Finally it’s here.

DSC_0005

Finally it’s here, the vacation and not a second to early. We’ve all been rather tired and irritated at work but we did get ice cream with fresh straw berries at work and that helped a lot๐Ÿ™‚ Some people will work one week more and come back one week after us that goes this weekend and there are a few that doesn’t have any paid vacation yet, recently employed, and some of them will only take one week vacation this year. All Swedes have five weeks paid vacation after working one year but we are allowed to take five unpaid weeks if we like to the first year.

 

Poppy, Papaver somniferum.

Poppy, Papaver somniferum.

Hosta.

Hosta.

Nasturtium 'Alaska'.

Nasturtium ‘Alaska’.

 

We went out for a walk as soon as I came home, the weather was nice and sunny but the wind was a bit too weak. It did keep some flies away but not many enough. Most flies will go away as soon as they cut down the high grass to make silage so I am hoping they’ll do that pretty soon. It isn’t that bad here in my garden but at the moment I can’t stand a single fly. I wouldn’t mind them if they didn’t try to get inside my ears, mouth and nostrils all the time.

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

 

I felt I needed a small nap after that walk and ended up sleeping for two hours. I’m pretty much just as tired now as I was before๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I guess it’ll be an early night but then again, our early morning walks are rather pleasant since the flies stays calm until we’ve come home again. The light outside those mornings, if the sun rise, is also something to look forward to but it doesn’t look as if we’ll get that tomorrow according the weather prognosis I’ve looked at. By the way, how’s Arthur behaving on the American continent? I saw that North Carolina will be hit hard.

 

DSC_0017

This is actually a Blue wing butterfly. It'sd quite beautiful despite being mostly brown.

This is actually a Blue wing butterfly. it’s quite beautiful despite being mostly brown.

DSC_0020

 

I won’t do a thing this weekend, more than relax and maybe mow the lawn. The grass has finally started to grow, too bad๐Ÿ™‚ but I can do that after the weekend too, after all I have vacation now๐Ÿ™‚

 

This brown butterfly never sit still!

This brown butterfly never sit still!

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Finally it’s here.

  1. 5 weeks after one year, wow thats great!! Garry had to work 20 years to get 5 weeks paid vacation, that was very nice of the boss to bring strawberries and ice cream, they are so good aren;t they, your fox gloves are beautiful, of all the flowers I had they and my Delphiniums were my favorites, have a great vacation!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      The French have six weeks anf the European Union says all citisens in the EU must have at least four weeks paid vacation. So we are somehwre in the middle here in Sweden.

      Yes it is a nice tradition they have. It’s his wife and one or more of his children that picks the berries the same morning.

      Foxgloves are beautiful but behaves much like weeds here, I tear up at least a hundred every year๐Ÿ™‚ I like the smaller delphiniums best because the big ones usually fall and or break when heavy showers come or strong winds.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! yay for vacation time! your fox gloves are beautiful. i planted some this year but they haven’t done much. i guess i won’t know until next year. we have perfect weather for once! it is sunny, 70 degrees with a slight breeze and very low humidity. everyone in my area must be thrilled to have this kind of weather for the 4th. if we could have this kind of weather in the summer, i might actually like summer! enjoy the start of your vacation! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes YAY :-)Foxgloves doesn’t flower until the second year and then they usually die. But they spread a lot with seeds and most times they start new growth beside the old one so it looks like they are perennials. Here they thrive and behave like weeds๐Ÿ™‚ I tear up loads of them every year. Most often I save the white ones but pink ones show upevery year anyway๐Ÿ™‚

      That’s Swedish summer temperatures but without our flies๐Ÿ™‚ I hope the celebrating won’t be too wild outside Your home tonight!

      Happy 4th of July!

      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Hooray for vacation!
    Strawberries and ice cream is not bad either.
    My employer used to do ice cream day for us at the end of the busy season around June. They didn’t go out and pick strawberries. Too many employees. They bought the stuff already made but they did put on aprons and serve us.๐Ÿ™‚

    The remains of Hurricane Arthur are drizzling down at the moment. It’s a nice soft rain with no wind. The radar image shows no hurricane form so perhaps Arthur has petered out. It’s a very quiet 4th of July around here since everything was cancelled. Tomorrow will be noisy. People will be having their own fireworks in their yards or local parking lots. I hate that part of the holiday. The noise usually continues for several days afterwards as people use up their artillery.๐Ÿ™‚

    The dogs and I went out at 5:30 AM and then again at 9 AM. We’ve spent the rest of the day lounging or napping. Not a lot to do on a wet day.

    Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes horray for vacation and strawberries with ice cream๐Ÿ™‚ We are 43 people employed at work so they did have to pick rather a lot๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ We were however allowed to serve ourselves and none of us are shy when it takes to grab something edible๐Ÿ™‚

      They are talking about forbidding fire work, fire crackers are already forbidden. They say it’s because of both environmental causes, fireworks usually contain lots of led and other toxic things and the second reason is because pets get scared. Lost limbs may be a cause too๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad That Arthur seems to have calmed down, I like a good storm but the strength on Your small ones are worse than our strong ones๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ll take plenty of naps from now on๐Ÿ™‚

      Happy 4th of July!
      Christer.

      • So far Arthur has been a non-event. I did discover that Piki Dog does not like water that falls from the sky. We had to go for a walk an hour ago because he had not done any solid business for 24 hours and we’d already had three walks in that time. It was a must. He kept asking to be carried. Oh, no, no, no.
        I said if he pooped, we could go home. I had a big golf umbrella so I was nice and dry. I could stay out there a lot longer than he could and so could Rocky. It was all up to him. It took him about 10 minutes to decide. Record time. Then he practically dragged me back home. At least he knows where home is and that’s a good thing.
        The two of them have been doing the Wet Dog Drag Race around the house for the last hour but now they are wrestling quietly (sort of) on the couch.

      • Not for 24 hours? Good to know that he can keep it in just in case it’s needed๐Ÿ™‚ He now also knows that You won’t give up until You know it’s time๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

        It must be nice to have the wet dog drag race with such small dogs๐Ÿ™‚ Lots of things break here when my dogs decide to do it here๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

        We’ll soon take our way to early morning walk here, semi cloudy, a weak breeze and perhaps enough warm for the flies to start following us already fromthe beginning, not good.

        Christer.

  4. Oh, if Piki Dog was inside the house and had to poop, he would not hold it for 24 seconds. He would go under the dining room table. Outside is different. Outside has things to distract him from the business at hand. The unpleasantness of the rain was the only thing that motivated him. Maybe I should walk him with squirt gun in hand?๐Ÿ˜€
    Things get disturbed when little dogs do the wet dog drag race, too. And the couch gets wet.๐Ÿ™‚
    Time for me to go to bed so I can do the way too early walk in the morning.

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it would be very effective๐Ÿ™‚ Perhaps I should do the same with Orvar, he insists on pooping on the road where we walk?! He has an entire forest to do it in but oh no, it’s on the road or in our garden๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a good nights sleep!
      Christer.

  5. HI Christer! Congratulations on getting to your vacation! I think I should move to Sweden! To start most places here give you 2 weeks paid holiday after 1 year. I am up to 4 weeks plus I usually get an extra week with all the overtime I work, and I won’t see a proper 5 weeks for about another 3 years. Takes forever here! I hope this vacation is very relaxing for you! I go in August. Its very hot and humid here. I see storm clouds bulding in the west so its only a matter of time. When you step outside its like walking into a warm, wool blanket. I don’t like that! Your flower pictures are very pretty!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I thank the unions because without them we most likely wouldn’t have any vacation at all, the employer always complain when ever they are talking about an extra holiday and things like that.

      Back inthe days July was the month when everyone in the industry had vacation, now we can chose a bit more ourselves but still most of us chose this time anyway๐Ÿ™‚ We never got any thunder but I can still feel it in the air now at 5am.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

