Ominous clouds.

4:30 this morning.

4:30 this morning.

It still rains here but instead of heavy showers we now have a steady but nice rainfall. I don’t think we’ll have any thunder today but one never knows when it will hit. The plants love this though, it doesn’t matter how much one water them, they still love a real rainfall better. The water barrels are filled once again but still the water hasn’t reached especially far down into the ground, I think we need a week of heavy rains to get back to normal humidity in the ground. I sure hope that doesn’t happen because I like it when the grass don’t grow🙂

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0006

DSC_0008

 

The clouds look odd now days, as if someone had whisked around in them for quite some time. Oddly smooth and sort of strange holes in them as if a tornado had went through them. I came to think about horror movies, these clouds have an ominous feeling about them and would fit perfect in a movie with supernatural beings coming through those strange holes🙂🙂🙂 Could these new kind of clouds (because I can’t remember ever seeing them as younger) have anything to do with the climate change?

 

DSC_0011

I should have used a smaller lens so I could show more of the sky, some places in the clouds looked just wierd.

DSC_0012

DSC_0017

This one is from Thursday afternoon.

This one is from Thursday afternoon.

 

Today will be mostly a stay indoors day I think. I’ll watch some dvd’s and/ or read a book or two. I’ve already placed the new plants in bigger pots and they now stand on the patio. Rainy days like these are perfect to letting them get used to outdoor life, no sun to burn them, high humidity and still not too chilly. All animals are here in the cottage sleeping and I just woke up from a nap. We all need days like this even if I have to admit I’d rather have sunshine and warm winds🙂

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

DSC_0015

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and then go upstairs to see the latest dvd I bought, Frost. I’ve heard it’s really good so I’m really looking forward to see it🙂 I must soon get a new blog address, this one is running out of space and I will not give WordPress my account number so they can draw money from my account every year. I can buy extra space but I will not reach even the smallest extra I can buy during a year but they will still draw that money from my account every year. So I’ll start a new one again.

 

DSC_0019

At a neighbors entrance.

DSC_0016

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Ominous clouds.

  1. Fantastic pictures, Christer! I think those clouds would have frightened me. A lot! I always take pictures of clouds when I get a chance but I never get a chance anymore. They didn’t look real. I think I would have thought God was coming back to judge the living and the dead!! Just kidding, just kidding!! LOL

    f

    • Hi Mona!

      They do look very odd and are more common now days than they were just a few years back. Would fit perfect in a scifi movie too I think🙂 I guess You never have any clouds any more🙂

      Well, they look like something bad is going on🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Those clouds look sort of normal to me. We get those heavy, drapey-looking skies a lot especially when storms come up the coast. They are definitely clouds with a story to tell.🙂 Some of those formations might be due to the way the topology of the area disturbs the air flow over it which would then effect the clouds.

    The ground and the plants would probably prefer a week of gentle, soaking rains. Downpours tend to run off hard dry ground too fast to do much good.

    So we are going to The Cottage by the Crane Lake Part Three? Seems like we just went to Part Two not very long ago but I guess it must be a couple of years. Time; it flies.

    Today is another perfect summer day. Sunny, not too hot, no humidity. The dogs and I have already had the early morning walk and breakfast. I have no plans for the day. Perfect, indeed.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I remember when I first saw clouds like these and it’s only ten years ago and I’ve been looking at clouds my entire life so I was rather surprised to see them🙂 No storms even close to here so I guess these can come anytime. Perhaps they are more common where summers are warm? It is getting warmer here even if I can’ät feel it today, just below 55F and that’s as warm as we get it today🙂

      Yes, this is the kind of rain they want. I dug down my chinese globeflower today and the ground is wet far down where I’ve watered the plants earlier but almost as dry as it was before on places I didn’t water. It’s a gentkle rain but it is a bit too chilly for my taste.

      Yes, something like that🙂 It’s two years ago this blog started and I think the one previous to this was going on for two years as well. Times just flies. I still have some space left here though so I guess the move will happen in Late August

      I’ve just watched Frost and now I’ll go through all dvd’s I haven’t watched to see which one I’ll chose🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! We see those clouds here alot – especially when its storming. I would say they almost look like they want to turn into mammatous clouds, but not quite ready to form. Mammatous clouds are beautiful but they also means storms! Pretty though. Well, our weather people once again have got it wrong. All night we were under some sort of weather alert but now we are due to get just rain. Alot of rain, but I guess trying to predict the weather is tricky. I was hoping for more thunder and lightning tho! We dno’t get that here nearly enough anymore. When I was growing up it was almost a guarantee that when you had hot and humid that very night you would get a thunderstorm. Climate change I guess. We are just waking up here on the Canadian prairies and I have the whole day stretching out in front of me. I love it! I hope the rest of your Saturday is fantastic!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I remember when I saw clouds like these for the first time and it was around ten years ago. Very odd looking but they don’t show up in storms here, more like days like today when it just rains a lot. We actually had mammatous clouds here some time ago and I thought they looked very odd but very beautiful. Can’t remember if we had a storm though, the wind blew hard all the time for a while🙂

      This time our weather folks predicted right🙂 This will go on for the entire next week but it will thankfully be warmer. We always had thunder on hot, high humidity days here but lately they more often come oin chilly days like the ones we’ve had lately.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    The cloud pictures are fantastic, and I totally agree that aliens could burst right out of them in small ships launched from a mother ship.

    My house right now is cold. If it were winter, the heat would have gone on to warm up the house. Outside is so much warmer.

    Today will be another glorious day here.

    Enjoy your evening and your tea. I think a nap is a wonderful idea.

    • Hi Kat!

      54F here at the moment and it is as warm as it gets today, I don’t mind the rain but does it need to be this chilly?

      Yes small alien ships or a dragon comming down breathing fire🙂

      Naps are never wrong and from next Friday I can take naps every day for four weeks in a row🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. the cloud photos are amazing, I used to love to paint big canvases of clouds, we really enjoyed the BBC mystery series Frost, he has a great personality, Lewis and Morse, those are two mystery TV series we really like, Inspector Lewis is a spin off of Inspector Morse, the lead character Morse dies then they brought out the series Inspector Lewis,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I haven’t seen Frost in quite some time or the follow up with Lewis, they show them on a channel I don’t have. But they do show the latest season of Midsommer Murders right now🙂 My favorite of them all🙂

      Very odd clouds up here but they do look cool🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

