. It’s that kind of year. But the grass will love it and that’s okay, too.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes they are our spawns of Saten🙂 Fun many times though🙂

      I’m holding my thumbs and crossing my fingers so that everything goes well!
      Even small dogs take up loads of space in a bed🙂 I’m pretty sure everything will go well but just in case🙂 Just imagine how I have it when all four of my dogs decides to sleep beside me🙂🙂🙂

      Both poppies and forgetmenots are weeds here🙂 They show up even if You haven’t sown or planted them🙂

      I still have some peonies that just have small buds and I hope they’ll open up when the weather is a bit more calm than now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Those roses look as though they smell heavenly! I can’t grow roses to save my life. I have one that is coming back, I believe it is a Knock Out rose, supposed to be very tough, but, alas, not much fragrance.

    I would dearly love to hear what is going on in Bertil’s little head, with that business-like look on his face! 😉

    I have crows that like to pull out my corn plants, I guess they are looking for the kernel underground. I am growing a new ornamental/popcorn variety called Glass Gem. I started them in peat pots and didn’t plant them out in my garden till they were about eight inches tall. And still found one pulled out. But it has been raining and cloudy here for… well seems like forever, so the plant was not wilted and I just planted it again.

    That single pink rose with the dark foliage, I found one growing out in one of my fields several years ago and wanted to move it closer to the house, but procrastinated… so it goes. Very pretty plant.

    I had to save a couple of your pictures from yesterday, am using the one of the geranium and white campion as my computer background. I loved seeing the laburnum, Golden Chain Tree. I used to have one and it is very sentimental seeing that again as my mother gave me one years ago.

    I’ll try to send over some of our rain, it is getting ridiculous now, getting time to man the lifeboats!!!

    • Hi Wendy!

      They do smell very nice but it isn’t a strong scent. This one grows everywhere🙂 even in my sandy soil and spreads happily via its roots. I only have a few non wild roses and they struggle to survive here, one hasn’t even flowered since I bought it several years ago🙂

      Crows, jacdaws and magpies, they are all the same. Very intelligent and extremely curious🙂 Especially the magpies can be a pest when they decide they like a garden. I had none here a few years ago when old Erna still was alive, she caught and ate them🙂🙂🙂

      That rose with the dark foliage, Rosa glauca, is my favorite amongst roses. It doesn’t flower for long but the hips stays for quite some time until tyhe birds eats them🙂

      I’m glad You like my photos🙂

      Yes what’s going on in that little head of his🙂 I’m not sure I’d like to know🙂

      Rain is needed but onthe other hand, I can watewr the plants instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I didn’t know there was such a page on Pinterest🙂 He sure is grumpy that little one🙂

      I do like my new cup and I must remember both to take a photo of it and to buy the other three too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Someone once told me…it’s all in the attitude..and if Bertil has something going for him, it’s his attitude. Doesn’t even bother to mask it by being sweet and purring around your legs…lays back his ears and DEMANDS respect!
    No groveling for Mr. Wonderful! 🙂 He knows his worth. Gotta admire that !
    I wonder why magpies do that? Pull up and destroy what sustains them. In their DNA perhaps? Some people are like that too. They destroy the very world that feeds them,

    • Hi Mona!

      That’s true and he knows it so well🙂 I do like the little mosnter but I do throw him out when he’s too bad🙂 He usually calms down some after that🙂

      They are curious and they love shiny and bright colored things. So the plants move in the wind and they must investigate why and if it possibly could be an animal worth eating and shiny things are pretty in their nests so they want to bring them home🙂 They have found silver and gold things in magpie nests🙂 Much like us humans🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! I love it that Mr. Grumpy Cat follows you but remains grumpy. Too funny! The rain has started this evening and they claim it will last until Sunday. Oh well. More mosquitoes I guess. Its cooler now with a touch of damp to the air. It will be good for sleeping. I like to wake up and hear the rain. I can’t wait to see the new tea cup! Funny how certain things we see remind us of our family. My grandmother used to have a set of dinner plates with a lovely plaid ring around them. I can see it clearly in my mind, and wish I could find a set just like it again. Fond memories! I love the flower pictures although I am sorry to hear the magpies are pulling out your flowers! We have magpies in the city, but not around here. They are pretty birds with their long tail but clearly are a nuisance! Have a great Saturday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I think he feels he needs to keep an eye on his dogs so nothing bad happens too them. I’m not afraid of angry dogs but I do fear angry cats, they can be much nastier than any dog.

      It’s a balance between too dry or too many mosquitoes and flies, I prefer too dry because I can always water in the garden if it’s necessary🙂 No rain in sight they say but they do change their minds every second hour so who knows🙂🙂

      It’s fun how the brain works🙂 I think we had towels looking like the ones my grandmother had too but it was my mormor I started to think of🙂

      Magpies are usually fun birds but when they start liking a place they can become truly tiresome. They must invcestigate everything and see if they can pull it up from the gound or tear something off a wall and so on :-)It’s hilarious when it is someone elses garden though🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I love the look on Bertil’s face. Probably just doesn’t want you to know that he is a happy cat. Doesn’t want to spoil his image, ya know?

    Love the flowers around your area!

    • Hi Jim!

      I’m sorry to say that he is a truly nasty cat🙂 I do like the little monster but I do throw him outside when he gets too bad. At the same time, I don’t want him to change either🙂

      My ancestror would cry if they saw my garden though, coming from a long line of gardeners🙂 Lots of weeds and no structure to talk about🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

