He behaves like a badger.

The only red currants I'll get this year. I noticed I had two small plants just beside the fence towards the cow pasture, so close that it actualkly grew in it too :-) I decided to move them and one bush is now giving me these berries.

The only red currants I’ll get this year. I noticed I had two small plants just beside the fence towards the cow pasture, so close that it actually grew in it too🙂 I decided to move them and one bush is now giving me these berries.

I can actually see sunshine outside on my lawn! We did see it during the day too for at least five minutes🙂 The predictions for tomorrow change every hour, sometimes we’ll get mostly sunshine all day but sometimes we’ll get heavy showers and thunder. Well I’ll know when it happens I guess🙂 But I wouldn’t be surprised if we’ll get thunder because the forest flies are crazy out there. This is one of the worst years since I moved here when it comes to them but one of the better when it comes to the biting horse flies and we have almost no mosquitoes. Typical because those are the only ones I really don’t care about because I get immune to the itching pretty fast🙂

 

This and the next photo are the only two I took on our walk this afternoon :-)

This and the next photo are the only two I took on our walk this afternoon🙂

DSC_0026

This was the only Elderberry tree we had in this area for over ten years, now we have at least three new ones growing in a cow pasture.

I've decided that I'll let the area where the pond was look much the same but without a pond. Now I'll need to fill it up with plants.

I’ve decided that I’ll let the area where the pond was look much the same but without a pond. Now I’ll need to fill it up with plants.

 

Orvar just went out the kitchen door, he behaves very much like a badger to be honest. He walks the same route every time he goes out into the garden. He starts by walking over the place where the pond used to be, he then continues behind the old rose bushes. After that he walks all over the new flower bed, something he wouldn’t dare if he thought I saw him🙂 Then he walks to the other side of the garden and beneath the hedge that hangs over the fence between my neighbor’s garden and mine. He continues down to the wood land , continues to the entrance door and goes round the cottage and walks in again. I know why he walks like that, he’s visiting all the places the cats use as a toilet🙂🙂🙂

 

This is the fly situation right now. We all have just as many around and on us as Orvar has in these three photos. Thankfully no biting ones amongst them.

This is the fly situation right now. We all have just as many around and on us as Orvar has in these three photos. Thankfully no biting ones amongst them.

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

 

Tomorrow I’ll be working at the neighbor factory. First I was supposed to be there today but then they decided they couldn’t finish the product I’m painting until earliest on Wednesday. Then they suddenly deleted one of those products so then we thought I might go there on Friday instead. Finally they decided I might as well paint another product that is supposed to be painted the first day after my vacation, tomorrow🙂 I think they might have some time to change their minds at least once more before I’m there tomorrow morning🙂

 

In my garden right now.

In my garden right now.

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

 

It’s time to make some tea and something to eat. All animals have already eaten but that doesn’t mean I won’t have at least two dogs and one cat looking at me as if they never have seen food before while I’m eating🙂 Only four more days before vacation🙂

 

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

DSC_0010

 

Have a great day!

 

 

t day!

16 thoughts on “He behaves like a badger.

  1. Hi Christer! We have had off and on rain today but not like yesterday. It was so windy that the trees and rain were sideways. All day! Today is not bad but it would be nice to see a bit of sun so my garden will grow! So glad you are almost at vacation, I have another month yet and I can’t wait! It will go fast I am sure. The yellow flower you took a picture of – is that a columbine? Its very pretty! Poor Orvar! Nasty flies! I hope those go away so that no one gets bothered on your walks. We have a holiday tomorrow and the weather is supposed to be crappy. Oh well!! Have a good Tuesday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      No wind at all here yesterday and a sunny warm day I would have liked it but a day like yesterday just get awfuo when all, those flies surrounds us.

      No it is a Clematis, Clematis tangutica. One of the hardiest and likes to grow anywhere. This one climbs up one of my apple trees.

      Thankfully we don’t have that many flies in theb garden even if they tend to follow us all the way home sometimes. Their season should be over pretty soon since they started very early this year.

      By the way, I forgot to say what kind of breed those horses are, they are Nordsvensk häst and that would be North Swedish horse in English🙂

      I hope You’re holiday is a good one🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    No rain here. Sunshine and warmth.

    The dogs and I went out at 6AM again. Nobody’s out, not even other animals. There are a few birds singing but nothing else stirs except those little zigzagging bugs. In the morning they don’t hang together in clouds. They hang separately and they like to do so right in front of my eyes. They don’t bite but they are annoying flitting about in front of my face. I swear they are checking out their look in the reflection of my eyeballs.

    It’s going to be much much warmer and more humid here the next two days. I’m not looking forward to that. Oh well. It’s summer in New England and that’s what we get.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Even more rain today and some thunder but sun as well.

      That’s about the time our flies starts to fly around but if it has been a cold night they can wait a few more minutes🙂
      We have a fly here that behaves like that and it has a look of an odd bumble bee. They hover in front of the eyes of moose (and sometimes humans) and spray the eyes with larvaes that hoom themselves to the eye ball and starts to grow there. It is said to be nasty painful and they are hard to remove for a doctor🙂 Thankfully very rare, yet.

      Saturday will be rather warm here but after that it looks like it will cool down again, That’s a typical Swedish summer🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Those photos of flies covering Orvar made me hope they would all leave before he came back inside your cottage. They were rather gross to be honest as I dislike when even a couple get inside. I do hope that The dogs are not too bothered by them. I know you are so anxious for your vacation to start and to resume working on the greenhouse…that is what you plan to do, isn’t it?

    • Hi Beatrice!

      We don’t have that many flies in the garden thankfully but they do tend to follow us all the way home unless it’s a windy day. So once they’ve caught up with us that’s how it is until we get in again. Their season should soon be over though, I hope. Normally the dogs don’t care but now there are so many flies that they too get slightly insane because of the flies.

      Yes that’s my plan. Just as long as the flies stay calm🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    Those flies would drive me totally crazy even if they don’t bite. I was taking my dog Shauna (my first boxer) for a walk in the woods. I didn’t realize the flies, the biting flies, were out. They attacked both the dog and me. I used her leash to keep them off her as well as I could but I was getting so bitten I was in tears. We just about ran back to the car.

    Tonight is hotter than it was all day. The breeze is gone and it is getting muggy. I may have to turn on my room air conditioner.

    Hope you have sun tomorrow!

    • Hi Kat!

      They drive me nuts and even if I have my mosquito hat on I still feel they are nasty. There are so many now that even the dogs get bothered by them. The first year I lived here it was that many horse flies instead and that was just horriffic! So I fully understand how it must have been for You and Shauna!

      I’m thinking of starting the radiators, how different it can be🙂🙂🙂

      Rain and thunder except for the early morning when we had thick fog🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Good Grief, Christer!! How do you stand it! We have flies..but actually I seldom see one. I pick up Mele’s scat in the back yard every day. I seldom miss…and maybe that keeps them down. Your poor dog had them even in his eyes. I’m thinking the dampness is what causes so many flies. We are dry here..but they still manage to be around. I have also noticed I have to keep an eye on the fountains, both front and back because of mosquito’s..and the dampness from the plants. Standing water here is a no, no! If we eat outside an occassional fly will venture by eventually…but you are just bombarded by them where you are! Wow!

    • Hi Mona!

      I can’t even pretend they don’t bother me🙂 But it isn’t that bad here at home. They hang aropund by the forest and bog so I try to avoid those places at the moment. I think it also is the short season they have, summer ends so fast here that all annoying insects come at the same time and loads of them too. That and as You say, the dampness.

      I never eat outside here unless I sit on the kitchen stairs because then I can goi inside as soon as they arrive.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Och jag som tyckte vi hade massor med flugor igår efter allt regnande! Jag skulle bli precis galen om vi hade så många!!😦 Konstigt nog har vi inga på altanen, utan det är bara när man är ute i trädgården och jobbar – och har händerna upptagna så man inte kan freda sig.😦😦
    Vi har faktiskt hängt upp två stora flugfångare på garaget, vilket normalt brukar fungera bra. Men när det blivit så här fuktigt ute så hjälper det inte. Så jag brukar jobba på tills jag inte står ut och då sätta mig på altanen och vila lite…..🙂 Igår hade vi kanonväder, strålande sol, ingen vind och 20 grader, så det blev det ett härligt dopp också!🙂🙂
    KRAM
    Susie
    PS. Man kan ju förstås skaffa sig en sån där hatt med nät som biodlarna har. Har faktiskt funderat på det ibland!

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jo vi har några stycken här🙂 Jag har ju mina mygghattar men de kan vara irriterande ändå. Fast jag slipper ju besök i näsa och öron🙂

      Jag prövade sådana där flugfångare som man häller vatten i men de bara lockade fler flugor🙂 Så just nu har jag inget alls. Fast det är mycket färre flugor här i trädgården tack och lov🙂

      Regn, åska och solsken här idag och tjock dimma på morgonen.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. oh my, that rose bush reminds me of ours!!!! Oh my the bugs, yukko!! They are bad here as well, almost your vacation time, you must be so glad, you garden looks great, enjoy your meal with your audience, lol

    • Hi Laurie!

      It’s a beautiful byt rather nasty and thorny rose, Rosa rugosa. It spreads happily with its roots as well but the birds love the ones I have so they’ll stay.

      Yes I guess You live far north enough to get it like here too out in the forests at least.

      Yes vacation time and only three more days until it starts🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. oh the poor pups with all of those flies. and poor you too. that would drive me crazy. good that your car is back up and working. car problems are always such a pain. we are still in the 90’s here with horrible humidity!

    • Hi Joyce!

      I can at leasat wear my mosquito hat so it’s much worse for the dogs. But we take our long walks in the early morning instead and those are fly free🙂

      I’m so gklad it all happened at work and not on the road🙂 I was suspecting that the battery was dying because the previous owner, the garage owner, charged the battery while he was fixing the problem he had promise to fix before I got the car. I was at the garage very early so he couldn’t have had the lights on for long. But the car has started without problems since I got it so I forgot it🙂

      I’m not sure I would like 90 but we’re down and the high 50’s and that’s not nice either🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

