It’s dry now.

DSC_0007

It isn’t especially warm today and the strong wind makes it feel even colder but I have to admit that I do like it🙂 As long as this weather doesn’t stay too long I welcome it. It’s so nice to have a bedroom that isn’t steaming hot for once. That however didn’t mean we all slept especially well last night, a cow had decided that she would complain all day and all night and she still continues to do so and very loud as well.

 

She had no intensions what so ever to leave those calves :-)

She had no intentions what so ever to leave those calves🙂

Some kind of geranium growing outside the house in the next photo.

Some kind of geranium growing outside the house in the next photo.

As soon as the roof go bad on a house it's doomed. Too bad that no one cares because this is actually a quite nice house.

As soon as the roof go bad on a house it’s doomed. Too bad that no one cares because this is actually a quite nice house.

Soon it will look like this I'm afraid.

Soon it will look like this I’m afraid.

 

I guess she has help from two other cows as well because they have separated three calves from their mothers, I’m not sure why but I think it has to do with diarrhea. At least that was what it looked like on the road because one cow had escaped and was laying just beside the pasture where the three calves were placed. I didn’t bother to wake up the farmers when we passed them, the cow showed no intentions to move even an inch from those calves🙂

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

DSC_0017

 

I walked around in my garden all morning to find the right spots for the two Nanking cherry seedlings I’ve had in pots so far. They are tiny but I could see that they didn’t like to live in pots, some trees just don’t like that even if they have plenty of space for their roots. I dug down deep and could see how dry the ground really is. 30 cm (one foot) down didn’t show any sign of humidity so I mixed in lots of compost and then I poured down 10 liters (2,6 gallons US) of water in the hole. The surrounding ground was so dry it couldn’t soak it up at first. Nanking cherries are said to be very draught tolerant but a seedling can’t make it in that dry ground. So I’ll need to water them for quite some time.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

 

Otherwise I have done very little today, drinking tea and napping mostly🙂 I did spray the dogs with the tick repellant and I have to say that it does reek something awful until it dries up. I can imagine that Marie Antoinette smelled something like this because back in those days water was considered something dangerous so they never washed themselves, they just poured more and more perfume on their bodies🙂🙂🙂 Thankfully the dogs don’t seem to be bothered by the smell, I guess they look at is like it was dung that they tend to love rolling around in🙂

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0038

It’s almost impossible to see the hare even if it’s right in front of us.

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. I might go out and plant one of the Manchurian walnut trees too today, they don’t like pots especially much either to be honest. The Black walnut is growing fine in my garden now🙂

 

DSC_0043

DSC_0045

DSC_0047

I can neverremember the name on this lilly.

I can never remember the name on this lily.

 

Have a great day!

 

Here it is, my new tea cup.

Here it is, my new tea-cup.

10 thoughts on “It’s dry now.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I didn’t get much sleep last night either. The new guy took Rocky’s spot and Rocky took my spot so I was left with the edges. Finally I scooped the new guy out of Rocky’s spot, Rocky took it back and the new guy curled up next to him so I had more room.
    I call him the new guy because I don’t like the name he came with. Joker. I’ve tried a few names but they don’t fit either. I’m down to JoJo which he seems to “get” so that may be the one.

    Too bad about that house. Someone obviously lives there as hanging plants don’t normally grow like that all on their own. Do the occupants rent? The landlord should be the one to fix it up but if he doesn’t care, well, that’s his loss.

    I love the new tea cup. The pattern looks familiar but I expect there are many similar kinds of tea cups out there. May your tea taste better.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      The joy of all finding their own spot in the bed🙂 Over here they tend to start up by the pillows but the older they get the closer to my feet they move🙂 Nove sleep by my chest and Sune has the pillow position at the moment. It’s too warm for the old guys so they just shiow up for a few minutes down by my feet.

      It takes time to find the right name if one sodesn’t like the name they have. I thought Nova had the right name since she behaved like a super nova in the beginning🙂 I had the name Rune for Sune but they were so close that I never bothered to change it.

      No, no one is living there. Those plants are plastic ones and I have to say that they keep their colors amazingly good! They’ve been looking like that for almost ten years now🙂 The owners were too old to stay and like so many they wanted more for their property than anyone wanted to pay, so they just let it fall to pieces. Wayto common around here I’m afraid.

      I do like this cup and yes the tea tastes so much better🙂 But I really need to buy those other too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      I guess they already know and I sure hope that shouting cow calms down soon. She can hear the calf answering back and I guess makes her even more determined to keep contact with it🙂

      Beautiful weather but perhaps a bit chilly but I’m not complaining because we need that.

      I do like my new cup, now I must go and buy those others too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer,
    I love your new teacup.

    The pictures of off in the distance are wonderful. Mostly we know all the area around you and where you walk but not far off. You are so right about that house. It is a great house and someone should save it.

    Cool weather for sleeping is a gift. Nothing is worse than tossing and turning in the heat. I have air-conditioning now so I don’t have to worry about that.

    It was cool yesterday but is warmer today.

    • Hi Kat!

      I do like it too🙂

      I need to bring my camera elswhere because it’s hard for me to find anything I haven’t photographed around here🙂

      It happens way to often that they rather let the houses fall appart than to sell it for less than they want. I’d think it would be better to get something than nothing! It’s even worse in counties close to this one.

      IOt is and if that cow, no matter how much I understand why she kept on like she did, could be a bit quieter the night would have been perfect🙂 We rarely have it that warm so we need airconditioning. Those few that have it rarely starts it because it’s so expensive🙂

      The day became rather nice and now in the evening it’s quite wonderful, even if the cow still goes on.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! I LOVE your new tea cup. Blue and white makes for a lovely pattern on china. What a shame about that red house. Its gorgeous otherwise. I wish our houses looked like that. Sadly none do. We will send you some rain for your seedling Nanking cherries. We are due 30 mm tonight (on top of what fell all day already) and all day steady rain for tomorrow. We will grow webs on our toes! Our gardens will love it but the mosquitoes will be dreadful. Sounds like a perfect day of drinking tea and napping. Can’t think of a better way to spend a day! Have a lovely Saturday evening!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do like it but I feel I need those other ones too now🙂

      Many houses looks like that here and it is too sad that they let it fall appart, too common here I’m afraid.

      They do predict a tiny rainfall here on Monday but I feel torn🙂 I really don’t want more flies, we have plenty as it is🙂 So as long as no wells dry up I hope the rain will stay away. The little they predict won’t help anyway🙂

      Rainy days are perfect for tea drinking, napping and movie watching🙂 and some chocolate eating fits in too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

