I know I got it for free but

We woke up an hour later this morning so we missed most of the morning fog. I do like how the sun colors the fog in orange.

We woke up an hour later this morning so we missed most of the morning fog. I do like how the sun colors the fog in orange.

The sun is shining, the wind is blowing and the temperature is rising rapidly. We’re waiting for more rain and thunder today and it’s just a matter of time until it arrives I guess. The lightning hit just outside my cottage at least three times yesterday but nothing happened in any of our homes. Last time my light ramp for the aquarium exploded, a neighbor got a flash coming out of his electric fan on the upper floor and one neighbor saw how his entire electrical cabinet blew up in pieces🙂 No fires though and that was pure luck.

 

DSC_0020

I've only seen this kind of moth once before (we call moths night butterflies). It has an amazing green-greyish color.

I’ve only seen this kind of moth once before (we call moths night butterflies). It has an amazing green-greyish color.

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

The thunder returned with a bang at exactly 1am last night and suddenly I could hear Hector desperately trying to get in to the bathroom. So up we went, the other dogs needed to go outside and I loosened the hasp on the bathroom door. We only got that one bang but lots of rain instead. I met a friend at the grocery store this morning when I went there to get a package and he told me that we got 55mm (slightly more than two inches) of rain in 24 hours. But he thought that most hors fly and deer fly larvae already had died and that we won’t get especially many more after this rain. It’s much the same with mosquitos he said but the few we have might lay loads of eggs if this rain continues for much longer. If not the puddles we have now soon will dry out again before any larvae have become mosquitos.

 

DSC_0027

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0033

DSC_0036

 

I forgot to check the mail box yesterday so this morning I found out that I had gotten a package, it was the new laptop. I know I got it for free but I still got a bit disappointed, it’s almost the same as I have now🙂 I already have a Lenovo G500 and can’t say I like it especially much. One of the things I really don’t like is that the USB-gates sit si close together that it is impossible to use more than one at a time. The new one is a Lenovo B50 with just the same problem and it has of course Windows 8. I’m pretty sure the one creating Windows 8 is destined for hell🙂 The person/ persons creating it must be pure evil with no sence of empathy and must enjoy when other people are suffering🙂🙂

 

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0042

I took this photo through the mosquito net. Magpies are very aware of what's happening around them and if I even so slightly touch the net it flies away.

I took this photo through the mosquito net. Magpies are very aware of what’s happening around them and if I even so slightly touch the net it flies away.

 

It’s time to enjoy some of the remaining sunlight before the rain and eventual thunder arrives. Enjoying it will be hard though because of the huge humidity. It feels like a sauna inside my cottage and it’s even worse outside even if the wind blows. But it will be better from tomorrow, the temperature will drop a little and hopefully the humidity will sink some too. From tomorrow the rain and thunder will stop so I have high hopes🙂 Time for a pot of coffee I feel, headache once again so I’m pretty sure thunder is close now. I am rapidly loosing space here in this blog so I’ll just give You the new address if You missed it last time: The cottage by the Cranelake, life goes on.

 

A female Shrike at the top of my apple tree.

A female Shrike at the top of my apple tree.

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

WE call this bush Silver bush (Eleagnus commutata, Wolf-Willow) and it wears that name well.

WE call this bush Silver bush (Eleagnus commutata, Wolf-Willow) and it wears that name well.

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0014

16 thoughts on “I know I got it for free but

  1. you and i are having the same exact weather. it is horrible outside. i have been staying inside in the A/C. i am ready for this summer to be over! thankfully, fall festivals will be starting next month so that is something to look forward to.

    • Hi Joyce!

      81 at the moment and rising rapidly. I remember being in both Portugal and the Canary islands with higher temperatures and it didn’t feel bad at all but then again the humidity was way lower.

      I wish I had remembered to buy a fan, an A/C is a bit too much since we normally don’t have it this warm. But perhaps we must get used to it from now on when the climate gets hotter.

      I still wnt summer though🙂 but with more normaltemperatures🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    We had some wild weather yesterday with two tornado warnings. There were sightings of a funnel cloud and a wall cloud but no tornado touched down. There was a lot of damage from microbursts, though. Most of the serious thunder and lightening went by me off to the west but there were some loud claps of thunder even so.
    Today will be pretty much the same but hotter and just as humid.

    The dogs and I have already been for the first walk of the day, at 5:45 AM. It took half an hour to get Piki Dog to do his stuff even though he had not gone for 18 hours. Too busy eating rabbit poop and looking around.🙂

    Are you going to be changing to the new site sooner than you thought?

    Enjoy the day as best you can with all the heat and humidity.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Lots of trombs in the country, a tromb is a tiny tornado we usually get. Thankfully tornados never show here.

      Still no thunder but it gest hitter and hotter so when it finally breaks out it will most likely be magnificent. They are cutting the grass in the field just beside my cottage and all the flies now get homeless. They were nasty due to the heat before and now they’re even worse🙂 This usually means the end of the fly season, well the big biting ones will most likely stay because of the cattle but most other will flee🙂

      Long time since I had a dog behaving like that🙂 Now they usually want to have it done so they can search for hare poop after🙂

      Yes it seems I’m using more space than I thought even if my photos now are much smaller when it comes to Kb. But I’m ready to move as soon as I’ve used up all space here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • He’s a tiny terrier. There’s not room in his brain case for much so distraction is easy. He only remembers to pee if he happens to be standing right next to Rocky when Rocky pees. Then he’s all “Oh, yeah. Forgot to mark territory.”

  3. Christer,
    Much of the rest of the state had thunder and lightning. They counted over 600 strikes of lightning. The rain there was also heavy and the wind tore up trees which landed on cars and houses. We got a strong wind which blew stuff off the deck but no rain. I was disappointed.

    It will be 90+ in Boston and 80+ here with high humidity, air conditioning weather.

    A usb hub will solve your problem. Some have many spaces and others have only a few. I had one for my PC but not the laptop. It is really handy.

    Enjoy your evening!

    • Hi Kat!

      It seems the thunder is missing us after all today, still sunshine but we’re having a very strong wind. I just installed my new modem for the internet but my old computer refuses to give me an icon that I can click on to start it🙂 It just starts when I start the computer?! The connection is very fast though!

      Well over 86 here now but the wind is actually helping so it feels cooler. Perhaps I shopuld take a walk with my dogs after all, I thought the flies would be terrible today.

      I’ll check in to that! Soo annoying when they put those gates too close.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi kmac22!

      Thank You!! I’ll see if I can find this on a swedish site too. Even though i know English well enough it’s always easier to do things like these when reasding my own language. I’m so glad there are ways to get away from this hellish thing🙂🙂🙂

      I understnd they created this for touch screens and phones and it works probably rather good in their phone but not oin a conventional computer.

      Thanks once again!

      Christer.

  4. Yes, you are spot on. Even Microsoft has admitted it now that they made 8 for all those devices, but realize that it is not working well on the computer. They are already talking about changing the interface. Yay!

    • There’s a rumor that windows 9 is about to be launched and I do hope that have thought this through properly. Anything is better than this🙂🙂🙂

      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer! I hope maybe you could sell the free laptop? Maybe make a few dollars? I have heard Windows 8 is a horror. We just got Windows 7 at work so it will be awhile before we see 8 – good thing. I don’t like change with computers much!! We are nice and cool here today, a slight change with the wind makes a big difference. I started getting a sore throat at work today and I hope its to blame on the air conditioning and not a summer cold. Those are the worst! I love your pictures today – the one especially of the roof top and sun. Wow!!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I doubt that this is a computer that would sell easily but I’ll keep it and perhaps someone I know that need one can get this one. Here modems and computers blow every time there’s thunder around🙂 One of my neighbors lost his modem two days ago just because he didn’t pull out the plugs when he drove to work. So sooner or later this one will most likely be needed🙂

      They are about to launch Windows 9 now the rumor says and I do hope they have thought this through properly and that big changes has been done! I don’t like changes in computers either but usually I get used to it and actually likes it after a while. Windows 8 is just the opposite, the more I use it the more I dislike it🙂🙂

      Stuffed nose and a slightly sour throat here too and I’m sure this is a cold. But I’m hoping it doesn’t get worse than this, as You say summer colds are the worst!

      I do like that photo too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. You do have some of the most interesting insects in Sweden. As far as Windows 8, which is probably what I have..thought it says 8.2, I am just now working my way through it. I cannot find any of my games..and I really enjoyed them in the evening.
    Have a great weekend, Christer. Gorgeous pictures again… Weather wise..we are still hot but nothing like it has been..and no humidity. Thank God.
    Take care,
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      You have a later version than I have and I’m sorry to say You don’t have any games in Your computer. You’ll have to go to the the xbox game app. I know it’s rediculus! I’m not sure if it says xbox or if You just, like I, have an icon looking like a game console. Click on it and You’ll find plenty of games to download. You have lots of Grandchildren that will know what I mean if You don’t🙂🙂

      Cool and actually cold earlier this morning but since the flies stayed calm I’m happy🙂

      Have a great week!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

