Bertil met us half the way home.

She has calmed down slightly but still communicates with her calf for at least half an hour every hour and the calf answers of course :-)

She has calmed down slightly but still communicates with her calf for at least half an hour every hour and the calf answers of course🙂

I did think it was a bit chilly this morning when I opened the kitchen door to let the dogs out. The sun had barely gone up, which it did 4:00 am today (and it will set at 10:13pm but we have daylight long before and long after now. I would say it’s night dark for 3-4 hours). We went out for our walk and I felt glad that I had brought my fleece jacket. It turns out it only was 1C (34F). My tomato plants don’t like that even if it never went down to frost temperatures. 

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

 

I did water everything yesterday but since it’s so dry I did it again this early morning. First I used the washing water because I did my laundry early today and since I still haven’t gotten my thumbs out of my a.. I still haven’t bought a new washing machine🙂 So I did it all by hand like usual but outdoors. After that I watered all flower beds that the washing water wasn’t enough for. I really should buy that washing machine but since it’s only me I rarely have lots of washing to do. If You wonder how I do with the dogs thick blankest I’ll only say two things, pressure washer🙂 great for carpets too🙂

 

DSC_0011

Almost no dew this morning so it was pure luck that I noticed this spider web. The dew helps so much when it comes to see them and to be able to focus the camera on them.

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

 

So now I’ve done what I had to do today, from now on I’ll only relax or do things I think is fun. Like planting that Wild Prairie Rose (Rosa arkansana) that finally germinated after at least two years🙂 I’ll plant it close to the Shining rose (Rosa nitida) because they are both just as small. The Rosa moyseii that also germinated was taken by the frost si I’ll order new seeds this autumn. By the way, almost all my plants You can see here is sown by me and most of them were bought from Gardens North, a seed firm in Canada that specializes in seeds for gardens in harsher climates. Just remember, some seeds may take years to germinate if You would like to try it Yourself.

 

Bertil was out all night but he met us half way through our walk. As soon as he saw us he started to run towards us :-)

Bertil was out all night but he met us half way through our walk. As soon as he saw us he started to run towards us🙂

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

 

I accidentally placed my right arm in a bunch of stinging nettles yesterday and it’s amazing how many and how big blisters one can get from that🙂 Today the blisters are gone but it is itching instead. Stinging nettles may be the most useful plant there is (one can make food from it, fertilizer, clothes and environmentally safe pesticides but I really don’t care, I’m close to using some really heavy poison to get rid of them now! I get them all over my garden because dogs do fertilize all day long and that’s something nettles love🙂

 

He's always climbing up trees when he's following us.

He’s always climbing up trees when he’s following us.

DSC_0037

And this is how he gets down, by climbing with his head towards the ground.

And this is how he gets down, by climbing with his head towards the ground.

 

It’s time toi make another pot of tea and perhaps something to eat as well. I realised I have lots of frozen gooseberries and I really should make something out of them. Perhaps lemonade or pie? I also have lots of Aronia berries and those are only good for jam to be honest, those berries have a much better reputation than they are worth, tart isn’t enough to describe how they taste🙂 Full of anti oxidants and vitamines though.

 

DSC_0040

Flowering Stinging nettles.

DSC_0044

The angle is a bit wrong but You can almost see how those trees spell the word WOW :-)

The angle is a bit wrong but You can almost see how those trees spell the word WOW🙂

 

Have a great day!

 

Always make sure to dry up properly after a bath :-)

Always make sure to dry up properly after a bath🙂 This was taken yesterday evening and Sune do enjoy evening baths🙂

DSC_0058

DSC_0059

DSC_0060

16 thoughts on “Bertil met us half the way home.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Which tree is the one that is dying and will change the spelling?

    I was out early this morning too. Took the two dogs for long walk in hopes that the new guy would chill. He did. For about a minute.
    The little one understands no commands. He understands food. Everything should be eaten as quickly as possible especially if it’s not edible and belongs to me.
    I still don’t know what I’m going to call him. I’m back and forth between Jojo and PIkki Dagu but leaning heavily towards Pikki Dagu because I don’t like Jojo either.
    Right at the moment, though, his name seems to be NO!. With the exclamation point as part of the name.🙂

    It’s sunny and pleasant today after several days of mirk. The daylight lasts about 15 hours now but then we can add Civil Twilght dawn and dusk, Nautical Twilight dawn and dusk and Astronomical Twilight dawn and dusk into the mix to get almost 19 and half hours of some degree of light. I feel like I should be very busy so as not to waste it but I’ve done all the things. I wish I could save some of it for December.

    Bertil is very athletic to come down trees like a squirrel. I wonder how he does it because cat feet don’t turn backwards like squirrel feet.

    Time to think about lunch. Strawberries and yogurt, maybe. Or steak and then strawberries and yogurt for dessert. Sounds good.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It’s the first I in the W after the O🙂 There are pines behind it further down the slope and with a bit of luck one of them might take its place. Is there terrier in ther new one? or is it just that he’s small🙂🙂🙂 Nono might be an alternative name🙂🙂 Will You call him Picki for short? He’ll calm down in a week or two, I’m pretty sure of that. But it can be a bit tiresome until that happens🙂

      Today has been really nice here! But the flies went crazy for a while and it felt like nature were building up for thunder but it calmed down and so did the flies. Now they just are annoying again🙂 The first horse fly flew in to my kitchen today! Way too early but I do hope that means they’ll die ut way too early too. I need to buy more fly poison. It would have been so nice to save some of this daylight for late November and December🙂

      I know some cats actually cab bend their thumb backwards but I haven’t noticed that Bertil can do that. He always climb down that way and I can’s say how he does it🙂

      Bioth varieties of lunch sonds great! I did make a gooseberry cobbler and thankfully I had lots of honey in it because those berries wre so sour a lemon would have tasted sweet in comparison🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • He is a Rat Terrier. From Texas. So he thinks big and he’s kind of dense. Very mouthy, too. If my hands are doing anything, he has to be right there licking or nipping whatever it is. Rocky spends a lot of time with that “He’s an idiot, isn’t he?” look on his face. But they play and walk nicely together so there’s hope.

        I ended up with reheated fried chicken, sliced tomatoes and sliced cucumbers.

      • Boith a rat terrier and a rexan🙂
        He sounds a bit like Sune, his nose must be everywhere where my hands or face are🙂

        That sunded rather nice too, chicken is never wrong🙂
        Christer.

  2. Well..you see..I think Bertil can see far down the road and you cannot. In this way it is possible for him to set up a fuss if there is anything amiss. Again….smart cat. I am not sure what it is about Bertil. I’ve wondered. I think he is as much a batchlor as you are..but at least you don’t stay out all night wandering about looking for a good fight.🙂
    It will be a sad day for me when I can’t read about his antic’s any more. I can’t have a cat..and maybe he is my adopted vertual cat.🙂 Also..I think I may have told you that there was a “Bertil” in my life many years ago when I was raising my children. My eldest son is 58 and he was just five when “Scratches” came home with us. But then you know about this. Bertil brings back those memories I guess. Scratches rulled!!! Our family will always remember him.
    Thanks for the memories, Christer!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      It’s also good to know that he can climb up trees just in case a fox would try to take him. Poor fox he wouldn’t know what had hit him🙂

      No my stray days are over🙂🙂 I do like the little monster and it would be sad if he didn’t come back one day. But he loves his dogs and it is nice to stay indoors during winter close to the fire stove🙂

      Yes You have told me about Scratches and they seems to be very much alike🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. bertil is such a cool cat! i think he might be your lookout cat. i don’t think we have stinging nettles here. i hope we don’t! i wish i had your cool weather. we are supposed to get really hot and humid again this week.

    • Hi Joyce!

      He sure is my guardian cat or perhaps more likely the dogs guardian cat🙂

      You have all sorts of nasty plants so You really don’t need stinging nettles🙂 That’s really the only truly bad plant we have.

      It will stay like this for a while, thankfully. Not good for my tomato plants but I love it🙂 I won’t mind if we get it hgot during my vacation, then I can sleep when ever I want to🙂

      Have a greatd day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! My one and only memorable encounter with stinging nettles was when I was in England. I have never felt an instant pain like that. Wow is the only way I can describe it! Luckily I didn’t get any bad blisters but I sure knew what happened to my knee for a few days after! We have had nonstop rain. Everything is flooding. Not fun. I hope it dries up soon, terrible when it gets like this. Enough already! That is awfully sweet of Bertil to come running when he sees you! That’s love🙂 I like the way he climbs down the trees too. Must have good balance! Have a good Monday. We are BBQing even if it is pouring down. We aren’t made of sugar!🙂

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is something one doesn’t forget easily🙂 and as You say one can feel it for days after and the skin is very sensitive. The itching is over now but I am still red skinned🙂

      We did get a big shower here during the morning and nature seems to love it🙂 The grass started to grow again so I’m not as happy🙂🙂

      He loves his dogs and he accepts me🙂

      I can’t understand how he can climb that way, but he does🙂 He should be going down with his back first but then again, it wouldn’t be the Bertil way🙂

      I hope the BBQ was a success🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. it’s 90 degrees here today😦
    I would prefer 68 to 72 degrees🙂
    I’m glad Bertil came back.🙂
    My Harry slipped out the other night😦
    and I didn’t know it until I opened the back door the next morning and he ran in!🙂
    I just it was better that way so that I didn’t worry all night
    but I will have to be more careful.
    Hmm. I wonder if I have Nettles growing in my weed garden?😉

    • Hi Cindi!

      Almost frost again last night but our days are quite nice, around 68-72🙂

      Bertil always comes back, eventually🙂 He usually pops in to get something to eat and then he’s out again. We have very littlöe cars here and most of them drive slow because they know that any second a dog, cat, cow or deer might jump out in front of the car🙂

      You would now, believe me🙂🙂🙂

      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    I love the dog bath pictures. They seem none too happy. Gracie has really short hair so I don’t get as wet when she shakes.

    We are having night temperatures in the 50’s so it is really almost summer. The days haven’t been too hot at all which is pleasant.

    My cats don’t go out of the house. There are far too many cars which speed down the road. When I was in high school we had one cat killed by a car ant 2 poisoned on purpose. That’s when we started keeping the cats inside. There are two wandering cats and Gracie goes crazy jumping at the front door to get at one or the other. I always laugh s she lives with two cats.

    Have a good day!

    • Hi Kat!

      He just loves these baths🙂 but he has understood that it’s best to shake it of far away from me🙂

      Almost frost again last night and noit especially unusual. Our nights are almost always cool, rarely warm but sometimes very cold even during hot summers.

      Cats are thankfully always welcome in the village, farmers like them because they take rats so they don’t use rat poison. So any feral cat that comes along finds a new home in any of the farmers barns🙂

      Isn’t it odd that “their” cats are always welcome but other cats must be chased🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

