It’s better it happens there than on the road.

Yesterday evening.

Yesterday evening.

The fog rolled in already yesterday evening and I thought for a while that it was leaving and that we might get frost instead, it was that feeling in the air. But it stayed and made our morning walk very pleasant. Early mornings, preferable cool are the only hours of the day when we can walk around as we want without being annoyed by flies and fog helps even more🙂 But I must mention that it isn’t that bad in the garden, feeding birds during winter and having lots of thorny bushes where they can hide and nest during summer helps a lot. This is bog country so I can’t expect anything else to be honest. 

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

DSC_0011

 

My day has been a bit more eventful that I ever could have guessed. It started when I drove to work and my car told me a light bulb had broken. As soon as I came to work I checked which one it was and it must have taken three or four minutes to find that it is one of those tiny ones one really never use. I didn’t think more about it and went inside. I was going to work in the neighbor factory today and since they had warned for heavy showers I decided to not walk there but to use my car. It wouldn’t start because the battery had died completely!

 

DSC_0012

Shortly after 4 am this morning and absolutely fly free🙂

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

 

We have a car battery charger at work so I started to charge it and walked to my other work place. I realised that the battery needed to be replaced sooner rather than later and decided to buy a new one after work. I was a bit worried when I was leaving the other factory because the lightning had hit somewhere and the power had broken and all the toxic fumes had started to spread. But the power came back and no one got poisoned. The thunder wasn’t even close though🙂 So back to my ordinary job and I placed the battery in the car and it sort of choked a bit until the battery was dead again🙂

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

 

I talked to the factory owner about borrowing one of the company cars so I could buy a new bar´ttery before I stopped working for the day and that’s never any problem even if I would have to borrow the big pickup truck. He told me that they sold car batteries at a store (selling tractor and harvesters and other farmer things) only 300 meters (much the same in yards) away, so I decided to walk there instead since the thunder still kept its distance. The battery I had didn’t have any text on that told me anything about it so I took a photo with my telephone and walked away.

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

 

Batteries are much heavier than one can believe when seeing them🙂 But I only stopped once on my way back. The car started directly as soon as I had plugged it in and then I realised I didn’t have anything to eat for lunch. So I drove to the store in the village and on my way back I realised that my car needed oil, so back to the farm machine store again to buy some oil. I stood there for several minutes reading the labels on the oil bottles understanding absolutely nothing. So I did what I usually do, I said with loud voice that I’m a totally idioy´t when it comes to cars, I love to drive them but no nothing about anything. What oil should I buy. It’s no meaning to try to look as one knows what one does when one doesn’t🙂 So it didn’t take many seconds until they showed me the right one🙂

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0033

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

 

I’m so glad the battery died at work and not on the road because I live at the wrong part of this county if anything happens on the road, all my friends and work friends live at the opposite side. So now I have oil in the engine and a battery that works (knock on wood) and much less money on my bank account🙂 It’s time to make something to eat, I already have the tea by my side.

 

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

Home again.

Home again.

 

Have a great day!

 

10 thoughts on “It’s better it happens there than on the road.

  1. Hi Christer,
    That’s all very well but did you fix the tiny light that no one ever uses?🙂

    A couple of those spider webs look like the spiders were using controlled substances. This is your spider-web on drugs.🙂🙂🙂

    Today is very hot and humid. No fog or rain in sight. You photos look very cool and inviting even with forest flies involved. The sunrise behind the clouds and fog is spectacular.

    Your automotive store strategy is the same as mine when I go to the hardware store. I don’t even try to look as though I know what I’m doing. I don’t. I find a person in an apron as soon as I enter and start telling them what I’m looking for. Usually they know what I’m trying to say.
    Hardware stores are difficult because they are organized according to male logic and the traditions of the trades. Heating ducts and the vents that cover the floor/wall outlets are in the plumbing section because all pipes used to be made out of lead and the Latin for lead is plum-something. Or maybe it’s the Latin word for digging a trench and putting pipes in it. I forget which. But the hardware store also has an HVAC section (heating, ventilation, air condition) and one would think that heating ducts and vent covers would be over there. But noooo…. that would be logical for us Muggles.🙂

    Time to figure out lunch and maybe give the dogs a walk. Hot and sticky outside but it must be done.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      No I didn’t🙂 I thought I had done enough for the day and I can change that parking light on Friday🙂

      The entire field is filled with high spiders🙂🙂🙂 I think they would catch flies no matter how they made their webs right now🙂

      Our days are very cool but only inviting until it gets a bit warmer, then the flies come again. I do hope their season is over soon!

      It’s no use in even trying to look like I know what I am doing🙂 They can feel it like a predator can feel the smell of a terrified victim🙂

      I’m nbot sure they use any kind of logic in hardware stores :-)It’s impossible to find anything to be honest, unless it’s somnething big like a bath tub🙂 I think they do like that just to keep us not so knowledgeable on the edge, keep us worried and try to humiliate us as much as possible🙂

      Things go well between the dogs? I haven’t read anything else either on fb or in Kats blog.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Things are going very well between the dogs, thank you. At the moment they are flopped more or less on top of each other and sleeping soundly. I didn’t want to bore people too much with dog stories.
        Here is what they look like as I am typing.
        Image
        There was a break through with Piki Dog. He waited until I said okay before he attacked his food dish. He also decided that he would rather eat in the living room with Rocky so he grabbed a mouthful of kibble and brought it in to living room to eat then ran back to get more. This is an improvement over literally aspirating his food in his haste to consume it.
        Rocky will now have to learn to eat in the kitchen again and things might get back to normal with both dogs calmly eating their food in the kitchen where they belong. But probably I hope for too much.🙂

      • Hi Caryn!

        They look so cute together. But I was a bit confused for a while because the link brought me to a Sarah Shauns photos🙂🙂 I clicked on the link again and came to the right place🙂

        Those break throughs are so nice! Nova was impossible in the beginning and rushed to the other dogs food and ate that before she went to her own bowl and god forbid if any of the others tried to take her food🙂 Now she eats slowly and sort of think of each chew she takes🙂 Still, no other dog is allowed close to her food even if she doesn’t want it🙂🙂

        Hopes should be a bit too much but I think this is just right🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  2. Hi Christer! Boy, don’t you just hate days like that? So scattered and errands every which way! Nothing beats the end of day when you can go home. That’s the best! We are still cold, cloudy and misty. What a holiday – or not. Nothing is going to grow in my garden with these temperatures! What perfect fog picture today! I just love the fog – especially when it gets really thick and you can feel it on you when you go outside. Perfect! Have a happy Wednesday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I can’t say I look forward to them🙂🙂 But I am glad it happened at work and not on the way there or home. It’s the small things🙂

      We actually have sunshine here now and we’ve had it for most of the day. It will be better every day towards the weekend they say. Too bad that the weather was so bad on Canada day. I hear they might get a hugehurricane in Floriday around July 4th.

      Fog just makes everything look so much better🙂 The thicker the better as long as I don’t have to drive in it. One time it was so thick that I missed the road to work, it took a long time until I realised it🙂🙂🙂

      One of my tomato plants have small buds so I guess I’ll get a tomato or two before autumn arrives🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Love all the pictures! Each one is better than the last one, you have a very good eye!

    Had to laugh when you said you were going to walk to get the battery! That is probably the last time you’ll do that, huh? You were indeed very lucky the battery didn’t die on the road, but what a long day! Cars are very creative in the ways they find to break down. Almost like they have a mind of their own! 😉

    • Hi Wendy!

      Thank You🙂

      Well, I’ll think twice before walking with a battery that far again🙂🙂

      They sure are, I think I could fill an entire bolg (3 GB) with stories about the Citroens I’ve had and their very creative break downs🙂🙂🙂 So I was pretty happy it happened on the parking lot at work and that the factory owner didn’t mind me stopping to work and fix my car instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Där hade du tur!🙂 Rolle har just bytt batteri på Miatan, men han gjorde det innan det gamla sa upp sig. 🙂🙂
    Just nu håller han på och mekar med sin leksak, han fixar bromsarna. Så även om det skulle råka bli varmt och fint väder så får man inte glida omkring i en öppen bil…..😦
    Men tydligen är det nått som krånglar, så jag stör honom inte när jag är inne för att freda mig för flugorna. Dom är hemska just nu!😦😦 Som tur är har vi dock inga alls på altanen, men går man ut i trädgården så har jag ett stort runt mig. Alltså inne i mun, öron och näsa! Usch!!😦😦😦 Så nu SKA jag köpa en biodlarhatt med nät, det går inte att jobba i trädgården annars!
    KRAM
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja verkligen, hur ofta har man den turen att bilen ger upp på parkeringen på jobbet nära ett ställe där de säljer bilbatterier?🙂 Battriet visade inga som helst tecken på att det var så dåligt annars brukar de ju ge sig lite allt som.

      Så ni har lika mycket flugor också! Jag har mygghatt när det blir för jobbigt annars blir jag tokig. Brukar finnas på ÖoB billigt. Om de bara kunnat låta bli att vilja undersöka oss invändigt hade jag inte brytt mig att de svärmar omkring en.

      Ha det gott och hoppas du får tag i en mygghatt fort!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

