It’s beginning to look a lot like summer.

DSC_0022

Early this morning and it looks like some of those clouds already then were building up to become thunder clouds.

We’re waiting for the approaching thunderstorms and I can feel something is going on but I really can’t say I can see it. It’s a cloudy day but the clouds are so thin that the sun shines through without any problems. My kitchen thermometer says 26C (78,8F) but my bathroom thermometer says 23C (73,4F). The bathroom one has been in shadow since late morning so I trust that one more even if it feels like the kitchen one is right🙂 High humidity as well so I haven’t done much today. The hardest thing I’ve done so far is the laundry but that I did already ay 8 am and the second hardest was to feed all the fish in the water barrels with larvae that was eating one of my clematis. 

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

We call this flower Sneeze wort because they oince made sneezing powder from it's roots. It's a yarrow relative.

We call this flower Sneeze wort because they once made sneezing powder from its roots. It’s a yarrow relative.

 

The fish seemed to enjoy it and all I had to do was to turn every leaf that was eaten and pick them. I’ll be able to do this for some days I think because I found larvae in all sizes. Otherwise we haven’t had many pests this summer, some aphids and a few butterfly larvae but I like butterflies so I didn’t touch them. 

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

The morning was a bit hazy, too bad it wasn’t foggy.

DSC_0030

This was the last photo from our morning walk, the rest is a mix from yesterday and this afternoon.

This was the last photo from our morning walk, the rest is a mix from yesterday and this afternoon.

 

My two big apple trees won’t give me a single apple this year, no matter how I check I can’t find a single one. The heavy frost destroyed every single flower on t. I will however get some on my hand fan-shaped tree and lots on my crab apple tree too. Not many but big red  gooseberries ( and plenty on my wild gooseberry bush too but those are always rather small and very hairy🙂 )and reasonable many black currant berries. No raspberries though but there are loads of rasp berries in the forest and out by the fields. Lots of wild strawberries in the forest too and both them and the raspberries are just about to ripen now. No cherries though because of that frost night.

 

Lots of butterfiles here now but most just refuse to sit still long enough for me to take a photo.

Lots of butterflies here now but most just refuse to sit still long enough for me to take a photo.

A Ladybug and a Ladybug larvae. Both eat lost of aphids :-)

A Ladybug and a Ladybug larvae. Both eat lost of aphids🙂

DSC_0012

DSC_0006

 

I brought my mosquito hat with me on our walks yesterday afternoon and this morning and to my big surprise I didn’t need to use it?! There were plenty of flies but they seemed to have lost interest in me. There were however a few horse and deer flies that showed a lot of interest in me but I managed to kill them all. It’s sad when one feel a sort of joy when killing something🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0015

DSC_0008

Abutilon x hybridum. Used to be a very popular pot plant here long ago and it looks like it has a comeback.

Abutilon x hybridum. Used to be a very popular pot plant here long ago and it looks like it has a comeback now.

 

I feel like I should be doing a pie of some kind but I have neither berries I can use or custard (or vanilla flavored quark). The berries in the garden needs a few more days with heat and sunshine before I can use them. So I think I might bake some cookies and use some rather nice blackberry jam I have. Or perhaps I should make some pancakes instead. Most people use whipped cream to their pancakes or ice cream, I have neither ( and really don’t like whipped cream unless it’s on a strawberry cake) so I’ll only have that rather nice jam instead.

 

Flowers in my garden right now. I have the name on this daylily but can't find it.

Flowers in my garden right now. I have the name on this day lily but can’t find it.

This is one of those cheap potted roses one can buy all winter. They are usually much hardier than one think.

This is one of those cheap potted roses one can buy all winter. They are usually much hardier than one think.

Californian poppy and so are the two below as well.

Californian poppy and so are the two below as well.

DSC_0036

DSC_0040

 

Have a great day!

 

A Tulip shaped poppy.

A Tulip shaped poppy.

DSC_0042

One of my tomato plants actually have flowers :-) I might even get a tomato this year :-) :-)

One of my tomato plants actually have flowers🙂 I might even get a tomato this year🙂🙂

My pumpkin plants have buds now but there's not enough time to get a big pumpkin I'm afraid. Besides, some plants have a tendency to only produce male flowers in the beginning and some never seems to produce female ones at all.

My pumpkin plants have buds now but there’s not enough time to get a big pumpkin I’m afraid. Besides, some plants have a tendency to only produce male flowers in the beginning and some never seems to produce female ones at all.

 

11 thoughts on “It’s beginning to look a lot like summer.

  1. i am at the point with my garden right now that wonder why i plant one. my celery and fennel looks good as do my parsnips. my tomatoes are fine and some of my pepper plants are producing. i am just not sure if it is worth all the work. it looks like the only abundance i might have is tomatoes. still no cukes or zukes. many pepper plants hardly grew at all. i keep wondering if it is better to plant flowers and just shop for vegetables at farm stands. it’s probably cheaper in the long run. i wish i could plant pumpkins but i don’t have enough sun or room for them. i just came in from watering. we are really dry again. what kind of pie do you make that uses quark?

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m pretty sure it would be cheaper to just buy the vegetables🙂 I only do it because I think it’s fun and if I actually get anything I know that there’s nothing bad in them. Some years just are like this, some thing works and some just fails. I wonder why the pepper plants behaves like they do, they should like much the same conditions as the tomatoes, perhaps a bit warmer actually and heat is usually no problem over at Yours. Something could attack the roots however, more common than one might think. Check if the root system looks ok, should be white when healthy. They demand less fertilizer than tomatoes if that could be a problem, too much and they stop growing because the roots get damaged.

      I really don’t have the summer for pumpkins but it’s fun to try anyway, zucchinis however should thrive here but last year was a failiur and I never planted any this year. The spinach look fine though.

      I was surprised when I saw how dry it is in the ground here! All this rain and most of it hasn’t worked its way down at all.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Sorry, I almost forgot!

      Personally I only use the vanilla flavored quark as a substitute for ice cream or custard. But lots of people use quark to reduce th ammount of fat and replave half to two thirds of the fat with quark. Others also use it as filling together with the berries. I’ve never tried that but it’s said to be rather tasty. I can look for a recipe if You would like me to.
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer!! Its hot here and the clock hasn’t reached 9 a.m. yet! The themometer reads 26 and it will climb today. We were under a heat and tornado warning yesterday. It was so riduculously hot – 40 with the humidex! Crazy. I have small tomatoes on my plant (I only planted 1) and I have flowers on my beans, zucchini, and peppers. Its only a matter of time. I have raspberries on my plants but they are no where near ripe yet. I have flowers on my potatoes too, I hope I get a good crop. Pumpkins have flowers too, but everything is so very late here due to our weather. The pumpkins I am growing I successfully grew one a couple of years ago that was 80 pounds! I was pleased with that. It was interesting carving it for Halloween!! I love the purple flower picture with the butterfly!! Have a great Sunday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      It only feels hot here, the thermometers show that the showers we just had lowered it quite a bit. Still high humidity so it’s kind of nasty outside and to be honest inside too🙂

      You seems to be the one that is successful with Your vegetables this year, many of us have had problems, either too cold or too dry. Here it has been cold nights that stopped all vegetables growing. No potatoes here, the leafs get moldy and the potatoes rot. I could grow early potatoes but I missed that this year.

      We reallky have a too short summer for pumpkins here, none of mine has ever come even remotely close in size🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Hi Christer! I think, with that pumpkin that grew that large, it was luck and a long, hot summer. I tried the same brand of pumpkin last year and got only regular sized. But they say that these ones can get over 100 pounds. I don’t think our season will ever grow one that big!

      • They do need a long and warm summer to become anything. I would just be happy if I actually get anything🙂 Zucchinis are usually better to use as tiny ones so perhaps it could work with a pumpkin too?

  3. Hi Christer,
    I didn’t bother with vegetables this year. Last year the critters would get the tomatoes just as they ripened. I got a few but they got most. They got all the peppers, too.

    The black raspberry thickets that I used to have are fading away and not being replaced with new raspberry canes. It must be too wet and too shady down there now. However, I know where there are others as well as some mulberry and blackberry. I just have to be careful because they are along the paths and dogs pee on them.🙂

    I was checking out the back part of the yard and because I thought I saw several large walnut branches down from the hurricane or the thunderstorm that preceded it. I don’t know which. There are a few. Another job to add to the list. That tree is very old now and probably needs a lot of trimming up.

    At first I thought your sneezewort was the same as my sneezeweed but it is not. Yours apparently cures the sneezes that mine produces.🙂 Yours is a bit more attractive, too.

    Two walks so far this morning but after that the dogs and I crashed. The weather is beautiful but we have no energy.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I always try some vegetables even if I know toimatoes outside a green house usually fails. I have very little problems with pests and bigger animals though.

      We have raspberry bushes down the road and I’ve been thinking of digging up a few roots and plant them here because they rarely ripen in the shadowy place they grow now. Have to ask the land owner though even if I think he doesn’t care at all. Most likely he would be happy if he got rid of them🙂 But then again I know how thorny they are and how easily they grow to something that easily would compete with thethe roses covering Sleeping Beauty’s palace🙂

      Thunder passed us to the north an hour ago and now it looks like it might pass just above my cottage. Hector has already walked in to the shower where he feel safe and Sune has just been outside warning the thunder to come too close, then he ran right in when thunder answered🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Joyce said exactly what I was thinking. I don’t think it’s worth all the worth all the work. Getting up and down easily is fast becoming a bit harder than when I was young. a few tomatoes planted in my large pot will be all the gardening I will do…if I do that. Flowers..yes. Your photo’s of your flowers are just beautiful! The butterflies are amazing. The have fur like an animal. How could anyone harm such a creature.
    Flies are a different story. When I saw one of your dogs just buried in flies all over his face..or her’s I forget which one, I would have felt great joy in smashing them to pieces. They are one creature that I really take pleasure in smashing with my fly swatter.
    Bertil’s expression of “don’t even THINK of getting in my way!” always makes me laugh!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      It depends on how one looks at it. If it is to save money it’s useless🙂 But if it is because one think it’s fun andto know that there’s nothing toxic in them its well worth the work. Well att least if one get more than two tomatoes🙂 My onions seems to grow good though🙂

      I was surprised to see how frry they actually are! Their larvae can do enormous damages though, especially in fields with cabbage plants. But I let most of the butterfly larvae stay just because they are beautiful and pollinate flowers.

      Unfortunately flies are just as important as butterflies even if I do agree with You🙂 KILL THEM ALL I SAY!🙂🙂🙂 (You should read that with a German accent, sound so much morer evil) Without them we wouldn’t have especially many birds and those we had would all eat our crops🙂🙂🙂

      His constant expression but I have to say he’s become a bit nicer since I last tossed him out from my cottage. I guess he at least for a while undersood that it’s not a good thing to be too evil🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

