Thunder and showers.

All photos today are from both yesterday and today.

All photos today are from both yesterday and today.

Thunder and rain have come and gone since yesterday, not much of each to be honest but much enough to stay away from ant electric outlet and keep the computer shut off. The flies still behave slightly insane so I’m pretty sure more is on the way, not hard to guess to be honest because the clouds around us look a bit angry🙂

 

DSC_0084

White clover flowers everywhere now. It’s a weed one really don’t want in the garden but very nice to see in the wild🙂

DSC_0086

DSC_0087

DSC_0088

 

I had ordered a few plants two weeks ago (a small lemon tree, two different Passion fruit plants and one Abutilon) and thought it would be a good idea if they could send it to the village where I work. After all it’s better to pick up the plants directly after work than to drive a long detour just to get them. A great idea if the package arrives on Monday till Thursday, Fridays are noo good since I stop working at 12. So what happens, they send it on Thursday afternoon so it arrives in the village on Friday🙂🙂 But I was lucky, they shipped it y bus and it arrived just before I went home today. I was however a bit unlucky since it was the lemon I really wanted and that was the only plant I didn’t get.

 

DSC_0089

DSC_0090

Wild Honeysuckly in bloom.

Wild honeysuckle in bloom.

My neighbors root cellar is covered in flowers now.

My neighbors root cellar is covered in flowers now.

 

Passion fruits are something I really like and we can buy them in any store all year round but it is funnier to actually grow them I think. They can stay in the cool cellar during winter, close to the green house lamp I have there. They are surprisingly tough and can take lower temperatures than one think. No passion fruit (there are several species) are poisonous but all aren’t what You would call nice to eat🙂 Normally one need two plants as well and then one must know that they aren’t cuttings from the same plant because if they are they are in fact the same plant and that doesn’t work. 

 

From noiw on I'll show lots of flowers in my own garden.This is a poppy, the poppy they make opium from and its seeds are the ones we can find on bread.

From now on I’ll show lots of flowers in my own garden.This is a poppy, the poppy they make opium from and its seeds are the ones we can find on bread.

DSC_0099

I rarely know the name on roses unless they are wild species.

DSC_0100

DSC_0102

 

I took a long nap after we had had our walk because as soon as we came indoors the thunder started, it wasn’t much and not even Hector got worried but oh how nice it is to sleep during a thunder-storm🙂 I think I slept for an hour and a half and finally I don’t feel tired, yesterday I went to bed already at 8:30 pm and slept like a baby until Hector woke me up at 3 am, I could hear how desperately he needed to go outside🙂 I fell asleep as soon as they all come back in again but I have been ab bit tired during the day.

 

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

Bladder senna.

Bladder senna.

 

Nothing much has happened otherwise, I’ve stopped treating Novas ear and so far so good. I’ve picked fewer ticks from my dogs. That spray is great even if it smells a bit awful for a while and it has been so dry that most of them stayed calm. I think I better spry my dogs again now when rain has fallen. We’ve gotten our yearly salary increase and that’s always nice, we should have gotten it from April first but I always like when we get a lump sum when it is delayed🙂 Always nice to get that before our vacations starts and my vacation starts week 28🙂

 

Rosa rugosa.

Rosa rugosa.

Dog rose.

Dog rose.

Clematis integrifolia.

Clematis integrifolia.

Rosa glauca.

Rosa glauca.

 

I think I might be free from that vole now, Teodor came in to the garden with a vole in his mouth and started eating it loudly🙂 I had to bring in my dogs otherwise they would most likely have tried to take it away from him🙂 I have a photo at the bottom of this post, just to warn You🙂

 

DSC_0061

White Musk mallow.

White Musk mallow.

Pink Musk mallow.

Pink Musk mallow.

Red leafed ninebark.

Red leafed ninebark.

 

It’s time to give my dogs something to eat and I’ll make a pot of tea for myself🙂

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0004

DSC_0013

DSC_0016

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0080

8 thoughts on “Thunder and showers.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Well, that’s one problem taken care of.🙂
    I cringe when I hear cats crunch dead things. Jack Russells are so much neater. Snap, shake, dead. Maybe a tiny squeak just before the snap but that’s all. No crunching.

    Who do the sheep belong to? Are these the ones that were next to your cottage?

    It’s sunny and beautiful here today. The humidity is gone and the temperature is lower. I needed both dogs and a blanket last night because it got rather chilly. I don’t mind. This is my kind of summer weather.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was dead when he arrived with it but it did crunch a lot🙂 It’s the same when any of my dogs catch one too, lots of crunches and it’s a nasty sound🙂🙂

      Yes, Those are the ones next to my cottage. It’s the farm up the road and they also have the cattle that also is next to my cottage.

      It’s rather nice at the moment, the sun shines but I hear thunder in the distance. But it is chilly out there now so I rather stay indoors for the rest of the day🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Gorgeous flowers, Christer! I am low on flowers right now. The heat has taken it’s toll and even the ivy has burned I noticed last evening. You certainly know how to gross out we weak of heart! LOL :):) What a closeup of nature in action! Great shot! Now to crunch into my morning bagel! 🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      The heat we had here made all flowers flower too early and for too short time and thew draught made it even worse, so it’s a restart here now.

      I did warn about that photo🙂 This is the only time I didn’t mind seeing any cat eatimng a vole, this one has just caused me too much problems.
      Just think of that vole when the morning bagel crunches🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! job well done teodor! we are in for rain again tomorrow but our heat i still high. it seems like it went from winter to summer here with little spring. i can never get my zucchini or cucumbers to set. this year i bought container plants and they are blooming like crazy but them the blossoms just fall off. do you know what i am doing wrong? i have 2 of each plant. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I did thank him for doing the dirtry work🙂 It will stay cool here for at least four more days and we’ll most likely have both rain and thunder during that time. I don’t mind as long as it stops when my vacation starts🙂🙂

      Zucchini’s love and need heavily fertilized soil, lots of water and sun too. I think You already know that every plant produce both female and male flowers and they tend to only produce male flowers and lots of them in the beginning. The female flowers usually have a small lump behind the flower (the beginning of the zucchini). So my guess is that You still only have male flowers. It’s the only solution I have I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! We are currently having a thunderstorm. Actually we seem to never be free of rain nowadays. Not sure why. It was very hot and humid today hence the storm. It got to 30 degrees but with the humidity felt like 39 celcius. Gross! I biked to and from work today and it took me almost an hour to get home as I did not want to hurry and feel sick afterwards. Lovely pictures today! All those flowers. I have never had a passion fruit! Are they sweet? My pumpkins and zucchini love the heat but I don’t! I am glad Teodor caught a vole, I hope its the one that was giving you grief! Happy Friday night!

    • Hi Dianna!

      It sounds like You’re having a typical Swedish summer🙂 But hot instead of cool like it usually is here. The three months with most precipitation are June, July and August here.

      It’s hard to describe what a passion fruit tastes like but it’s sort of swwet but still a bit tangy. It tastes best when it looks like one should have tossed it away long time ago🙂 Lots of seeds in it though. My pumpkins don’t like our cool weather, they don’t grow at all🙂

      Voles aren’t the friendliest of animals so they tend to live alone. So I’m pretty sure this is the one. But a new one will soon move in I’m afraid🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

