I wouldn’t have felt a thing.

DSC_0001

The morning has been sunny, hot and windy and the humidity is so high that I sweat even when sitting down๐Ÿ™‚ I refuse to complain since it has been so cold lately but I have to admit it is a bit too much๐Ÿ™‚ Besides, rain and thunder will come in a few hours and it will last the entire day. I’ll let go of the hatch on the bathroom door when it starts so Hector can go to his safe place, the shower. I don’t know why he feels safer there but it is a tiny bathroom so perhaps it reminds him of a burrow?

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

 

We had thunder yesterday as well but it passed slightly north to us, mostly above the big open spaces on the bog. Some rain fell but just enough to wet down the grass. I planted some small trees yesterday and was surprised about how dry the ground still is after all the rain that has fallen lately. This is not the ideal time to plant anything since it’s so hot (Scandinavian hot that is, around 26C-28C (78,8F-82,4F) so I’ll keep watering all newly planted plants until the rains start again.

 

The first Bumblebee beetle for the season. My favorite beetle.

The first Bumblebee beetle for the season. My favorite beetle.

DSC_0010

Hare-tail grass. It's a species from southern Euroipe that loves it here. It is said to just stay temporarely because it's too tough for it here. I've seen it here for almost fourteen years now.

Hare-tail grass. It’s a species from southern Europe that loves it here. It is said to just stay temporarily because it’s too tough for it here. I’ve seen it here for almost fourteen years now.

 

I drove to the super market this morning. I would have liked to go as soon as they opened, at 7 am but thought I at least should wait until 8 because my neighbors have vacation too and a little daughter only six months old. It turns out my neighbors aren’t even at home๐Ÿ™‚ I almost remembered everything I wanted this time๐Ÿ™‚ I wanted to get some baby bath tubs to plant those plants that grew in the pond. They like wet soil so there’s no problem if the tub should be completely filled with water. Those were the only things I forgot to get๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

The Stone Circle Hill. I haven’t been able to go there for a very long time. I do like cows but I don’t like to walk amongst them.

 

I was almost totally alone on the road on my way home, I knew I had a lorry far behind me and didn’t think more about it. Suddenly I see three cranes on the road, two adult and one youngling and the youngling couldn’t fly. I hit the brakes and I did that perhaps 500 meters (547 yards) after a place where the road turned slightly. I watched the cranes run over the road when I suddenly see that huge lorry with a trailer roaring down the road. He must obviously have been doing other things while driving and he was driving way over the speed limit. I heard the breaks and had started to drive towards the big ditch. I must say he really could handle that huge vehicle, How he managed to keep that trailer on the road is a mystery.

 

DSC_0018

DSC_0021

In my garden now.

In my garden now.

 

I’m not sure what the law says about stopping to avoid hitting cranes on the road. I know we are allowed if it is deers, moose, wild hogs and dogs. If doing so and an accident happens there will be no problems after. But to kill three cranes at the same time at a place that is famous for the cranes and where the cranes sort of are the only thing putting us on the map is no good thing๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Cranes are also protected as an endangered species even if they actually are quite common now days. No matter what the law says, I wouldn’t have felt a thing if he had hit my car๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0022

This is how those thistles with edible roots look like now.

This is how those thistles with edible roots look like now.

Musk mallow.

Musk mallow.

 

It’s time to make lots of coffee, I have a head ache and can’t take any pills against in any more, my rheumatism pills sort of destroyed my stomach. So coffee it is and it usually helps, if not the thunder passing will๐Ÿ™‚ The flies are insane out there and not much better here in my cottage. I bought more sticky fly paper too and it’s so sticky I almost couldn’t free myself from it๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0036

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0032

14 thoughts on “I wouldn’t have felt a thing.

  1. hi christer! that was a close call on the road. glad you did not get hit. are you getting many gooseberries? one of my plants died and the others produced only a few berries. we had a late frost this year and it got lots of my plants. it even killed my hydrangea buds. we are expecting storms here today and tomorrow. they are calling for hail which makes me nervous for my gardens. we do need the rain though. like you, i am surprised by how dry the ground is with all of the rain we have had. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      It sure was. I started to drive towards the deep ditch beside the road but he had passed long before I would have gone down into it๐Ÿ™‚ I guess we both broke the law but he a bit more than I๐Ÿ™‚

      Frost destroyed lots of plants here too but mostly ยดjust flowers and new growth, our trees and bushes are used to these late and heavy frost nights. A few bushes and trees did die though. The goose berries flowered after that though. I’ll get less than before but the berries are much bigger this year. Too bad I can’t send You some rooited shoots from my hardier varieties, the USA customs would get a fit if they found out๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ The laws of shipping living plants and many seeds are almost as tough as Your drug laws๐Ÿ™‚

      No hail warning here but hail often follows thunder storms so I wouldn’t get surprised if we got it too. So far the thunder has passed us on the same place as yesterday, wedid get some rain though but only for a few minutes. I can hear more is coming this way now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. that was an exciting tip home from the market for you, thats a near miss! Poor Hector, I know the fear some dogs have of storms, we had a dog that was terrified of storms, he always wanted to sit on my lap, he weighed 38 kilo , he was a heavy lap dog! My husband has to take a proton pump inhibitor for his stomach ( Prilosec) since pain medication damaged it, not a laughing matter when pills hurt your stomach,

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes it was๐Ÿ™‚ It happened so fast that I didn’t get afraid until it all was over๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes I feel so sorry for Hector and it gets worse as time goes by.

      Thankfully he prefers the bathroom but he can also decide that it’s safer behind me in thye sofa or in the bed. He weighs 45 kg so I’m glad he never chose to sit in my lap๐Ÿ™‚

      I have a worried stomach as it is and really donรค’t need to upset it even more with pills๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Glad you are okay. Those close calls sure can scare you. Glad the cranes are okay as well. Here we dodge deer all the time. You will miss the one that runs in front of your car and as you are watching that one others run in front of you.
    My dogs hate thunder and fire works . One shakes the other barks and growls.
    Beautiful flowers. I have never seen a bumble bee beetle.
    Stay safe.

    • Hi Debby!

      Me too๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes there’s always one that jumps right in front of the car when one look at what the others are doing! Now days we also have to check what the wild hogs do, they say it is like driving in to a block of coincrete when hitting one.

      I thought the thunderstor just had passed but here it goes again! Three hits just outside my cottage so far and then I had two dogs in the sofa beside me, Nova on the flor and Hector in the bathroom. We don’t have especially much fireworks here because it’s not allowed to use it where cattle roam free, well behind fence though๐Ÿ™‚

      I don’t think bumblebee beetles are especially common. I remember seeing one as a kid and then it took almost 35 years until I saw one again. Here seems to be a good place for them so now I see them every year.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Well, if the truck hit you, you would not be liable for anything because a) he rear-ended you and that would put him at fault, b) he was traveling over the speed limit and that would put him at fault, c) he was not paying attention while driving which put him at fault and d) you would be dead and it wouldn’t matter.
    Which brings up the question how would we, your faithful readers and internet acquaintances, know if something happened to you? I would not want you to just disappear off my screen. That would be awful.
    It brings up the same question for me as well. I must see to that.

    Poor Hector. I was concerned that Piki Dog would have a problem with fireworks because he runs and barks every noise. But Rocky was chill so Piki Dog decided it was okay to be chill. He copies Rocky sometimes.๐Ÿ™‚

    Have you considered a thunder shirt for Hector? They are supposed to calm dogs that have noise aversion reactions or other anxiety based behavioral problems. I don’t know if they sell them in Sweden but it might be worth looking into.
    Here’s a Smile Amazon link with video: http://smile.amazon.com/Thundershirt-Anxiety-Treatment-Large-Solid/dp/B0028QK6EY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1404739793&sr=8-1&keywords=thundershirt+dogs
    It worked on Rocky when he was getting so excited about going to day care that he snapped and growled at all the dogs in the play yard. He doesn’t need it anymore, though. I fixed that issue.๐Ÿ™‚

    The day is sunny with a south wind. The humidity is rising, though, and the temperature is going to be near 90ยบF for the next few days. Back in the sticky heat, I guess. The house is still cool but it’s early.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      You are so right but I think I might have broken the law by stopping for the cranes but as You ay I would be dead so who cares๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚
      My stepson would tell You all if I died but I must write down the pass word so he actually can get in here๐Ÿ™‚ I had forgotten about that part๐Ÿ™‚ I have had a few blog friends that passed away but that was after a long period of illness and their wives knew how to get in to their blogs. I would have no idea what happened to all of You if You just disappered.

      The thunderstorm that I believed had passed but just started again was pretty bad so I had two dogs in the soifa with me, Orvar and Sune, Nova on the floor by my feet and Hector in the bathroom. I’ll see if I can find a thunder shirt for Hector. I have a dog jacket for Nova when it’s really cold but she hates it. It looks like she considers suicide when she has to wear it๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      The lightning hit three times just outside the cottage and seceral flew above it so I never got the chance to count any seconds at all๐Ÿ™‚ Steambath like conditions here now and I hope this storm pass quickly so I can open the doors and let some cool air in๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. OMG! I just Googled “Lorry” and it’s like a Mack truck! That is seriously scary!
    Do you have a will? What pet do you have me down for?
    I’ll take whoever needs a home.
    and Jeez, how would people know if I died?
    Hmmm.
    Wait it would be on Facebook and maybe you would see it and then would you please leave a comment
    on my blog that I kicked the bucket? I’m kinda kidding but then I’m not.
    anyway…
    sorry that I missed some many of your posts.
    I will go back and read them now that my head is a bit more clearer.
    But thanks for the kind comments on my Ruby’s passing.
    They were really really appreciated and touched my heart greatly.
    and finally here’s a link that might help with the flies:
    .
    http://www.ehow.com/way_5418231_homemade-fly-traps.html#page=3

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes they are quite big๐Ÿ™‚ Sometimes I forget that I use British English and that many of those words might be unknown in countries outside the Great Britain๐Ÿ™‚

      I will actually write down a will when autumn comes but I have friends living closer that will get mypets๐Ÿ™‚ Thank You anyway๐Ÿ™‚
      Yes we need someone to get in to our blogs so they can tell the others what has happened. I guess for those we know the complete name on and their address it wouldn’t be too hard to get in touch if any of us wasn’t there for a while. To be honest, I think I can get Your telephone number within half an hour. The internet is rather fantastic tat way. And I would also know what was going on with those of You have have as facebook friends. But all the others?!

      It never gets easier to take that decision, does it. On the contrary I would say. I’ve been dreading that day I need totake it for Hector but to my big surprise ( and thanks to a great medicine) he’s still going on strong. A bit slow perhaps๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ve tried that kind of trap but they seems to attracting even more flies๐Ÿ™‚ Works great on wasps though but then I use any lemonade.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer! Your weather sounds like the usual weather we get here in the summer – you don’t do anything and you sweat. Horrible feeling isn’t it? Good thing you missed hitting those cranes! I brake for any kind of animal! But the way people drive around here, I am amazed no one has rear ended me! I took a look in my garden Sunday night and much to my surprise I have baby zucchini growing! I was so shocked. So early! I will pick them once they get just a bit bigger. Have a happy Tuesday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is a bit awful but I refuse to complain๐Ÿ™‚

      Killing cranes here is like being blasphemous๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I too stop for any animal and hope for the best if anyone should be close behind me๐Ÿ™‚

      Zucchinis! Congratulations! The buds haven’t even opened up on my pumpkins but they have started to grow๐Ÿ™‚ This heat really makes wonders in the garden right now. Tomatoes flowers and my annuals have finally started to grow๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. We are all glad you are safe and sound. YOU are an endangered species..and the only one we have.๐Ÿ™‚
    Cranes are living creatures…endangered or not..any person with a heart would stop if they could.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes indeed, I am an endangered species since I have no biological children๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      It woyuld be blasfemic to kill a crane and to manage to kill three at the same time would mosty likely give me eternal damnation๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

