I’m all for recycling but

DSC_0011

not when it comes to cat poop. Orvar has other ideas and as soon a cat been using the cat litter box he’s there and it’s just disgusting. So yesterday I installed a hasp on the door so it is open enough for my cats to enter the bathroom but way too small for any of the dogs to. Orvar has shown that he doesn’t approve of this but stays outside the door most of the time🙂

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

DSC_0016

DSC_0018

 

We woke up just as early as we usually do here and went outside for our walk. It was unfortunately already enough warm for the flies to be active so I’m pretty glad we went in towards the village. No flies as long as we walked by the open fields but as soon as we came close to bushes and trees they invaded us. I wonder if it is legal to walk around with a flamethrower and just burn those little devils as soon as they become too many🙂 I would of course not use it during draughts but the rain has been falling for quite some time now so there’s no risk of fires🙂

 

Oats.

Oats.

DSC_0022

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

I was planning on taking a nap when we had come home but I don’t know what happened. Suddenly I was hit by an energy burst so I started to vacuum the cottage, I also vacuumed away all spider webs in the entire cottage! I can honestly say that no Halloween decoration in the USA even come close to how it looked here🙂 But many of those webs were old and didn’t catch anything any longer so I do hope the spiders make fresh and sticky ones now. After that I scrubbed the floors and I even did some laundry too. I still feel that energy in my body but now it’s weak enough so I can control it🙂

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0034

 

I almost forgot! I also went out into the garden, totally ignoring the flies and planted a few plants and watered some pots as well. I also remembered it was time to spray that anti tick spray on the dogs, it has been so dry here that the ticks sort of went in to hibernation for a while but now they’re back again. I then realised that this also might keep flies away from them, the smell enough is so awful (like one of those cheap and really bad deodorants one buy on vacation in a cheap country, like on the Canary Islands or Greece. I have no idea where that would be on the American side of the ocean though🙂 ) It smells nice of lemon the first two minutes but then that smell sort of grows and fills even the air outside until You feel sick🙂

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0038

Rosa rugosa.

Rosa rugosa.

I really don't know what kind of rose this is. I call it dogrose but I think it might be something else because it flowers for weeks long after the other dogroses have stopped.

I really don’t know what kind of rose this is. I call it dog rose but I think it might be something else because it flowers for weeks long after the other dog roses have stopped.

 

It is sort of semi sunny right now and a bit cool and the weather forecasts change every hour now so it is impossible to even guess whet the weather will be like in a few hours. They sais yesterday that we wouldn’t get any sunshine at all here but fairly warm, at the moment they say we’ll get mostly sunshine and really hot🙂 Well I’ll know when it happens I guess🙂 It is election year here and all political parties are on our biggest island, Gotland, this week. The media follow them more than usual and most of us are sick of it now. It’s the big parties that already are in the parliament they follow the most of course but the smaller parties are there too. It all started with a Nazi party and as soon as they started their meeting all churches on the island started their church bells  to warn for danger🙂 Those actions do make me happy🙂

 

Four different poppies (Papaver somniferum), all  from the same parents.

Four different poppies (Papaver somniferum), all from the same parents.

DSC_0002

DSC_0007

DSC_0002

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and after that I’ll see if I can kill that energy burst once and for all🙂

Have a great day!

 

One of my favorite annuals, the Californian poppy.

One of my favorite annuals, the Californian poppy.

Nepeta sibirica. A sneeky weed because it starts all nice and friendly, nothing much happens at all. But after a couple of years You'll understand that it stayed calm just so You wouldn't understand how fast those roots spreads and then it's everywhere and almost impossible to get rid of :-) Beautiful though.

Nepeta sibirica. A sneaky weed because it starts all nice and friendly, nothing much happens at all. But after a couple of years You’ll understand that it stayed calm just so You wouldn’t understand how fast those roots spreads and then it’s everywhere and almost impossible to get rid of🙂 Beautiful though.

12 thoughts on “I’m all for recycling but

  1. Hi Christer,
    That burst of energy must be the happiness at starting vacation. Don’t spend it all on the first day.

    The orange mint plant that I managed not to kill is growing nicely where I put it last fall. It’s not much bigger than it got last summer. It no longer tastes of orange or mint. It tastes like celery mixed with green leaves. It figures that the only mint I manage not to kill is one that I would not want to use in anything.🙂

    Referring back to yesterday’s post: I would love for PIki Dog to poop in my garden. He has to go up the road and underneath some small saplings that have crunchy dead leaves around them. This will be a problem in the winter when his favorite spot is covered in snow. He’s from Texas. If he finds rain uncomfortable, snow is going to be a real shocker.🙂

    Time to feed the dogs.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      You just might be right about that🙂 I stopped it and took a two hour nap instead🙂

      How odd that it changed taste! but it is typical, it’s always the one that just as well had died during winter that survives🙂 Celery is one of the least tasty vegetables to be honest.

      So perhaps You should save a huge sack with crunchy autumn leavs for winter🙂🙂🙂 Poor piki when he meet snow for the first time🙂 He might never go outside again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I’d already considered a roofed cat box of crunchy leaves. They would get so smelly by spring, though.🙂

        Celery is simply a conveyance for vegetable dip or peanut butter. It has no other function that I can ascertain.

  2. oh Ovar,,, cat poop ! I have heard of dogs doing this, I think it may be common, my brothers dog did it too, we call that rose Dog rose here as well, you sure have been busy!!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      I don’t know many dogs that doesn’t love cat poop and I think it’s just awful, especially their breath after🙂🙂🙂

      We call them Hip roses or Rose hip roses over here and since very few can tell them apart lots of species get called that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! One of ours, Willow, loves to visit the cat box! It is totally disgusting. I think the energy burst is called being on vacation!😉 Love the purple poppy! I wonder if I could get seeds on that one? Just beautiful! I love to leave all cobwebs in my house up. Not only does it provide that lovely Halloween feel, it helps with other bugs! I welcome spiders in my house! There sure are come sneaky weeds out there aren’t there? Even some plants! I refuse to plant any more yarrow because it dominates and takes over. Same with blanket flowers and even my favorite globe thistle. I just keep pulling and pulling and they keeping making more babies!! Have a great Saturday evening!

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is disgusting and I’m so glad we humans like other things to eat🙂🙂🙂

      Could be but I usually never get these energy bursts during vacation🙂

      I think I can send seeds from that poppy but do You know the laws about sending seeds tyo You? They are very strict in the US (almost as hard as drug related crimes if one sneds the wrong seeds there) and since this kind of poppy is the one that is used to make opium You must check what the laws in Canada says before I send any. I’ll check in on it too.

      Spiders are my best friends when it comes to fly control🙂 I also let the webs stay but this time it was just too much🙂

      Yarrow is a weed in my garden and way too hard to remove in big quantities. I need to pull tem up as soon as they see a new plants or those roots just get stuck in the ground, even here where it’s almost only sand. I’ve never had that problem with blanket flowers though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    I hate those bursts of energy that have me cleaning like a mad woman. It seems one thing leads to another. I hate fly season though they stay in the wooded area so are easy to avoid.

    I had one dog that liked to eat the cat poop. I ended up keeping the boxes in the eaves with the door open only a little bit for the cats. The boxes are still kept there.

    I have cleaned my deck and picked up everything the wind blew down off the deck. Only 1 clay pot broke. That was lucky.

    Don’t get too busy. You have a long vacation ahead of you.

    Have a great evening.

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes theyr ar good for nothing🙂 But the floors do look much nice since they still shed their fur🙂

      The flies stays where ever there’s water or moisture in the ground here so they can attack anywhere. But as long as the wind blows they usually stay calm. I’ve also noted that when they cut down all grass to make silage the fly season stops, so I’m just hoping that will happen very soon!

      Nova is a good lady so she doesn’t eat it but the other three do. That hasp is just perfect🙂

      I’m glad nothing worse happened. It did sound as if Arthur would be much worse when they talked about it.

      This vacation is toop short🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Seems that many dogs like to visit the cat litter box and Grenville said that his did as well. Your solution seems to have deterred that from happening again even if Orvar will be disappointed for awhile😥
    Too much energy for the start of vacation, but now that those house keeping chores are done, then you will have more time to work on your greenhouse. Enjoy yourself.
    The flowers are so beautiful as was the sunrise

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Yes lots of dogs love it🙂 My only concern is that he will break up that door, his grandmother destroyed a few doors in her life when she thought they were in her way🙂🙂🙂

      Too much flies around for any bigger activity in the garden. I can hear thunder nearby and I hope things will cool down now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

