The pond is gone.

DSC_0028

I think we might have gotten some rain during the night, not much but the vegetation was a bit wet and not in the dew way of wet. We might get som rain on Tuesday and it’s sure needed. Not that I feel I need it but nature does🙂 My neighbor’s lawn is now yellow in most places except around his newly planted plum tree, I saw that when I went over to water it and some pots they have in their garden. My grass is still green though and that’s because it’s placed lower than theirs and most water then run from them down to me.

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

 

The morning was cloudy and chilly so I thought today was a goo day to fill up the old pond with soil again. The vole or mole bit a hole in it and now it has perforated the entire area around it. Sune almost caught it yesterday and I’m hoping Nova will get an interest in catching it too because I’ve seen her do it before and she’s just as good as any cat in doing that. Sometimes I wish I didn’t do things so thoroughly as I do. it may take years and years until I do what I’ve decided to do but when I finally do it’s no botch job. It took me quite some time to get out the rubber cloth that the vole/ mole had destroyed.

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0038

DSC_0040

 

After that it was time to fill the hole and I had this small hump beside the pond, where the Turkish rhubarb grew. So I removed the ground cloth and the plants growing there and started to toss down all soil again. Isn’t it typical, just when I started to fill up the hole the sun broke through and the chilly morning was gone. I guess I must have placed some of what I once dug up somewhere else because it didn’t fill up the hole totally. No rush but sooner or later I’ll need to buy more soil and fill up that last bit.

 

The pond is gone. I've worked some more there after this and I'll show photos of that tomorrow.

The pond is gone. I’ve worked some more there after this and I’ll show photos of that tomorrow.

DSC_0042

Anemone rivularis. I had to dig it up and I'm not sure if it will survive. Too bad since it was the first time it flowered this year.

Anemone rivularis. I had to dig it up and I’m not sure if it will survive. Too bad since it was the first time it flowered this year.

 

I hadn’t planned to plant back anything today but I thought I just as well do it while I was working anyway. I still have those plants that need water to grow in, or at least mud so I’ll buy some baby bath tubs, dig them down and plant those plants in them. I also planted a seedling, a Hoary Mock Orange. I have a few but haven’t figured out where to plant any before🙂

 

A good thing I had some photos left taken yesterday. This is a wild geranium that pops up here and there in my garden.

A good thing I had some photos left taken yesterday. This is a wild geranium that pops up here and there in my garden.

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

 

I promised You something about our mythical beings and what about the Skogsrå, a kind of forest nymph.  She is the queen of the forest and can take any shape like an animal or tree or perhaps a stone covered with moss. When she prefers to show herself as a human like being she can look like an old troll but usually she looks like a beautiful woman. There is however always something that isn’t right in her look, sometimes she can have a tail or goat feet and sometimes her back is covered with tree bark. She has the power over all living things in the forest and any hunter must therefore try to get her on his/her side. It could be something like placing a coin or some food on an old tree stump as a gift to her. If the hunter is successful in this he/ she can then hunt as much as he/ she pleases.

 

DSC_0008

The first St, John’s Wort.

DSC_0009

DSC_0014

 

Except when it comes to her own animals, usually deers or the Wood-grouse. No matter how a good shot they are they will always miss the animal anyway. If they actually manages to kill such an animal anyway the Skogsrå will revenge in some nasty way. She can do so the person never finds the way out of the forest and slowly dies. She can however if she’s in a good mood help people who lost an important animal, like a milking cow. She can take care of small children and help them home and she can prevent fires. But once helped by her one is in her power. The ones she once helped will always long for the forest and long for loneliness. If a man has started a relationship with her he better stay because if he wants a divorce she will ruin him, probably make him crazy and most possibly ill in any other way she might think of. If they would get children these are normally bigger, stronger and eats more than a normal person does. 

 

DSC_0018

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

 

It’s time to give my dogs and cats their food and perhaps something to me as well. Down below is a video called Midsommar for dummies, it’s well worth checking out.

Have a great day!

 

 

14 thoughts on “The pond is gone.

  1. WRETCHED VARMINTS! You need to get a cat or two! LOL! Or at least one that will work!

    You sure grow an incredibly diverse group of plants, I have to look stuff up all the time! Love the pix of the lavender scabious! (I’m sure you call it something else!!)

    Will come back later to read the rest of this post and check out the video!

    Have a great day! Stay cool!

    • Hi Wendy!

      Yes what are those two I have doing? Really! I must trust my dogs to do their job?!🙂🙂🙂

      Still I have very little compared to how it used to be, when I had dogs that didn’t dig up everything I planted or peed them to death🙂🙂🙂

      We call it something like The chills wort🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Damn those voles. Where are the fish going to live if you have no pond? A rain barrel is really not a wonderful home for them, is it? Could you put some kind of rodent proof mesh underneath the liner next time? Here we have to make a cage for the tasty bulbs to keep spawns of Satan from eating them all. Sometimes it even works.🙂

    There’s always a price for those magical creatures. I don’t know why they can’t just do a favor and let it go.

    Nice racing stripe on the crab spider. Quite stylish.

    It’s sunny and lovely here. Nice breeze, no humidity, reasonable temperatures. A perfect day.

    Enjoy Midsummer.

    • Hi Caryn!

      They grow slowly thankfully so the water barrels are great for them yet. But next time I’ll make a pond I’ll place a thick layer of concrete on the surface, then the protection carpet and after that the rubber cloth. I could do one in concrete but one needs to empty it at least three times before it’s useable, the pH get so high that only algea can live in it if one doesn’t empty it.

      Yes. there’s always a price. The thing is to help the being before it can help You, then they are grateful for ever. Tricky to get to it first though🙂

      It does look nice with those stripes🙂

      Sunny and rather warm here now and no humidity to speak of.Tomorrow will be muchthe same they say.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. You are right..the video was well worth watching! I enjoyed it…as well as all your pictures. My two water features both have constantly running water but even then I worry about mosquito’s. Summer is already bringing out the ants..in number! The Antimite service took care of that problem yesterday. No more ants or water bugs.
    Ponds are be a bit of a problem to care for I suppose. I never think of things like that until the problem is upon me!
    Then I think of it.. I love your stories about spooky creatures. 🙂 Everyone likes a good scare I suppose.
    Question. Have you ever seen “orbs” in your photo’s? Especially when taken with a flash? I am very curious about them and I no longer accept the notion that they are just dust on the lenses.
    Enjoy your weekend, Christer!

    • Hi Mona!

      I do like that video and it’s all true just showing itb all in a fun way. The big cities are empty on midsummer eve.

      Mosquitoes don’t bother me so much even though they can carry a deadly disease, the hare plague, but it’s so rare that there’s no use in worrying about it. So far I’ve been lucky when it comes to ants, they still prefer to stay outdoors🙂

      No, ponds pretty much care for themselves as long as one checks and clean the filters every now and again and if there are some fish in it the mosquito problem is more or less gone. If one lives in California there are lots of small, very effective mosquito eating fish one can have in the pond.

      It seems most of our beings are a bit scary but there are some thet are nice or at least not eveil🙂

      I rarely have and I rarely use the flash. But those things can be anything really. The flash lights up any little dust thing flying around and they can reflect the light. But then again it could be something elsetoo🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. that video is hysterical. how can you possibly stay home and not go out and party with the rest of the swedes? hahaha! sorry your pond had to be filled. you gave it a really good try! happy summer solstice!

    • Hi Joyce!

      And still it is all true🙂 I think I’ve danced around the midsummer pole one time too many🙂

      I’ll make it vole/ mole proof next time I dig a pond, I’ll use concrete so the little critters can’t chew through that rubber cloth!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. HI Christer! That video is hilarious! I would love to experience midsummer in Sweden! What fun! Sorry to hear you are having such trouble with the hole and the vole/mole. That is not fun. I hope someone catches it, either animal or human!

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is fun and all is true too🙂 I hope either the cats or the dogs take it if it is a vole but if it is a mole I hope it stays safe🙂 Voles eats anything and everything, especially roots and can destroy entire trees. Moles just eats worms and larvae so they can stay even if they destroy my pond🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. You are filling your pond?!?!?!
    you sound like me, building something until we finally, after a long drawn out process, we finish it, only to think better of it and tear it all down.😉

    • Hi Cindi!

      Well the vole/ mole had chewed a big hole in it so it was just as well. I’llk do another one later on but in another spot and bigger too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

