Lesson learned.

It's not every day one get the chance to see a rainbow between two clouds!

It’s not every day one get the chance to see a rainbow between two clouds!

Early this morning (some would call it night) I learned an important lesson, don’t drink a pot of tea just before you go to bed, you’ll regret it sooner or later. I regretted it at 3:45🙂 Even my dogs looked a bit surprised when I went up to go downstairs to the toilet🙂 I had over an hour left to sleep but I felt it was no use in even trying. So we went out for a morning walk instead.

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0014

DSC_0016

 

5C (41F) on a summer’s morning isn’t at all as cold as 5C (41F) during a rainy autumn day strangely enough. It was actually quite nice but the sun had started to shine when we went out so I guess that helped. The birds had just started to sing but besides them no animal seemed to be awake. Well, we did meet Bertil and to my big surprise he had company. Salmiak! I don’t think they had or was about to fight to be honest. Hard to know since Nova got surprised when she found him in the high grass and he both hissed and tried to scratch her nose🙂

 

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

DSC_0020

 

He missed her though and Nova just walked away. I had hoped we would see a badger or perhaps a fox but no luck in that. I can see the badger paths so I guess they walk there in the evening or during nights instead. Not even the flies were active so I guess I shouldn’t complain about it being a bit cold🙂 They say the warmer weather will return after the first week in July, that would be perfect because that’s when my vacation starts🙂

 

DSC_0021

The walk in the forest this afternoon wasn't as nice as the morning one. I think all forest flies just had waited for us to walk in there :-)

The walk in the forest this afternoon wasn’t as nice as the morning one. I think all forest flies just had waited for us to walk in there🙂

But we saw lots of butterflies but only one was nice enough to show its colors for us.

But we saw lots of butterflies but only one was nice enough to show its colors for us.

 

Still no rain but they say we might get up to an inch if the showers comes our way. That’s the problem when it’s showers only and not steady rain. I wonder if it is too late for the horse fly larvae to get any use of any coming rain, so far we only have a few and that’s how I like it.

 

Finally! A dragonfly that actually sat still while >I topok some photographs og it :-)

Finally! A dragonfly that actually sat still while I took some photographs og it🙂

DSC_0026

DSC_0028

 

It’s time for something to eat and a cup of cocoa., Even though I liked our very early morning walk I do need my sleep🙂 Nothing on tv I guess so I’ll see if I can find any good book to read instead.

 

I do like this dogrose. The birds almost never eat the hips from it so it stays red all winter long.

I do like this dog rose. The birds almost never eat the hips from it so it stays red all winter long.

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Lesson learned.

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You🙂

      It is a grand rose bush!

      I do wonder, he barely gets along with his own brother much of the time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. so bertil now has a friend? have you been watching any of the world’s cup? i am glued to it all day long. i am officially a soccer fan! do you have any plans for your vacation?

    • Hi Joyce!

      I really don’t know🙂 He has never shown any ability to be a friend to anybody but “his” dogs🙂

      I’ve watched as many games as I’ve been able to. They are shown so late over here so I miss a lot of them.

      The green house! I still need to buy things but I will start building it this vacation🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer!! That is early but I can relate about getting up in the middle of the night. Tea is so good that I have to have a couple of cups in the evening – then I pay for it.🙂 I wonder what it would be like to wander around that early in the morning. I would hate to see what I would come across, you never know! Lovely that Bertil and his new friend are happy hanging out! Maybe this is a truce? Lovely photos today! Have a good Tuesday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m fine as long as I don’t drink it just before bedtime🙂 It must out again sooner or later🙂

      Well, we don’t come across a lot of things here🙂 I was hoping that a bear who has been walking south and was not far from here would come to us too but I think it turned northwards again. It’s actually quite wonderful that early, no one but my dogs and I are awake by that hour🙂

      Truce more than friendship I think🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Yes, tea tends to process faster than other beverages. I don’t know why that is.
    If you get an electric toilet, could you fit it upstairs so you don’t have to stumble downstairs at zero dark-thirty in the morning?

    Fascinating sky. There’s a not-quite lenticular cloud at the bottom, too. Cool.

    Lovely dragonfly shots. Your dragonfly stalking technique has improved. You seem to have gotten quite close to this one.
    They were just starting to show up the last time I was at the lake. I haven’t been able to get there recently so it will be interesting to see if they will stay still for me AND two dogs especially since Piki Dog is very nosy and misses nothing. I caught him stalking a bee in the flowers.

    It’s warmer here today. It feels warmer even though the temperature is only 71ºF. There’s little wind so that’s probably the difference.
    The mosquitoes seem to be out 24/7 now. I can’t even sit in the sun on the top step without attracting them. It hasn’t been particularly wet for awhile so I don’t know where the heck they’re coming from. Odious bugs.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Tea drives ou water so I guess tyat both the tea and that water it takes from the body needs to get out faster🙂

      I have absolutely no place upstairs, I ghavce one closet in the entire cottage and iut’s on the spot where that toilet might have fitted🙂 I am used to stumble down in the dark since it’s dark almost three fiths of the year🙂 I could have it in the cellar but then I would have to build a insulated room there since they usually recommend that it is warm where the toilet stands.

      I’ve never seen a rainbow go between clouds like that before, very cool🙂

      I think it cooperated so nicely because it was rather cold🙂 It just had no energy to move at all🙂 I came as close as one and a half yard to it🙂 We’ve had them around since April when it was so hot here but I think more will come in July if the heat comes. To my big surprise Sune missed this one, he’s much like Piki dog🙂

      Very few mosquitoes around but the wind has been rather strong so I guess they are hiding in the bushes. We’ve had some midges too but they really don’t like me, one bite and then they all leave🙂 I don’t think we even reached today.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Om du tycker det är jobbigt att gå upp en gång per natt för att gå på toa så måste du akta dig för att få högt blodtryck och därmed bli tvungen att äta vattendrivande tabletter. Jag är uppe minst 2-3 gånger per natt…..😦
    Salmiak är jättesöt, kul att han blivit polare med Bertil – och det är nog bra att dom “bestämmer” över Nova.🙂
    Här har det kommit lite regn var och varannan dag nu, dessutom sol emellan – men det är bitande kallt fortfarande. Bara 15 grader mitt på dagen och så blåser det onormalt mycket – och det är inget väder som jag gillar precis!😦😦
    Men man kan ju inte alltid få allt…..
    KRAM
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Tack och lov har jag lågt blodtryck och har alltid haft, resten av familjen har kroniskt högt. Antar att jag brås på min serbiska sida.

      Det är Bertil du ser på bilden men Salmiak är väldigt lik, lite större och bruna ögon.
      Jagtror Nova blev överraskad för hon ville nog bara kika lite på honom🙂

      Inget regn att tala om här på länge och mig personligen passar det bra, mindre flugor och mygg🙂 Men jag har fått vattna rejält i trädgården nu efter jobbet! Vinden når inte min trädgård speciellt mycket men den torkar ut bra ändå.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Christer, I can understand your problem with the tea drinking at night and that’s why Grenville doesn’t drink any and our bathroom is on the same floor as the bedroom. i probably would stay awake as well, but read or do something on the computer instead of going for a walk. There is nothing as scenic as you see on your walks, despite the flies and mosquitoes. I really liked the sunlight through the grasses, which was quite striking.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      One cup of tea goes fine but an entire pot is just too much🙂 But I guess that time soon comes when I need to stop drinking tea at all before I go to bed.

      The dogs love our early morning walks, otherwise I think I might have done like You, find a good book to read🙂

      I do like those photos too!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I drink Raspberry Lemonade all evening and I get up at least once a night to pee.
    But I have to drink it, I love it.😀
    If I had one more hour, I’d go back to bed!
    Hmm does Bertil actually have a “friend”?

    • Hi Cindi!

      If I only drink one cup of tea I’ll be fine but an entire pot is just a bit too much🙂

      My dogs love those early walks, they too are a bit tired of all the flies. The flies are now pretty aggressive since they need the rain desperately.

      I doubt it, a truce might be the best he can offer🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I never fail to be in awe of the beautiful woodlands you live near. That butterfly and dragon fly are two of the pretties insects of that kind I have ever seen. Gorgeous!
    Cocoa..hmmm..maybe a need a cup of that for breakfast instead of coffee…OR add cocoa to my coffee. 🙂
    Have a great day!
    Mona
    P.S. Are the two cats friends now..do you think or is this a temporary truce?? :):)
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I do like that butterfly, we call them Blue wings and there are several species and they all look much the same, and there’s a brown Blue wing too. I’ve never seen that kind of dragonfly here before, red ones, yellow and green ones but not this blue one.

      I prefer just cocoa but sometimes it’s nice to put some in the coffee too🙂

      I doubt they are friends but I thin they have a truce🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer!

    I love dragonflies, especially since I discovered that they eat other bugs!

    Beautiful, majestic rose. Keeping that picture for my computer!

    Please take lots of pictures of your greenhouse project?

Leave a Reply

