Wonderful cool morning.

DSC_0004

The early morning was wonderfully cool, only 10C (50F), sunny with some fog here and there and no wind. I love our cool mornings so when we have 17C (63F) like yesterday I’m not too happy. We went out as soon as we woke up and for dogs like Hector and Orvar with their thick fur this was a perfect morning. Yesterday we reached 30C (86F) and today will be much the same or even a bit warmer so this was probably our only walk today. The small ones can take a walk on a hot day but not the old guys.

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

 

The farmers are working early today. Two days ago they cut down the grass in the field just outside my cottage, yesterday they turned it around so it would dry up slightly and evenly, not too much though which is tricky hot days like these and today they wrap it in plastic, making silage. It’s those big white balls You sometimes see in my photos. The grass must be a bit damp when making silage and the plastic around it is to keep out oxygen so the grass starts to ferment slightly. This makes the grass highly nutritious and all kind of grass eating animals just love it. They feed deer with it during winter too and deers are very picky in what they eat, that’s why they have a tendency to starve to death snowy winters.

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

In a scifi movie this cloud most likely would hide a small starship spying on us :-)

In a sci-fi movie this cloud most likely would hide a small starship spying on us🙂

 

I actually mowed the lawn yesterday🙂 it was hot as h… but the wind blew hard so it didn’t feel that bad to be honest. Every now and again I stopped to drink lots of water because I know how dangerous it can be to ignore that only because it doesn’t feel that hot. This is of course Scandinavian hot, not the kind of temperatures You have down in USA or the inner parts of the Canadian prairies🙂 It’s rare for us to have these temperatures, especially since we actually had it as early as April! I guess this might be something we’ll have to get used to now when the climate changes towards warmer.

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

 

I have new guests in my garden, for the first time since I moved here we now can see honey bees🙂 My neighbor bought a hive some days ago and this is a perfect area for them. No one uses any kind of pesticides here since most of what grows on the fields will be made in to silage and the oat they do grow here (also as animal food) is grown organically. So the risk of colony collapse disorder is minimal, the risk of getting the varroa mite is also minimal since there are no other hives around for miles. The bees will have a very diversified cost as well, perhaps You think that nectar is nectar what ever plant it comes from but no it isn’t that easy. It shows that if bees only get one kind of nectar, like if they place it by orange fields where they spray any kind of weeds, they will get sick more easily.

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

If something looks odd in its shape compared to the rest of the area it's most likely an old tomb in this area.

If something looks odd in its shape compared to the rest of the area it’s most likely an old tomb in this area.

 

It seems that they especially need nectar from legumes like clover and peas and the more varied cost they get the better they feel. So since they don’t spray any kind of poison here and they sow lots of peas and clover in the fields they make the silage from this is a perfect place for bees. I would have gotten a hive myself if I only had had somewhere to place it. I can’t have one in my garden since I have a neighbor living just beside. I could of course ask any of the land owners here but then I wouldn’t be able to keep an eye on the hive if anything would happen or if they would start to swarm.

 

DSC_0029

They really should put in some carps in this little pond before the vegetation takes over completely.

They really should put in some carps in this little pond before the vegetation takes over completely.

Haze just doesn't make a photo look as good as fog would, especially when looking at a tomb :-)

Haze just doesn’t make a photo look as good as fog would, especially when looking at a tomb🙂

DSC_0036

I had to edit this photo quite a lot before it was possible to see that it is a heron :-) I've seen plenty lately so I guess we have lots of fish and frogs in the ditches here.

I had to edit this photo quite a lot before it was possible to see that it is a heron🙂 I’ve seen plenty lately so I guess we have lots of fish and frogs in the ditches here.

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea before it gets too hot. The wind has started to blow again, thankfully, but I doubt we’ll be doing anything special today. It’s just as hot everywhere in the country so it’s no use in driving anywhere. It would be cool in the car but as soon as I would open the door the heat would hit the old boys and I’m not sure they would be able to manage that🙂 I’ll bring them down into the cool cellar if it gets too hot whether they like it or not🙂

 

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

Both my tiny Lime tree and Calamodine tree ( a bitter sweet citrus fruit) have loads of buds now, perfect timing with the arrival of honey bees :-)

Both my tiny Lime tree and Calamodine tree ( a bitter-sweet citrus fruit) have loads of buds now, perfect timing with the arrival of honey bees🙂

The pink Fall phlox are in bloom.

The pink Fall phlox are in bloom.

This is a relative to the Wood Betany. I'm not sure what kind it is but many are terrible weeds. This one however is competing against a perennial sunflower so it will have little chance to spread. To be honest, most perennial sunflowers are terrible weeds too but beutiful ones :-)

This is a relative to the Wood Betony. I’m not sure what kind it is but many are terrible weeds. This one however is competing against a perennial sunflower so it will have little chance to spread. To be honest, most perennial sunflowers are terrible weeds too but beautiful ones🙂

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Wonderful cool morning.

  1. I just wanted to say that you certainly write in better English than I will EVER be able to write in Swedish. I am fascinated that write in English so well. Of course we cannot hear your accent. I have only heard it in films etc. and what I have heard might not be real. It’s probably Hollywood’s idea of what a Swedish accent sounds like!
    GREAT pictures, Christer. How you caught that crane if flight amazes me. It cannot be all that easy.
    It looks like frost on the grasses but it might just be dew. It’s been in the 90’s and some days over 100 here for a couple of weeks now. No end in sight and the bad heat is still ahead of us.
    Take care Christer. Your countryside is just so beautiful. I never tire of it. I used to dream of having a little cottage in an area like yours. Now I know that my Southern California home is it in this lifetime..so I am enjoying it to the fullest..
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I have a very British accent when I talk English🙂 A sort of upper class tv accent🙂 Brits have actually asked me for how long I’ve lived there🙂 The fun thing is that I really never been to any English speaking country. I was in Englad and Wales for a visit when I was one year old and I’ve landed twice at Heathrow airport and once at Gatwick to change planes🙂 I once had the BBC and ever morning I watched their morning show with Miss Anne Diamond and Nick something. I started to repeat every word they said until it sounded more or less the same🙂

      It was dew this morning. I do like cool mornings in summer but I really don’t want frost in early July🙂🙂🙂 It will come soon enough anyway I’m afraid, it usually does the first week in September. It will get cooler here already tomorrow and the weekend might be very cool and rainy so I guess thunder also will be a part of it.

      It is beautiful here but it comes at a price, flies! I envy You Your lack of them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! wonderful photos as usual! i love the cloud/spaceship pic and i always like seeing the tombs. if you keep getting this hot weather, you might have to get A/C. i am guessing there is not much A/C in sweden? teddy’s eyes are infected now so she is taking prednisone and an antibiotic. trying to get the pills into her is quite the ordeal! hope you get some cooler weather! i hope we do too. we hardly have any flies here! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Poor Teddy! This hot weather helps making infections worse than if they happen in winter. I hope You’ll be able to give the girl her medicine without too much trouble.

      Yes if this continues every summer an A/C is a must I think. It’s extremely rare in homes here in Sweden but all bigger offices have it.

      I do like that photo and I sometimes forget about those tombs since they are all over the county, they become one of those background things one tends to forget. I saw a rather nice stone ring on my way to work one morning, I’ve passed it for years and never noticed it🙂

      It will cool down during the weekend but they say it will get hot again next week. Still our heat is nothing compared to the one You have🙂 I do hope it cools down where You live!

      Have a great day in the heat🙂
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Why can you not have a hive if your neighbor has a hive? One of my friends had a hive on her property but many of the other beekeepers she knows have multiple hives in their yards.
    A lot of beekeepers here lost hives last winter because it was so cold. Some have lost adult bees to the increased mosquito spraying. We had a bumblebee die-off in one neighborhood the other day. The neighbors think it was from the thunderstorms or the official mosquito spraying 3 miles away. Most people think it was homeowners in the area spraying insecticides during the day instead of after sundown when bees are not out. No one knows.

    That cloud could very well be hiding a small spacecraft. Of course, nowadays when everyone has a camera in their cell phone and is constantly snapping pics of weird things, the cool cloud formation would be a very conspicuous disguise.

    63ºF in the morning would be positively Arctic over here. Today is cooler, though. It’s only 70F right now and that’s comfortable. My air condition arrived yesterday but I was too hot to wrestle it out of the box and into the window so it’s sitting on the floor in the dining room. Maybe tomorrow. I don’t need it right now.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I must come to an agreement with my neighbors if I want one here in my garden and since they have a newborn and he’s allergic to almost everything🙂 it would be hard. Bees aren’t counted as common pets🙂 The neighbor that got this hive has it around 150 yards from my closest neighbor and no one lives close to him, so he can do much as he pleases.

      I saw that on fb. They aren’t allowed to use pesticides towards mosquitoes here, they use some kind of bacteria or is it virus? that only attacks the worst species when it comes to sucking our blood and it’s only allowed to use in the absolutely worst places and that’s further north. My guess is that those bumblebees dies because of spraying during daytime. Here loads of nectar drinking insects die when the Linden flowers, for some reason the nectar gets toxic in those trees sometimes and one can find thousands of bees, bumblebees and early butterflies dead beneath the branches.

      It is toughr for the aliens to hide nowdays🙂🙂🙂 That cloud was the first thing I saw this morning🙂 and there were two more clouds just like this one so I guess an invasion is near🙂

      It’s too bad when it is too hot to get the A/C out of the box🙂🙂🙂
      We almost never have warm nights here so when they come we all suffer and can’t sleep at night or if we actually manages to fall asleep we all have headaches in the morning. It’s tough withthe climate change for us Arctic people🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! Send some of your cool our way! We are currently 33 celcius and not cool! Funny tho, most of the western part of our province is flooded and lots of farms and homes are lost and under lots and lots of water. Shame really. Just the other night I was sharing my garden space with a bumble bee that was buzzing around the raspberries. I just told him/her that we could work alongside one another happily and I told the bee to bring more friends!🙂 That cloud is fantastic! I could just picture the greys or little green men peeping out….I am so sure there are aliens out there. In the deep summer I like to sit out at night when all the stars are out and just imagine. Its better up at our cottage when it feels like the sky is very close and you can almost reach out and touch it!! Love that!! I feel bad for our heavily furred friends and the heat. Right now all 3 of my dogs are in the house where it is air conditioned. They feel better I am sure! I have only ever seen a heron once and that was in British Columbia! There was actually a tree filled with them. Quite majestic!! Love your pictures today – again very magazine worthy! You should become a professional photographer! My water has boiled for tea, so I must dash! Happy Friday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’ll try my best but it’s a tough one since we almost always get our weather from You🙂🙂 The air must have cooled down on the way somewhere, like over Greenland🙂

      Yes why can’t the rain fall more evenly? Some places get so much rain it creates chaos and other places are so dry that nothing can live there. Bosnia and Serbia was almost drowned some weeks ago and we had a draught.

      I’m sure there are more living things out there too but I’m not sure they ever have been here. No use in sitting outside an look at the night sky here during deep summer, it’s light almost the entire time🙂 But I do stay outside during winter on clear afternoon and evenings. I always imagine myself travelling out there looking for otherv worlds🙂

      I’ve seen Herons where I lived before but not so much here. They are pretty common but masters in disguising themselves. They can empty a big pond from frish in a day🙂

      My tea is actually ready too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer, first I am commenting from my WordPress sign on but you know me as Beatrice (Dorothy) from the Frog & PenguINN blog. For some reason, blogger was not being cooperative tonight, then I had to reset my WordPress password to even get on….aarrghhh
    When I looked at the first few photos it did remind me of cooler winter mornings, but then I read further and knew it was mostly humidity from hot days. We get that all the time here on the VA eastern shore when the daytime temps have been in the 90sF. It’s why we cannot cut the grass until late afternoons even though mornings are cooler, the lawn is very wet. We were very hot earlier this week and then thunderstorms came last night and cooled the temps down to the 80s and should remain cooler the next few days. We do have a central AC unit in our home which we had installed as well as ceiling fans in every room.
    Interesting about the bees and how you cannot have a hive if your neighbor has one. I noticed lots of bees on the wildflowers in our backyard, but we don’t plan on raising any ourselves.
    I just read your comments to unfortunate Mona (Wspersweetly of Cottages) and can’t believe that she was scammed and wish she had read an earlier post we did on the exact same topic…Microsoft will never call a person…yet these scammer hook people all the time. This week we received 2 more such calls and I shouted at the person and slammed down the phone…next time a loud whistle in their ear might be more convincing!

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Yes I know it’s You because I can see Your e-mail address🙂 Some days just are like that, nothing works as one wish in the blog world.

      We always get a lot of dew here, unless it’s a draught going on and as it is for You it can take a day for the grass to dry up if it is some time since it was cut. Especially here where the wind seldom reach. If this will continue, this hot summer weather, I might have to consider to buy an A/C, we really are not used to this kind of heat. Normally it stays around 75.

      No, I’ll try to explain better. There are three cottages on my road and after that the bog takes over. My neighbor furthest down the road is the one that now have bees. He can have it because it’s far enough to the closest neighbor, the one betweem him and me. If my closest neighbor would have had bees I wouldn’t have any problems at all to have too. But since my closest neighbor and I live so close to each other I need to get an agreement with him if I want to have bees. He is allergic to almost anything I think🙂 and they have a newborn in the house so I doubt he would agrre to me having bees.

      Yes poor Mona! I know it isn’t easy when they call, especially if they wake You up and You really don’t even know who You are because of being so tired. They have tried this scam here too and they also send e-mails where they want You to click on a link and if one does all hell breaks loose. Yes too bad she didn’t read Your post! I wish one could send them some kind of virus via the phone so theyt never try that again!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

